Battle of the Entry Level UVs: Sumo Gold vs Bolero

Which UV is better buy at the moment

• Sumo Gold

Votes: 61 37.2%
  • Bolero

Votes: 103 62.8%

@dr_d esai , you too , seems to be believer of above mentioned thought.

@ drdesai, It seems that you were unsatisfied with the power and torque of existing storme for the price during TD.Can you please give details on Storme road test review thread,where exactly you felt it inadequte apart from brochure?

And it will be OT here to discuss Gold vs storme vs fortuner, if you want to discuss it please start a new thread.
The storme is absolutely superb. There is no doubt about it. But if you have option of same car with more power and more torque naturally choice would be for higher power.
Now a days body over frame design is used for SUVs with big engine size.Diesel engine with 2 to 2.2 L capacity the prefered choice is unibody.Certainly high speed handling is better in suv with unibody design.
Fortuner has massive 3 litre engine and very much suitable for serious off roading with body over frame design. It has a reputation of Landrover and special edition of it ( namely FORTUNER HEAVY DUTY ) is very popular in African countries.

Yes for on road use MUV like Gold and Innova gives very supple ride than the fortuner.Fortuner is extremely rugged in all aspects.

The storme is absolutely superb. There is no doubt about it. But if you have option of same car with more power and more torque naturally choice would be for higher power.
Now a days body over frame design is used for SUVs with big engine size.Diesel engine with 2 to 2.2 L capacity the prefered choice is unibody.Certainly high speed handling is better in suv with unibody design.
Fortuner has massive 3 litre engine and very much suitable for serious off roading with body over frame design. It has a reputation of Landrover and special edition of it ( namely FORTUNER HEAVY DUTY ) is very popular in African countries.

Yes for on road use MUV like Gold and Innova gives very supple ride than the fortuner.Fortuner is extremely rugged in all aspects.
Dr Saab ,

Did you drive the storme ? If yes can you kindly post your view here

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...ari-storme-road-test-review-8.html#post242211

Tata Sumo sale for the month of November 2012 was 2959 and now within one month the sale is dropped to just 1451 units in December 2012. A heavy drop of over 50 % .
I think that the look of this SUV is not attracting buyes. Even the heavy discount offer has not worked !

Dr.Desai

Sumo is most seen as a TAXI by everybody !! so either TATA has to name is as a Taxi something like Dzire Tour or do a good amount of facelift and keep it under a 6 to 8 lakhs bracket as a MUV

Tata Sumo sale for the month of November 2012 was 2959 and now within one month the sale is dropped to just 1451 units in December 2012. A heavy drop of over 50 % .
I think that the look of this SUV is not attracting buyes. Even the heavy discount offer has not worked !
I too am surprised with the numbers it has given for the month of December, It was constant in 3k mark and was serving the market well, though it is December, but this kind of fall isn't expected.

Meanwhile Bolero takes 4th place which was occupied by Wagon-R by 9~k units.

car sales traditionally drop in december as most people put off buying for the new year

One of the reasons could probably be to get the new year as the manufacturing year on the chasis, I had myself asked for this but was told that if I want a 2013 vehicle, I need to wait till mid march or april

The sales guy that I booked my vehicle from sells an average of 11-14 sumo gold in a month

This december would see good sales for maruti as they have officially announced upto 25000 increase in price across all models from january

by the way I kind of like the boxy plain looks of the sumo