Ford EcoSport Facelift 2018 Launched in India (Coverage Pg: 34)

Thats good enough imho
If its good or nearly as good as 1.6 VTVT and 1.5 IVTEC, I think its certainly something

Low torque response is something to get used too as is "turbo lag"(for turbo charged cars), I think a good petrol engine needs a few good revs and hang of the clutch from my experience with 1.5 IVTEC and 2.4 IVTEC

I think anything is better than the 1.5 TiVCT, that wasnt exactly Ford's pride like its diesel counterpart or other petrols
From what I see, Ecosport seems a winner for the price and overall package

My family is pushing me to buy a new car, lets see how it goes
Considering base Compass too not that it is in the same comparison with Ecosport given the price difference etc
Nexon is out of question because I didnt like the clutch and driving position
Brezza is outdated,my brother already has one
WRV has poor engine selection
Renegade will be too rugged for my taste
Not exactly for highway use so have to think
why dont you consider the new honda city 2017 its has good interiors very smooth ivtec good sporty feel and H badge

Thats good enough imho
If its good or nearly as good as 1.6 VTVT and 1.5 IVTEC, I think its certainly something

Low torque response is something to get used too as is "turbo lag"(for turbo charged cars), I think a good petrol engine needs a few good revs and hang of the clutch from my experience with 1.5 IVTEC and 2.4 IVTEC

I think anything is better than the 1.5 TiVCT, that wasnt exactly Ford's pride like its diesel counterpart or other petrols
From what I see, Ecosport seems a winner for the price and overall package

My family is pushing me to buy a new car, lets see how it goes
Considering base Compass too not that it is in the same comparison with Ecosport given the price difference etc
Nexon is out of question because I didnt like the clutch and driving position
Brezza is outdated,my brother already has one
WRV has poor engine selection
Renegade will be too rugged for my taste
Not exactly for highway use so have to think
I was in the same dilemma as well.

After all consideration of after sales, long run, ease of maintenance and a good rev free engine zeroed in on the Honda City VX MT. The I Vtec has no real competitor in the NA range of engines.

why dont you consider the new honda city 2017 its has good interiors very smooth ivtec good sporty feel and H badge

After all consideration of after sales, long run, ease of maintenance and a good rev free engine zeroed in on the Honda City VX MT. The I Vtec has no real competitor in the NA range of engines.
True but since I already own 3rd gen City IVTEC, I didnt find 4th gen very appealing
Felt like a downgrade in plastics and other materials quality even though the additional features are excellent and much better than the competition barring Verna (equally good) and Ciaz(because of price difference)

If Honda launches HRV, Id definitely buy that

I think the NA engine of new Honda City is no more a revelation as it used to be, I feel the City lacks low end grunt, this will be a pain specially when car is loaded with more than 2 people, the Hyundai's 1.6 123 HP motor also is as good as City engine and makes more power as well, the new 1.5l Dragon engine was quiet a surprise and is easily the most city friendly NA engine I have ever been in, easily better than City iVTeC when it comes to drive ability and mid range punch.

So City petrol is no more in a class of it's own.
But as a car City petrol is a good car, lot of space , super refined, and generally comfortable to drive, only issue is it's too over priced, Honda is making customer pay too much for that He badge, and from my experience Honda is no way more easy on pocket than a Hyundai or Ford, it's equally expensive it shall I say mor to expensive, also reliability wise normally all petrol cars are reliable, there are very few petrol cars that have issues, mechanical issues like suspension, brakes, drive shaft, electronic etc are more or less same for all brands.

True but since I already own 3rd gen City IVTEC, I didnt find 4th gen very appealing
Felt like a downgrade in plastics and other materials quality even though the additional features are excellent and much better than the competition barring Verna (equally good) and Ciaz(because of price difference)

If Honda launches HRV, Id definitely buy that
I know what you mentioned is true.

However after doing my research test driving cars I still felt comfortable with the City as it has its appeal, good resale, awesome space inside, with a very nice surround sound system and a sunroof.

It was more as a over all package and peace of mind. Just recently saw a post on team -bhp a member had a rat bite in ecosport the bill came to 61,000 for the same. So in some instances these cars with lot of sensors and electrical's can give you a deep hole in your wallet.

I think the NA engine of new Honda City is no more a revelation as it used to be, I feel the City lacks low end grunt, this will be a pain specially when car is loaded with more than 2 people, the Hyundai's 1.6 123 HP motor also is as good as City engine and makes more power as well, the new 1.5l Dragon engine was quiet a surprise and is easily the most city friendly NA engine I have ever been in, easily better than City iVTeC when it comes to drive ability and mid range punch.

So City petrol is no more in a class of it's own.
But as a car City petrol is a good car, lot of space , super refined, and generally comfortable to drive, only issue is it's too over priced, Honda is making customer pay too much for that He badge, and from my experience Honda is no way more easy on pocket than a Hyundai or Ford, it's equally expensive it shall I say mor to expensive, also reliability wise normally all petrol cars are reliable, there are very few petrol cars that have issues, mechanical issues like suspension, brakes, drive shaft, electronic etc are more or less same for all brands.

However after doing my research test driving cars I still felt comfortable with the City as it has its appeal, good resale, awesome space inside, with a very nice surround sound system and a sunroof.

It was more as a over all package and peace of mind. Just recently saw a post on team -bhp a member had a rat bite in ecosport the bill came to 61,000 for the same. So in some instances these cars with lot of sensors and electrical's can give you a deep hole in your wallet.

Yeah very true, thats why I personally have a hard time shifting away from Honda,Hyundai,Maruti and Toyota

I meant Honda has downgraded quality a wee bit in a few areas compared to their older cars but I still feel they are much better than the competition
Ciaz has a lacklustre engine, Verna has poor rear legroom, Vento/Rapid were overhyped and frankly uncomfortable

However if I ever do, Ford and Jeep do look very appealing to me personally compared to cars from VW, Skoda, Tata etc

Actually these are something that can happen to any car, a friend of mine Master Gokul G of State Bank of India has a Honda City IvTec , he has had terrible days with his Honda City, his car had a small hit with an auto rickshaw, there was a slight front bumper sent, within 1 month, the fog lights didn't work, so he had it mended at workshop, the total cost of work was a whopping 44000 Rs, but since it was covered under insurance he had to pay just 4700 Rs or so, I mean if someone tells Honda,Maruti,Hyundai etc are cheaper to service or repair, it's wrong, the level of the issue lies within each owners car and dealers who take care of it and the complexity involved, Honda at least in my experience is more expensive to mend than Ford, but regardless I agree City is a good car,
The strong points of City are
1. Space
2. Petrol engine
Rest all are just as good as any other cars, I find Honda quiet overpriced for what they are offering,
But if outright space is what one is after Honda is unbeatable, Ciaz has good space too but the drive is really too bad with that turbo laggy diesel motor and the overall comfort is not better than City.

VW and Skoda are superb drivers cars with easily way better diesel engine,ride and handling, and the best gear box, the quality of the cars are far better than City too means how it rides,handles,how quiet suspension works, the dsg is so much better to use than City's CVT and way more responsive with that explosive TSi..but there is a Big BUT, after sales and service and parts costs are extremely bad in some places.

^^ Not completely true
I find VW/Skoda's only advantage is DSG shifting times which makes the engine feel fast
Else dyanamics etc is not true, I didnt find anything extraordinary about it
Suspension is quiet compared to Honda etc but its terribly jerky in potholes
Seats are an absolute joke, I think even Brio has better seats than Vento/Rapid
TSI is nowhere near IVTEC in City traffic, IVTEC has poor low end torque but a skilled driver will know the rev band of IVTEC and match gear + revs to overcome that easily
My Superb 1.8 TSI engine was the only engine that truly felt special but it was not as fun to drive as my CRV's 2.4 IVTEC

I agree about diesel engines though, but the choices are between hard clutch in manual or unreliable DSG
As for Honda lacking in features, VAG's offerings are even worse imho
Simple things like the mirror adjust switches , feel like Wagon R's inspiration was taken and are very flimsy

Additional issues include the lack of USB and AUX until a few recent models
Why buy 7-8k adapters for the same when competition offers it inbuilt

As for quality, I personally dont feel hard plastics = Quality

My SIL sold her Polo and I sold my Superb last year after constant issues and expensive maintenance
Also sold my CRV as 10 years was approaching and I wanted a new car
But even then it was cheaper to maintain and more reliable than Superb and Polo

Though I must mention, Ford has excellent quality and if I switch from the Asian brands, Ford or Jeep are definitely my pick
No compromise on spare tyres, features or history of poor reliability like VAG

Invoice gets generated at the time of delivery so whatever price is applicable then is what I pay. So Yes, if Ford was to increase the price, I will end up paying a higher price.

I will be travelling next month so I am in hurry to take delivery immediately. I would use this and next month to
1. Take test drive of Automatic. The dealership currently only has Diesel and Petrol manual for test drive
2. Check all colors and decide which one I wan to go with. Currently undecided between Lightning Blue and Smoke Grey

The only advantage of booking now is that come January, I will be the first in queue at this dealership to take delivery of AT variant if my chosen color gets allocated to them.

Let me know if you planning to buy from Kavish Ford, Powai or SC Ford, Malad. Can PM you contact of the SA there.

I have booked Titanium Plus AT (white colour) on 9th November at SC Ford Malad......

^^ Not completely true
I find VW/Skoda's only advantage is DSG shifting times which makes the engine feel fast
Else dyanamics etc is not true, I didnt find anything extraordinary about it
Suspension is quiet compared to Honda etc but its terribly jerky in potholes
Seats are an absolute joke, I think even Brio has better seats than Vento/Rapid
TSI is nowhere near IVTEC in City traffic, IVTEC has poor low end torque but a skilled driver will know the rev band of IVTEC and match gear + revs to overcome that easily
My Superb 1.8 TSI engine was the only engine that truly felt special but it was not as fun to drive as my CRV's 2.4 IVTEC

I agree about diesel engines though, but the choices are between hard clutch in manual or unreliable DSG
As for Honda lacking in features, VAG's offerings are even worse imho
Simple things like the mirror adjust switches , feel like Wagon R's inspiration was taken and are very flimsy

Additional issues include the lack of USB and AUX until a few recent models
Why buy 7-8k adapters for the same when competition offers it inbuilt

As for quality, I personally dont feel hard plastics = Quality

My SIL sold her Polo and I sold my Superb last year after constant issues and expensive maintenance
Also sold my CRV as 10 years was approaching and I wanted a new car
But even then it was cheaper to maintain and more reliable than Superb and Polo

Though I must mention, Ford has excellent quality and if I switch from the Asian brands, Ford or Jeep are definitely my pick
No compromise on spare tyres, features or history of poor reliability like VAG
I would beg to disagree when it comes to automatic it should either be the DSG or the torque converter because amt is too jerky and CVT suffers from rubber band effect . DSG offers lighting quick upshifts and even in city traffic it does not confuse itself and selects the right gear. Since you have owned a superb I would not say much but have seen people on other forums who have said that they will sell there bmw's but not the tsi it is that explosive but then you have been there and driven it so no argument here. Quality I have always felt comes from how well the interior are screwed together, proper shutlines and proper carpeting in the boot and I feel vw car scores pretty well in that area. Feature list is also pretty good in vw/skoda cars.comparing seats of superb with brio is taking things a bit too far imo. As for stability on highway these german cars are definitely better than there asian counterparts highway stability of these germans is of tall order and on a winding section throw a polo in a corner and then a baleno or i20 you will feel the difference. There are problems with vw/skoda but not with the products but with the management.

When is it that you are getting your car? I suppose you have opted for a 2018 manufactured car.
Yes you are right......but will be getting delivery only end of January 2018. The old model Ecosport still have a killer looks and the newer double the killer looks. It feels premium from all angles. The back side and the side looks have special distinct looks t even in the older models, but now the facelift looks beefier from the front. My budget was around 10 to 11 lacs but have to spend more then 13k because of the awesome looks it as. I just love the looks.

2018 made cars will be coming only after 3rd week of jan, earliest, as told to me by the SA there
Yes its true.........but some say that deliveries can only be made in February. Brighter picture of Ecosport delivery will be known by 2nd week of January.

Frankly speaking Honda City is one of the best car but its a sedan and some persons like me who stay out of city, the roads are bad and they are too many speed breakers and I have seen my Uncle's Honda city polish the speed breakers every time it runs through........You have to snail pace the car when running through speed breakers to go smoothly. Ecosport has 200mm of height which to my knowledge can easily glide through speed breakers. Those who stay and drive in city, Honda City is too good.