Battle of the Entry Level UVs: Sumo Gold vs Bolero

Which UV is better buy at the moment

• Sumo Gold

Votes: 61 37.2%
  • Bolero

Votes: 103 62.8%

I am not talking of one or two i know many finding difficult to cross 1L all are taxi's as they are tested to its limit, but all other competitors have no issue crossing.

1L is not the limit.we are discussing on 1L because some are not crossing even 1L.

About the test i think i did post my view before.
Yes bolero and other MnM also have same issue they cannot cross 1lac without surgery. Very poor vehicle[clap]

@ alexdass
which of the vehicles you know had passed the 'n' lakh kilometer mark without major problem??
Is it only TML vehicles unreliable??
Sorry to say you are going too much off topic...

@ alexdass
which of the vehicles you know had passed the 'n' lakh kilometer mark without major problem??
Is it only TML vehicles unreliable??
Sorry to say you are going too much off topic...
The major diesel engine makers Toyota,Renault,Fiat,Mercedes for force in India, Mitsubishi they all can give an unlimited warranty on their engine due to the trust they have on their engines.

And that is why they posses a major role in indian market.

Back to back failures of the engines from TATA and M&M give way for the above mentioned company's to have their root in India.

I think we are arguing on post over post like rivals, i had my views and i am repeating it on every post, i think i had mentioned all points and views and so, as you said as it is OT i wish to be a silent observer of this thread.

The major diesel engine makers Toyota,Renault,Fiat,Mercedes for force in India, Mitsubishi they all can give an unlimited warranty on their engine due to the trust they have on their engines.
If you are ready to pay TATA and MnM they gonna provide you better vehicle than your videsi companies.

And that is why they posses a major role in indian market.
except TOYOTA no one established as your imagination. Mitshi produces good vehicle but failed globally but it doesn't mean that people have no trust on then ok?

Back to back failures of the engines from TATA and M&M give way for the above mentioned company's to have their root in India.
I never seen this scenario in REAL, BOTH TATA and MNM produces/USES good engines which are equally reliable to other foreign brands in INDIA,
I have seen many PAJEROS, MERC and TOYOTAs in our friends garage for gasket replacement in just 1 lac KM

I think we are arguing on post over post like rivals, i had my views and i am repeating it on every post, i think i had mentioned all points and views and so, as you said as it is OT i wish to be a silent observer of this thread.
It was you had different thoughts so stop your debate if you are really concern about this.

Sorry for OT XOVER.

I dont know how we Indians blindly respect foreign brands and simple bash desi companies.
Alexddas has to check RENAULTS global recognition they have very cheap name globally but for India it is above creamy layer.

Not adding some more salt to the OT discussion, but it is true that Renault is a cheapest last option in Europe, but it is a HIT in India[lol] some thing like a worst form bowler coming to India and regain his form back and become world number one bowler[lol].

It is just the discussion of Sumo Gold vs Bolero and not the capabilities and war between the companies, so just keep it there. Simple

We need to accept different things happening in different parts of the country with different vehicles, so we need to accept all the facts whichever is the vehicle in fair way and move ahead with the discussion

@Alex, if possible please avoid back to back posts and use Multi quote function please for easy readability

The point is @alex,

It depends on the maintenance. Proper procedures will bring the best in both TATA and Mahindra.

I have seen countless number of taxis, both Sumo and Bolero, do twice the mileage before they stop for the service. TATA had their service interval as 7500kms/6 months, whichever earlier. BUT most taxi owners do it every 6 months. ie every 15-20000 kms. Now the service periods on the new engines have increased.
AND TATA now provides 150000kms/4 years warranty on their Dicor/Varicor engines and some what similar for CR4/Di engines. May be TATA has more faith in their engines, more than what you think they are capable of.

AND did you ever see a star next to the 'unlimited' claim?

@alexddas
How do you know TML vehicles are finding dificult to cross 1L mark???IF there are any problem with engine the TML Guys change the whole engine free of cost the TATA SUMO GOLD gets default warrenty upto 1,00,000Kms and can be extnded extra 50,000 How about Bolero?
Bolero gets corrosion soon and faster than other vehicles in india
Bolero is a MUV designed like a dog catching van

Actually both Sumo and Bolero both are having goods carrier engine and both are lowest maintance and service free vehicle but Sumo Gold is
more reliable
low cost spares
Service Network
User friendly Car
Spacious and it means to be comfortable MUV in its class with Power Full Good A/C

SUMO VICTA BS II/III IDI 90 PS Tourist with 100%A/C Drive have crossed 3,78,000Km without opening engine once i did FIP overhauling at 2,10,000 Kms costed Rs.10,000 or else only oil change filter change the vehicle is still running

The 3.0 CR4 was already doin its for 25 years in 407,Spacio,207,609 and Even as 120PS DiCOR also they have runned those goods carrier vehicle for more than 5,00,000 Kms and they reach this mark in the time of 2years so this engine is well proved and there will be no issues.

The 1L Kms mark was the problem with the Old Indica DLS 98-2000 models and though the maintance was cost effective and the Indica is like Monopoly
Normally the TML Engine is made for cost effective parts performance and efficient as per the principle of MB
Where as
Bolero is having use and throw A/C
Noisy Engine
Vibration of the Vehicle is high
Poor quality of Body
Poor Seating
Worst Leg room in its class
Poor suspension
Modified ARMADA (which previously was a better option)
Uncomfortable seats

@ALL the M&M gives only 50,000Kms warrenty for its vehicle this is to be noticed and A/C are not included in warrenty

THE COMPARISON IS SHOULD BE BETWEEN TWO VEHICLES AND NOT TO CRITISIZE OR UNDER ESTIMATE THE MANUFACTURER

Anyway thanks alexddas for posting in this thread.
Your posts have created some buzz in this thread and this thread is so active now..[:D]

But if TATA cars have this serious reliability issue then why their cars sell in this much nos??
Problem with them is the A.S.S which they are working upon now[:D]

@MrRanger
If you are ready to pay TATA and MnM they gonna provide you better vehicle than your videsi companies.
except TOYOTA no one established as your imagination. Mitshi produces good vehicle but failed globally but it doesn't mean that people have no trust on then ok?

We are discussing only engine reliability
In india the mitsubishi lancer as per my knowledge is more reliable than tatas own any sedan engine, and lancer is good in india.

I never seen this scenario in REAL, BOTH TATA and MNM produces/USES good engines which are equally reliable to other foreign brands in INDIA,
I have seen many PAJEROS, MERC and TOYOTAs in our friends garage for gasket replacement in just 1 lac KM

Quality of engines from M&M and tata, to toyoto , merc and misubishi do any one want me to comment on that?

It was you had different thoughts so stop your debate if you are really concern about this.

Sorry for OT XOVER.

I dont know how we Indians blindly respect foreign brands and simple bash desi companies.
Alexddas has to check RENAULTS global recognition they have very cheap name globally but for India it is above creamy layer.

M&M buys engine from renault(It is as best as fiat though failed globally)
Tata buys engine from fiat
suzuki from fiat
If they are confident about their engines, then why are they buying from fiat and renault?
IT is not easy to produce a good reliable diesel engine though M&M and TATA tried their level best.
Try to accept things using your commonsense other than arguing for the sake of arguing

@Maran

Please please read the whole thread.

@Jagover

TAta sells on discounts and offers and the cheapest pricing, and on the limited options available in the market.

We are discussing only engine reliability
In india the mitsubishi lancer as per my knowledge is more reliable than tatas own any sedan engine, and lancer is good in india.

Quality of engines from M&M and tata, to toyoto , merc and misubishi do any one want me to comment on that?

Sorry for OT XOVER.

M&M buys engine from renault(It is as best as fiat though failed globally)
Tata buys engine from fiat
suzuki from fiat
If they are confident about their engines, then why are they buying from fiat and renault?
IT is not easy to produce a good reliable diesel engine though M&M and TATA tried their level best.
Try to accept things using your commonsense other than arguing for the sake of arguing

@Maran

@Jagover

TAta sells on discounts and offers and the cheapest pricing, and on the limited options available in the market.
I think its time for you to read the tittle of the thread , you are going extremely OT with your every post brother .

Why are you not starring a thread mahindra and Tata vs rest of the international brand thread ?

Maybe you don't trust Tata and mahindra and their efforts and its ok stick to that belif , and there are millions who belive in them and buy them let them too have that belif brother.

If you just want to prove other brands are better then mahindra and Tata and want to prove you have superior knowledge about them ,we heard you can we move on now?

@mods and xover

Kindly close this thread or control the OT , readers are not able to understand its about bolero and sumo gold or merc , Renault, fiat and Mitsubishi or Toyota .

I think its time for you to read the tittle of the thread , you are going extremely OT with your every post brother .

Why are you not starring a thread mahindra and Tata vs rest of the international brand thread ?

Maybe you don't trust Tata and mahindra and their efforts and its ok stick to that belif , and there are millions who belive in them and buy them let them too have that belif brother.

If you just want to prove other brands are better then mahindra and Tata and want to prove you have superior knowledge about them ,we heard you can we move on now?

@mods and xover

Kindly close this thread or control the OT , readers are not able to understand its about bolero and sumo gold or merc , Renault, fiat and Mitsubishi or Toyota .
The thread is rated ***** so i think even after the discussions were OT, it was closely watched as there were something informative.

sorry for too much of OT as you said,
over and out.

@Alex:
I have read the whole thread and I didn't reply or ask you anything but I Have just posted the difference between. But you only should analyse the vehicles properly The vehicle should be discussed but your discussion is only the vehicle from your eyes and not as a true vehicle and please don't show partiality towards any vehicle

@mods and xover

Kindly close this thread or control the OT ,Now a days Most of the thread looks like battle between the TML & M&M

Thread Starter #554
It would be extremely unfair to close this thread,as this is the only thread of its kind in the entire web world which exclusively compares these two arch rivals.350Z has already closed atleast 3/4 threads because of nonsensical OT posts and flame wars.Hence as a thread starter,I humbly appeal to all my fellow TAIan brothers to stop posting off-topic content and if you want to post in this thread,please compare Sumo GOLD with Bolero,and that's it.No need to talk about reliability of Tata/MnM vis-a-vis Toyota.I hope we better wake up before the mods crack their whip.THANKS!

PS: Even if someone is going OT,it's better for our other members not to respond and regally ignore.Let intelligence and prudence prevail.Amen!

Anyway thanks alexddas for posting in this thread.
Your posts have created some buzz in this thread and this thread is so active now[:D]

The thread is rated ***** so i think even after the discussions were OT, it was closely watched as there were something informative.

sorry for too much of OT as you said,
over and out.
God bless you for reading the title of the thread finally.
@ xover, you are right , TAI is one of the best forums which provides unique thread s like this one.Yes , a thread need not be punished for the OT posts instead we have policy to delete such posts .

BTW, Are there any after market means by which we can improve interior looks of an Sumogold? so as to make it more attractive for urban and light users.