Exclusive! Ford EcoSport Makes Global Premiere (Variants Leaked! Pg.98)

Hormazd Sorabjee of Autocar India and Sidharth Vinayak Patankar of The Car and bike show have tweeted about the possible launch date of the Ecosport. According to them its either end June or even as late as July. Not good news.[frustration]
Bookings itself are starting in June.

Update on the Ecoboost engine -

1 Liter Ecoboost petrol engine delivers 125PS,170nm Torque and returns 18.9Kmpl according to ARAI. Pretty good FE. And power comparable to a bigger 1.6 Liter engine.[clap]

Plus Ford says Ecosport won't attract SUV taxes as all engines are below 1500cc.

Ecosport diesel gets Fiesta's 1.5 TDCi motor. 89bhp / 204Nm and 22.7 kmpl according to ARAI.

1.5 litre TiVCT petrol mated to both 5 speed manual and 6 speed auto. Manual mileage: 15.8 kmpl, auto: 15.6 kmpl.

Ford-Ecosport-Goa.jpg

(Image Source: Kranti Sambhav)

Details pouring in from auto editors in Goa who will be busy this week driving the Ford EcoSport:

Engine
- Ecoboost engine gives 125 PS, 170Nm torque and 18.9kpl
- 1.5 TDCi engine gives 89bhp , 204Nm torque and 22.7 kpl
- 1.5 TiVCT engine gives 110bhp, 140Nm torque and 15.8 kpl (manual) 15.6 kpl (auto)

Key features
- Ecosport has 200mm ground clearance but won't attract SUV tax as all engines less than 1.5 litres
- Ecosport will have Hill launch assist with 3 second hold , and ESP on auto variant
- Ecosport can wade through 550mm of water
- Ecosport comes with 2 year / 100,000km warranty. Can be extended to 4 years / 200,000km warranty

Launch
- Ford to take bookings in June, no dates confirmed. Cant get any more painful

Quoting a few lines from the Autocar initial report

"Fords are known to be great driver’s cars and the EcoSport more than lives up to this reputation. The steering is just phenomenal and and comes with Ford’s ‘Pull Drift Compensation’, which corrects the steering when it detects a pull caused by crosswinds or a crowned road surface. It’s light, yet full of feel and delightfully quick, which makes you want to throw this car around every corner. The brilliant suspension allows you to do just that. Ford has painstakingly tuned the suspension to strike a finely judged balance between ride and handling. The result is a car that feels surefooted at speed on any surface and yet pliant enough isolate you from road shocks. Playing no small role are the 205/60-R16 tyres, which offer superb grip and a cushy secondary ride. Be in no doubt, the EcoSport sets a new ride and handling benchmark for a car below Rs 10 lakh."

"On the basis of its looks alone, the EcoSport is set to be a runaway success. This a car that tugs at the heart strings even before you drive it and once you’ve gotten behind the wheel, you’re completely smitten by the way it drives and its easy to overlooks its shortcomings like a slightly below par cabin and small boot."

Hormazd Sorabjee of Autocar India tweeted a few minutes back - "Just pushed Ecosport hard on winding Goa roads. Can't stop smiling. This car is FUN FUN FUN!"

Now i so want to be on the driver's seat of this car. That surely is confidence inspiring for potential buyers as well as the auto enthusiasts. Now price this car aggressively Ford and don't overprice it and make this beautiful machine another market dud.

Hope Ford price this baby well,6 lac for the base petrol will do.
It may but it will be that gas guzzler 1.5L petrol, which will give not more than 12-13 kmpl. Not worth. I am personally looking at either 1.5L diesel or 1.0L ecoboost but all depends upon pricing.

We’re off to Goa tomorrow to test the upcoming Ecosport. Just bumping up the topic if someone still has specific questions about the car.

Good to know this. Please tell Ford to improve under-thigh support.
Any idea about pricing will be fantastic.

I look forward for a great review from Vibhor soon[:)] better than Autocar
Yes i am sure everyone on TAI is eagerly waiting for the comprehensive review from 350Z on the Ecosport. But till we have that, there's no harm in reading what other auto jounalists think about the upcoming car which many of us are eagerly waiting for. Here is another review of the Ford Ecosport. This time from the Overdrive. They too tested the Ecoboost petrol engine.

2013 Ford EcoSport EcoBoost in India first drive - Overdrive

Was getting bored at home so decided to give a shot at Ecosport pricing.Hope you people don't mind.:stupid:
I have kept in mind Hormazd Sorabjee's tweet that Ecosport price will start sub 6 lacs,the details about the leaked variants by corageous and have taken VW Polo as a comparison parameter.

PETROL-

The ES's ambiente variant can be compared to the Polo's comfortline.
ES gets a 1500cc engine so it will be eligible for a higher excise duty i.e. 24%.Also it gets a better music system,non body coloured ORVMs,15 inch wheels,no rear power windows,no parcel tray,no front fog lamps,no rear defogger and no rear wiper.
VW Polo's comfortline price-5.38 lac(ex-showroom Delhi)
Considering all the factors,

Ford ES ambiente price-5.99 lac(ex-showroom Delhi)

The Es's trend variant can be compared to the Polo's highline.
Both cars come with ABS as standard.However Polo gets airbags,reverse parking sensors,alloy wheels,leather wrapped steering and handbrake and climatronic ac whereas ES scores in having EBD,rear power point and 60:40 split seats.Rest all the features are comparable.
VW Polo's highline price-5.84 lac(ex-showroom Delhi)

Ford ES trend price-6.30 lac(ex-showroom Delhi)

The ES's Titanium MT variant.
It is powered by the highly acclaimed 1 litre Ecoboost engine.Cost of this engine will be high as it is fully imported and is highly advanced.Some of the higher cost will be mitigated by the decrease in excise duty.
Coming to the features-
It will have Auto AC,16 inch alloy wheels,SYNC system,Cooled glovebox,front armrest,front fog lamps,roof rails,airbags and reverse parking sensors.

Ford ES titanium MT price-7.05 lac(ex-showroom Delhi)[:D]

Ford ES titanium AT(since it will get a dual clutch gearbox and will be subjected to higher excise duty because of the 1500cc engine) price-8.30 lac(ex-showroom Delhi)

DIESEL-
Will be eligible for lesser excise duty.Adding 90k to the petrol respectively.

ES's Ambiente-6.89 lac(ex-showroom Delhi)

ES's Trend-7.20 lac(ex-showroom Delhi)

ES's Titanium-7.95 lac(ex-showroom Delhi)

Vibhor

Kindly tell if the ES will come in a red shade other then the orange one ?
And which car you feel handles and has a better ride quality ES or duster ?

Great work Mightyme. From looking at your comparison, i find the prices a little too optimistic to be true. Although the base variant prices might just be what you quoted, i feel the Trend and Titanium variants will be priced significantly higher. A close to 70-75k price difference between Ambiente and Trend variant and a further 75-80k difference between Trend and Titanium variant.

In my view Ecosport offers a lot more than what you get from a Polo. Its an all together different segment, though people might compare it with the likes of premium hatchbacks like i20,Polo,etc but to be very honest it has lots going for it that these hatchbacks. Mind you I am a Polo owner myself.

In my opinion its prime target for comparison is the Renault Duster, which i am sure Ford will price it lower by a Lac than the Renault variant against variant.

Ex-showroom Diesel variant prices what i am expecting - Not being too optimist

EcoSport Ambiente Diesel - 7.50 Lacs
Renault Duster RXE 85 - 8.65 Lacs

EcoSport Trend Diesel - 8.25 Lacs
Renault Duster RXL 85 - 9.65 Lacs

EcoSport Titanium Diesel - 9.00 Lacs
Renault Duster RXL 85(O) - 10.65 Lacs

Ecosport titanium Diesel provides way too many features more than the RXL(O) variant. Plus you get an equally matched engine. Rather the Ecosport churns out 90bhp against Renault's 85. A better ride and handling car IMO. One loses out on backseat space(Ecosport comfortable for 2 passengers only in the rear) and you get a smaller bootspace, but if this baby SUV is priced anywhere close to 1.25-1.5Lacs lesser than the Renault. I am sure it will be a better overall package.

Great work Mightyme. From looking at your comparison, i find the prices a little too optimistic to be true. Although the base variant prices might just be what you quoted, i feel the Trend and Titanium variants will be priced significantly higher. A close to 70-75k price difference between Ambiente and Trend variant and a further 75-80k difference between Trend and Titanium variant.

In my view Ecosport offers a lot more than what you get from a Polo. Its an all together different segment, though people might compare it with the likes of premium hatchbacks like i20,Polo,etc but to be very honest it has lots going for it that these hatchbacks. Mind you I am a Polo owner myself.

In my opinion its prime target for comparison is the Renault Duster, which i am sure Ford will price it lower by a Lac than the Renault variant against variant.

Ex-showroom Diesel variant prices what i am expecting - Not being too optimist

Ecoport Ambiente Diesel - 7.50 Lacs
Renault Duster RXE 85 - 8.65 Lacs

Ecoport Trend Diesel - 8.25 Lacs
Renault Duster RXL 85 - 9.65 Lacs

Ecosport Titanium Diesel - 9.00 Lacs
Renault Duster RXL 85(O) - 10.65 Lacs

Ecosport titanium Diesel provides way too many features more than the RXL(O) variant. Plus you get an equally matched engine. Rather the Ecosport churns out 90bhp against Renault's 85. A better ride and handling car IMO. One loses out on backseat space(Ecosport comfortable for 2 passengers only in the rear) and you get a smaller bootspace, but if this baby SUV is priced anywhere close to 1.25-1.5Lacs lesser than the Renault. I am sure it will be a better overall package.

Btw what happens to the polo ? It stays or Doctor Saab is seen from July in ES ? [;)]

Thanks for both your Analysis on approximate pricing but just to let all know here is Ford is competing Eco Sport with B+ and Compact Sedan Segment (As told by some of my friends at Ford Training Sessions). Ultimately believe it or not it is a B + segment car and not a proper SUV.

Another point to MightyMe, is that Ford has confirmed that SUV taxes will not apply since all the engines are below 1500 (1493 CC ). Also the body is below 4 Mtrs (Spare wheel is an Accessory and does not consider within the body)

My Guess Ambiente should start from 4.99 L ( Since there are no back pwr windows, so it really would be low. Also it would compete with Amaze & Dzire)

Trend would be abt 5.6 L

Titanium 1.5 MT would be around 6.5.

Titanium 1.0 would be around 6.8 (There is a diff of Rs 30,000 max btw 1.5 & 1.0 in the China market)

Titanium O would be abt 7.4

Add another 90 Thousand to every model for Diesel.

This is again just an assumption

Thanks for both your Analysis on approximate pricing but just to let all know here is Ford is competing Eco Sport with B+ and Compact Sedan Segment (As told by some of my friends at Ford Training Sessions). Ultimately believe it or not it is a B + segment car and not a proper SUV.

Another point to MightyMe, is that Ford has confirmed that SUV taxes will not apply since all the engines are below 1500 (1493 CC ). Also the body is below 4 Mtrs (Spare wheel is an Accessory and does not consider within the body)

My Guess Ambiente should start from 4.99 L ( Since there are no back pwr windows, so it really would be low. Also it would compete with Amaze & Dzire)

Trend would be abt 5.6 L

Titanium 1.5 MT would be around 6.5.

Titanium 1.0 would be around 6.8 (There is a diff of Rs 30,000 max btw 1.5 & 1.0 in the China market)

Titanium O would be abt 7.4

Add another 90 Thousand to every model for Diesel.

This is again just an assumption
I can assure you that ford is not so modest to price it in the range you are suggesting . Iam sure you know the tech and gizmos they are offering from the base version to the top version .

@Anisin,

I too second Raja on this but what you quoted will be a dream price and Ecosport will roll off like hot cakes if it is in the price range you suggested.