Battle of the Entry Level UVs: Sumo Gold vs Bolero

Which UV is better buy at the moment

• Sumo Gold

Votes: 61 37.2%
  • Bolero

Votes: 103 62.8%

Congrats.Which variant have you booked GX or EX? Also,can you share the on road price of the vehicle with us?
Top end GX, breakup below

Ex-Showroom: 689137
Insurance: 28,471 (I may get 50% off if the no claim bonus of my santro is transferred)
Logistic: 3500 (I dont know what this is, am going to ask the sales guy tomorrow)
Extended warranty 3+1 year: 7580
see this link for what is covered in the normal + extended warranty

Tata Motors Customer Care :: Must Know

AMC 3yr/20k km: 8320 (this is free oil, coolant and any other consumable change within this period)
OTR: 818813

less:
30000 bonus
20000 discount
180000 Santro trade in

Final price came to 595705

A little bit of haggling and I got it down to a round figure i.e. 590000

hope this answers your queries

brijesh

Top end GX, breakup below

Ex-Showroom: 689137
Insurance: 28,471 (I may get 50% off if the no claim bonus of my santro is transferred)
Logistic: 3500 (I dont know what this is, am going to ask the sales guy tomorrow)
Extended warranty 3+1 year: 7580
see this link for what is covered in the normal + extended warranty

Tata Motors Customer Care :: Must Know

AMC 3yr/20k km: 8320 (this is free oil, coolant and any other consumable change within this period)
OTR: 818813

less:
30000 bonus
20000 discount
180000 Santro trade in

Final price came to 595705

A little bit of haggling and I got it down to a round figure i.e. 590000

hope this answers your queries

brijesh
Thanx Brijesh we wanted to know also if you can share what made you select the sumo gold as your personal vehicle , did you consider the highest selling bolero also ?

Wow great another testimonial from a owner who bought sumo gold for personal use . What did you like more in sumo gold that you decided to buy it for personal use ? Dint you consider the bolero ?
I have sat in the bolero, (actually went for my engagement in my friends vehicle and we lost the way :))

I have sat in mostly all UV's i.e. bolero, qualis, sumo, xylo, innova etc. There are some primary reasons for buying the sumo

value for money + affordable
space
I always loved the plain boxy looks of this uv

kuch log sumo chalate hai (jab tak chalana nahi aata tab tak driver rakhte hai)

no offense on any other uv as I am sure there can be countless debates on how one scores over another vis-a-vis various factors but to be honest I think that at the end of the day, no matter how much R&D you put in and work out the options / differences blah blah...most people just go for the model which has always been their personal preference, no matter if this was hidden in some deep corner of your subconcious :)

brijesh

I have sat in the bolero, (actually went for my engagement in my friends vehicle and we lost the way :))

I have sat in mostly all UV's i.e. bolero, qualis, sumo, xylo, innova etc. There are some primary reasons for buying the sumo

value for money + affordable
space
I always loved the plain boxy looks of this uv

kuch log sumo chalate hai (jab tak chalana nahi aata tab tak driver rakhte hai)

no offense on any other uv as I am sure there can be countless debates on how one scores over another vis-a-vis various factors but to be honest I think that at the end of the day, no matter how much R&D you put in and work out the options / differences blah blah...most people just go for the model which has always been their personal preference, no matter if this was hidden in some deep corner of your subconcious :)

brijesh
Nicely said Brijesh and iam sure you will enjoy your daily ride a lot . Btw which shade did you opt for ? And when is the delivery ?
We here would request you to start a ownership review which can be first on tai and there are not many on the web too.
It can help many prospective buyers understand the true value of sumo gold .[:)]

Nicely said Brijesh and iam sure you will enjoy your daily ride a lot . Btw which shade did you opt for ? And when is the delivery ?
We here would request you to start a ownership review which can be first on tai and there are not many on the web too.
It can help many prospective buyers understand the true value of sumo gold .[:)]
Delivery around the 10th or 15th of January, I will post pics when I go to take the vehicle

The color I choose was dew white and yes I will put in a comprehensive ownership review after drive it myself for sometime

Delivery around the 10th or 15th of January, I will post pics when I go to take the vehicle

The color I choose was dew white and yes I will put in a comprehensive ownership review after drive it myself for sometime
Dew white is a nice colour and is a choice of most of Indians. This car will give you comfort of a premium car with amazing pick up power. Similarly as a wild Tusker elephant gets respect from all other wild animals while roaming in jungle , your Sumo will earn similar respect on road as no other car can afford to be crushed by 1820 kg monster ! Also the 1920 mm tall car has unmatched manoeuvrablity to offer challenge !

Good decision in deed , please let us know how the SUMOGOLD behaves once the turbo is fully charged albeit after Running-in period is over.
yes I will, once I figure out how to figure out if the turbo is fully charged [confused], what is the ideal running in period for this engine? any pointers on do's and dont's during the run-in?

brijesh

Running in period sticker mentioning do and don' ts is provided on wind screen otherwise in the owner' s manual.
If you post a pic of speedo , we can tell you about full charging of turbo.

Thread Starter #415
Dew white is a nice colour and is a choice of most of Indians. This car will give you comfort of a premium car with amazing pick up power. Similarly as a wild Tusker elephant gets respect from all other wild animals while roaming in jungle , your Sumo will earn similar respect on road as no other car can afford to be crushed by 1820 kg monster ! Also the 1920 mm tall car has unmatched manoeuvrablity to offer challenge !
Hey Doc,what's up buddy?

Have you made the decision between Storme and GOLD? Have you driven Storme yet? If yes then please share the driving experience on the Storme thread?

yes I will, once I figure out how to figure out if the turbo is fully charged [confused], what is the ideal running in period for this engine? any pointers on do's and dont's during the run-in?

brijesh
Have you checked the Grande???.

I like the nostalgic factor the Gold delivers. Its better than Bolero in comfort, space and high speed stability.

Hey Doc,what's up buddy?

Have you made the decision between Storme and GOLD? Have you driven Storme yet? If yes then please share the driving experience on the Storme thread?
Shortly the new Storme will be with 160 bhp and 400NM of torque . So I have lost interest in the existing storme ! As regards to Gold I will surely opt for it. But I am exploring the possibility to raise my budget possibly for Fortuner.The chances are not bright but nothing wrong in trying ! And after all I will be contented with Gold if I fail to get Fortuner. But surely I am not interested in any third option.

Thread Starter #418
^^But it would be only available with an automatic ZF 6 speed transmission which will be very costly.Manual Storme will get 160ps engine only once the manual 6 speed gearbox(G-84)is ready,which will take atleast a couple of years,IMO.So yes Fortuner is also a good choice.

Shortly the new Storme will be with 160 bhp and 400NM of torque . So I have lost interest in the existing storme ! As regards to Gold I will surely opt for it. But I am exploring the possibility to raise my budget possibly for Fortuner.The chances are not bright but nothing wrong in trying ! And after all I will be contented with Gold if I fail to get Fortuner. But surely I am not interested in any third option.
New Storm so quickly [confused], I doubt on this

Your options seems to be good, but I hope you regret if you go for Fortuner, this is my subjective opinion after travelling in it, it is very bumpy, very scary and a difficult task in thick traffic and to park it somewhere. XUV/Storm/Gold are much better for lesser price[:)]

Well, I am a staunch believer of a thought ,' though apple and orange are not comparble , they must be compared first , once you select one of them then you start comparing apple with apple or orange with orange.' And this thought belongs to me.And most of the posters seems to be agreeing with me on this thread.

do not hesitate to filll in the gaps in my knowledge.
@dr_d esai , you too , seems to be believer of above mentioned thought.

@ drdesai, It seems that you were unsatisfied with the power and torque of existing storme for the price during TD.Can you please give details on Storme road test review thread,where exactly you felt it inadequte apart from brochure?

And it will be OT here to discuss Gold vs storme vs fortuner, if you want to discuss it please start a new thread.