VDub Polo 1.2 TDi CL - Princess Comes Home

Abarth is coming buddy, just wait and watch and it seems that it would be priced below 10 ex-showroom. Imagine it would be having at least 135 bhp.
I think it would be priced in Punto 90BHP range as at 10L ex-showroom it would break into Linea T-Jet category which then won't be an attractive option considering Linea is far better as an over all package. International Abarth is a 2 door 185BHP hot hatch which if Fiat launches in India would be through CBU which would make it very costly(Fiat 500 was launched but it died immediately). I think India version would be the current Punto with Linea T-Jet 114BHP 1.4L engine which might be tuned for little more power and priced in Punto 90HP price range.

Sankar

Thread Starter #257
Abarth is coming buddy, just wait and watch and it seems that it would be priced below 10 ex-showroom. Imagine it would be having at least 135 bhp.
135bhp in a Punto would make it the perfect driver's car in the Rs. 20l category. I really hope what you say is true. I do have my hopes on the Abarth. If the Abarth is priced below Rs. 10l and with a 135bhp engine, it is R.I.P for the Polo GT TSi.

Polo GT TSI modded by Petes.Hope you all guys like it.
That looks like Robin's GT. Lovely car. Love the mods he has done on it. It also churns out around 120bhp and 200+ Nm torque. Must be a hoot to drive with the paddle shifts and the works.

I think it would be priced in Punto 90BHP range as at 10L ex-showroom it would break into Linea T-Jet category which then won't be an attractive option considering Linea is far better as an over all package. International Abarth is a 2 door 185BHP hot hatch which if Fiat launches in India would be through CBU which would make it very costly(Fiat 500 was launched but it died immediately). I think India version would be the current Punto with Linea T-Jet 114BHP 1.4L engine which might be tuned for little more power and priced in Punto 90HP price range.

Sankar
Even if it is the T-Jet engine that finds it's place under the hood of the Punto, rest assured, it will be a hoot to drive. It will be the cause of wet dreams for many a petrolhead.

I drove a badly abused 2010 model Linea T-Jet just two days back. Even in that state, the T-Jet engine amazed me. What a wonderful engine. If the car was in good shape, it would have been perfect. The price is the icing on the cake. Rs. 9.7l OTR for the Emotion is perfect pricing.

Vipin

Even if it is the T-Jet engine that finds it's place under the hood of the Punto, rest assured, it will be a hoot to drive. It will be the cause of wet dreams for many a petrolhead.

I drove a badly abused 2010 model Linea T-Jet just two days back. Even in that state, the T-Jet engine amazed me. What a wonderful engine. If the car was in good shape, it would have been perfect. The price is the icing on the cake. Rs. 9.7l OTR for the Emotion is perfect pricing.

Vipin
Very true. Linea T-Jet is the best drivers car under 40lakhs i would say. Only BMW 328i with 245BHP surpasses it in sheer driving pleasure. Fiesta 1.6s also a true drivers car but doesn't have the sheer grunt of T-Jet.

Sankar

Thread Starter #259
Very true. Linea T-Jet is the best drivers car under 40lakhs i would say. Only BMW 328i with 245BHP surpasses it in sheer driving pleasure. Fiesta 1.6s also a true drivers car but doesn't have the sheer grunt of T-Jet.

Sankar
I don't know about that. 40l is a lot of money. The BMW 320D I drove was more fun than the Linea T-Jet. The Fiesta 1.6S I drove was a long long time ago but I do remember that the car impressed me so much. There is something about a NA petrol engine that no turbo charged engine can give you. The pleasure of driving a NA petrol engine is totally different. I would rate the Linea T-Jet and the Fiesta 1.6S on par.
The Laura 1.8 TSI was a lovely car too. Haven't driven the VRS so I don't know how it is.

Vipin

One thing i am sure about punto abarth coming to india is that it would be a proper abarth. Obviously would be de-tuned due to fuel quality and some other minor things. But it would not be like putting t-jet in punto and all.

I don't know about that. 40l is a lot of money. The BMW 320D I drove was more fun than the Linea T-Jet. The Fiesta 1.6S I drove was a long long time ago but I do remember that the car impressed me so much. There is something about a NA petrol engine that no turbo charged engine can give you. The pleasure of driving a NA petrol engine is totally different. I would rate the Linea T-Jet and the Fiesta 1.6S on par.
The Laura 1.8 TSI was a lovely car too. Haven't driven the VRS so I don't know how it is.

Vipin
Vipin Laura 1.8TSi and VRs are basically same atleast in India. No radical changes in VRs unlike international VRs.[frustration]

Sankar

Thread Starter #262
One thing i am sure about punto abarth coming to india is that it would be a proper abarth. Obviously would be de-tuned due to fuel quality and some other minor things. But it would not be like putting t-jet in punto and all.
And you think they will price it below Rs. 10l OTR? I seriously doubt that if it is the full-fledged Abarth albeit in a detuned state.

Vipin Laura 1.8TSi and VRs are basically same atleast in India. No radical changes in VRs unlike international VRs.[frustration]

Sankar
It has the same engine but I think there is a slight difference in the suspension set-up or something. Atleast, that is what I read.

Vipin

P.S Any updates on the Osram Nightbreaker Plus bulbs? I asked around at a couple of shops in TVM but none have them.

And you think they will price it below Rs. 10l OTR? I seriously doubt that if it is the full-fledged Abarth albeit in a detuned state.

It has the same engine but I think there is a slight difference in the suspension set-up or something. Atleast, that is what I read.

Vipin

P.S Any updates on the Osram Nightbreaker Plus bulbs? I asked around at a couple of shops in TVM but none have them.
Actually i came to know that they are trying to keep it under 10 lac ex-showroom. Lets just see how much success they would get.

Vipin

I don't think international Abarth will be available in India. Would be very costly and won't sell much.

Yes VRs has slightly stiffer suspension but don't think it makes lot of difference and one won't be able to spot the difference like day and night.

Reegarding OSRAM night breakers its not readily available. They have Hella Rallye 60/55w 5000k readily available. If you want Osram only then i can ask him to order them.

Sankar

Thread Starter #265
Actually i came to know that they are trying to keep it under 10 lac ex-showroom. Lets just see how much success they would get.
If they can keep it under 10l ex-showroom and if the car pumps out more than 130bhp, I'm sure the Polo GT will be in trouble.

I don't think international Abarth will be available in India. Would be very costly and won't sell much.

Yes VRs has slightly stiffer suspension but don't think it makes lot of difference and one won't be able to spot the difference like day and night.

Reegarding OSRAM night breakers its not readily available. They have Hella Rallye 60/55w 5000k readily available. If you want Osram only then i can ask him to order them.

Sankar
I heard that there is some small difference in the ECU too. Not sure. But the VRs looks so beautiful. So much better than the plane-jane 1.8 TSI.

And can you find ask him how much the Osrams will cost? On autotrends, I saw that it costs Rs. 799. Auto Trends, car accessories, auto trend, accessories for car, auto accessories, car seat accessories, car audio accessories, car accessories online, car accessories india, auto parts accessories, honda accessories, toyota accessories. cheap auto acc So if it costs significantly more than that, I think I will be better off buying it from online.

Vipin

I heard that there is some small difference in the ECU too. Not sure. But the VRs looks so beautiful. So much better than the plane-jane 1.8 TSI.

And can you find ask him how much the Osrams will cost? On autotrends, I saw that it costs Rs. 799. Auto Trends, car accessories, auto trend, accessories for car, auto accessories, car seat accessories, car audio accessories, car accessories online, car accessories india, auto parts accessories, honda accessories, toyota accessories. cheap auto acc So if it costs significantly more than that, I think I will be better off buying it from online.

Vipin
Not sure on ECU part Vipin. VRs has some gorgeous alloys, Xenon headlights, DRL integrated into fog lamps, rear spolier but i think the interiors are almost similar. I regularly see a Yellow VRs in Mcfyadden IT solutions parking lot and drool on seeing it everyday when i leave office and go to parking lot to my car. Simple stunning in yellow if you ask me.

Sankar

Thread Starter #268
If and if this happens then for sure fiat is gonna rise in India again, at least there would be really good news if not the sales, abarth being petrol.
True Vivek. Fiat would have been at the top if they had managed to garner a good name in the beginning itself with good A.S.S. They have wonderful products in their arsenal which are not getting exposed due to the shadow of the horrible A.S.S.

Not sure on ECU part Vipin. VRs has some gorgeous alloys, Xenon headlights, DRL integrated into fog lamps, rear spolier but i think the interiors are almost similar. I regularly see a Yellow VRs in Mcfyadden IT solutions parking lot and drool on seeing it everyday when i leave office and go to parking lot to my car. Simple stunning in yellow if you ask me.

Sankar
I have seen the Yellow VRs you mentioned only once on the bypass, very close to Technopark. The car looked gorgeous. There is another white one I see regularly near Neyattinkara. I don't know if it is a VRs because I haven't noticed the grill closely (car is always parked front faced towards the road) but it has the front bumpers and lights and DRLs exactly like the VRs (not sure if it was done later to a normal Laura TDI). The car looks beautiful. Makes me wish I had one.

Vipin

True Vivek. Fiat would have been at the top if they had managed to garner a good name in the beginning itself with good A.S.S. They have wonderful products in their arsenal which are not getting exposed due to the shadow of the horrible A.S.S.

I have seen the Yellow VRs you mentioned only once on the bypass, very close to Technopark. The car looked gorgeous. There is another white one I see regularly near Neyattinkara. I don't know if it is a VRs because I haven't noticed the grill closely (car is always parked front faced towards the road) but it has the front bumpers and lights and DRLs exactly like the VRs (not sure if it was done later to a normal Laura TDI). The car looks beautiful. Makes me wish I had one.

Vipin
Fiat needs to first invest in their marketing. Nobody knew when the changed the interiors of Linea to an upgraded one or when the updated the variants in Punto. In my opinion marketing is a key element for success in such a tightly fought battle in India. Also i agree with Vipin completely on their ASS. They need to improve their quality standards many times over. I don't know about rest of India but in Trivandrum, Kerala it's very poor. If these two are rectified and an update in given to their current cars Punto and Linea then Fiat India will surely make a good comeback in India.

Regarding the Yellow VRs, the owner Manoj has previously worked in my company as Manager but has moved to McFyadden some time back. He maintains the car so beautifully that i couldn't find a dirt even during our current monsoon season. I think Mcfyadden employs some real car enthusiasts because car parked very next to VRs is a BMW 320d to the left and VW Polo GTi to the right.[clap]

Sankar

Fiat needs to first invest in their marketing. Nobody knew when the changed the interiors of Linea to an upgraded one or when the updated the variants in Punto. In my opinion marketing is a key element for success in such a tightly fought battle in India. Also i agree with Vipin completely on their ASS. They need to improve their quality standards many times over. I don't know about rest of India but in Trivandrum, Kerala it's very poor. If these two are rectified and an update in given to their current cars Punto and Linea then Fiat India will surely make a good comeback in India.
On marketing part you are absolutely correct, but they never changed the interiors of linea, they are still the same beige/black combo. If you are talking about leather upholstery then you are correct about this as well.