DIYs Done On My 2017 Hyundai Creta (1.6L CRDi)

Was wondering if you changed the ATF and timing chain?
1. ATF = I presume is Automatic Transmission Fluid. If yes, my Creta is a 6-Speed manual gearbox and I have changed the fluid at 60,000kms mark and 1,00,000 kms mark.

2. Timing Chain = Not yet changed. I plan to do it at 1,50,000 kms mark. Current odometer is ~1,32,000 kms.

If yes, the associated cost as well as time consumed.
Timing chain should be costing me around 30,000 for parts alone.

Will an FNG do justice or HASS?
I have stopped visiting HASS since 2019. I'll always go to my trusted FNG with the parts purchased from MOBIS distributor in Hyderabad.

Okay, my bad about the transmission. I just got a used Creta 2018 diesel-auto with 1.07 lakh km on the odo. Before taking delivery, I ensured that the suspension has been fully replaced, steering rack replaced, new disc pads, new brake oil, fresh air/oil/diesel filters, 2 engine mounts and 5w40 Mobil 1 engine oil. These were done at a regular garage under my watchful eyes.

HASS told me to replace timing chain at 1.30 lakh while transmission fluid is something they said needs to be changed immediately. Not that anything is amiss but they claim at 1 lakh, it has to be changed. About the 30k cost for timing chain, I was told 25k including labour at HASS. Am I missing something here?

Not that anything is amiss but they claim at 1 lakh, it has to be changed.
You can get it changed but try to be around the car when the transmission fluid is changed and please take care to source the correct grade fluid 'IF' it is being changed outside at any FNG.

About the 30k cost for timing chain, I was told 25k including labour at HASS. Am I missing something here?
My bad, costs for timing chain replacement would be between ₹25-26K including labour.

You can get it changed but try to be around the car when the transmission fluid is changed and please take care to source the correct grade fluid 'IF' it is being changed outside at any FNG..
If you can suggest the grade and company. Also, what are you doing for stuck window channels. My rear left power window doesn't work. Had sprayed silicone-based lube in all the channels. The rear one still doesn't work. Planning on getting it fixed at the FNG. Not a priority for the time being.

If you can suggest the grade and company.
Have you checked on what HASS fills when changing the ATF by themselves? As per the owner's manual, it says "ATF SP-IV with required quantity of 7.1L".

Also, what are you doing for stuck window channels. My rear left power window doesn't work. Had sprayed silicone-based lube in all the channels.
A common issue with Creta. The Rear Right Power Window in my car isn't functioning for the past 6 - 8 months. Not that it has bothered me so far as only 2 occupants are there maximum in my Creta that too only on weekends else it is only me driving it.

I presume that the Power window motor has gone kaput. New one costs ₹3,200 AFAIK. Will change it soon though.

Have you checked on what HASS fills when changing the ATF by themselves? As per the owner's manual, it says "ATF SP-IV with required quantity of 7.1L".

A common issue with Creta. The Rear Right Power Window in my car isn't functioning for the past 6 - 8 months. Not that it has bothered me so far as only 2 occupants are there maximum in my Creta that too only on weekends else it is only me driving it.

I presume that the Power window motor has gone kaput. New one costs ₹3,200 AFAIK. Will change it soon though.
There was a receipt, under the armrest, of the same power window being repaired. The cost written was Rs 800. This was fixed almost a year ago by the previous owner, as per the receipt. Was done at an FNG. Again, it is just me who is driving the car and other seats usually aren't occupied. A solution to this, as suggested by a friendly garage owner, is that we use all four power windows twice in a day so that the motor remains in its prime.

As for the HASS and ATF, no, they didn't mention any details. Claimed that 10 litres will be used, with the 3 extra for flushing. A day's job. FNG said that it will be a Rs 15k job and will be done in half a day. One HASS suggested to let the fluid be as it is. The more you open and check, more the chances of dust getting in and ruining it.

The front door rust is prevalent. As a stop gap, the garage used sandpaper and primer and then painted it white. Not sure how long it will stick before the rust starts manifesting itself again. Since I have a sunroof to deal with, that part was also neatly sandpapered and then painted.

What did you do to dampen the sound more? My car gives slight vibrations through the driver's seat and front door panels. Happens at idle and when gear is engaged (higher). Not unbearable but the OCD in me tells that this has to be fixed. HASS says it is normal for diesel engines but I remember driving a diesel Creta for 6 months in 2016 and it had run 88k kms. No vibrations and the engine was dead silent as well. Maybe other members can also chip in with suggestions. The engine mounts were replaced a month ago when I got the car

Thread Starter #37
As for the HASS and ATF, no, they didn't mention any details. Claimed that 10 litres will be used, with the 3 extra for flushing. A day's job. FNG said that it will be a Rs 15k job and will be done in half a day. One HASS suggested to let the fluid be as it is. The more you open and check, more the chances of dust getting in and ruining it.
I agree. The TC gearbox, in general, is sensitive, any mishandling would create unnecessary issues during usage. So best to have this job done by HASS unless the FNG person is qualified and experienced with Torque Convertors.

The front door rust is prevalent. As a stop gap, the garage used sandpaper and primer and then painted it white. Not sure how long it will stick before the rust starts manifesting itself again. Since I have a sunroof to deal with, that part was also neatly sandpapered and then painted.
Yes, there is the issue of acute rusting on both the front doors, a known issue with the 1st Gen Creta I guess. I did sand and touch-up the area but the issue has gotten worse now. The only option I have door replacement which I intend to do in the future.

What did you do to dampen the sound more? My car gives slight vibrations through the driver's seat and front door panels. Happens at idle and when gear is engaged (higher). Not unbearable but the OCD in me tells that this has to be fixed. HASS says it is normal for diesel engines but I remember driving a diesel Creta for 6 months in 2016 and it had run 88k kms. No vibrations and the engine was dead silent as well. Maybe other members can also chip in with suggestions. The engine mounts were replaced a month ago when I got the car
No dampening done on the car. It is all stock.

In an automatic, there would be almost nil vibrations when the transmission is in 'N'. The moment 'D' is engaged, there will be a mild humming vibration throughout the car. It is normal IMHO and I have experienced it in my friends car too.

As you said, the engine mounts were replaced (I presume A and B mounts i.e., under coolant reservoir and under the battery) what about the transmission mount (C-Mount)? Was that also replaced?

The transmission mount wasn't replaced as it was holding good. Confirmed by FNG and HASS. As for the mild humming, it is coming through the seat, arm rest as well as steering wheel. The mechanics are attributing it to the diesel powertrain and have raised their hands.

I remember seeing the picture where you had added the sound deadening material under the hood. Could you please guide on the same?

The whole body seems to be vibrating I think. Definitely suggest looking at Transmission mount replacement.

I remember seeing the picture where you had added the sound deadening material under the hood. Could you please guide on the same?
It is not any form of sound deadening, it is just a pre-cut sheet that I bought to concel the area around the hood. I didn't like the bare look hence has bought it from AliExpress when shipping was normal to Indian shores.

The whole body seems to be vibrating I think. Definitely suggest looking at Transmission mount replacement.

It is not any form of sound deadening, it is just a pre-cut sheet that I bought to concel the area around the hood. I didn't like the bare look hence has bought it from AliExpress when shipping was normal to Indian shores.
Yes, this is what I feel too. Will get the mount checked. Have you tried adding any additives to the fuel? I have been using System D alternatively for every tankful. Just 400ml/tank, I think. It has definitely quietened the diesel clatter a bit but the vibrations, as discussed above, stay.

Haven't checked FE post addition of the Cetane-X as it has been just the second full tank.

I use the Cetane-X every alternate full tank.
Thanks, that's the method I do as well. Hopefully will have the experience to post my own ownership review of the Creta facelift D-AT someday. Your thread has been a treasure trove but these conversations have helped a lot to understand that there are certain nuances that cannot be done away with in the Creta. Keep updating this thread, please @anuraagshenoy