Failed Cars in India

i agree with Raj on the people trust Mahindra more than TATA part. My dad just booked a Mahindra Xylo for office purposes even though i told him to check out Grande. His exact words were," TATA chalegi ki nahi, yeh kisi ko nahi pata hai. Mahindra toh bohut reliable hai (since my known friend has a Scorpio). Actually the only TATA he likes is Aria but it was wayy over budget.

Well since you said that, IMO Aria will never sell as much as XUV, even if TATA drops its prices. Whether you agree to it or not, go to the real world & have a look, people trust Mahindra's products more than TATA's. That is the precise reason every Mahindra product outsells every TATA product by a huge margin, be it Bolero v/s Sumo, Xylo v/s Grande, Scorpio v/s Safari or XUV v/s Aria.
really[evil]
You think I live in a fantasy world,well since this is about tata brand vs mahindra brand and which brand people trust, let me give you some reality check:

Tata Ace > Mahindra Maximo

Tata Magic > Mahindra Maximo MPV
Tata Iris + Zip > mahindra gio
Tata Heavy trucks > Mahindra Navistars
Tata City Ride > Mahindra Tourister
Tata 407/709 >> Mahindra ??

Tata Manza > Mahindra Verito

Come on buddy wake up , tata are not only jacks but master of many segment as well,mahindra always will be a second rate brand to tata no matter what they do!
TATA is trying to be the jack of all trades but a master of none IMHO. Mahindra on the other hand build only what it excels in, that is UVs.
Tata Sumo back in 1994 destroyed Mahindra Armada,just wait how new Sumo Gold destroyes bolero, and how new Safari will kill both scorpio as well as that ugly wannabe Evoque cheeta XUV oh oh.[;)]

Well friends don't take this as Tata Vs Mahindra, take it as India Vs World. Both brands are making us proud.

Tata, Have come a long way from acquisition to Jaguar, Land Rover brand to making the world's cheapest car Nano. Look at Aria, it's a giant leap ahead from Safari's and sumo. It looks miles ahead from any other Tata product. I am sure that Tata will contnue its surge towards world class manufacturing player.

Mahindra- Growing in leaps and bound. Scorpio set a benchmark Bolero has been the best seller for years now. And with XUV have shown amazing advancement. First to bring in monochrome suspesion which will surely set to revolutionize the Indin UV market.

It's hard to believe that with no choices in UV segment we are now being spoilt for choices.[clap]

A healthy competition betwee Mahindra and Tata will surely help India to cement it's place in manufacturing technology. And I am definately loving it.

Neeraj

@ raj,

Your HIT = Number of cars sold logic is weird.
By this, you mean Alto is bigger hit than Altis just because it sells more ??
Buddy, we are talking about cars & not movie tickets where HIT is dependent upon the sales of tickets at BOX OFFICE.

Again, XUV can't be called a hit as yet. Look what happened to Nano......enormous bookings & where does it stand now ?? Same can happen with XUV 500 too.
Give any vehicle 1 yr to call it good or bad. Who knows, after 1 yr, we will be discussing why XUV 500 sales are falling.

@ raj,

Buddy, we are talking about cars & not movie tickets where HIT is dependent upon the sales of tickets at BOX OFFICE.

Again, XUV can't be called a hit as yet. Look what happened to Nano......enormous bookings & where does it stand now ?? Same can happen with XUV 500 too.
Give any vehicle 1 yr to call it good or bad. Who knows, after 1 yr, we will be discussing why XUV 500 sales are falling.
Somehow agree on both points, but yes Alto is a hit car and so is Superb, M 800 was a hit too and so do Mercedes W220. Nano in "A" segment selling 6000 unit could be termed as flop (yes but things can change though unlikely).

XUV500 is an excellent product and should do good at current price, until and unless Mahindra goof up big time or Maruti comes up with a 10 Lac SUV [:D]
But yes time will tell, as in past excellent products failed to make it big due to some reason or other. But yes there was some reason and for XUV, reason still needs to be figure out.[evil]

Maddy

@ raj,

Dude please compare the cars segment wise.If a car is selling in higher nos.That means the car has given pleasure and satisfaction to its owners,That's why it will sell in more numbers.

Our country is still developing,so there are less no of takers for Altis,one day it may rise up like Alto.

Well it came down because of the horrible stories.Where XUV did not.

Just talk about the current scenario.

Just heard there was an alto 1.1 vxi which the production was stopped long time ago. Any idea why this was stopped? Also, maruthi claims they have increased the length of the k10 bonnet to accommodate the 1.0 ltr 3cyl. engine. Then how was the 1.1 ltr, 4 cyl. engine accommodate the older alto without the length increase?

This is off topic,but since you asked, yes earlier Alto used to come with 1.1 lt engine which it shared with Wagon R,infact Alto was developed with that engine in mind.The current Alto has 1.0 lt K10 engine which has a total different design when compared to old 1.1,hence to accomodate this new gen k10 engine Suzuki had to increase the bonnet lenght.Hope it clears your doubt,cheers.

One more argument...hmmm,let me strike too.
Even if a car is not selling well, it is not a FLOP just because it is in production... Strange!
Selling well means,a car must sell in decent numbers considering its competition and its segment.So +1 to Raj.If car car is being outsold by its rivals,that also too badly then its definitely a flop.But coming to Aria,you can't still call it a flop because it still has a customer ground of its own,which even don't like the XUV(Okay,I don't want to argue,Aria is a Chhota(small) flop)..

Well since you said that, IMO Aria will never sell as much as XUV, even if TATA drops its prices. Whether you agree to it or not, go to the real world & have a look, people trust Mahindra's products more than TATA's. That is the precise reason every Mahindra product outsells every TATA product by a huge margin, be it Bolero v/s Sumo, Xylo v/s Grande, Scorpio v/s Safari or XUV v/s Aria.
Definitely Aria can sell as good as XUV and can even outsell it.Who says Tata products are not reliable?
Aria can sell quite well only if its priced well,EVEN RAJ HIMSELF WILL BUY ONE if he fees that its bang for buck.As an overall package,the Aria has the capability to beat the XUV,only if its offered at the prices,on which it is being offered now a days.
It is just a myth that people trust M&M products more than Tata,truth is that people trust M&M UVs more that those of Tata,else Verito would have been....Even in my village too we have a M&M Arjun tractor and most of the people in village loves BOLERO(BULERO as they call it)only because they say "it has the same 4-cylinder(Chaar salandar-as they call it)engine from a Mahindra(Mahandra-as they call it) 475 DI tractor.So they believe that Bolero is a very strong and as rugged as tractor car.

TATA is trying to be the jack of all trades but a master of none IMHO. Mahindra on the other hand build only what it excels in, that is UVs.
+1,its a fact that Tata UVs are not matching M&M only because M&M has a exclusivity in them(leave the Verito)and its a fact that fame comes with exclusivity.But its also a fact that Tata UVs rules urban market while M&M UVs rule rural market.Simple:-
Every GRAM PRADHAAN buys a SCAARPIO(as they call it).
Every brickfield owner wants to buy a Bulero or Scaarpio.
Every Blaak(block) pramukh wants new a Scaarpio every six months..
Every farmer who sold his land wants a Scaarpio.
Every DAROGA JI wants a Scaarpio in his village house,hidden from vigilance department.
I mean,we people have came out of politics,but I still know a lot of people who contribute in thousands in the sale of SCAARPIOS..
Just come on roads and see,Safaris are mostly owned by city buyers.And the reason for Bolero and Scorpio to outsell Tatas is just MAHINDRA TRACTOR SERIES.
If Tata brings some very reliable tractors and beat M&M,then see the Tata SUVs too will do.

i agree with Raj on the people trust Mahindra more than TATA part. My dad just booked a Mahindra Xylo for office purposes even though i told him to check out Grande. His exact words were," TATA chalegi ki nahi, yeh kisi ko nahi pata hai. Mahindra toh bohut reliable hai (since my known friend has a Scorpio). Actually the only TATA he likes is Aria but it was wayy over budget.
Then how your father used to manage those days when market was ruled by Tata Sumos and is ruled my Tata buses?I am sure if he travels by bus then first of all he use to look at the logo before boarding the vehicle.Hey,this is true bashing of a brand.TATAS REALLY WORK AND WORK QUITE WELL TOO.

really[evil]
You think I live in a fantasy world,well since this is about tata brand vs mahindra brand and which brand people trust, let me give you some reality check:

Tata Ace > Mahindra Maximo

Tata Magic > Mahindra Maximo MPV
Tata Iris + Zip > mahindra gio
Tata Heavy trucks > Mahindra Navistars
Tata City Ride > Mahindra Tourister
Tata 407/709 >> Mahindra ??

Tata Manza > Mahindra Verito
No doubt,simply +1 in the above list of vehicles,TATA rules.

Tata Sumo back in 1994 destroyed Mahindra Armada,just wait how new Sumo Gold destroyes bolero, and how new Safari will kill both scorpio as well as that ugly wannabe Evoque cheeta XUV oh oh.[;)]
Well,now you have started dreaming XOVY dear.Here I am again with RAJ.Bolero now has became a standard,not an SUV.And Tata Sumo was always considered a sub-standard thing.Bolero where represents ruggedness,the Sumo represents TAXI,so beating a BOLERO is right now a bit too for for Sumo.Only a shape change may help,none else.

Tata, Have come a long way from acquisition to Jaguar, Land Rover brand to making the world's cheapest car Nano. Look at Aria, it's a giant leap ahead from Safari's and sumo. It looks miles ahead from any other Tata product. I am sure that Tata will contnue its surge towards world class manufacturing player.
Don't know if this JLR acquisition will really help Tata to come out with a world class Safari,as much time they have taken,we can hope them come up with something very serious.Although slowly,but Tata's new cars have started gaining the pedigree to attract the buyers.
Mahindra- Growing in leaps and bound. Scorpio set a benchmark Bolero has been the best seller for years now. And with XUV have shown amazing advancement. First to bring in monochrome suspesion which will surely set to revolutionize the Indin UV market.
For what M&M is really meant to be praised is IF TATA BRINGS US TECHNOLOGY,THEN MAHINDRA BRINGS US THE LATEST AND BEST TECHNOLOGY and that too at a more affordable price.

@ raj,

Buddy,even we people are also talking about cars only not the box office tickets,okay.
So coming to your point,have Raj anywhere said that HIT=Number of cars sold irrespective of their segments,if yes,then PITY ON HIM,if no then same for you.
A car that is being outsold by its competition is a flop and the car that rules the competition is a hit,simple as it sounds.

+1 to S-Class for the fact that wait and watch policy will give us best results.

Dear that was the best performing Alto ever sold in India.That car used to have a 1.1 mpfi engine from your Wagon-R and Zen.
If you ever have a look at the Alto's engine bay and the size of the 1.1 mpfi engine,then you yourself will get the answer to your question.

Well it came down because of the horrible stories.Where XUV did not.
And what about Q Class- Etios & Liva ? Why did several (running in hundreds) cancellations took place ?? Early hype may not work permanately. Give XUV 500 atleast 8-10 months.

Just talk about the current scenario.
I don't buy car to sell it after few months. So, wait & watch is my policy before I can put 10+L on some car.

But its also a fact that Tata UVs rules urban market while M&M UVs rule rural market.Simple:-
Every GRAM PRADHAAN buys a SCAARPIO(as they call it).
Every brickfield owner wants to buy a Bulero or Scaarpio.
Every Blaak(block) pramukh wants new a Scaarpio every six months..
Every farmer who sold his land wants a Scaarpio.
Every DAROGA JI wants a Scaarpio in his village house,hidden from vigilance department.
I mean,we people have came out of politics,but I still know a lot of people who contribute in thousands in the sale of SCAARPIOS..
Just come on roads and see,Safaris are mostly owned by city buyers.And the reason for Bolero and Scorpio to outsell Tatas is just MAHINDRA TRACTOR SERIES.
If Tata brings some very reliable tractors and beat M&M,then see the Tata SUVs too will do.
+1.
This is precisely what I said in sedan vs SUV thread, more so w.r.t. Scorpio.
In Pune, all the NCP (Sharad Pawar party) chaps will be moving around scarpo (as it is called here). This scarpo is also bought by gunthamantris, i.e. people who became rich by selling land.

And what about Q Class- Etios & Liva ? Why did several (running in hundreds) cancellations took place ?? Early hype may not work permanately. Give XUV 500 atleast 8-10 months.
Then the 8000 buyers of XUV have no sense in your views that's all.Whatever it maybe XUV now cannot be called as Flop but a hit.

+1,no doubt XUV has already proven itself,some days have already passed and no signs of any problems,that's good for a car.
Only a flop person can consider XUV as a flop,but the point of S Class is also true to an extent as he is saying LONG TERM REPORT WILL BE THE FINAL RESULT.

Only a flop person can consider XUV as a flop
Pardon me but I beg to differ/oppose your statement. If 9/10 people like a car and 1 does not, doesn't really brand the person as flop. May I ask you your experience with either XUV or ARIA. How much KMS you have driven, or any of your friend who is extremely happy or sad about any of these vehicles.Do you really mean, Thousands of owners of ARIA are super dumb and all XUV owners are smart???
Linea did start with a bang, so do SX4 and A Star. Do you particularly find everything too bad with Linea which is selling 300 in number and everything good about Verna which is indeed a blockbuster?? We all know Linea floopped due to TASS and Verna is selling because of HASS.

I have driven both XUV and ARIA and must say both are great vehicles. ARIA do seems bit overpriced but if I have a family of 7 I can consider that also. It's an extremely comfortable and competent vehicle and built by technicians who know bit more than us.
XUV do seem handful package but we all know how good or bad Mahindra is with electricals. Even I have heard part failures with XUV with Hill decscent control, dipper problems pertinent. It has many shiney surfaces on dashboard which a driver may not like or could act detterent while driving. Space for baggage and 5+ passenger is cramped up. And God knows if there could be a potential fault which Mahindra could not sort out in long run.
I am not saying anything is wrong with XUV or I am a fan of ARIA, just wanted to say that every buyer has got his own taste and liking. you cannot belittle a person who has got a different taste.

People including me respect your opinions and contribution to this forum as long as it is about CARS!

Neeraj

@Madan:
Dear,that was a mistake of mine.
My experience with XUV:110 kms.
With Aria:About 250 kms.
An uncle owns an Aria,done over 30k kms and is happy with his Aria.

I haven't said that Aria owners are dumb,but then I haven't said that they are very smart too.There is quite a bit too much difference between what I meant and what you understood,I mean you haven't reached anywhere near the fact I have mentioned.
Definitely,a car which is getting outsold by its competition is a FLOP,you must try to be unbiased and same I try to be.I myself like the Aria over XUV,but HAVE I MENTIONED IT AS A FLOP?ACCEPT THE TRUTH AS IT IS.Same way my favorite SUV is Yeti,but its being outsold,so its a FAIL,whatever good it may be.

about the heard complains I don't know at all as I don't believe the heard facts because RUMORS ARE ALWAYS HEARD AND FACTS ARE ALWAYS FOUND.

Do I need to say anything else?:smile:

My take on Aria and XUV!!

@ all

I think we are doing great injustice to some of the cars which may not be uber hit or popular by calling them failed cars.This thread is about 'failed cars of India', which means cars that have already failed and have no or minimal chance of any sales revival,how can cars that are still in production and have strong chance of comeback can be called as failed car just beats me up.Can anybody say that Aria has no chance of selling well in future, if yes then Aria is a failed car but if no then it isn't.

@ TSIVipul

Vipps you know how much I like you, but of course I don't need to agree with you every time.For the very first time I have seen chink in your argument, you have already said 9 days back this:

"Well,then Raj has done it absolutely wrong.
Aria still manages to sell in three figures and there are plenty of them on the road,really everyday you can spot one or two of them.
When Aria sales come in two figures only that day I'll believe her to be failed. "

And now just like raj you are calling Aria this:

"I haven't said that Aria owners are dumb,but then I haven't said that they are very smart too.There is quite a bit too much difference between what I meant and what you understood,I mean you haven't reached anywhere near the fact I have mentioned.
Definitely,a car which is getting outsold by its competition is a FLOP,you must try to be unbiased and same I try to be.I myself like the Aria over XUV,but HAVE I MENTIONED IT AS A FLOP?ACCEPT THE TRUTH AS IT IS.Same way my favorite SUV is Yeti,but its being outsold,so its a FAIL,whatever good it may be."

So now just like raj 5004 you believe that any car that is outsold by its competitor is flop.And on the other hand you say that you haven't mentioned Aria as flop!!

@ all

Guys life is not only black and white, it is grey as well.Lord Buddha said that the 'medium way is the best way to live your life'.Now if a car is not segment leader, if its not super hit does it mean that its a flop? Then what about cars like Figo, Beat,Vista,Manza, none of them are segment leaders and the competition outsells these cars by a huge margin----can they really be called as flops!!Cm'on people there has to be a middle way, there has to a ground between hit and flop and that is where Tata Aria is at the moment.