Duster 85 PS RXL vs Scorpio LX vs Ertiga ZDI (Booked Duster)

Re: Duster 85 PS RXL vs Scorpio LX vs Ertiga ZDI

^^Before the price is made official, check a TD with any XUV and decide if you like that or not

I wouldn't agree on Bolero discussed in same class as other vehicles we are discussing here. It is a jeep in clothes of a car. It could be good utility vehicle and have stability, cornering abilities etc - but it would score very low on 'comfort' whether on four lane highways or bad roads (Not talking about off roading kind of condition).

Though there is general perception that such vehicles are better choice for bad roads (bad roads means - winding, bumpy roads with patches etc). Harder suspension might allow driving without care - but ride for passengers will be very uncomfortable.

To sum it up, if comfort is also a priority I wouldn't recommend Bolero type vehicles..

I completely agree with Dhana! Well, the Bolero may seem tough on the outside, but it isnt! Its only tough in taking bad roads well, but the car is dated, the chassis is weak and old and the space is severely cramped! I have seen many Boleros crushed or torn!

Hi Dhana & DJ,

You both are right ( not completely as the Bolero is tough through out, not only from outside).
But in rush hour city traffic condition, driving a bolero with its low end torque is a real cool idea! Ask any Bolero owner.

Regards ......

Ya, the low end power is gud because of the huge engine and high torque, but the power is too less for highway cruising and rather less space and hard leaf springs suspension makes it worse! And I told you the Bolero ain't safe because of it's old chassis and poor body! Here's a proof of an accident! See how the chassis and the body is ripped, seperated and crushed, resulting in death of 3 persons! It seems tough and is tough for taking bad roads I agree, but it isnt safe and there are many more incidents of the bolero! No offense!

Thread Starter #51

Dear All,

Went for test drive of Ertiga and Duster again. Here are the Details

Ertiga
I Could park it inside. A bit of squeeze but able to do that myself
The test drive vehicle is a petrol one. Never driven the K-Series before. surprised to see how good it is (driven only in city traffic though)
20K Cash Discount + 3K accessories free. Seems I can get another 2-3K worth of accessories if I negotiate further.
7-10 Days delivery time (max)

Duster
Duster SA came with an experienced driver who was able to park it in few ways. It was a bit difficult but with few days of practice, I can park it as well I guess.
Driven it in a pot holed road and it handles very well. It is a 110 PS and the pickup was good.
When I called in the morning, the SA told me the 60K offer was no more available. But he called me again in the evening and told me he can get the 60K offer (the RC book process). Finally he agreed for 60+10 K cash discount + I guess I can save 5-6 K if I take the insurance outside. Mudflap + Number Plate + Floor mats are free.
Because of the budget, I am opting only for 85 PS RXL. The ABS model costs another 2 L which I dont want to shell.

Question as usual [:)]
With the 70K offer, is it make sense to go for the duster?
Is power in 85 PS adequate?
SA says the deal will be there only for 2 days. I thought i will take a final call after Diwali. So bit confused now.

Main things which I liked in the Duster are
- SUV look (of course Mini)
- Mileage, more or less equal to Ertiga
- Closed boot space (minor one though)
- 10 K service interval
- Looks as a complete product like the Ertiga

Not considering XUV 500 W4 because it is a much bigger vehicle (again from my parking considerations [frustration] + may be out of my budget).

and what about the price Vindan? The Duster is quite pricey for what you get! here the top end 85ps is 13 lacs!

before buying ertiga i loved duster very much for its compact muscle size style , but after seeing the interiors & price i got disappointed a lot . first the dashboard is not upto class style like ertiga & price

Vindan@

as per your own words, what you are going to miss by buying Duster are
Ertiga ZDI
- (+)Fully loaded with ABS and Airbags comes around 10.5L
- (+)Adequate seating arrangement for 7 persons. Middle row is not as comfortable as duster though.
- (+)MASS service and fuel efficient 1.3 MJD

Thread Starter #55

and what about the price Vindan? The Duster is quite pricey for what you get! here the top end 85ps is 13 lacs!
DJ, I am planning only for 85 PS RXL - Comes around 10.7L. I hope to save another 10K in insurance.

Thread Starter #56

Vindan@

as per your own words, what you are going to miss by buying Duster are
Ertiga ZDI
- (+)Fully loaded with ABS and Airbags comes around 10.5L
- (+)Adequate seating arrangement for 7 persons. Middle row is not as comfortable as duster though.
- (+)MASS service and fuel efficient 1.3 MJD
True. Specifically I will miss ABS the most. For ABS I have to shell out another 2L which is way beyond my budget.

DJ, I am planning only for 85 PS RXL - Comes around 10.7L. I hope to save another 10K in insurance.
Ok, even though the lower variant, its still at 10 lakhs and it is totally crappy for what you get! You can get a fully loaded ZDi for exactly the same price! Dont make a mistake bro! I got my VDi for 9.3 lacs including the accessories i ordered! Just think!

But @vindan, think twice before going for a vehicle without ABS. I did the same 2 years back and regretting now as ABS is must today's road situations and for safety[:)]

how much discount have you been offered for 85 ps RxL. I have been offered 30k thru RC book process (no exchange).

I want to buy RxL(opt) with Airbags and Alloys but price difference is a lot between the two.

I feel once W4 is launched, expected at same price point of RxL(opt), it should see more discounts being offered.

Thread Starter #60

how much discount have you been offered for 85 ps RxL. I have been offered 30k thru RC book process (no exchange).

I want to buy RxL(opt) with Airbags and Alloys but price difference is a lot between the two.

I feel once W4 is launched, expected at same price point of RxL(opt), it should see more discounts being offered.
Mohit, Exchange bonus - 60K + 10K additional discount if opt for available color in stock