Decoding Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)

Thanks Mr. harish ... Well it's not about model year it's about mismatch of registration paper n chassis no. In registration paper it's mentioned 2013 manufacturing year and chassis no. Says it's a nov 2012 make . Is it legal to write 2013 on registration paper when the manufacturing of 2012.
P.S. We are talking manufacturing year which is mentioned in the registration document not the model year.

Thanks Mr. harish ... Well it's not about model year it's about mismatch of registration paper n chassis no. In registration paper it's mentioned 2013 manufacturing year and chassis no. Says it's a nov 2012 make . Is it legal to write 2013 on registration paper when the manufacturing of 2012.
P.S. We are talking manufacturing year which is mentioned in the registration document not the model year.
Mr.Vivek In registration book(Rc)/Smart card term is use year of manufacture and as per legal way your vehicle month and year of manufacture is Nov 2012. This is illegal How Dealer can regd it on Rc/Smart card that year of manufacturer is 2013.may be dealer use fake paper and in addition .I have confirm direct from VW you can read their reply and Now with copy of this email kindly send one notice to your Dealer and Vw-manufacturer surely they will compensate to you and If you get no reply by them in a month go ahead in consumer forum
RE: How I get latest model year of car? WVWL12603DT029557‏

VWVI R: Pune, Customerca​resales (Customercaresales@volkswagen.co.in)Add to contacts 12:59PM
To: harish637@hotmail.com
Picture of VWVI R: Pune, Customercaresales
Dear Mr. Kumar,

Greetings from volkswagen Passenger Cars, India!!

This bears reference to your following query regarding manufacturing month and year of the car.

We would like to inform you that the term Model Year is an internal nomenclature used by the manufacturer to identify its products across various categories/subcategories.

With reference to the VIN number WVWL12603DT029557, the car is manufactured in November 2012.

RTO would use the above date to issue the smart card.

We thank you for your inquiry.

Kind Regards,

Customer Care

Sales

Volkswagen Passenger Cars, India

Sent: Thursday, October 17, 2013 11:53 AM
To: Saxena, Arvind (NSC India)
Subject: VW: How I get latest model year of car? WVWL12603DT029557

To: arvind.saxena@volkswagen.co.in
Subject: VW: How I get latest model year of car? WVWL12603DT029557
Date: Wed, 16 Oct 2013 13:25:16 +0530

Dear Respected Sir. I am Planing to buy VW car but have some confusion in your car How I get latest model year of car? WVWL12603DT029557 ,In this Vin your vehicle have manufactured/production in Nov 2012 and Model year is 2013.

and there are so many VW vehicles production year is 2012 and model year is 2013.so please clarify below questions

1. In RTO which would be considered for identify actual Model of vehicle from production=2012 and from model year=2013.For example If I bought a vehicle of mentioned VIN then what would be Model of my car in RC and Insurance.

Harish Kumar

Delhi

With reference to the VIN number WVWL12603DT029557, the car is manufactured in November 2012.

RTO would use the above date to issue the smart card.

We thank you for your inquiry.

Kind Regards,

Customer Care
Sales

Volkswagen Passenger Cars, India

Mr Vivek maybe you fully satisfied by above,and don't worry you will get surely won in judicial process If dealer had sold without intimation to you that vehicle is 2012.

Yeah thanks Mr. Harish ... They didn't inform me before delivering the car they deliberately cheated me by hiding the facts . Yeah already registered the complaint in volkswagen since that time dealers are negotiating with me by telling will put this accessory in your car but not ready to exchange the car. So planning to file the case in consumer forum. Once again thanks Mr. Harish

Read this article Hope this would be helpful

Advocacy by NCH:

As it is seen that the respective Manufacturers with their appointed dealers are responsible to attend and rectify the defects or solving any other issues related to their products but in reality it has been observed that in several cases Manufacturers of the vehicles are lingering the process with number of excuses making it difficult for the customer.

NCH has been advising the consumers that before filing any case to the consumer court they should at least take off their problem to the Industry Association named SIAM ( – Society for Indian Automobile Manufacturer ,Director General, Core 4B , 5th Floor, IHC, Lodi Road, ND-110003 ) Convergence @ nch (online redressal system): NCH has tied up with 10 automobile manufacturing companies like, TATA Motors, Mahindra & Mahindra, Hero Honda, Honda Motorcycles & Scooters India Ltd. etc. and continuing this program to redress consumer grievance.

Redressal Channel –

Ist Tier redressal: Complaint should be filed to the Authorized Dealer from where the purchase deal has been conducted. If it fails, take up directly to the Company’s Regional CRC with a copy to H/Q of the company.

2nd Tier redressal: One Trade Association exists namely S.I.A.M (Society for Indian Automobile Manufacturer), most of the Indian Automobile Manufacturer are the members of the Association. Issue can be taken up with them.

3rd Tier redressal: It is observed that there is no further Appealing authority or Regulator in this sector. Consumers have no other alternative but to approach the consumer courts.

Mr Vivek kindly send a complaint to Siam also ,as directed by National Consumer and pressure to dealer for changing this car(2012) to New(2013).or demand him resale value loss up to 50-60 thousand,and when you will file in consumer court you can demand upto 1 - 1.5 lac in tone of mental agony ,harassed etc Kindly collect some similar cases of Consumer court and I will also try to send you judgement copy In which you get consumer court ordered to manufacturer/Dealer to pay compensation to consumer for selling old Model car.(Violation of Consumer right)

Thank you Mr. Harish once again for enlisting all the important information. Looking forward to get the right compensation or would go through the forum. thank you.

Dear Mr. Wildon,

I found your details given for VIN the most elaborate and accurate. I would be really helpful if you can give details of the follwoing VIN No. for my Vento which I have been allocated: WVWH13600ET015287CLN250592

Thanks a lot in advance

Dear Mr. Wildon,

I found your details given for VIN the most elaborate and accurate. I would be really helpful if you can give details of the follwoing VIN No. for my Vento which I have been allocated: WVWH13600ET015287CLN250592

Thanks a lot in advance
AUGUST, 2013

Thanks a lot. :)
I guess we need to follow Nissan's VIN number decoding methodology?
exactly

471450. This is all I am getting from my cousin for his new car can it be decided its Maruti ritz zdi. Guys please help fast it's v urgent