Battle of the Entry Level UVs: Sumo Gold vs Bolero

Which UV is better buy at the moment

• Sumo Gold

Votes: 61 37.2%
  • Bolero

Votes: 103 62.8%

Thread Starter #496
Yep I agree,be it Qualis or Innova,Toyota is more reliable then TATA,period.But this thread ain't about reliability of Tata vs Toyota.Both 2.0lt TCIC and 3.0lt di are as reliabe if not more than 2.6 di of Bolero,and that's what this thread is all about.

Once a car is bought for bread it has to be run and it may reach 100000kms or more but nobody knows the pain and money spend on maintenance on reaching this goal. and even how many times the engine had an over haul.

Qualis even after 600000kms not even a single engine repair and still running steady making money, and that is called reliability.
Another model innova launched all of a sudden when qualis is doing well, people,taxi drivers without any hesitation started buying it and as all know is the top in market and that is reliability.
So this is your claim not Toyota's right ?????
Likewise many examples of TATAs which crossed some 4lac plus without any major engine problems and you can expect gasket head replacement done once.

No matter how good Toyota is in quality it is simply unbelievable if they crossed 6lac KM without a single engine re-done or gasket head replacement, technically or practically I never believe your Qualis example sorry buddy. I expect atleast 2 gasket replacements or head may be pistons are good here.

Yep I agree,be it Qualis or Innova,Toyota is more reliable then TATA,period.But this thread ain't about reliability of Tata vs Toyota.Both 2.0lt TCIC and 3.0lt di are as reliabe if not more than 2.6 di of Bolero,and that's what this thread is all about.
The discounts and offers that they give to sell an unit tells the whole story.

Here in kerala no offers or compliments on bolero purchase.

So this is your claim not Toyota's right ?????
Likewise many examples of TATAs which crossed some 4lac plus without any major engine problems and you can expect gasket head replacement done once.

No matter how good Toyota is in quality it is simply unbelievable if they crossed 6lac KM without a single engine re-done or gasket head replacement, technically or practically I never believe your Qualis example sorry buddy. I expect atleast 2 gasket replacements or head may be pistons are good here.
It is very easy dial an authorized service station and take a list on both.

If you still don't believe then it is simply because you are not used of toyota.

@Alex, your Kerala experience of Sumo may be different from the other person other part of the country, so things will differ all together.

I wish to remind here we are just talking about Sumo gold and bolero here and we should stick to topic.

Yes, Bolero no doubt a very rugged vehicle but space wise and ride quality wise cannot match Sumo. Again Sumo might be a having a great space and ride quality but it is not tough like Bolero in bad roads and might not be less in maintenance too, so both have their on pros and cons here and are being used for different purposes for Example : In the whole IT world only Sumo is preferred and you just can't imagine a Bolero there and Bolero is preferred very much in rural areas and construction field and not any Sumo. So there are segments to both the vehicles, but finally sales numbers wise bolero is far away from Sumo, but again Bolero is just not one model but there are too many like bolero camper which is like TATA 207 so the numbers differ here[:)]

The others watching the thread do not feel so,that's reliability on Toyota.
I personally seen many qualis went down for 2+ lac, its all depends on once maintenance strategy. Others are watching so you need to watch your back before saying some thing on TATA also because each of us may come across different situations.

Note: I never said Toyata quality is poor, I said SUMO is one of the reliable TATA car too,
Most of the Cab driver I mentioned are also owners and yes few are just drivers

The others watching the thread do not feel so,that's reliability on Toyota.
Please stick to the topic buddy.
Everyone know Toyota is reliable than Tata. The only similarity between the two is T. Please don't compare apple with orange.
If you have something to post about Sumo Gold vs Bolero please post here.
Remember it is sumo gold.
One thing I want to point out here is that sumo is the first attempt of Tata on the UV segment and that too in the 1990s. At that time they had only started to make cars. so their cars may have reliability issues.[:)]

@mrRanger and @jagrover

Please do have a look at this thread too, i had posted my views there.

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...rong-tata-motors-open-letter-karl-slym-4.html

It will take time for TATA to win hearts of people because of the flops they produced on their budding stage.

we people happened to be a buyer at that stage and even if they produce GOLD or PLATINUM on Sumo. it is difficult to convince us as we had studied to stay out of TATA with our experience and are not afraid of commenting anything on tata.

@mrRanger and @jagrover

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...rong-tata-motors-open-letter-karl-slym-4.html

It will take time for TATA to win hearts of people because of the flops they produced on their budding stage.

we people happened to be a buyer at that stage and even if they produce GOLD or PLATINUM on Sumo. it is difficult to convince us as we had studied to stay out of TATA with our experience and are not afraid of commenting anything on tata.
Boss we appreciate your views , and thanx for your views but its a request kindly talk things related to bolero and sumo gold please .

If you want to talk and discuss Toyota and why tata and mahindra are not like Toyota start a new thread we will discuss there please its a request .

@mrRanger and @jagrover

Here we are not talking about TATA/MnM and history, we are talking about present, Today Sumo Gold and Bolero are two good products but sits in different usablity section. so we are providing our views on these vehicles based on our usablity nothing else.

Did I say Bolero is a bad vehicle or Sumo? i didnt say anything about the vehicle but I said about my view and requirement.

No need to bash any company here, if you dont trust TATA or shy to accept changes of TATA then no issues but loads of people have guts to accept changes and sustain with that.

Please no more bashing on TATA, it is also a good company.

Ok, I stick on to sales, if bolero sells more, then people trust them more and if sumo fails then people trust them less.
These two products does not come all of a sudden, they were in market for quite a long period.
Now people buy bolero even if they are not getting offers and less sales on sumo even after TATA's offers and discount and changes done over it

Don't you think reliability and trust on a company is a factor on sales?

Even if sumo is the best entry level UV,Bolero is selling hot. so my vote to Bolero.

Ok, I stick on to sales, if bolero sells more, then people trust them more and if sumo fails then people trust them less.
These two products does not come all of a sudden, they were in market for quite a long period.
Now people buy bolero even if they are not getting offers and less sales on sumo even after TATA's offers and discount.

Alex, what is the point you are trying to make? are you saying that bolero is a better choice than Sumo? then fair enough as it is your perception and point of view and similarly a group of people can fall into your bracket or the bracket having an opposite view

you are welcome to contribute what you like about the bolero and hate about the sumo i.e. the vehicles and ancillary services associated with it based on YOUR experience and personal perception

Now people buy bolero even if they are not getting offers and less sales on sumo even after TATA's offers and discount.

Even if sumo is the best entry level UV,Bolero is selling hot. so my vote to Bolero.

Hahahaha I cannot change people perception, how this sales figure matters to decide on company!!!!

I disagree with you, I mentioned that sumo and bolero are in two different areas one can be used as TAXI another cannot and one carries only TAXI badge other not

Alex, what is the point you are trying to make? are you saying that bolero is a better choice than Sumo? then fair enough as it is your perception and point of view and similarly a group of people can fall into your bracket or the bracket having an opposite view

you are welcome to contribute what you like about the bolero and hate about the sumo i.e. the vehicles and ancillary services associated with it based on YOUR experience and personal perception
cars are bought on trust and reliability of the company and brand.

cars are made out to sell if not, there is no point in discussing or comparing to a best selling model.

Its my view i had posted you may have a different one, you too are welcome to share it.

@Mr ranger

Both are seen on taxi's at different places of the country, that point is discussed earlier.

Tata have to do something big and vareity thing to change this perception.

@Alex,

Yes, that is what the poll on this thread reflects, as you can see who like Bolero and Sumo. Yes there is a difference in percentage, but this thread never says who is the winner, so it is simple that if I like Bolero, then I will vote for it and mention that what is it I like in Bolero, but I refrain my self why Sumo is not good. Similarly a person like Sumo Gold then he will say why it is so, that's it and I don't think we should bring in the sales numbers of these vehicles and maintenance issues also because we cannot always refer our old experience of said company vehicle and attach the same to a new model and also such thing will never help but the discussion will go quite OT. Thank you for understanding !!

cars are bought on trust and reliability of the company and brand.

Its my view i had posted you may have a different one, you too are welcome to share it.

@Mr ranger

Both are seen on taxi's at different places of the country, that point is discussed earlier.

Tata have to do something big and vareity thing to change this perception.
I have always liked the sumo, that apart before I booked my car I spoke with three people (one from kerala, kayamkulam)

All these three own tata vehicles and one of them multiple. Each of them own the vehicle in excess of four to five years. all of them are happy with the vehicles as well as interaction with tata

regards,
Brijesh