Exclusive! Ford EcoSport Makes Global Premiere (Variants Leaked! Pg.98)

Re: Exclusive! Ford EcoSport Makes Global Premiere (Pre-Launch Coverage: Pg.83)

GM88, 350Z, me2us2me, Raja, Indian, Gurrala74, pras, ASIR, vBeat -- Thanks everyone.

The source says the pricing should match the price of i20, now when we say i20 I think we should match it feature wise. Also for any vehicle to be called a cheap (in a good way) the pricing of the base variant holds the key.
IMO the base variant should be priced in such a way that it gives ES a tag of inexpensive vehicle, there by adding premium to the following higher variants.
I personally want ES to be a big success & wish it actually flies off the shelves with a killer pricing lesser than the i20s.

PS: Hormazd Sorabjee had earlier quoted the price to be around 5lcs. [surprise]
Lesser than i20 won't be possible IMO. The base diesel of i20 with the current offers is coming to 5.8lacs ex showroom price. If even the base diesel for Ford Ecosport comes for 6.5Lacs,which i still feel unlikely,will be an absolute killer price.

I think base petrol would be around 5.99Lacs, base diesel around 6.99Lacs. Even if Ford launches it at this price tags,they would absolutely shake up the whole market. I think it will be around 70-80k more than i20 against variant to variant.
Wishful thinking.[;)]

I see that there are many people in need of the possible variants for ES. I am posting here an overview of the variants which will be available for ES.[;)]. 100% authentic. [thumbsup]
Thanks for the post

What I can decode from post is.....

Diesel is only available in Ambient, Trend and Titanium + is available (Titanium is missed here).

1.5 Petrol is available in all the variants.

1.0 Petrol is available in Trend, Titanium and Titanium +

One more news is that ford hired Deloitte to handle the bookings!

@Carageous: Great effort! You have done a spectacular job by posting these insights of the variants which all our fellow forum members were desperate for!
I hope Ford does provide Hill decent/ascent feature in the Titanium(optional) Powershift variant as advertised on the Ecosport site.
Nevertheless, I am very excited to see the feature list and will probably end up buying the Titanium optional Powershift variant. I would be supremely delighted to buy the 1lEcoboost Powershift variant if Ford had one...But still I am happy with the vehicle and hats off to Ford for planning high on this baby monster!

@Carageous: Great effort! You have done a spectacular job by posting these insights of the variants which all our fellow forum members were desperate for!
I hope Ford does provide Hill decent/ascent feature in the Titanium(optional) Powershift variant as advertised on the Ecosport site.
Nevertheless, I am very excited to see the feature list and will probably end up buying the Titanium optional Powershift variant. I would be supremely delighted to buy the 1lEcoboost Powershift variant if Ford had one...But still I am happy with the vehicle and hats off to Ford for planning high on this baby monster!
IMHO, the feautre list provided is more of the author's view and will match the actual feature list around 90%. As you mentioned about hill descent control, me too think that this should be available on Titanium+ variant as Ford is displaying this feature on their Indian website.

GM88, 350Z, me2us2me, Raja, Indian, Gurrala74, pras, ASIR, vBeat -- Thanks everyone.

The source says the pricing should match the price of i20, now when we say i20 I think we should match it feature wise. Also for any vehicle to be called a cheap (in a good way) the pricing of the base variant holds the key.
IMO the base variant should be priced in such a way that it gives ES a tag of inexpensive vehicle, there by adding premium to the following higher variants.
I personally want ES to be a big success & wish it actually flies off the shelves with a killer pricing lesser than the i20s.

Nice scoop about the probable variants. Just curious to know, whether these are the one's available in China, as the background suggests.[;)]

Ford Ecosport India model range leaked

The new Ecosport will be available in four trims and three engine options. The base car will be called Ambiente, with the Trend, Titanium and Titanium Optional topping off the range. The engines will include a 1.5-litre petrol, 1.5-litre diesel and Ford’s much awaited 1.0-litre turbo charged direct-injection EcoBoost petrol. The latter, however, will only available on the top-end Titanium trim.

The Ambiente may be the base version, but it comes with a decent amount of kit. It gets tilt and telescopic steering, a music player with Aux-in and Bluetooth, electric wing mirrors, remote locking, a multi-function display, and 15-inch wheels. You only get front power windows though and there is no parcel tray with which to cover your luggage either.

Above this is the Trend, which gets anti lock brakes, rear power windows, steering-mounted audio controls and driver-seat height adjust. Both these trims are available only with manual gearboxes mated to a 1.5-litre diesel or 1.5 petrol engines.

If you want the 1.0-litre EcoBoost petrol you’ll have to shell out more for the Titanium. For your money you’ll get a manual gearbox, leather-wrapped steering wheel, 16-inch alloy wheels, climate control, cooled glovebox, roof rails, front fog lamps, reverse parking sensor, and dual airbags. There’s also an additional option pack for the Titanium trim, which offers push-button start, leather seats, keyless entry, and side and curtain airbags as well. You can get an automatic-gearbox-equipped version, but that only comes with the normal 1.5 petrol. There is no diesel version available for the top-spec EcoSport.

Whereas the 1.5 petrol and diesel are familiar (the 107bhp petrol and 88.8bhp diesel are similar to the engines on the Fiesta), the new Ecoboost is expected to make approximately 95-100 bhp. Prices for the EcoSport are expected to start at around Rs 7.5 lakh, with the top-end Titanium crossing Rs 12 lakh.

Ford Ecosport India model range leaked | News | Autocar India

Ford Ecosport India model range leaked
Flip back to the previous page of this thread. You will realize the actual source which Autocar has blatantly missed to mention.

Based on your scoop, the Titanium version is the only one comes with Ecoboost so basically the Ecoboost engine will be treated as premium engine with cost. Now the Ecoboost also supposed to bet excise benefit. It will be really interesting to see the price caparison between Titanium(EB) and Trend. Based on the pricing here we may see a best seller variant.
But looking at the engine options available in each variant, there will be lot of confusions for people who do not research and buy [evil] for sure. Hope the top end does not try to chase Duster price, that will be blunder for sure in India where cost is divided by number of seats plus the boot space!

Ford ES First Hand Report

@ carageous,

Good work, keep it up. [clap]

@ all,

Sorry for not putting my feedback on ES as said. The reason being my internet went kaput. :( We have private telephone exchange coupled with private cable broadband service in our society & some card malfunctioned because of which several connections malfunctioned & my port was also in same card :(.

But now as it is up & running, here is my take on ES -

I had gone to inorbit mall in last week of April this year alongwith my parents (though they were not that interested but I said to them that my gut feeling says I will be able to drive ES, so they accompanied). Kept the visit professional so as not to take me casually; first called up Ford local dealer, got the names & their representative at the mall, went to mall in odd hours after taking half day at office (planned it almost 3 weeks in advance for ES) & once I reached there, spoke with the representative after giving him reference of the person at showroom & he in turn introduced me to that lady (girls) who were trained by Ford. Spoke with them prima facie after which they didn't bother giving details which are already here on TAI & we straightway headed inside the car or CUV (compact utility vehicle). I was very happy when I found that steering wasn't touching my thighs. Had this not been the case, the next minute I would have walked out.

The good :) -

* Good GC,

* Compact & hence suitable for city use,

* Rather than fancy stuff like in XUV, they have given very useful features. Some of them are -

# Height & reach adjustable steering wheel. In normal circumstances, steering was touching my thighs, but thanks to reach adjust, I pulled steering more towards my side & whoa, it increased inclination angle thanks to which steering didn't touch my thighs. This is the only vehicle in sub-15/17L bracket in which I was able to sit on driver seat without any issue with steering wheel,

# Steering mounted controls & some other synchronized with microsoft software,

# The boot space increased due to spare wheel on rear door/boot door,

# 60:40 split seats,

# Integrated rear door handle in tail-lights gives nice touch & rear door operated electrically with a small press-button switch,

* The ingress-egress was also good for car of its size for front doors,

* Descent legroom in front & rear (for sub 4m size),

* Looks are indeed very nice. It doesn't give feel that it is sub 4m vehicle from front & rear. Only from side, it looks small,

* Multiple engine options claiming to provide good FE. I think 1.0L ecoboost & 1.5L diesel will be best sellers. Only those wanting auto trans will buy 1.5L petrol,

* The diesel will be a variable geometry (VGT) which is far better than Fiesta Classic,

* No need for step (or whatever that long plate is called as in case of Safari) to get in & out and I am sure girls will be happy with it. Ingress-egress is similar to Innova in case of height,

* The view from cabin is good, mainly due to its height. However, don't expect it to be as good as Storme, but better than Duster,

* Electrically adjustable ORVM (manually fold-able) with integrated turn lights,

* Fantastic substitute for B+ hatch,

* 16" wheels are welcome,

* Ford is giving key for removing spare tyre so that it is not stolen from outside. This key though is not normal key but a small rod with slits inside it. The slits are unique & hence it can't be used to remove other ES spare tyre. You can therefore consider that the spare tyre is quite safe even on boot door,

* Nice use of chrome, the front use of chrome gives it bigger than real look. It looks bonsai of Audi Q series :P,

* ES is a unisex CUV. Even if cute girl drives it, it will still look good. 2 in 1 micro-truck [:D]

The bad :( -

* Rear glass is small for comfort, should have been atleast 2"x2" bigger,

* Rear doors are small, not for my liking,

* The width of ES is quite less. We had deliberately taken Dzire to inorbit mall so that I can feel immediate difference in cabin space between the two & I found that Dzire from inside is much bigger than ES. The only thing which compensates it is the height. I felt the width of ES = i10,

* The absence of rear armrest in ES was also uncalled for. Ford should have given it atleast in Titanium, the same model which was showcased at mall,

* The driver side arm rest is too less in length, I felt either it should have been longer or atleast located in bit towards front. I managed to hardly keep half of my arm on it. It will be therefore more useful only when you are driving with single hand on steering, or you opt for auto trans model of ES,

* The boot space is quite less. Though ford managed to give something better after putting spare tyre on boot door, the boot lacks depth. The boot space in Dzire is much better,

* The under-thigh support is horrible. This was even more in my case & was observed as both, front as well as rear seats,

* Rear seat is strictly for 2 persons & 1 handbag. This is again due to less width,

* The size of the seats are quite narrow. The seats of Dzire are much more comfortable by all means, better thigh support & better width too. The internal cabin space is less than Honda Jazz,

* I would have preferred body colored rear bumper.

My final verdict -

There were free-lancer girls exclusively trained by Ford to explain prospective buyers about ES. This was a big advantage for me as I asked that girl to do all the adjustments, like seats position, steering adjustments, folding of seats to accommodate more luggage etc. for me & she did it comfortably. My intention here was to see how comfortable & smooth is the operation. If a girl can do it, then anyone can do it with ease.

On personal note, I wanted a car as substitute for my CBZ bike. Strange ? Let me explain. I can't drive any car under price range of 15-17L & therefore even for small things like buying fruit, going to nearby square (chowk) or in offices where parkings are small, I had to drive CBZ bike. Now it looks really odd if you take out full size sedan & go & buy fruits from local fruit vendor who is close by. For the gym too, I had to go on my bike as taking big cars there looks more of show-off.
It is here where ES comes in, it is small, doesn't attract attention like full size premium sedans, & does almost everything which you need to do in a city, carry some stuff, is compact for parking & doesn't look small like hatch either.
When I complained about poor under-thigh support & small width of ES to my parents, they said, OK, go & buy Range Rover then. [lol] The real meaning was stop complaining & don't compare ES with big size cars/SUVs !!
The other reason why I am happy is ES is quite affordable. This vitamin M issue coupled with ability to drive without steering probs with unique looks are sufficient for me to shortlist this CUV. If on-road price is as per my expectation, then surely it will be on top of my list in this segment as it can well be power packed VFM in its segment, far better than duster. Price it right, & I am in baby.

Attaching some pics to get you the idea of ES. Also note that I haven't taken any snaps of interiors as I was informed that the launch vehicle interiors will be upgraded ones & better than demo vehicle. The overall cabin quality will be improved, though the size of switches, seats, stalks etc. will remain the same.
Let me know if you have any further queries. I will be glad to answer those.

@ sclass
Nice review from you . And a good testimony of how a hater can turn into liking a car after experiencing it in real .btw how would you compare a Scorpio and quanto with the ES ?

@S class

Nice detailed review buddy !!

Is that under thigh support is that bad ?? how about driving seat, is there any difference.

How does you feel siting inside more roomy or a claustrophobic feel like XUV

@ sclass
Nice review from you . And a good testimony of how a hater can turn into liking a car after experiencing it in real .btw how would you compare a Scorpio and quanto with the ES ?
Yeah, but the main point why I got inclined is as said before that this is the only vehicle sub 15/17L which I can drive. If Storme had come with reach adjust steering wheel, I would have anytime picked the storme. Now what matters is pricing.

Scorpio is junk, never of my taste & Quanto looks like doberman, tail cut at end !! ES has much better proportions & looks good all round. It is far more sophisticated in looks than Quanto.
My knees go straight in dash in case of scorp & xylo/quanto, so they have zero value for me. Scorp/Quanto also feels quite crude than ES. ES is more urbane, scorpio is more for zilla parishad members :P . Being light, FE of ES should also be best in class.

ES outshines Quanto by miles but in terms of utility perspective, scorp may be better due to bigger size & more passenger carrying capacity. But then, nothing beats Tata Storme. How I wished Storme came in rack & reach adjust steering wheel.

@ S class Nice review... anything they mentioned @ the Launch date and expected price??
Girls there didn't have any idea about price & launch dates. But my sources tell me that most probable launch date will be mid-June 2013 & prices will be Rs.5.99L onwards.

@S class

Nice detailed review buddy !!

Is that under thigh support is that bad ?? how about driving seat, is there any difference.

How does you feel siting inside more roomy or a claustrophobic feel like XUV
Yes buddy, thigh support is not great & in my case, it is pathetic to be frank. This holds true for front as well as rear seats. You can compare under-thigh support with the likes of Santro/Wagon-R.
The person sitting besides me informed that few weeks back his brother purchased Duster & the seats of duster are better especially incase of width of the front seats. He even asked whether ES will be launched with new seats & reply was negative. Only the dash will be upgraded in major way by using better quality material.

Sitting inside ES is very much similar to that in Wagon-R/Santro. If you are OK with Wagon-R, you won't complain about ES. The major issue I saw is the width, which is quite small inside the cabin despite ES looking broad from outside.
Overall in terms of comfort, I would say Dzire is better especially after having seated back to back. Yet, I will be going with ES only due to that steering & youthful look.

BTW, the look of ES is quite loud. This will be picked up by people under the age of 35. Even Ford management guys in interview had said that ES is targeted towards people who stay with parents, are married with small child (me single BTW & no child either [lol]).

ES will surely not be picked up by people in age bracket of 40+. I think it is here where duster may score with older buyers despite its tired looks. Infact, when I spoke with my family members above the age of 40, no one liked ES for self use. My mom liked that orange color but she equally said better to stick with white (our patent color [:)] ) as it will help cut the loudness & good for office use. Orange looks more like party animal. [lol]

## I would categorically inform that I am narrowing on ES as small car, mainly as substitute for my bike. ES will be one of our cars & therefore, if at all I feel that in long distance I feel uncomfortable, I have option to take other car. Even the front seats of Tata Vista are more comfy than ES & overall comfort & ambience is better in Dzire than in ES. Those who are looking at ES as primary car, please do get issue of under-thigh support & width absolutely cleared.

Good to see autocar has put up source of TAI on their website. [clap]

After looking at the specs, ecoboost is only in Titanium & T+ only, while diesel is not there in top end. Wonder why ? Seems I may need to do a bit rethink post launch now. Ofcourse, I wasn't interested in top end ES, but was doing recalculations if I buy 1.0L ecoboost petrol Vs diesel as petrol price is falling & FE claimed is also good for ecoboost. Buying only titanium is rip off, that too for 12L. [anger] I would rather buy Storme & hire a chauffeur !! Hope Ford doesn't go over board with response it got, else ES may well be next new Fiesta in terms of sales :P.

The following is Chinese spec of ES. See that sunroof is not present even in titanium+ in India [anger]. The top end titanium costs around Rs.10.4L in China, with more features than Indian spec as well as longer in size with better legroom. How can one justify paying over 8-9L for sub-4m vehicle in India ??

Good to see autocar has put up source of TAI on their website.

After looking at the specs, ecoboost is only in Titanium & T+ only, while diesel is not there in top end. Wonder why ? Seems I may need to do a bit rethink post launch now. Ofcourse, I wasn't interested in top end ES, but was doing recalculations if I buy 1.0L ecoboost petrol Vs diesel as petrol price is falling & FE claimed is also good for ecoboost. Buying only titanium is rip off, that too for 12L. I would rather buy Storme & hire a chauffeur !! Hope Ford doesn't go over board with response it got, else ES may well be next new Fiesta in terms of sales :P.

The following is Chinese spec of ES. See that sunroof is not present even in titanium+ in India [anger]. The top end titanium costs around Rs.10.4L in China, with more features than Indian spec as well as longer in size with better legroom. How can one justify paying over 8-9L for sub-4m vehicle in India ??
Thanks for the Chinese ES specs comparison.Hope Ford price this baby well,6 lac for the base petrol will do.[evil]