Driving in Some 'Civic' Sense - A Buying and Ownership Review

Wow buddy your civic looks really great and after owning one myself i can definitely say that Honda's have one of the best engines and driving a CIVIC is a lot of fun.

its a long time coming now, i think the ictdi is already introduced in the US , though there wont be much diesel buyers in the US. Not sure if any American friends on this forum have driven it ? but i even hear it does not have a third row which is a bummer in india!
No buddy Honda has not launched the Diesel CRV in US as well. And i guess they wont launch a CRV (Diesel version in US) Since Diesel is expensive by almost a dollar in US.

But yes they have launched a new version of CRV. I am uploading some pics of the new CRV.

@Iron Rock:The Civic is looking great in the pics,eh..Civic always look great.

Actually its we Indians who are going gaga over those diesel engines,else the i-vtec is one gem of an engine.Just drive it at higher revs and the way it touches redline without any drama and the sounds it produce are always a treat o the driver.Though my car is faster,but still when it comes to overall driving experience then only i-vtec is enough to eclipse the dynamics and performance of TSi.Drive it to believe it,keep the engine boiling and see the effect.
i-vtec offers a solid blend of performance and FE,now let's see what they bring on the name of i-CTDI.

And yes,Iron Rock:Buddy when the time comes to change the rubber,then instead of the stock 195 section,go for the 205(I think Civic will do good on 205/65 R15 and will do best on 205/65 R16-but that will need rims upgrade) section rubber and then see the effect.My friend's City is running on 195 ones and I believe that 195 is the tyre for City and 205 for Civic...Damn,these Honda cars are really under-tyred[frustration]

Thread Starter #108
Wow buddy your civic looks really great and after owning one myself i can definitely say that Honda's have one of the best engines and driving a CIVIC is a lot of fun.
Thank you sir, the i-vtec should go to an automobile wax museum, its a cult thing! The CRV interiors look pretty hi-tec, honda always have a thing for interiors especially! I hope they launch the diesel crv soon in india.

Thanks for also reminding me i own this thread also, but updates have been less since the XUV came on as i use the XUV for long drives and civic is only used within the city for now (i know its such a shame, but blame the petrol prices! ).

@Iron Rock:The Civic is looking great in the pics,eh..Civic always look great.

Actually its we Indians who are going gaga over those diesel engines,else the i-vtec is one gem of an engine.Just drive it at higher revs and the way it touches redline without any drama and the sounds it produce are always a treat o the driver.Though my car is faster,but still when it comes to overall driving experience then only i-vtec is enough to eclipse the dynamics and performance of TSi.Drive it to believe it,keep the engine boiling and see the effect.
i-vtec offers a solid blend of performance and FE,now let's see what they bring on the name of i-CTDI.

And yes,Iron Rock:Buddy when the time comes to change the rubber,then instead of the stock 195 section,go for the 205(I think Civic will do good on 205/65 R15 and will do best on 205/65 R16-but that will need rims upgrade) section rubber and then see the effect.My friend's City is running on 195 ones and I believe that 195 is the tyre for City and 205 for Civic...Damn,these Honda cars are really under-tyred[frustration]
Yes agree the i-tec is a stonker, regarding tyres i recently upsized them to Yoko C drives 205/65 R15 (same stock rim ) - immediately the handling improved significantly especially cornering and even wet weather driveability.
I dont drive it too often outside pune now though.

Yes agree the i-tec is a stonker, regarding tyres i recently upsized them to Yoko C drives 205/65 R15 (same stock rim ) - immediately the handling improved significantly especially cornering and even wet weather driveability.
You made a typo,its i-vtec.Eh,you names a great engine wrongly.One can be punished for that.

Eh,205/65 sounds good,but then how will you enjoy them until you go out of Pune.Damn,I know the culprit is that black diesel vehicle you have[frustration].

BTW,how about a pic of those Yokohama tyres?I wanna see their tread pattern.:please:

My experience has been good. Just the hydraulic engine mounting has been changed thrice. Once at around 21k (under warranty) then at 37k and recent one at 61k. The last one I got outside H.A.S.S.

Other than that nothing unusual, just routine service/oil change. [clap]
t think thats your bad luck. changing th hydraulic mounts thrice. i changed mine only once at 40k and now its working fine..as of now my civic has done 52500km

I think u heard it right Iron Rock, as when last month i took the my city for servicing, the honda S.A. told me that CRV is coming in Diesel in the year end.
even i heard at A.S.S,the executive was telling me ,by the year end honda will introduce diesel for accord and crv. i asked what about civic, he said no such news.

Many people praise me for the social works I do,hence I thought of doign something good to you,that also for FREE[clap].
Either you can send the car to me or wait for me to reach you and I'll take the whole pain of driving the car and munching miles for you and will even praise the car.And even more spice in the offer is "I won't even touch your XUV'.This is one 'once in a lifetime offer'.

even i heard at A.S.S,the executive was telling me ,by the year end honda will introduce diesel for accord and crv..i asked what about civic ,he said no such news..
Well,just do tell me why you guys are so much interested in any black-smoke jugaad when you have a fantastic 1.8 i-vtec equipped car?

I just met today with Honda Service Manager (North) and he shared some valuable information that Honda is experimenting with Accord Diesel since last three years and not able to deliver as per HONDA norms. So it may take another set of months to actually deliver a deisel HONDA. He also said that now a days CIVIC and ACCORD rates have drastically gone down due to the diesel craze in the market that you get a decent car in 5-7 lakhs.

I myself purchased a 2007 (Oct) Model CIVIC VMT last year in Sept 2011 for Rs.6 Lakhs. That was an exceptional car maintained by a company (I am the second owner) and had clocked just 27K Kms with all orginal tyres (with mfg date) and paint.

I am pretty happy with the Petrol CIVIC as its addictive while driving a CIVIC and I feel like as if I am in a diff world driving it.

I have driven the car to a top speed of 173Kmph and will try for 200 surely. The adrenaline is still rushing in.. :P

I highly recommend this car to anyone who is a speed and luxury lover. Its a perfect blend of luxury and hardcore engine.Very responsive in terms of acceleration, braking, control and stability.

watch this video for the 173 Kmph run.. :P :D

video-2011-11-21-01-28-00.mp4 - YouTube

***important*** This act was done while taking care of lot of safety precautions, like people & stray dogs don't come in the way and the road was closed from both ends and one side so no entry possible. Please do not try this anywhere and drive safely. :)

Thread Starter #117
Hi Anshul, fantastic pics especially the interiors, my heart always melts when I see a civic in such glory! Its a beautiful piece of engineering. This beauty surely deserves a ownership thread !
Welcome to TAI btw![:)]

Very true. The cockpit always amazes me and its like a zen for me..
thankx Iron Rock..

Hey why dont we all civic Owners gather somewhere and have a fun morning/day and share news/food/thoughts/info. We can plan a long drive ... :)
What say??

anshulmadan: Buddy your Civic looks awesome. You deserve kudos for maintaining it so well. And yes, a Civic meet would be an awesome treat for the members too.

@Anshulmadan:
CIVIC..ahh,even the name sounds very good.
I am also in the list of Civic lovers and drivers.Though don't own one,but still have one in my circle,a 2008 'S' M/T it is.
The video was a treat,not to eyes,but to ears.Hearing a Civic nearing the redline is always a treat to ears.Thanks a lot to you fer not playing any music etc but let us hear the i-vtec only(BTW,when you you said 'chup(I think it was Muh band rakh) was also a treat to ears).
Rest 173 is not for the Civic,this is for City.Actually I felt that you pushed the car well in first and second gear,then in third you haven't redlined it to that extent and in fourth you haven't pushed it at all like before,else this could easily have been 180 kph.

Please come up with a separate review of your civic where we can discuss performance,Iron Rock is a cool driver(you know 'beta 100 se upar nahi' type) so we must not hijack his ownership review.Also he is a MOD too..:tongue: