Duster 85 PS RXL vs Scorpio LX vs Ertiga ZDI (Booked Duster)

Re: Duster 85 PS RXL vs Scorpio LX vs Ertiga ZDI

Check Nissan Terrano, get the quotation, no not for booking it but once you get the quotation, booking the Scorpio would become easy. I mean Scorpio is a VFM car.
I have a slightly contrasting view. I also test drove Scorpio on couple of occasions in the past and was impressed with the engine and of course the intimidating butch looks.

But when I observe it on the road, I see lot of horizontal movement i.e. swaying during lane change, nose dipping during braking etc. When Innova itself gives hard time to some sensitive folks, Scorpio will be worse in my opinion. You might want to have some middle seat riders too while you do TD for at least 10kms in mix of good & bad roads.

Based on my TD, order of comfort was Duster, Ertiga, Innova, XUV. I was particularly impressed with Duster on uneven roads - and the TD guys asked me to push it to the limits over the pot holes, cutting across etc. So in my opinion don't strike off Duster or Terrano too early even if price is slightly higher.

Yes, Scorpio will be bumpy on bad roads for sure and will be very uncomfortable as per my experience. Like Dhana said Duster may be more planted but(I did not like its price for its power) So yes check out Terrano once and also TD the storme just get a feel

But Terrano and Duster are not worth the price! You just get the same amount of equipments and lesser space and flexibility than the Ertiga ZDi for 3 lakhs higher! And too much plasticky and cost cut interiors. I am mentioning this because I once had been to the showroom to check the Duster and shocked to see the price list!! I am an Ertiga owner and I agree with Dhana that the ride of Duster is awesome! But when you consider money and value, you get less in the Duster and more lesser in the Terrano (the only difference between both is the interior and exterior styling and badges)! and also the ride of Ertiga is impressive and more so with Nitrogen filled tires! So go for it if you want to, but choose the right dealer!

@TAIDHANA,I agree, the horizontal movement (bodyroll) and handling at 120 kmph on good roads is a little problematic in case of Scorpio but then duster is little expensive also, hence I suggested him a golden midway between Ertiga and duster.

I think Bolero is an another option, It is old design, but still selling like a hatch back.

it is an SUV
It is in your budget
Occasional 7 seater.

DJ Bro.. I wasn't recommending Ertiga since he is looking for an SUV (read Power and butch looks). Else, being an Ertiga owner myself I would have suggested as well.

However, completely agree with all of you folks on the pricing of Duster and Terrano. In my opinion too, they are at least 2 - 3 lakhs costlier than what is worth. If Duster (top end) was in the range of 12L I would myself have gone for it even with the same dull / boring / plasticky interiors.

To me, Relees has made an authentic point, if out right highway cruising ability is not your main criteria & if you can live with Ertiga, then Bolero top trim is a better choice,IMO. An absolute reliability with superb cornering ability (AMONG UV's).

Regards ........

DJ Bro.. I wasn't recommending Ertiga since he is looking for an SUV (read Power and butch looks). Else, being an Ertiga owner myself I would have suggested as well.

However, completely agree with all of you folks on the pricing of Duster and Terrano. In my opinion too, they are at least 2 - 3 lakhs costlier than what is worth. If Duster (top end) was in the range of 12L I would myself have gone for it even with the same dull / boring / plasticky interiors.
Ok but I would never go for it even if it was 12 lakhs! Its only worth 10 lakhs max! Nothing extra except reverse sensor and touchscreen system over the Ertiga! Moreover I needed an occasional 7 seater!

Believe me RK, Bolero's ride quality is far more sorted than Scorpio.

Visibility of the windows not that bad, because of high & upright seating position.

Obviously the space is at premium, so in Scorpio.

Who doesn't want an absolute reliable & tough vehicle?

Regards ..........

Just to add one more contender, how about checking out the XUV500 W4 model which is expected to be launched at 10.5L by this month end.
The only problem would be taking it to your parking space. [:)]
Otherwise it is Ertiga all the way for you. Believe me, once you get it you will be surprised & satisfied with your decision due to the flexibility it offers at it's value.

^^^ +100.

Since you are anyways considering the top end Ertiga, stretching a bit for the XUV W4 absolutely makes sense now. If priced below 11 Lacs, this variant is absolutely value for money.

Absolutely, taking along the problem it might be is your parking space but yes worth the wait to see what pricing mahindra launches it OTR for W4.

Thread Starter #45

Just to add one more contender, how about checking out the XUV500 W4 model which is expected to be launched at 10.5L by this month end.
The only problem would be taking it to your parking space. [:)]
Otherwise it is Ertiga all the way for you. Believe me, once you get it you will be surprised & satisfied with your decision due to the flexibility it offers at it's value.
^^^ +100.

Since you are anyways considering the top end Ertiga, stretching a bit for the XUV W4 absolutely makes sense now. If priced below 11 Lacs, this variant is absolutely value for money.

Absolutely, taking along the problem it might be is your parking space but yes worth the wait to see what pricing mahindra launches it OTR for W4.
This cut price XUV W4 seems to be interesting. Not sure whether it is affordable to me and also the parking issue is there [frustration]. But seems it is worth waiting for this.