Why Aria Failed To Take Off But XUV Did??

Re: Why Aria Failed to Take-off But XUV Did??

I was going thru a thread (on another forum) dedicated to Niggles so far found in XUV500 and the list seems to be ENDLESS.
Many of the issues have been sorted out by M&M -

Brake pad and disc related
Vehicles were recalled and brake discs were changed.

Tyres giving away with cuts and bubbles
This is not M&M's fault, still the owner was given a new tyre, isnt it?

Cruise COntrol Problems
Cruise control never had any problems. One thing I observed is that those complaining about issues with CC have not read the manual.

The manual clearly states at what speeds and what gear the CC will activate.

For example, one guy was cribbing that CC does not activate at low speeds in higher gear. Then what? He wants his car to stall after engaging CC?

Another guy pressed the RES button instead of SET+ and was then complaining that his car picked up speed in traffic. The manual clearly mentioned what these buttons do. It also states not to use CC in traffic.

This was the same when CC in Scorpio was lanuched. Many people dont know how to use CC in manual transmission cars as they dont bother to read the manual.

Headlight issues
Many cars with Projector setup have a blind spot on the RHS. this is to avoid glare to oncoming motorists. This is not a defect, its designed like that.

The Famous Door not closing issue
Solved.

Sensors going kaput or activated unnecceasrily
Impact sensors need to be deactivated. Solved.

Infotainment failure and problems
There was no failure, it used to hang. Software upgrades have solved it.

Low milage problem (9 in city and 11 on highway)
True. Mahindra never makes fuel efficient cars when compared to competitors.

AC not effective or inconsistent
Again, these people did not know how to use the ACC. I can give you an example of a guy, who instead of pressing 'Auto' button, pressed the 'AC' button, thereby switching off the AC compressor. And then he complained that the AC cooling is not good !!!

I guess the only issue still pending in the XUV is the TPMS behaving weirdly in some cars. That is yet to be solved.

Thread Starter #137

@Raj:
You have kept your points quite well.But issue is not that all issues arose.
What is the point of concern is "WHY THE ISSUES ROSE"?

Will you feel happy if you are doing 60 kph on a hilly road and suddenly one of your front wheels come out?Or your brake malfunction when you are doing 100 kph on highway?

Dear these are safety issues,I hope you understand the depth of the matter(Oh,it has got an mHawk and hence you can ignore anything,I forgot it.)

Cruise control,haha..I hope instead of giving these features with worse than pathetic quality,they could have better omitted them.At least this would have helped them further cut price.
About projector headlights:No doubt,every projector headlight is designed the way that it project whole light on road ahead instead of the oncoming traffic weather left or right.

About AC etc etc..I have no complains,its a sure chiller.In fact all the SUVs have a chiller AC.

Compared to the list I think aria came in as better in terms of less vists to service stations compared to xuv [lol]
I still don't understand why both tata and mahindra can't come with finished stress free products when they are charging 13-15 lakhs .
I sometimes feel are they enjoying some kind of monopoly in segments (read safari , Scorpio ,xuv, aria.) since there is no competetion they are easily taking people for granted and testing there vehicles on them ?
They must pull their socks now sooner or later competetion will bring products in same category and both our Indian companies will face the heat if they don't upgrade themselves now.

I still don't understand why both tata and mahindra can't come with finished stress free products when they are charging 13-15 lakhs
It is not good to mention openly yet...

lack of proper QC...

only thing Indian manufacturers boycott as superfluous expense is "Quality control" . they suggested, for 15 lakh car it is impossible to perform a 25 lakh car check.
BTW I am in Quality control by profession (not automotive).

@Raj:

Will you feel happy if you are doing 60 kph on a hilly road and suddenly one of your front wheels come out?Or your brake malfunction when you are doing 100 kph on highway?

Dear these are safety issues,I hope you understand the depth of the matter(Oh,it has got an mHawk and hence you can ignore anything,I forgot it.)

Cruise control,haha..I hope instead of giving these features with worse than pathetic quality,they could have better omitted them.At least this would have helped them further cut price.
About projector headlights:No doubt,every projector headlight is designed the way that it project whole light on road ahead instead of the oncoming traffic weather left or right.

About AC etc etc..I have no complains,its a sure chiller.In fact all the SUVs have a chiller AC.
The voice control feature is the most useless feature mahindra has used . For example I press 1 button on steering a lady voice asks me command I say wipers on she says wiper on and the wiper starts cool ? Yes kfunctional ? No .one can just start the wiper much faster manually then this useless gizmo .
Rather then putting all this silly things they must concentrate on fit and finish of the vehicles and must learn from other world class companies about quality control .

It is not good to mention openly yet...

lack of proper QC...

only thing Indian manufacturers boycott as superfluous expense is "Quality control" . they suggested, for 15 lakh car it is impossible to perform a 25 lakh car check.
BTW I am in Quality control by profession (not automotive).
But don't you think this is shortsighted ness on their behalf ? Won't this bring a bigger and deeper dent In Their image In longterm ? I feel bad when people from uk and many other countries make fun of tata and mahindra vehicles . Iam not able to understand when people like us know this why can't the management of respective companies think about it .

@Raj:
Poor Quality Control.

(Oh,it has got an mHawk and hence you can ignore anything,I forgot it.)
Sure, no debates on it, if you think that way!

Why? I would love my car to be feature loaded. Atleast those who knows how to use CC, let them use it.

Why, because of some ignorant owners, should the others not enjoy such features?

Thread Starter #143

Why? I would love my car to be feature loaded. Atleast those who knows how to use CC, let them use it.

Why, because of some ignorant owners, should the others not enjoy such features?
I am not at all against features,in fact I too like them.But I am solely against bad quality(maybe you need just features with any level of quality but my case is different.)

Take it this way:
If I have got a pistol to protect me,then it should be able to fire correctly at right time,else not having one is a better choice in my views.

Iam responding to the post of Raj

Here iam not putting a question on M&M XUV has more niggles or Aria has Lesser reported niggles.
My main concren is almost everyone on the forum has similar kind of issues, whether solved or not thats secondary (but good efforts from M&M to solve these issues). M&M is acting very good in resolving matters not only because XUV is their prime product but also because M&M is supposed to launch this product abroad in coming future and with these many concurrent sort of Major Issues, they might rupture their Image.

Issues were resolved promptly but a BIG BUT they are cropping up in the new batches of vehicles too. Like stearing fluid hose leakage, first brake pads and now both pads and disc changed. Door not closing or opening is a persistant issue also faced by Wolverine recently, so i cannot called it a solved problem.

Iam not bashing any product or service (ASS) here. IAm just asking people to come up with issues faced by both the vehicles.

Like TATA they have iron out most of the problems in Aria in first year of launch and now thay have laucnched it in Europe. So people who have bought their Aria in 2012 batch, they are sort of fully finished and updated prduct as compared to the initial lot of vehicles. TML has done all sorts of updation which they have included in the latest batch (free of cost), even initial batched were not facing the problems than also TML just upgraded the components.
Same is with M&M they are also in the process of updation of their world suv a.k.a XUV 500.
So in a short time they also unofficially have V2 of XUV500 with all the upgraded components.

Iam responding to the post of Raj

Here iam not putting a question on M&M XUV has more niggles or Aria has Lesser reported niggles.
My main concren is almost everyone on the forum has similar kind of issues, whether solved or not thats secondary (but good efforts from M&M to solve these issues). M&M is acting very good in resolving matters not only because XUV is their prime product but also because M&M is supposed to launch this product abroad in coming future and with these many concurrent sort of Major Issues, they might rupture their Image.

Issues were resolved promptly but a BIG BUT they are cropping up in the new batches of vehicles too. Like stearing fluid hose leakage, first brake pads and now both pads and disc changed. Door not closing or opening is a persistant issue also faced by Wolverine recently, so i cannot called it a solved problem.

Iam not bashing any product or service (ASS) here. IAm just asking people to come up with issues faced by both the vehicles.

Like TATA they have iron out most of the problems in Aria in first year of launch and now thay have laucnched it in Europe. So people who have bought their Aria in 2012 batch, they are sort of fully finished and updated prduct as compared to the initial lot of vehicles. TML has done all sorts of updation which they have included in the latest batch (free of cost), even initial batched were not facing the problems than also TML just upgraded the components.
Same is with M&M they are also in the process of updation of their world suv a.k.a XUV 500.
So in a short time they also unofficially have V2 of XUV500 with all the upgraded components.
And what about the initial owners dear ? Dint they spoil the enjoyment of the first batch owners who happily paid over ten lac of their hard earned money ? This is what sometimes makes and breaks the image isn't ? Iam actually interested to know what kind of test they do for xxxxx lac Kms before launching the products .

I am not at all against features,in fact I too like them.But I am solely against bad quality(maybe you need just features with any level of quality but my case is different.)

Take it this way:
If I have got a pistol to protect me,then it should be able to fire correctly at right time,else not having one is a better choice in my views.
+100 I would love a nice xuv without silly features which I anyway would use 1 or 2 times in six months for maybe at the most 30 min . Rather then making it tech heavy put solid interiors Which are durable safety features like abs, airbags and a good a.s.s support .

And what about the initial owners dear ? Dint they spoil the enjoyment of the first batch owners who happily paid over ten lac of their hard earned money ? This is what sometimes makes and breaks the image isn't ? Iam actually interested to know what kind of test they do for xxxxx lac Kms before launching the products .
the first batch owners were provided with 3 years /unlimited kms warranty.
Sort of real world test mules.

No amount of testing with their test drivers can they know about the problems which can arise.

All drivers are different.
The real world traffic conditions will be different and their driving styles will be different.
Hence regardless of the testing done there will be niggling issues here and there.
With the toyota ,well they do not launch their products in india first. And those "india firsts" too have their own set of problems.

the first batch owners were provided with 3 years /unlimited kms warranty.
Sort of real world test mules.

No amount of testing with their test drivers can they know about the problems which can arise.

All drivers are different.
The real world traffic conditions will be different and their driving styles will be different.
Hence regardless of the testing done there will be niggling issues here and there.
With the toyota ,well they do not launch their products in india first. And those "india firsts" too have their own set of problems.
You mean where Toyota launches their products first in other countries has issues ? I would just sake of interest love to know which cars and what issues .
Car is a machine and it can fail I agree , but when a car has consistent issues across the board then more then the car the car maker comes in the picture.
My attempt here is not to downgrade tata or mahindra in particular on the contrary I want them on par with global car makers . Again iam saying its just time till other car makers bring their models and updating then can be too late.

Let us not go out of real world.
Aria failed especially not because of Niggles but the Launching price. all were like this[surprise].

And while having a closer look there wasn't much either;18 lakh Tata car should be 170bhp with 400nm torque. Imagine the scenario....
that is why long ago Safari was SAFARI...Immense power..!!

But Tata is Tata.. IMO they are trying to make a portfolio in international market with FE and such kind of USP's (too long sighted.)

Again,
XUV is not bad because it has got niggles.
I have seen brand new Fortuner with infotainment screen not turning on and technicians came running home.
so let us not generalize here rather be realistic.

The fact is, in mass production cars minor niggles are bound to escape and it is generally fixed in dealers yard, sometimes owners also mess up big time and blow silly issues out of proportions.

That is what I was trying to say.

The Cruise Control has no issues as such. It's just that the owners have not got accustomed to it, so they consider it as a defect.

No issues brother, I am not taking this is a negative sense.

Infact I fully agree that the issues should not have cropped up in the first place.

in my view the XUV took off because tata created an impression ARIA is an expensive car from day one. and Now even after so many price cuts, ask any person and he would say Aria is expensive due to his 1st impression. But mahindra launched the XUV with a cheap price tag and created an impression that its a cheap and value for money suv. Not many know that the price was introductory and are now increased. but still people have an impression that xuv is value for money.