Can FIAT Re-Establish Itself in India?

Dont know where it should go , but found this interesting write up by the one of the LINEA Owner. Worth a read.

Sorry, cannot put the source of the article/write up.

I love reading negative comments about the Linea and not finding them in my Linea at all...

I have a Minimal grey linea emotion pk Jul 2011 that i run across the length and breadth of Kerala as much as i could. The roads in Kerala are basically the mints for the political parties who are masters of preaching and practicing 2 different ideologies every moment.

You'll not find better hills, better valleys, better monsoons, better highways, better potholes, better elephants on streets, better jungles, (so much criss crossed) by the roads, better cliffs to fly your Jets, with the seat belts on all within a weekend.

And Linea is by far the only car that takes it easy in all these circumstances. No matter how much the commentators cribbed about Rahul Dravid and Linea, they'll always be master performers who never get the limelight.

Only a Linea owner feels the pleasures of gliding through all the obstacles you put on the road. it glides on the road. It gives you the best mileage you can ask for. It gives you the best engine other manufacturers are queing for.

You might not be able to enjoy AC/DC or Linkin Park, in a Linea, but you surely will love The Beatles.

You might not be served with coffee at the Tata-Fiat showroom, but atleast you might not be asked to wait for a day or two for the servicing day.

You might hit the underbody of the car in terrifying potholes that may scare even the scorpios for low ground clearance, but you'll thank the steel platform under the engine bay and be assured that you're protected.

You might not be able to participate in a drag race but if you are travelling inter cities in India, then surely you'll be ahead of the other drivers whatever your age and gender.

You might not have the best pick ups but when it comes to operating the turns and the curves, you'll be thrilled to see the high speeds this car can help you maneavoure.

People who dont own the modern Fiats and Jets fret about its *** without including into the eqation the high service intervals of these birds, the subsidized/cheap spare parts and the absence of vulnerabilities these birds have unlike the other european manufacturers. And please don;t compare it to the ultra costly american counterparts or the manufacturers from far east who do have a need of expansive network owing to the service issues their customers are subjected to.

I don't worry about its after sales service since i know i wouldn't have to sell it.

Book a test drive. Tip them some extra bucks and drive it for an hour to really know it. The linea is the modern version of "Elanor" from Gone in Sixty seconds!! [i know i love it tooo much. Admiration GUARANTEED]

Dont know where it should go , but found this interesting write up by the one of the LINEA Owner. Worth a read.

Sorry, cannot put the source of the article/write up.
Everything in his message was right to the point, but this made me [lol] the moder version of 1967 Shelby Super Snake Mustang (Eleanor in the movie) is a Fiat linea , God must be so kind for the heights of our immaculate imaginations

Those were muscle cars which were created for a purpose, have seen it in texas and they are fav's for the cops so they pull the speed gun to issue a ticket, boy these cars are valuable possesions which are head turners even today and their exhaust sound would freak you out anytime they pass by

Please be kind so when jokes are said as people don't laugh to death[cry]

Coming to the topic, Fiat has a history and still has a long way to go there is a promising future ahead with they starting their own set up, there is no doubt about it. I would be there and curious to know how they are when they start their indvidiual operations in india, they are on time and there is no better time than this to enter with a mission to take the markets for a ride from its counterparts.

@swift&furious : That made me laugh as well. Elanor is one hell of a car. Linea is no way near to comparison. But the guy just so compassionate about his Linea. [lol]

What i think is that fiat wants to reach into every household by keeping the price competetive. What it does not understand that a 4 vehicle is still a luxury for some of the indian households and a car does not always go out on a daily basis. For ex: Fiat punto is a very good hatchback for young people, but it comes with its own set of issues and nick/nacks here and there. Fiat Linea is a good car for executives who want their cars to be chauffear driven but it does not have a very good rear seat comfort and the gadgets to support it.

An example is Hyundai: a company who started by manufacturing "Santro" in comparison with Maruti Zen/Alto at one stage and look at it now. It boasts of the best diesel cars in the country in i20/verna.

The sooner they realise what are their shortcomings the sooner they would flourish. Gone are the days when people trusted brand names. Now what everyone wants is value for their hard or not so hard earned money.

....MaNi....

What i think is that fiat wants to reach into every household by keeping the price competetive. What it does not understand that a 4 vehicle is still a luxury for some of the indian households and a car does not always go out on a daily basis. For ex: Fiat punto is a very good hatchback for young people, but it comes with its own set of issues and nick/nacks here and there. Fiat Linea is a good car for executives who want their cars to be chauffear driven but it does not have a very good rear seat comfort and the gadgets to support it.

An example is Hyundai: a company who started by manufacturing "Santro" in comparison with Maruti Zen/Alto at one stage and look at it now. It boasts of the best diesel cars in the country in i20/verna.

The sooner they realise what are their shortcomings the sooner they would flourish. Gone are the days when people trusted brand names. Now what everyone wants is value for their hard or not so hard earned money.

....MaNi....
Well said mani.
Punto and Linea in India is ergonomic Blunders,there is no excuse.
Thanks to its ride quality and steering precision very few are still interested.

Yes, Jayadev

There are people who still love to buy Punto/Linea. When I spoke to exclusive Punto showroom in Hyderabad, the feedback was interesting as the sales numbers started going up from last month after the exclusive sales & service outlet. Same case with Vista too !!

There are too many reasons apart from the features always to buy a Punto or Vista than buying Maruti/Hyundai cars if a person do a complete research before buying a car and it has been noticed these days that most of the buyers are doing thorough research and thinking bit practically[:)] too

Yes, Jayadev

it has been noticed these days that most of the buyers are doing thorough research and thinking bit practically[:)] too
Very well said and this is 100% true, most of the buyers do their groundwork before they finalize on one and that is really a good sign to stop unwanted monopoly in the automotive world

There are too many reasons apart from the features always to buy a Punto or Vista than buying Maruti/Hyundai cars if a person do a complete research before buying a car and it has been noticed these days that most of the buyers are doing thorough research and thinking bit practically[:)] too
Right on the money! Very valid point! Thanks to forums like TAI that off late people atleast consider researching before buying a car in India which was totally unheard before. I was reading an arcticle where in as per Global survey, Germans spend @ 2 months on extensive research before finalizing an automobile. Well, in India how many of us do this ? Till recently buying car was just like buying any other comodity from the market! Gradually the trend is changing towards an informed decision process which is the reason you can see many other car brands flourish in India apart from Maruti or Hyundai!

No wonder, auto gurus opine that Indian market is the toughest to predict due to enormous influence of 'emotions' rather than facts while selecting a car! Still a long way to go but definitely a start has been made towards informed buying.

Fiat to speed up engine output; to sell over 2 lakh engines in 18 months

Italian carmaker Fiat's India unit is set to supply over the next 12-18 months more than 200,000 engines, four to five times the number of cars that it will produce and sell during this period.

The move will help the company's joint venture with Tata Motors curtail its losses, persons familiar with the matter told ET. They added that this will propel the company towards achieving cash breakeven by the end of this period, with higher volumes kicking in as 80-100 exclusive Fiat dealerships come on stream.

Just recently the commercial activity of Fiat has been hived off into a National Sales Company registered as Fiat Group Automobile India Private Limited. (FGAIPL). All Fiat cars, Fiat sells, will be marketed and sold through this National Sales Company.

The JV company will supply 100,000 diesel engines to Maruti Suzuki and a few thousand to Premier, besides exporting 50,000 petrol engines, a senior executive said, adding that this will be in addition to the engines being churned out for Tata and Fiat cars.

During this period, the company is likely to manufacture about 14,000 Fiat cars and 35,000 - 40,000 cars of Tata Motors at the Ranjangaon plant. This translates into utilisation of about a 40% of the company's installed manufacturing capacity while it will use 80 per cent of its installed capacity for making engines.

Fiat's multijet diesel engine, which powers Maruti Suzuki's highly successful Swift and Swift Dzire models, will also be used in Premier's compact SUV Rio.

Last year, Fiat had started negotiating with its Chinese subsidiary, with which it has a commitment of supplying 70,000 units a year of engine and engine components.

"The realisations out of engines are one-fifth to one-sixth of the total cost of the overall car. And if you have five times more engines being sold than the number of cars, for sure engines will make up the lion's share," one to people in know of the development.

The JV with Tata posted a loss of about Rs 288.69 crore in 2009-10 and managed to bring this down only marginally to Rs 227.04 crore in 2010-11 with increased component exports.

However, the company's volumes in the domestic market fell 15 per cent to 21,066 units in 2010-11, when the overall market grew 25-30 per cent. The annual volumes took a further beating in 2011-12 with only 16,095 units sold, a 24 per cent decline in spite of hefty discounts of up to Rs 1 lakh. The JV further infused Rs 85 crore into the venture.

With just a 0.5-0.6 per cent share, Fiat has slipped to the bottom half-dozen of the 19 passenger vehicle makers in India for 2011-12.

Fiat to speed up engine output; to sell over 2 lakh engines in 18 months - The Economic Times

Wow !! Visran and it looks to me Fiat will stop making cars and concentrate only on engines and a day comes as most of the cars will be running with Fiat engines [clap] a great re-establish in India !!

For sure it will!

Fiat makes excellent products especially engines, that's the reason why some of the known manufacturers are sourcing it from them.[drive]

the only thing which fiat will have to be careful is their dealer network. The JV with TML was a grave mistake (now) but was a wise step (then).

I think with the import of a few models from their int'l lineup, and careful pricing, they can do wonders in the indian market. [:)]

....MaNi....
FIAT is pretty confused what it wants to do. I mean the cars have chassis which seem to be right out of a Ferrari factory, but then they cut cost on engine and transmission. They plonked the T-Jet engine in a sedan and look what happened. There are hundreds of people including me who will buy a Punto if they put the T-Jet engine. Gone are the days when people used to crib about the mileage of the GTX/S10. That Linea needs a 1.6 liter diesel engine to compete with rivals and for heaven's sake a more modern gearbox and gearshift.

If they want to address mass market, they should get off their high horse and give gizmo loaded ultra small cars, and soft suspension etc. - there are ways to cut costs like the kind of metal sheets used for the body etc.

FIAT is pretty confused what it wants to do. I mean the cars have chassis which seem to be right out of a Ferrari factory, but then they cut cost on engine and transmission. They plonked the T-Jet engine in a sedan and look what happened. There are hundreds of people including me who will buy a Punto if they put the T-Jet engine. Gone are the days when people used to crib about the mileage of the GTX/S10. That Linea needs a 1.6 liter diesel engine to compete with rivals and for heaven's sake a more modern gearbox and gearshift.

If they want to address mass market, they should get off their high horse and give gizmo loaded ultra small cars, and soft suspension etc. - there are ways to cut costs like the kind of metal sheets used for the body etc.
One hundred people for punto tjet doesnt looks promising from production and business perspective.