Two Enthusiasts Go Storm Hunting - Tata Safari Storme Test Drive Review

this aint america where people buy SUVs for grocery shopping and a sedan for their city driving.
Dear who told you this that in US SUV's are bought for grocery shopping only[surprise]
let me clear some misconception that many people have on this very topic. Even a lot of my friends used to think so. Let me state some reasons why people in America buy SUV's:

1. Safety: Serious accidents usually result in fatalities. The speeds on US roads are comparatively higher than our Indian roads and when there is an accident, sedans involved in those accidents take a lot of fatalities comparing to SUV's. This is a survey done by ABC news, AAA story, Recent US Gov. studies.

2. Seating: SUV's have more seating space as compared to sedans. Now let's say i am in India and planning a short trip in a sedan and at the last moment one more person joins us, we can accommodate 4 people in the back seat, but in US you can't. So SUV comes into picture.

3. Freight Carrying Capacity: Most sedans have little room for carrying the things a family carries. And when people back here in US go for a trip or vacation they carry a lot of stuff, ex: A full load of camping gear.
Also many people take their dogs with them as well. So in a SUV they can easily put their dog at the back with 5 people in front 2 seats.

4.Towing Capabilites: People here take their boat trailers, caravans with them when they go for a vacation and they are big and heavy which a sedan can't tow. Sedans do not have powerful/strong enough components to do such stuff.

5. Long Distance Driving: People prefer SUV because they have more space, can sit comfortably, can carry lot of stuff, can go on any terrain they want, and point no. 6 comes handy when you travel in a SUV.

6. Poor Driving Conditions: Sedans can do very well on a well laid highway but when it comes to uneven roads, unpaved roads, icy conditions, driving in snow, high winds etc sedans can't perform the way a SUV can.

Trust me buddy i have seen some really bad snow storms where expensive sedans with AWD options get stuck and only SUV's are seen on the roads. And forget about roads, highways you can't even take your car out of the driveway in such conditions.

PLUS: What you have said for getting grocery.

Otherwise I do agree with you, when I said Im considering STORME after jan 2013 they were tried to scare me by saying 40k hike would be there after dec on STORME model. [frustration]
can any one confirm me this price hike
help me since im new here i joined long ago but today i posted...

can any one help me here to pic good color for ex model
i was thinking silver but not sure
I am not 100% sure about this but yes we may see a hike in car prices in the new year. My dad was telling me the same thing when i talked to him 2 days ago. One of our bank manager (where we have our business account) told him that car prices will increase in JAN.

But i am not 100 percent sure about this as we not heard anything like this from a legit source.

Originally Posted by Superbad

this aint america where people buy SUVs for grocery shopping and a sedan for their city driving.
Actually this happens mostly in India that is the possible reason mini and micro mini car enjoys hayday.
3. Freight Carrying Capacity: Most sedans have little room for carrying the things a family carries. And when people back here in US go for a trip or vacation they carry a lot of stuff, ex: A full load of camping gear.
Also many people take their dogs with them as well. So in a SUV they can easily put their dog at the back with 5 people in front 2 seats.
4.Towing Capabilites: People here take their boat trailers, caravans with them when they go for a vacation and they are big and heavy which a sedan can't tow. Sedans do not have powerful/strong enough components to do such stuff.
The best part of owning a good SUV.
I work abroad and here nobody owns or buys an suv trucks for show off or to demand respect unlike in India as what I hear everywhere.

I have many time encountered in TAI that SUV's scare people and that is the sole reason of owning an SUV, which is too insane.

SUV's are not for sprint rides but for heavy performance and I think storme does tick that box well.

Thread Starter #109
Now comming to the vehicle part ,
With your own subjective opinion you have given storme 3 rd place hope you gave it because you saw it better SUV then xuv , Scorpio and ford endy in your subjective expreince right ?
or else why the 3rd place ?

Hmm, actually buddy all you need to do is REREAD THE XOVER'S post. And in the post I was asked "WHICH ONE LOOKS MORE OF A PAKKA SUV?" not "WHICH ONE IS A BETTER CAR?" But I guess you took it another way, thinking that I said "Storme is BETTER than ENDY"!! So I guess you have taken me wrong, please read the post again and then decide if the SUBJECTIVE opinion was about whole vehicle or only PAKKA (modern too) SUVish looks.

Inspite of you feeling it sluggish and not having a great acceleration you have given it more brownie points then the xuv and Scorpio it means storme does something better then xuv and Scorpio in your subjective opinion right ?
More browny points in which field? Looks and only looks..especially in that particular post. And looks are SUBJECTIVE..[lol]

4) features and gizmos +1000 storme is as good as naked , anybody who gives priority to gizmos then comfort must not even consider the storme atall it disappoints badly .
XUV offers a fine balance of both, oaded with gizmos and offers good comfort too. That's the reason it's ruling. I don't know why Tata hasn't given a dual din and an auto A/C in Storme. Though these things are more show then go...but then show is also important.

That is why i have maintained my stand the vfm buy is the storme lx , because it has everything one requires in a very nice price and a better choice then Scorpio sle which looks dated and dosent look as finished product as a strome lx do you agree here ?
Agree.

For me the most sensible buy is a 11 lakhs on road storme lx model which has class leading comfort, ride quality , interiors , fit and finish and paint quality and in my subjective opinion slow in low revs is not a deal breaker and this problem can be easily tackled by chossing right gears .
Okay buddy, what special you find in that PAINT QUALITY THING?? Every car in the segment offers the same of it, only the color makes the difference, metallic painted vehicles when polished look same way.
NOW LOOK AT THIS..open the boot door and you will find this fit there in the D pillar..WHAT YOU HAVE TO SAY ABOUT THIS? I have checked EVEN Scorpio too up and down but it is also not having even a single bit like this:
1.JPG

By this logic, I will have to keep my leg out while driving a Fortuner
Before that you need to sit in one and yes, by seeing your those so called (non)sexy legs pics in 'pics of you' thread I am sure you will easily fit into it.

No doubt Safari fans will buy Storme, but I am sure, many other will also follow. M & M relies more on marketing guys, Tata's rely more on mouth publicity. I know persons who in Diwali bought Vista & are happy with it. Many Vista owners on TAI are also happy with it. Now those who fall for ads will opt for Swift, but it doesn't mean Swift is far superior than Vista.
Jo dikhta hai, woh bikta hai.
A better vehicle sells even if so much marketing is not done.

I must say Vipul did give good try for storme review, but I personally never make decision on such short TD. It is precisely for this reason XUV review is not out even from my cous to me. And what also matters is ease in city driving & I bet storme is best UV to be driven in city, thanks to its low turning radius.
And what about stop-move traffic or what we call B to B traffic? There you will turn the car around?

Just driving on highways or some bad roads is not good enough. 0-100 hardly matters in day to day driving.
And what to do of in-gear acceleration? What about those lazy revs when you need sudden power for a quick overtake on a dual carriageway?

And SUV/UV are meant for bad roads, rough use etc. and it is here where storme scores over XUV. I am 100% sure than storme can take lot more abuse than XUV, but again no-one is mentioning this.
How many owners will take their XUV or Storme off the road? And on the road....hahahaha..

BTW, I will be going to Nagpur in next couple of weeks, will post all details of XUV W8 then & if possible, a side to side pics of W8 & W6 too.
BTW, in side-to-side pics it's impossible to recognize which one is W6 and which one is W8!!

Raja, for small kids speed is the only concern they still ride on hotwheels, they need some maturity to understand WHY SUVs.
So you mean that 'sluggish' SUVs like Safari are not for kids..they are for oldies!![lol]

If I given Pajero, STORME, ENDY, FORTUNER, SCORPIO to rate as SUV
Correction: Pajero SPORT
Rest you rated them as SUVs or for looks?
BTW, for pure butch looks, Pajero(not Pajero sport) is number one for me too.

My ratings would be
#1 PAJERO
#2 STORME and ENDY (rank 3 is masked no other vehicle can take in the list)
#4 FORTUNER
#5 SCORPIO
this is based on there true blood nature of off road ablity not on speed
You mean a Storme is better than a Fortuner off the road..Eh, though I have heard it for the first time but since you have a LOT of knowledge:lol!: so I agree..

Agree on many points of you.
Especially the paint bit.
The metallic paints though may look upmarket when coming out of the showroom, for day to day use those colours would be a pain to maintain (shine,gloss,finish)

same goes during patching up for those colours.

With crazy driving around the cities there would be possibility of brush up and mending those paint jobs will be a costly affair.

Personal experience.
Even though i have cared enough to avoid scratches, crazy scooter drivers in our parking vicinity have brushed up the paint of my car.

Thread Starter #111
Regarding Vipul, I think he had a horrible time which I could realize from his initial post.
[:)]

Now it looks like he is giving away polished comments just for the sake of survival in storme related forums, as if throwing out at least what fans only wants, I cant read authenticity and honesty in his recent posts anymore,he is most of the time echoing what I have read elsewhere.
Well that's your problem, you need to read them and try to feel the vehicle(though it's impossible), what I know is that I wrote what I thought irrespective of if anyone will like it or not.

incidently his subjective views and star ratings are no way matching or somebody interviened and edited ?
Which rating you find doubtful kindly bring it up and I can explain it very well why I gave that number of stars to the car.

@Raja, my first impression of storme was built upon your review It was the one which gave it a solid feel, made me like it. Now its all fragmented.the performance,marketing, launch,nothing is clicking nowhere means in a nutshell I am finding it hopeless from distant view
+100..

I never considered FORTUNER and SCORPIO as true blooded off roaders,
but i never drove force 1 yet i cannot comment, but it looks rugged
BTW, do you believe that Safari is a better off-roader than Fortuner??[lol]
IF yes, then HOW??

@vipul ,

Maybe you have see many paint qualities better then on storme I have not . And it's not just me everybody on the forum are reporting it that they liked it and found it amazing ( here I suppose all benchmark it with current safari and Scorpio ) .

So overall which is a better car in your subjective opinion Scorpio or storme or xuv ? Don't go in this is good in that and this is better in that like you have been doing just answer point zero .

I read your review manytimes yet iam not able to figure out what is your verdict on storme because your review and later your post seem at times quite contradictory I agree here with jaydev and Gurralla .

It's better I wait for ownership reports to finally draw a conclusion how is the car to use and how it performs in a time span of 6-12 months .

But anyway your effort was mindblowing and you did entertain us with your review and controversies a lot [lol]

Thanx a lot vipul .

Gurralla ,let us forgive and forget it. vipul is an Intelligent and promising as a person hope he wont let us down .
Agree on many points of you.
Especially the paint bit.
The metallic paints though may look upmarket when coming out of the showroom, for day to day use those colours would be a pain to maintain (shine,gloss,finish)

same goes during patching up for those colours.

With crazy driving around the cities there would be possibility of brush up and mending those paint jobs will be a costly affair.

Personal experience.
Even though i have cared enough to avoid scratches, crazy scooter drivers in our parking vicinity have brushed up the paint of my car.
So now shine, gloss and finish paint of storme is its negative point ? And what about xuv having shinny, gloss and finish paint ?

where did i mention it as a negative point?

I have said that darker colours do make a car or for that matter any car feel upmarket but they are pain to maintain.

storme has lighter colours too, and the paint quality is equally good.

Superbad ,What kind of logic was that?
Are you trying to deter people from buying good quality colors fearing maintenance?

then our cities would be filled with cars looking like best buses and cab taxis. come one, where are we now ![frustration]

Thanks for your opinion.

I too do feel a lot the same way.

I do hope that members here start talking about the storme in the light it deserves. comparing a 12 lac vehicle to a 25 lac vehicle, imho is waay too out.
BTW: I have posted that i'm not buying the storme for very specific issues. But other than that, if you get blown away by gizmos, than the XUV is any day better than the Fortunner.

Coming to the storme, my opinion is based on what i feel. I don't get carried away with gizmos. I don't look for 0-100 any day. I look for a solid vehicle that's very comfortable to be in, easy to drive, gives a very commanding driving position, and has a very open view. For me the storme ticks all these boxes, as does the X-Trail. In case someone disagrees with me, hey I gotta own it. I gotta take care of it. and its my vehicle at the end of the day.
if I don't like it, whats the point of buying it in the first place Auto-experts view notwithstanding.

My advice to everyone here whose been watching this thread and the previous one:

Pls Visit the showroom in your city if its been launched, if it hasn't been launched in your city and you're travelling to one where it has been, do check it out.

If neither is possible, wait it out. see whats coming your way. Then decide.

And do remember, everyone's view is subjective, auto-expert or otherwise. Its based on what they feel, may be different for you.

my 2 cents

Arvi

+100 Arvi,

You are right here , best way judge is to go in the showroom , see the car in real , drive the car see if the car serves the purpose for which you want to buy it and then decide .

Test drive reports must be just taken as point of reference and must never be taken as a sole factor in your desicion to buy or not buy the car .

@ jaydev

You said you made your initial impression of the car from my review , I have listed the good and bad parts equally in my review and so has Gurralla , Arvi , mr ranger and others have done . On my part I stand firm on my opinion about the " Subjective " initial impressions I had about the car .

and I agree the reliability of storme as a car has to he judged not by one initial review but long term review from owners if it fails in that account then the car is flop and if its stable and no major show stopper niggles are reported then the car is really worth .

Kindly read my review and ask me any questions if you still have in your mind , readers are very well aware I have not made any tall claims of the car or my testing abilities and whatever I have written , many guys who have seen and driven the car in real have agreed to it .

for your easy reference here is the link of the review kindly read again .

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...reaks-cover-launch-coverage-pg-322-a-122.html
Post number -4874.

[/B]

So you mean that 'sluggish' SUVs like Safari are not for kids..they are for oldies!![lol]
What are you expecting from me, Do you think I can change you in your area of interest? No way If you can understand my general statement then I would have bowed my head to you.
Please understand vehicles Built purpose and then do any reviews, I already appreciated you for your review but I can never appreciate immature thoughts of teenage people who are pretending as AUTO Masters especially in open forums like this.
mods dont get me wrong im not refering any one person here it is a fact of immaturity in AUTO world.

Correction: Pajero SPORT
sorry your correction has been declined since PAJERO means PAJERO, Pajero SPORT never added reputation to our cult PAJERO. 2.8 Cc looks under power on papers but it can get down most of the fuel hungry SUVs.

Rest you rated them as SUVs or for looks?
please go through my post again fellow, I mentioned my rate criteria. I hope I never considered aggressive looks are the penultimate factor to be a #1 SUV.

BTW, for pure butch looks, Pajero(not Pajero sport) is number one for me too.
Its your opinion I have nothing to do with that. And I still petty on you that you still stinking with your subjective views and not valued the product as A PRODUCT, Dont you ever try to consider their true blood natures!!!!

You mean a Storme is better than a Fortuner off the road..Eh, though I have heard it for the first time but since you have a LOT of knowledge:lol!: so I agree..
You just Only heard it but I experienced it so i cannot argue here to prove myself, Did you know how fortuner built any cent of design history you heard!!!!
FORTUNER looks like SUV but its characteristics are still mixed bang of INNOVA and Helix pick-up, hope you experience this one day.

I never considered myself as knowledgeable, I still consider taking opinion from experienced people like many In the forum and My DAD especially

BTW, do you believe that Safari is a better off-roader than Fortuner??
IF yes, then HOW??
first I dont believe any thing before I actually test it, I strongly believe that it Impossible to make you believe even if I show you in real.
Many time we drove Fortuner, Safari and jeepsy king in our paddy fields of our village before planting crops, Fortuner is the first to get tiered between these three, here im not refering STORME it is Dicor.
Wet or Dry Fortuner let you down first than other two.

I strongly feel that this post is not OT and very much inline with Storm opinion forming by members here and will lead for some good thought process and result in some useful outcome on this vehicle
I appreciate this, Your post is very much in line with STORME,

sorry your correction has been declined since PAJERO means PAJERO, Pajero SPORT never added reputation to our cult PAJERO. 2.8 Cc looks under power on papers but it can get down most of the fuel hungry SUVs.
Excellent thought.

I was wondering how did this new gen Pajero had even chance to be a million mile chance to be in SUV segment. it SUX,it is a piece of metal plastic trash can.
the previous one was heavy,rugged,masculine and ever lovable .

please go through my post again fellow, I mentioned my rate criteria. I hope I never considered aggressive looks are the penultimate factor to be a #1 SUV.
people are being bieng carried away by what media throws at them and they eat it.

Its your opinion I have nothing to do with that. And I still petty on you that you still stinking with your subjective views and not valued the product as A PRODUCT, Dont you ever try to consider their true blood natures!!!!

You just Only heard it but I experienced it so i cannot argue here to prove myself, Did you know how fortuner built any cent of design history you heard!!!!
FORTUNER looks like SUV but its characteristics are still mixed bang of INNOVA and Helix pick-up, hope you experience this one day.
Toyota is hell bent trying to prove that they are selling Prado for 26 lakhs actually it is hilux truck with additional seat.