All-New Honda City 2014 Accessories & Modifications

I am new to TAI. I am planning to have paint protection treatment done to my new Honda City from 3M.
The 3M personnel is pursuing me to have the underbody anti corrosion treatment and windscreen shielding (or filming). He is offering me engine detailing as freebie.
In Pune I dont think I need the underbody treatment, but can anyone guide me about the utility of windscreen filming? Does it really help to reduce heat and UV rays?
Also I have heard, engine detailing is not recomended byHonda for the new honda city? Is it true?[confused]
Thanks in advance

I am new to TAI. I am planning to have paint protection treatment done to my new Honda City from 3M.
Hi buddy, welcome aboard TAI. Coming to your query, PPF is a temporary thing and a sheer waste of money. In the kind of traffic we have, all these treatments won't last more than a month. Get your car waxed in every 2 months from good detail-er that's more than enough.

The 3M personnel is pursuing me to have the underbody anti corrosion treatment and windscreen shielding (or filming).
Anti Rust is Ok. However, the Windscreen shield and all are of no use and practically as per law its illegal to use films. If you want then go for a simple stripe on front windshield if your car does not have front tinted windscreen. My Honda city does not have so I am using a front stripe on windshield.

He is offering me engine detailing as freebie.
All these are flimsy ways to get your earned money wasted. Tell me, if you get your car's engine detailed, will you be opening it every day? Will it be shown to others every day? Will it be exposed to hot sunlight or rain directly? The weather/atmosphere largely remains dusty in India hence, getting engine detailed won't fetch you anything as after this "detailing" in next 15-20 days, when you'll open the hood, it would be still having dust on it.

can anyone guide me about the utility of windscreen filming? Does it really help to reduce heat and UV rays?
Well in layman language, I personally don't pay heed to these UV ray stuff, Without having any UV protection and using simple stripe in front windshield I have been driving the car since past 4 years. No harm done to me, my driver or to my skin/eyes.

Also I have heard, engine detailing is not recomended byHonda for the new honda city? Is it true?
See, no OEM would accept any damage or malfunction which may be caused later due to this external brand detailing stuff. Car's body detailing is ok but not of major parts like engine bay et al.

Thanks Akash for the detailed reply, That leaves me with only one query. There are few swirl marks on the car body due to the wrong washing technique I used initially.:stupid:
This is the reason I thought of PP. In this case is there any way to get the swirl marks fixed?

That leaves me with only one query. There are few swirl marks on the car body due to the wrong washing technique I used initially This is the reason I thought of PP. In this case is there any way to get the swirl marks fixed?
For swirl marks 3M has the paint sealant/restoration treatment. That has remarkable results. Get it done once only and after that get the car waxed as suggested above buddy.

Finally as recommended by Akash, I chose to have paint sealant treatment for my car. It was done at 3M shop on Pashan-baner link road pune.
The outcome of the treatment is very good. I have my shining star back now. [:D]
I am attaching couple of pictures of the car post-treatment

Hello guys.....update from me.I finally changed my stock HU with Pioneer F60BT today and work was done by Motor Concepts Kirti Nagar.I am fully satisfied with the work done and they took approx 3 hrs to do this.
Let me now tell you what all I did.I spoke with the owner and he is a decent chap and helpled me suggesting to go for damping for front doors and change to change component speakers from front and suggested me to with Rainbow one.He even showed me that already installed in one car and I was impressed with that.
So finally I asked him for damping of front doors and to change front components and HU.I am happy with the result of everything and HU fits perfectly.But only one negative that we can't pick or end calls from steering control we can only change music from that so for answering call we need to click on answer on HU or directly from phone.Rest all is fine.
Now you want to know how much damage I had in my pocket.So totally I paid a whopping 70k which is distributed like this

Pioneer HU-42k
Interface and panel-6k
Damping-4800(1200 for a single damping sheet total 4 sheets for front 2 doors)
Rainbow Components-15k
Reverse Camera-1800
Labour -500
Hy Munish

You have got really nice and impressive setup.. I too have got idtec.. But mine model doesn't have this gloss black banel and i have got installed pioneer avhx2690bt. So i wanted to fiit this this panel in my car... Could you please tell something more about it.Like did you have to do any cutting or it was already cut.

Hy Munish

I am also facing really bad rattling sound from my car..
Let it be the dashboard, pillars (front and rear) whenever it gets to potholes.There is some weird 'CHU CHU'. Noise from the right side of dashboard even in the plain roads. I am really not satisfied with with the quality. Did you go to the ASS to get it checked.. What did they do if you did.?

Hy Munish

You have got really nice and impressive setup.. I too have got idtec.. But mine model doesn't have this gloss black banel and i have got installed pioneer avhx2690bt. So i wanted to fiit this this panel in my car... Could you please tell something more about it.Like did you have to do any cutting or it was already cut.

Hy Munish

I am also facing really bad rattling sound from my car..
Let it be the dashboard, pillars (front and rear) whenever it gets to potholes.There is some weird 'CHU CHU'. Noise from the right side of dashboard even in the plain roads. I am really not satisfied with with the quality. Did you go to the ASS to get it checked.. What did they do if you did.?
Hello, well thanks for liking my setup.Well to answer your questions lemme clear you that every HU has different gloss panel fitment and they didnt cut anything for that.It was already made for the HU I installed in my car.Do post the pics of your installation brother.
Regarding rattling issue I got it checked twice and what they did is they fixed some foam in the dashboard to adjust the fitting and for few days that works well but again it started but not that loud as before.Most of the sounds now comes from the place where rear view mirror is installed.I will again go to the service centre and will discuss again with them regarding this issue.
I am really not satisfied with the quality of plastic used inside in this car.Even yesterday I test drive vento diesel automatic and was fully satisfied with the drive and the quality of plastic used.Now I am in double mind whether to sell it and buy vento or wait for another year and then buy something more bigger car like Jetta.But now decided to stay with this car for one more year.
Also If you want I can give you the address of the place where I got my HU installed.But before that do post the pictures.

Ohh.. I arranged this panel from karol bagh for whopping Rs-1300 and the same was available on eBay for 4,750 :O. I have got mine installed.. And bro whereas the plastic quality is concerned, it is really very cheap and doesn't go with the HONDA brand. I am really stunned.I will be going to the ASS in a day or two and will definitely update about that. Well bro this reason is not enough to sell this car... chill bro definitely this thing will get sorted.

Hi everybody
Last evening a rickshaw puller coming from the opposite side banged into left side of my car and scratched the bottom side .. I want to hide these dents and scratch. Kindly suggest me what to do . I checked a special beading for honda city which will hide the scratch but not the dent (circled in black). Today i m getting these beadings (pic attached). Kindly advise me how to hide/remove/conceal the dents circled.

Hello guys, is it necessary to have a complete floor mat or just 3d mats are enough. My dealer told me that complete matting looks ugly in ANHC. Need some opinions

I want to hide these dents and scratch. Kindly suggest me what to do . I checked a special beading for honda city which will hide the scratch but not the dent (circled in black). Today i m getting these beadings (pic attached). Kindly advise me how to hide/remove/conceal the dents circled.
First you can do general rubbing and polishing of the damaged area to see the real extent of the damage (since marks and scratches would go away then). The beading you mentioned would hide the scratches but looks very bulky IMO. Removing the dent would mean denting and painting of the door, which I don't advice if you are keen on getting the original look back.

You can try the beading at an accessory shop before buying, to see whether it actually hides the damage. Another idea is to put some sticker, but it will look cheesy on a 10 Lac rupee car! :stupid:

Nikunj

Bro this accessory is a part from Accessories list in the brocure.. And it really suits the car brother i am getting it tomorrow will post pics for sure..

What is the price? Do you plan to get the side skirt also, which is shown in the pic? What about the scratch (and maybe a dent also) on the upper part? The beading will not cover that scratch.

I still advice you to go to an aftermarket paint shop and accessory shop, if you have not ordered the OEM part yet. You can first get the scratches touched up (or filled and painted) to prevent rusting in the future. Plus, a smoother surface would allow the beading to stick properly (assuming it is stuck via 3M tape). Then, you can pick the beading from the accessory shop and confirm whether it looks nice or not (as you are not getting the skirt I think). Then you can make your purchase decision. After market beading would be cheaper than the Honda Accessory and would be easier on the pocket to replace, as the area is prone to more scratches and chips. Rest, the decision is entirely up to you! [:)]

Nikunj

Hello TAI Members

Hello Friends :
My self Bharathkumar Iyer from Mumbai.
I Own a Honda City Ivtec Grey.

The forum helped me in buying this car. I feel great to be part of this forum whose interests are for Cars. Best part of the Forum/s is the feedback is strait from the heart of the members instead of any Marketing Jargon. It facilitates an individual to take a decision.

thank you everyone for sharing your experiences. Coming to my car.

My car is currently 42K kms done. When it touched 40K kms, i though of it would be ideal to get the tyres upgraded from the from stock Michelin 175/65/R15 (OEM) to Yokohama 195/60/R15, which I concluded from reading the Forum's. My tyre person in Dombivli further recommended for the above size. I think its "Yokohama Decibel"... pics of the tyres to follow.

After upgrading the tyres, I went for upgrading the Break Pads too... bought a after market Honda Taiwan make, honestly, could not find the brands which in the Forums had mentioned like Nissin, Delphi etc. The Honda service center Arya Honda, Kalina (Near to My office) was charging me Rs. 6500/- for this service incl. of Labour. After reading the Forum/s, went straight to Prakash Auto store, Milan Subway though its about 60-65Kms from my residence got the Roters Trimmed and Break pads installed, initially all was well but, recently a noise come from the breakes whenever its applied. Just check on the issue I took the Car to the Honda Service Center - Arya Honda, Kalina (Near to My office), they checked the entire assembly and said that this is not the original Brake pad and thus, the noise will remain, it will be more as the pads get older, nevertheless, thee pads will last for another 15K kms. I also noted that, there is also a lot of Black dust on the Rims and Wheel covers, I think this is from Break pads.

Can anyone share their wisdom on this please ?

I am further looking to upgrade my headlights by putting DRL's to support the existing lights or go for a complete change of headlights like Xenon Projector lamps. Offlate, when I drive at night, I feel that the lights are not enough, is the change "Lamps" alone will solve the purpose ? Is there any shop who can do this job for me ? Please guide.

By the way, the car currently gives -me a average of 16-18Kms in highway and say about 12-13Kms in city driving. Is the average correct ?

Thank you friends.

Cheers !!
BI
With Great Power comes Great Responsibility !!

Re: Hello TAI Members

Hy.. I am having idtec and my car's ODO meter is 15000 my car's brakes have become very less efective the paddle is even fully pressed but the brakes are very slow..What do you think i am facing same issue.

As per drl i am using ready made drl which are taped onto headlight they are really good.. Very bright..