Unique Cost Cutting Gimmicks on Cars in India

^^^ What are you saying mate?

Substandard parts? What makes you think M&M uses substandard parts? That is not what we are discussing here.

Essential equipment - Who will decide what is essential and what is not? For example, I feel a side step is not too important in an MUV like Xylo. But for you, it seems to make or break a deal !!!

And what was that statement about R&D and stuff? Please get that we are just saying why M&M has omitted side steps in lower variants.

What is this fuss about a side step? You are saving enough money, why dont you get one installed? It is simple 30 minutes job. It is not like poor plastic quality or fit and finish which cant be rectified...

Of course we are here to support consumer's community, but lets not be unpractical atleast. Anyways, end of discussion on this from my side.

The side step seems to be as an option for the lower variants, if a person needs it he will go in for it. Like say some hatch backs or sedans do not give a head unit/ cd player in their lower variants, some people as it is are on a tight budget so its unto the customer to buy it outside or get the showroom guys to fit it i don't see why it would be a deal breaker mate.

Comparing CD player with side-step is not good. CD palyer doesn't hamper the day to day use of the vehicle. Not having side step means ingress-egress itself is difficult.

@ raj,

Why not M & M remove power windows but give side-step ? Issue is they give more features but remove essentials [anger].

It is like you go to hotel, they give you food but keep dishes/plates & spoons optional.[lol]

@ raj,

Why not M & M remove power windows but give side-step ? Issue is they give more features but remove essentials [anger].
That is what I mentioned above -

Who decides what is essential? I would like power windows in base Xylo over side step. I have never used the side step in a Xylo, the floor is not that high. I have not seen anyone use it too. But everyone like power windows in their car.

Installing power windows as an aftermarket accessory is comparatively quite tedious as it involves a lot of wiring. Installing side steps is easy. Power windows would cost more than side steps too.

I think there should be rear wiper i all cars. Its a life saver in rains
+1 Vaibhav,
Rear Wiper for hatchbacks and suv should be mandatory by law. Not even in rains but it helps a lot in dusty atmosphere. I doubt what amount do auto manufacturers save by putting customers life in danger.

+1 Vaibhav,
Rear Wiper for hatchbacks and suv should be mandatory by law. Not even in rains but it helps a lot in dusty atmosphere. I doubt what amount do auto manufacturers save by putting customers life in danger.
they have to keep the cost o prodcution low. and do you really think rear wipers are more important then abs and airbags ? [surprise]

there are lots of people who demands various features but unfortunately all can't be available in one particular variant of any car.

they have to keep the cost o prodcution low.Good to know that they have to keep the cost low but putting customer’s life in danger this is not acceptable.
and do you really think rear wipers are more important then abs and airbags ? [surprise]
I don’t see any value addition by comparing ABS-AIRBAGS with WIPERS .

there are lots of people who demands various features but unfortunately all can't be available in one particular variant of any car.
Why we should not expect everything in one parcel
I would say, ABS should be mandatory instead of rear wiper and all that features.
why not both together why to compromise on rear wiper while demanding abs n airbag ?
ABS and Rear defogger are very useful features.
Agreed , just add
Airbags wiper left hand mirror and many more essential things
Products or brands by themselves do not automatically usher in customer loyalty or strengthen customer relations. In today’s world, customers are looking for products that suit their purpose best – in terms of price, features, quality and appearance. They expect to be treated as "kings" and to receive sales and service support, along with definite solutions to problems from retailers, dealers or channel partners.

yeah they want to feel like kings but it depends on how much they are willing to spend. obviously a company won't offer features etc in lower models.

and even if they offer , then all companies should together offer. and how's this possible. only if govt make it mandatory.

roads hai nahi , features ka kya krenge. so it will take years to achieve this.

If safety regulations come in place, rickshaws will be the first ones to go off-road !!

How can one expect Govt to do something where life is the cheapest thing ? [embarass] It is best left to individuals to look after themselves.

Thread Starter #87

Re: The Cost Cutting Gimmicks on Cars in India

Only front power window switches are backlit.
Correction: I observed that the rear power window switches also backlit when the rear windows child lock is disabled.

1. Sliding control for AC rather than rotary controls
2. No vanity mirror/ ticket holder for sun visor
3. No Auto door locking after vehicle reaches certain speed
4. No fabric insets for door trims
5. No booster for brakes in Maruti 800
6. Drum brakes in front for Nano