Force Launches "One" - The 140 BHP SUV (4x4, ABS & Base 82 PS Versions Now Launched)

Re: Force Launches "One" - The 140 BHP SUV

Firodias need to really pull up their act if they are expecting Force One to be their flag bearer in the SUV/MUV segment. Some of the points that made me apprehensive are -

- Mumbai dealer did not have a showroom/inspection vehicle for over 4 weeks. There was only 1 vehicle prior to that and that too was a customer buy.
- Cannot book/ask for test drives as the number of vehicles assigned for test drive is not yet decided by the company
- There seem to be no more than 1 or 2 dealers in the major cities
- Pricing of 10.93 L ex is quite high for the minimal features provided in the car
- ABS/Airbag are basic in the cars priced at this range

Some of the good points that will work in their favour are the Benz engine, space/size, suspension engineered custom (I hear) for this.

Let there be. Who is bothered about the Force One anyway. :biggrin:

[lol] They spent too much money on things that don't matter much and delivered a Chinese SUV with Indian underpinnings.

Firodias need to really pull up their act if they are expecting Force One to be their flag bearer in the SUV/MUV segment. Some of the points that made me apprehensive are -

- Mumbai dealer did not have a showroom/inspection vehicle for over 4 weeks. There was only 1 vehicle prior to that and that too was a customer buy.
- Cannot book/ask for test drives as the number of vehicles assigned for test drive is not yet decided by the company
- There seem to be no more than 1 or 2 dealers in the major cities
- Pricing of 10.93 L ex is quite high for the minimal features provided in the car
- ABS/Airbag are basic in the cars priced at this range

Some of the good points that will work in their favour are the Benz engine, space/size, suspension engineered custom (I hear) for this.
Same here. The only reason I haven't TDed it is because they don't a TD vehicle at the showroom all the time. It travels half of TN to attract buyers, as there is only 2 showrooms for the entire state. They tell me that they would bring the TD vehicle to my house, but I want to TD at my convenience and not when they are free.

Saw one yesterday for the first time on the road. It was a red coloured example. Could not take any pictures as it was dark. Looks macho and brutish when viewed from the side. Tough and no-nonsense in the classic old fashioned SUV way. But move further fore and aft and the front and the rear have no style, no panache, no nothing. The radiator grille would have looked better had it been a rectangle. The rear looks too contrived, too Korean (or better still, too Chinese - which it indeed is). As of now, the only USP of the Force One remains it's MB derived engine. No wonder not many are spotted on the road. Let's see what Force Motor does to sell more of these, especially with the impending launch of the Duster and the Safari Storme (did someone say Ford Ecosport?).

^^^^
Few things they can do to make it more popular :

1. Drop the prices by 1 lac flat out.So that current model costs around 9.80 lakh ex-showroom.

2. Bring option of Airbags+ABS+ 4X4 ASAP.

3. Increase your dealer network.The Force dealer of my town has now switched to M&Ms three wheeler showroom.So I can't check this beast up close,damn[frustration].

4. Utilize the star power of Big B in the currect manner like what Toyota did with AAmir Khan and Innova.

Best of wishes to Firodias.[:)]

Few things they can do to make it more popular
To make it popular, they need to reduce the prices and market it as a Cab.

They can capitalise on the Force Traveller image and the Benz Engine pedigree.

That is the only option left for them.

just going by the plain looks. i saw one doing round in panvel and it looked attractive from the outside.

this was when viewed from far . saw one in dadar up close and it has resemblance to old gen for endeavour.

they had to price it closer to a scorpio VLx to attract buyers else they would struggle to find any buyers.

If it has to get going, then Force should offer at least ABS on the current model and slash the price by a lakh.

They should also work on front and rear styling and better interiors. Force didn't even change the grille from the chinese SUV, they just added a huge chrome surround, so cheap looking.

Don't get fooled by the space and size of the car. The car's floor height is too high to sit comfortably atleast for my height! I think you can notice it in carabiker's pictures too.
+1 to that.

I could not sit comfortably in any of the seats. I had to be pulled out of the third row seat by the sales persons, when I tried those seats.[frustration]

Saw one yesterday for the first time on the road. It was a red coloured example. Could not take any pictures as it was dark. Looks macho and brutish when viewed from the side. Tough and no-nonsense in the classic old fashioned SUV way. But move further fore and aft and the front and the rear have no style, no panache, no nothing. The radiator grille would have looked better had it been a rectangle. The rear looks too contrived, too Korean (or better still, too Chinese - which it indeed is). As of now, the only USP of the Force One remains it's MB derived engine. No wonder not many are spotted on the road. Let's see what Force Motor does to sell more of these, especially with the impending launch of the Duster and the Safari Storme (did someone say Ford Ecosport?).
For the first time I saw a Force One (White) running on roads today. And I share the same opinion as above. Although it's road presence is quite commendable but this car overall still lacks an appeal.

Spacious.. Yes it is but welbuild, I would deffer, As the one i saw live had so much of pannel gaps right from Bonet to door that me and my wife first though it was not closed correctly. Engine, The sound is like of a pure desiel engine like that of my appt generator. Did not impress me at all. The one in Auto show looks a little taken care. Hope they have rectified these but still its too huge and a " Indian replica" of Endi. If you remove "F" from the grill and or extend that with a ford plate, no one will even know (again engine should be shut off) I would say good try Force. But please use your design team a little more then just copy others.
BTW wont there be any trademark issues in Auto industry abt copy of designs?
Yes Krish. It has a pure diesel engine. MB engine. So it will sound like a pure diesel engine. And if you have a diesel vehicle, start the engine and come out of your vehicle. It too will sound like a pure diesel engine. [:)]

I have taken the test drive of the force 1 they offer just 1 km test drive [anger].
In that small test drive I was not impressed the gear shifts are not accurate they are hard to engage and the clutch is very hard and long it didn't impress me .
The sales rep himself was telling the disadvantage of this car is it doesn't have abs .
W6 model of mahindra is I think 60,000 rs more then this and is 1000000 way ahead in all depts.
But let me tell you 1 thing I have seen many force ones outside Mumbai and people are buying them .
IMHO like others have stated they must offer abs, airbags remove cruise control and all fancy gadgets which people hardly use and price it 1 and half lakh less then people might buy it .

I did see quite a few (around 3-4) in Jaipur couple of months back. Mostly white and one blue color and looked these were primarily used for inter-city travel like Jaipur-Delhi/Agra/Udaipur etc.

The Mumbai dealer in Andheri (E) did not have a committed vehicle to showcase till around 4 weeks back when I called.

I have taken the test drive of the force 1 they offer just 1 km test drive [anger].
In that small test drive I was not impressed the gear shifts are not accurate they are hard to engage and the clutch is very hard and long it didn't impress me .
The sales rep himself was telling the disadvantage of this car is it doesn't have abs .
W6 model of mahindra is I think 60,000 rs more then this and is 1000000 way ahead in all depts.
But let me tell you 1 thing I have seen many force ones outside Mumbai and people are buying them .
IMHO like others have stated they must offer abs, airbags remove cruise control and all fancy gadgets which people hardly use and price it 1 and half lakh less then people might buy it .
I share the same view. Remove all those expensive gimmicky stuffs and get us ABS and airbags and bring the price below 10 lacs for a basic variant. Its OTR price in Coimbatore is more than the base variants of XUV and Aria and they both provide at least ABS.