Battle of the Entry Level UVs: Sumo Gold vs Bolero

Which UV is better buy at the moment

• Sumo Gold

Votes: 61 37.2%
  • Bolero

Votes: 103 62.8%

Back here innova rules, Sumo doesn't get up from the fall new sumo's are seen on police departments on private board as tata give a huge discount say two free on purchase of eight.
New taxi board sumo's are very few and bolero taxi is also few though some departments own some on private board.
Tavera is somewhat back in taxi market.
Ertiga is seen on taxi board too.
People here are fast learners.
Yeah I agree with you on Tavera, but I see more of them are Sumo,Indica,Tavera these days are hired taxis for companies and departments. The general taxi segment is filled with Indica,Innova,Logan in hyderabad[:)]

Back here innova rules, Sumo doesn't get up from the fall new sumo's are seen on police departments on private board as tata give a huge discount say two free on purchase of eight.
New taxi board sumo's are very few and bolero taxi is also few though some departments own some on private board.
Tavera is somewhat back in taxi market.
Ertiga is seen on taxi board too.
People here are fast learners.

@vishwas

Tavera is still in the market and tavera sells much more than sumo as tavera is more comfortable than sumo.
There's a huge difference between tavera and sumo because of the price wherein tavera base model has the price of top end sumo and bolero. For informational purposes tavera is to be compared with Grande xylo etc. But it's very comfortable as you say

Qualis did cost much more than sumo and you know the result.
Tavera is more comfortable for customers who hire taxi than grande and xylo and it sells more too.
People here realised that we get cheaper things for cheaper price and not to go for cheaper one's.

TAVERA and comfortable in the same sentence?

SUMO Gold, Xylo, Sumo Grande is Rolls Royce when compared to Tavera.

THE reason why it sells more is its cheap and KARL SLYMs maintenance plan, rather 0 maintenance plan. That plan covers Tavera and Spark.

Tavera is more comfortable for customers who hire taxi than grande and xylo and it sells more too.

I feel Tavera is not much comfortable like Innova and Grande. Mostly on weekends I travel from Chennai to Vellore on cabs & I mostly try to avoid travera for its bouncy ride.

Freinds,

I think discussion is going some where with lot of OT as the thread is about Sumo vs Bolero, so what Tavera,grande,innova,xylo are doing here[surprise]

Alex, I agree with you on the late 90's thing, but differ with you that sumo is died, no man 1000s of Sumo's are today used as prefered Taxi's in Hitech city, Hyderabad and I have not seen a single bolero for such purpose here. Boleros are used in the construction field more(the bolero campers) for material transportation and all government public sector companies use Sumo as their hired vehicle for inspection[:)]
In north its other way round, Bolero is being used by PSU's, Govt departments and more so in rural area but I do agree that that Sumo is preferred as taxi by cabbies and BPO/IT companies after Innova.

Ok, back to the topic. Bolero sells more than sumo without even a floor mat or mud-flap given as compliment. sumo with all the offers and discounts sells less(in kerala).
People are more intelligent nowadays.

On my personal opinion M&M and TATA are not producing products that they are capable of producing, they are just swimming with the tide without taking any risk fooling us. SUV 5OO and nano are exceptional.

@alex,

Look at the price, 5.8ls. Thats equal to the price of Indica Vista. You just cant provide a ground breaking product (read 7 seater MUV) at that price.

Why Bolero sells more? Go any where in India (where there are no roads), even though you go there in an Indica, people there will tell you "Saab is raste key liye sirf JEEP bana hey".
Just the resemblance to the jeep is enough for them to put their money on the product, and Mahindra is making hay when they can.

@alex,

Look at the price, 5.8ls. Thats equal to the price of Indica Vista. You just cant provide a ground breaking product (read 7 seater MUV) at that price.

Why Bolero sells more? Go any where in India (where there are no roads), even though you go there in an Indica, people there will tell you "Saab is raste key liye sirf JEEP bana hey".
Just the resemblance to the jeep is enough for them to put their money on the product, and Mahindra is making hay when they can.
+100,

For me it was the Bolero Camper did the job for complete six months travelling in toughest terrains,villages, roads filled with sand, no roads every where 4 people(rear bit cramped) with lots of material on the back in Interiors of Gujrath,Rajasthan,Punjab and I used to drive minimum 200+ km every day without any tired feeling at all[:)]

Thread Starter #476
At the time of its launch,I really thought that Sumo GOLD would take the fight to Bolero and hence created this thread.However,I was wrong Sumo GOLD's sales figures have come down from 3000+ units to 1800 units of late, while Bolero is still going strong at 10,000 units month per month.My bad;my optimism :(-

where all these bolero's going buddy [clap]
But last year Sumo Gold tops Xylo I guess and I even read some article some where,

I guess Bolero's price is an advantage nothing else, if bolero price is 1lac more then cureent price then it will fail

where all these bolero's going buddy [clap]
But last year Sumo Gold tops Xylo I guess and I even read some article some where
Ranger

All those Boleros on the road[clap] and I think we are not discussion Xylo at all here. Because if Xylo comes, then tavera comes, then indica comes and scorpio comes again[lol] so better we stick only those two vehicles as per the thread

Ranger

All those Boleros on the road[clap] and I think we are not discussion Xylo at all here. Because if Xylo comes, then tavera comes, then indica comes and scorpio comes again so better we stick only those two vehicles as per the thread
Sorry for OT,

RK I guess you became afraid of SCORPIO [lol] in that case I even afraid of that since I been seeing SCORPIO competing with nano to land cruiser PRADO [cry]

Ok coming to the point, XOVER just upset about the sales number of SUMO GOLD, I guess jan 2013 is a worst for all TATA products except STORME.

I still wonder since, even though Bolero selling multiple times of SUMO(all) I still see equal number of SUMOs and Bolero's onroad so got confused.

Qualis did cost much more than sumo and you know the result.
People here realised that we get cheaper things for cheaper price and not to go for cheaper one's.
at 1000 odd units per month, its not bad, but Tavera has some amount of respect in taxi as well as personal vehicle segment.

TAVERA and comfortable in the same sentence?

SUMO Gold, Xylo, Sumo Grande is Rolls Royce when compared to Tavera.

THE reason why it sells more is its cheap and KARL SLYMs maintenance plan, rather 0 maintenance plan. That plan covers Tavera and Spark.
Sorry but i feel you should sit once in the rear seat of Tavera too. Though it uses leaf springs at the rear, the ride quality is exceptionally good.

I feel Tavera is not much comfortable like Innova and Grande. Mostly on weekends I travel from Chennai to Vellore on cabs & I mostly try to avoid travera for its bouncy ride.
Definitely not, but it sells for the Mileage figures it gives 20kmpl, can you believe it?

I was at the same perception because Gold has every potential to compete with Bolero, only problem is the Service which is still in the lines of improving.

I guess Bolero's price is an advantage nothing else, if bolero price is 1lac more then cureent price then it will fail
Why should they price it 1 lakh more? Please could you explain this?

I still wonder since, even though Bolero selling multiple times of SUMO(all) I still see equal number of SUMOs and Bolero's onroad so got confused.
Simple, Our Bangalore roads are flooded with Sumo's being an IT capital, whereas outside Bangalore you find these sumos rarely, so there's your point, Boleros runs a lot in rural areas