Battle of the Entry Level UVs: Sumo Gold vs Bolero

Which UV is better buy at the moment

• Sumo Gold

Votes: 61 37.2%
  • Bolero

Votes: 103 62.8%

Just checked the sales figure of TATA UV divison.Looks like no improvement from last month.Damn! despite so many improvements still that magical 5k mark elludes GOLD.

But anyway the improvements by TATA in its UV divison which they neglected for ages is really heartening to see.If they price the new Safari well then it should increase their market share by a fair margin.
Last 2-3 months were avery hard on the entire industrial sector in India.
I dont see any further improvement in the coming 3-4 months.
Abroad recession started in 2008 but in India it has just began, hope it will not last long.

Aria and Safari shares the same engine , gearbox and final drive ratio. The speed data you have furnised are in accordance with the theoratical data.Aria has a very generous wheelbase of 2850 mm and so must be very good on highways for a long run.
Yes
this is the highlight of the vehicle. It is very pliant on the highways. Nimble.
The best part is when you are in turbo range and it pulls like locomotive. No drama at all. Gear shifts are quick and smooth.

I drove it to max 145 kmph, but even at that speed there was a lot of reserve in the vehicle. As per TML website the top speed is 176 kmph. Will try that on Jaisalmer highway some time.

Just checked the sales figure of TATA UV divison.Looks like no improvement from last month.Damn! despite so many improvements still that magical 5k mark elludes GOLD.

But anyway the improvements by TATA in its UV divison which they neglected for ages is really heartening to see.If they price the new Safari well then it should increase their market share by a fair margin.
It will take a long time for Sumo Gold to touch 5 K Mark . The main reason is taxi image and outdated boxy look. People love look like that of Renault Duster[:)].But surely it will rule taxi segment for a long.

The monthly sale of Mahindra Bolero for May 2012 is 9584 units where as for Sumo Gold it is just about 2100 units.It appears that only technical qulity does not work well. It seems that new LOOK is even more important to attract buyers. MERA BHARAT MAHAN[:)]

Thread Starter #94
The monthly sale of Mahindra Bolero for May 2012 is 9584 units where as for Sumo Gold it is just about 2100 units.It appears that only technical qulity does not work well. It seems that new LOOK is even more important to attract buyers. MERA BHARAT MAHAN[:)]
It is really strange how quickly Tata products lose their steam!!Nano got more than 2 lakh bookings in advance but later on hit a road-block,same with Manza and now even GOLD after such wonderful start is slowing down.Wonder what could be the reason?

Mahindra is not able to keep up with the demand for its Bolero, on the other hand Sumo with good improvement's and sensible pricing is failing miserably,the reason being its image which it created as a taxi from past Decade or so is hard to remove from people's mind.

It is really strange how quickly Tata products lose their steam!!Nano got more than 2 lakh bookings in advance but later on hit a road-block,same with Manza and now even GOLD after such wonderful start is slowing down.Wonder what could be the reason?
Just Nano, Sumo and Manza? You forgot the Aria? Anyways, it was selling a miniscule 400 cars per month and now it is down to 60 cars a month. Even the Safari for that matter.

P.S.: I do not believe in any "cult vehicle" logic please!

Anyways, coming to the reason - it is simple. IMAGE, IMAGE AND IMAGE.

^^Buddy I won't talk about Aria but will request you to declare any results after observing at least sales figures of three months.
Why?
Because Tata overtook Hyundai too once,but that was just temporary.

Nano will surely bounce back.It is already in the range of 8500 to 10000 units per month. After introduction of diesel version the picture will be changed. The price of petrol can be afforded only by few[cry].
I am using nano as second car for over two years and it has remained faithful till now[:)]. I look forward to go for GOLD GX during next DIWALI. I love it to drive on highways. I like massive diesel engine ( 3000 cc and above ) and I can not afford to spend over 20 lacs and above for fortuner or Ford. Also in India there is no need of too much bhps as you will never find roads suitable for that!

I am using nano as second car for over two years and it has remained faithful till now[:)].
Sirjee you are married to Nano from past 2 year's, I expect to see an ownership report from you, please pen it down when you have time it will be very helpful for prospective owner's.

^^Buddy I won't talk about Aria but will request you to declare any results after observing at least sales figures of three months.
Results? you mean the decline in sales. sure buddy, see the sales of 3 months as you wanted -

Sumo gold + Victa + Grande = 3631 / 2513 / 2125
Aria = 417 / 383 / 63
Indica + Vista = 11420 / 6913 / 5467
Indigo + Manza = 8295 / 3669 / 3397
Safari = 1802 / 947 / 552

Thread Starter #101
Nano will surely bounce back.It is already in the range of 8500 to 10000 units per month.
Yes but the increasing petrol prices may pull it down once more,you never know.
After introduction of diesel version the picture will be changed. The price of petrol can be afforded only by few
Price of petrol,hmmfff... ask me buddy I use Petrol Indica as my daily ride[:D].

And yes a lot of people are really waiting for diesel nano,but so typical of Tata not to launch its products when demand is hot but wait and wait so long to kill a product in its womb even before market launch.
I am using nano as second car for over two years and it has remained faithful till now. I look forward to go for GOLD GX during next DIWALI. I love it to drive on highways. I like massive diesel engine ( 3000 cc and above ) and I can not afford to spend over 20 lacs and above for fortuner or Ford. Also in India there is no need of too much bhps as you will never find roads suitable for that!
GOLD is a great product without a shadow of doubt,if TATA can make airbags and abs as optional then I may consider this as my next car too.[:)]

I don't think TATA will go through the trouble of re engineering the car to accommodate ABS and airbags, as its core customer's are price concious and not life concious.

Ok ok
if not ABS, but they can surely plonk 4x4 system in it and make it a true off roader.
As TML provides 4x4 sumo to Army and i have it very closely.

Ok ok
if not ABS, but they can surely plonk 4x4 system in it and make it a true off roader.
As TML provides 4x4 sumo to Army and i have it very closely.
That's right 4x4 option under 9L would definitely boost Sumo's sales number, I wonder why Tata does not even give this as an option when they have been manufacturing the same for Army purpose.

I dont think the 4x4 option would add any benefit to the Sumo's sales. Sumo is an MUV meant to transport/ferry people. It is for big families on a tight budget and more for cab operators.

We already have 4x4s in that segments in the form of Bolero and Trax Gurkha, but these cars dont sell. Hardcore off roaders anyways will prefer Thar, MM550, Gypsy, etc. They wont prefer MUVs like the sumo.