Can FIAT Re-Establish Itself in India?

My 2 year old Punto's body shell was recently found with rust. [frustration]
Dear jaydeo, just by noting one rusted spot, you started bashing fiat , not fair .
Now they have decided to spend funds on FASS, GC issue resolved already , no other manufacture r in the past and present taken care of GC issue , the way fiat has done (Rs 14000 for gc kit).
Punto has such a unique look.

Apart from above mentioned points, can you please mention the post numbers on your thread to support your qoute ' fiat can't'

Guys

Stop worrying about the FIATs fortunes (Atleast as a Global company)

Even i had kind of similar impressions back in India. Oh my God how come such a good company and pioneer of so many auto initiatives is suffering such fate?

The Questions were answered in BRASIL

Brasil is FIAT country. Every 2nd car, Truck , LCV is FIAT brand

OMG what a fantastic range they have in Brasil - Palio, Punto, Bravo, Linea, IDEA, adventure, much more which i dont even remember the names

Brasilians Love FIAT & VW and its shows up in numbers on the streets

So we should really STOP worrying about FIAT as a Global Brand. It is definitely here to stay and Grow. [:D]

It may not be that succesful in India, but maybe it is just an Investment for them right now and maybe in the Future you might see many Revamped Brasil FIAT models on Indian streets

So all you guys thinking on TAI who are thinking about whether to take the PLUNGE on buying FIAT cars in India - DONT WORRY - HAVE PEACE OF MIND

PS - Hey Guys - you would be Amazed to know that SUZUKI is a big DUD in Brasil. Just like we have FIAT in India

Im hard pressed to find any SUZUKI cars on the streets of Brasil except maybe some Grand Vitaras

[:)]

FYI, swift and Ritz doesn't use fiat manufactured engines but DDis is manufactured in Haryana by suzuki themselves. (poor Fiat)

Profit margin gained by selling engines versus fully built cars would leave much to be desired for a company like Fiat..lol.
I can not support vague assumptions and immature opinions .
nonetheless I never contradict against facts put up with solid evidence.
Jayadev, before you becoming more vague, please go and check with Maruti at Haryana, that what kind up tie up they have got with Fiat. For your information I was one of the reputed supplier for Maruti from 2000 to 2005 of a reputed part. I really pity on your information source[cry]

Sail diesel you can't say its fiat only engine since it was devloped by gm and fiat both and so gm dosent even have to give them any royalty and the reviews say that GM has tuned the engine and gear box much much better then what fiat has done for its cars like punto and linea .
Raja I agree, that they have fine tuned the engine, but it is not the matter of royalty always, but look at the fiat partnering them. If Fiat was a useless company, then GM would have never tied up with them[:)]

Jayadev, before you becoming more vague, please go and check with Maruti at Haryana, that what kind up tie up they have got with Fiat. For your information I was one of the reputed supplier for Maruti from 2000 to 2005 of a reputed part. I really pity on your information source[cry]

Raja I agree, that they have fine tuned the engine, but it is not the matter of royalty always, but look at the fiat partnering them. If Fiat was a useless company, then GM would have never tied up with them[:)]
I never said fiat is a useless company did I ?
I just corrected you that engine used in sail can't be called only fiat engine and they will not get even 1 rupee out of it ,same as the beat too beat is the same engine with minus 1 clyinder .and since you brought this topic of fiat engines doing great business I just corrected you that it doesn't apply to beat and sail just this.besides that gm has just not fine tuned it they have co-devloped it and can use the engine however they want without paying a single paisa to fiat ( only the 1•3 engine not all multijets )
You can very well carry on your debate [:)]

Jayadev, before you becoming more vague, please go and check with Maruti at Haryana, that what kind up tie up they have got with Fiat. For your information I was one of the reputed supplier for Maruti from 2000 to 2005 of a reputed part. I really pity on your information source
AFAIK ,Our National engine is combined effort of Fiat ,GM and Suzuki.

Suzuki has license to manufacture it by giving certain Royalty amount to Fiat. if there is more to it ,please come up and enlighten us.
My source have been Internet and I have no way of going to Haryana to check it out.

FIAT India Automobiles Ltd is a 50:50 Joint venture between FIAT group of Italy and Tata Motors.

Engines are manufactured by this joint venture.

(Thats why FIAT required consent from TATA Motors to supply engines to Maruti.)

In their Rangangaon plant (of the JV), Punto and Linea are produced along with Vista and Manza.

In the recent restructuring, FIAT is creating a separate Sales and Distribution division. However, manufacturing will continue as a 50:50 JV.

This JV is in loss but that loss is shared.

Now see the situation in US:

FIAT has access to Chrysler dealer network (since Chrysler is now owned by FIAT)

FIAT 500 is supposed to be a big one for them.

In Oct 2011, when many of the dealers failed to sell even a single FIAT 500, company (CEO Sergio Marchionne) was blaming the ditribution network.

While dealers were blaming the car itself - a small car with a big price tag.
Dealers also complain that they don't get enough support from Sales and Marketing.
Advertisements were targeting the wrong segment.

With brands like Fiat, Ferrari, Maserati, Alfa Romeo, Chrysler, Dodge and Jeep under its umbrella, the Italian auto major looks evenly poised to go head on with the VW group brands. The Fiat group has announced an exhaustive product plan for the next three years.
Though we would love to discuss the entire 20 products that constitute the onslaught including Maseratis and Alfa Romeos, we will highlight only the products that are relevant to India bearing in mind that in the next three years we could see the arrival of Jeep brand in the sub-continent.
7 seater version of Fiat 500L by 2013
What started as a celebratory retro model is now being leveraged to reiterate the success of the iconic original Fiat 500 and Fiat has plans to do it by spinning off derivatives. The 500L was a compact crossover based on the Fiat 500. Fiat will stretch the 500L even longer to accommodate the third row and bingo, you have a Maruti Ertiga rival! Finding it a suitable diesel engine will be least of Fiat’s worries in India.
Jeep compact SUV ‘baby Wrangler’ by 2014
The Jeep compact SUV is Fiat’s solution for the ever increasing significance of the compact SUV segment. The compact SUV is likely to be based on the Jeep Wrangler. Media reports suggest that the Jeep brand is going to set foot in India sooner than later. The baby SUV will be a very good company to the Cherokee and Wrangler SUVs.
All new Fiat Linea by 2015
There is no denying the fact that the Fiat Linea is one of the best looking sedans on sale from any segment, in India, but with the arrival of much younger rivals, the car started showing its age especially on the interiors. The all new Linea is planned for a 2015 launch and is expected to undergo a through redesign. The car will benefit from platform and parts sharing with a Dodge counterpart, perhaps the Dart.
Fiat Linea hatchback by 2015
It’s almost unbelievable that Fiat’s product planners gave the new Fiat Punto a miss but they did announce a hatchback based on the Linea sedan. The hatchback is most likely to be the next gen Punto and will share most of its components and design cues from its sedan brother, again a time proven formula in India. Both cars could be powered by the next generation MultiJet diesel engines.
New compact crossover to replace Jeep Compass and Jeep Patriot by 2015
The Crossover SUVs Compass and Patriot will be replaced by a new entry level compact crossover. The mini crossover SUV is likely to be positioned in a way to rival the likes of Renault Duster and Ford EcoSport globally. Being a global model, it might not be a sub four metre SUV, but is expected to bear the needs of emerging markets in mind. The car will sit below the baby Wrangler and will be the most affordable Jeep.
Jeep Grand Wagoneer 7 Seater by 2015
The Wagoneer brand will be resurrected for the 2015 model year. With 7 seats and luxury features, it’s expected to become the flagship vehicle of the Jeep brand, sitting above the Grand Cherokee. Fiat could consider bringing this vehicle to India if the smaller Jeeps manage to build a brand value high enough to accommodate an expensive and huge 7 seater.
The aggressive product plan is Fiat’s reaction to the current do or die situation and if executed well, it could bring the Fiat and Chrysler brands back to where they used to be. Platform sharing, economies of scale in production and joint engineering are the key points of this plan.

Read more: Fiat announces product plan for next 3 years

Tata Motors and Fiat Group plan to revive Joint Venture in India

Days after Tata Group partnered Montezomolo family of the Fiat group to bid for international luxury hotel chain Orient-Express, the two groups are looking to revive their Indian manufacturing joint venture, Fiat India Automobiles, by setting off accumulated losses of Rs 300 crore and restructuring its operations.

The two shareholders have decided to set off accumulated losses in the accounts of Fiat India Automobiles by setting it off against Rs 175.24 crore available in the venture's securities premium balance and Rs 124.76 crore of its paid-up capital, a person close to the development told ET.

As part of its restructuring, the manufacturing joint venture is considering charging Fiat a specific fee for building its cars, they said.

This follows the formation of Fiat's national sales company, Fiat Group India Automobile Pvt Ltd, which will now independently market and sell all the Fiat products in the country. Earlier, all the profits or losses incurred by Fiat on the marketing front were borne by the manufacturing joint venture.

"With the change in the marketing structure, the payment framework will also be changing and, therefore, there are lots of things under discussion, but nothing is finalised as yet," said one person close to the development.

So far, Tata Motors paid a specific flat fee for manufacturing cars at the Ranjangaon plant of Fiat India Automobiles, but the joint venture incurred all the marketing and distribution costs associated with selling Fiat cars.

When contacted, a Fiat India spokesperson said, "We do not comment on the financials of the company."

Apart from setting off losses, Fiat India Automobiles has also extended its 2011-12 financial year by another six months, to start with the clean slate with a six-months fiscal year from October 2012 to March 2013.

Fiat Group India Automobiles Limited is starting with a corpus of Rs 50 crore to manage the working capital needs of the marketing company. As of now, the company is in the process of appointing independent dealers across the country. It aims to have 70-90 dealerships in the next 18 months time.

Experts say this move is likely to strengthen the balance sheet of the manufacturing venture and may help manufacturers to reduce losses, break even into profits and leverage the balance sheet to raise loans for future to meet expansion,

"The move will help to strengthen the balance sheet of the JV Company and will give them a clear idea of the loss making company. It may also help them in raising further funds for manufacturing company for future expansion," Deepesh Rathore, head, IHS Automotive, told ET.

The joint venture posted a loss of about Rs 288.69 crore in 2009-10 and brought it down marginally to Rs 227.04 crore in 2010-11 with increased component exports.

The venture has been taking steps to improve capacity utilisation, especially of engines that it supplies to Maruti Suzuki, Premier and export markets. The firm plans to manufacture close to 2 lakh engines, which means a capacity utilisation of 80%.

However, Fiat cars continue to struggle in India.

In 2011-12, its domestic sales fell 24% to just 16,095 units in spite of hefty discounts of up to Rs 1 lakh. In 2010-11 too, its sales dropped 15% when the overall market grew 25-30%. This fiscal, the Fiat is mandated vendors will volumes of 14,000 units.

Fiat is now among the bottom six of the 19 passenger vehicle makers in India with just about 0.6% market share in 2011-12.

Tata-Fiat JV to set off Rs 300 cr losses, restructure ops - The Economic Times

As part of its restructuring, the manufacturing joint venture is considering charging Fiat a specific fee for building its cars, they said.

This follows the formation of Fiat's national sales company, Fiat Group India Automobile Pvt Ltd, which will now independently market and sell all the Fiat products in the country. Earlier, all the profits or losses incurred by Fiat on the marketing front were borne by the manufacturing joint venture.

So far, Tata Motors paid a specific flat fee for manufacturing cars at the Ranjangaon plant of Fiat India Automobiles, but the joint venture incurred all the marketing and distribution costs associated with selling Fiat cars.
That means, price of Fiat cars will go up further since they have to pay a flat fee which was earlier paid only by Tata Motors.

Ofcourse, Autosafari, and also cost of new ASS, showroom infrastructure will add up. So they have to come with best in class ASS, and new models,otherwise they will go bankrupt in India.

@ autosafari
In their Rangangaon plant (of the JV), Punto and Linea are produced along with Vista and Manza.
No vista. Only Manza from Ranjagaon plant.

Fiat to use Pune plant as global hub for right hand vehicles

The Italian automaker Fiat which has recently announced its reinvigorated India plans reportedly intends to use its India facility as a global hub for right-hand drive (RHD) markets in the coming years. According to a report in The Business Line, Mike Manley, Chief Operating Officer for Asia (Fiat-Chrysler) was quoted as saying “If you look at our RHD markets around the world, we are doing very well in Australia, where we have doubled our share over the last 14-18 months. We are also reasonably strong in South Africa.”

It was reported that the company’s plant in Ranjangaon, near Pune will come in handy to ship out cars and components to these countries in the near future. The UK, another important RHD market for Fiat, is going through a tough phase but is expected to recover gradually. It was mentioned that Manley said “We have a world-class manufacturing facility here which is truly phenomenal. It has great expansion potential and we intend working very closely with the Tatas to maximise that.”

According to the report, Fiat will now focus aggressively on a product range that comprises compact cars and SUVs. With Chrysler now part of its portfolio, it will leverage the Jeep brand’s potential to attract younger buyers. “Today, it is about Fiat and Chrysler jointly developing the Asian market. From our perspective, it helps to have a balanced portfolio across the world because each region could be in a different growth space,” Manley said.

Fiat to use Pune plant as global hub for right hand vehicles | wheelsunplugged.com

So they have to come with best in class ASS, and new models,otherwise they will go bankrupt in India.[/QUOTE]

It was reported that the company’s plant in Ranjangaon, near Pune will come in handy to ship out cars and components

Fiat to use Pune plant as global hub for right hand vehicles | wheelsunplugged.com
OMG, Fiat has given the answer to the question asked in the title of this thread.
That, they had not come in India to re-establish themselves in India, but to use it (India) as a growing ground for Global RHD Market and establish in it, by just utiizing the cheap and ample labour, cheap and ample land available here.

Better they change the name from Fiat-India to Fiat RHD.

News for Fiat fans in Cochin!
Was cruising in my Punto in the highway, and saw that the Fiat showroom is under construction. [:D]
It is between the Bypass and Vytilla, on the right side(if you are heading to vytilla). This showroom is set by Hyson motors.

Fiat is showing increased focus on existing and future customers. It is no secret that Fiat brand has one of the most loyal customers and in order to ensure the positive word of mouth continues to flow, the Italian automaker recently organized a plant visit for Fiat car owners in Ranjangaon. This event saw more than 600 Fiat car owners and more than 200 Fiat cars visit the Fiat factory in Rangangaon. This facility churns out the Grande Punto and Linea. People had come from various states of India, showing their love for Fiat.

The company rightly called the visitors as Fiat loyalists and showcased them first hand manufacturing of vehicles. Fiat enthusiasts were also taken to the Fiat Powertrain facility, which is one of the largest producers of 1.3-litre Multijet diesel engines in India. The company also showcased various audio visual presentations of the global Fiat line-up of cars and the upcoming vehicles for India. A quiz was organized and the winner was given a reward.
Fiat also hosted lunch for the visitors at the plant and a band of musicians kept them entertained.

Read more at Fiat Organizes Plant Visit For Owners | MotorBeam - Indian Car Bike News & Reviews