Two Enthusiasts Go Storm Hunting - Tata Safari Storme Test Drive Review

Re: Tata Safari Storme Breaks Cover (Launch Coverage: Pg.322+)

Vipul,

I do not know what is wrong, but this does not clear confusion, but increases to double [surprise] See the comments in bold

Okay guys, let me clear some confusions here:

• I haven't said that "the 'overall' vehicle knocked me down", instead I said it in the "Comfort and NVH section". [confused]
  • I haven't said that "Storme corners better than XUV", instead I have continuously said "straight line stability is better than XUV". It is best in corners
  • I guess I have said that XUV is better at turns "when road is well paved, or surface is even", so I think that saying "XUV is better at high speed handling too as per Vipul" will be unfair. If road is well paved and surface is even, then what is a big deal any vehicle will be good in turns, what to understand from this ??
  • I said "Storme has class leading fit and finish" but I never said it has best "interior quality", if MUVs can be involved in this then Innova is the benchmark for fit, finish and quality..all three. Else it's Storme down right. Why Innova has come into this ?? we talk about storm, then talk about storm only. What is the difference between "class leading" and " best interior quality" ??
  • At last, I guess I have already mentioned the point somewhere that "Storme disappointed me because it's nowhere near what I expected, especially after reading the initial reviews in this thread itself and a lot of comments too, yes I won't call it overhyping the car, it's just I felt that the car was still not as great as it was being projected, second time I TDed it thoroughly and tested it being practical comparing it with the competition and found it competitive". It means you are able to give two different opinions, OK agreed one was before the extensive TD and one is after thorough TD, then those first comments " car was still not as great as it was being projected" what draws you to this kind of conclusion ?? which just looks to me a vague statement
But, it is really confusing to me even now, what is your vedict ?? it is like "kabhi haa, kabhi naa" in english " sometimes yes, sometimes no"

I am bit disappointed that after so much of discussion and debate still you are not clear that what you want to convey about this vehicle. Keep the XUV a side and just talk about Storm.

This kind of views will never ever help a buyer and further confuse them, hence I request you to think twice before you post something as you got really good capabilities of analysing and writing a very useful reviews[:)] All the best buddy and always take things in a positive way

• I haven't said that "the 'overall' vehicle knocked me down", instead I said it in the "Comfort and NVH section".
  • I haven't said that "Storme corners better than XUV", instead I have continuously said "straight line stability is better than XUV".
  • I guess I have said that XUV is better at turns "when road is well paved, or surface is even", so I think that saying "XUV is better at high speed handling too as per Vipul" will be unfair.
  • I said "Storme has class leading fit and finish" but I never said it has best "interior quality", if MUVs can be involved in this then Innova is the benchmark for fit, finish and quality..all three. Else it's Storme down right.
  • At last, I guess I have already mentioned the point somewhere that "Storme disappointed me because it's nowhere near what I expected, especially after reading the initial reviews in this thread itself and a lot of comments too, yes I won't call it overhyping the car, it's just I felt that the car was still not as great as it was being projected, second time I TDed it thoroughly and tested it being practical comparing it with the competition and found it competitive".
vipul I have some questions for you hope you reply them , I can assure you with complete honesty this is not to stir controversy but to get genuine insights.

1) do you still feel storme is a jhol juggad vehicle ( be clear if its your subjective opinion or you found some serious flaws to call it so if yes please elaborate and mention them).

2) be firm in your view about fit,quality and interiors and don't say that if you bring innova then story changes because then some 1 else wil bring sedans and compare Verna here. You have been comparing it with xuv and aria so lets stick to that itself. Beside that many members atleast me I was talking only about storme as a car in its own rights.

3) what kind of expectations did members evoke in you about fit and finish of storme ? That it disappointed you ? What were you precisely expecting a skoda yeti finish or can you please explain us ?

I will appreciate if you will answer this 3 simple questions in the most simple way.

• I haven't said that "the 'overall' vehicle knocked me down", instead I said it in the "Comfort and NVH section".
  • I haven't said that "Storme corners better than XUV", instead I have continuously said "straight line stability is better than XUV".
  • I guess I have said that XUV is better at turns "when road is well paved, or surface is even", so I think that saying "XUV is better at high speed handling too as per Vipul" will be unfair.
  • I said "Storme has class leading fit and finish" but I never said it has best "interior quality", if MUVs can be involved in this then Innova is the benchmark for fit, finish and quality..all three. Else it's Storme down right.
  • At last, I guess I have already mentioned the point somewhere that "Storme disappointed me because it's nowhere near what I expected, especially after reading the initial reviews in this thread itself and a lot of comments too, yes I won't call it overhyping the car, it's just I felt that the car was still not as great as it was being projected, second time I TDed it thoroughly and tested it being practical comparing it with the competition and found it competitive".
Well that clears some air sure and I can see that your observations very well resonates with what I have come across in other reviews.

1.Out of all the odds Storme still remain in between Scorpio and Xuv. neither It could recede nor proceed, feature wise as well as performance wise.Which I believe was intentional considering endless niggles owners may have to face.

2.From your thoughts I can make out a fact that Storme is better put and more thoughtfully offered than Aria . of course I agree with you in disappointment case ,Stormy is no where near what we expected just another mid end SUV with a face lift .

3.Still the ABS thing is lingering in my mind which you haven't tried to sort out and help us.

Ps:- we guys have no options but to eat what you guys throw, we havent seen nor we have an access yet. so please be Patient,Gentle and sensible,it is a honest request.

vipul I have some questions for you hope you reply them , I can assure you with complete honesty this is not to stir controversy but to get genuine insights.

1) do you still feel storme is a jhol juggad vehicle ( be clear if its your subjective opinion or you found some serious flaws to call it so if yes please elaborate and mention them).

2) be firm in your view about fit,quality and interiors and don't say that if you bring innova then story changes because then some 1 else wil bring sedans and compare Verna here. You have been comparing it with xuv and aria so lets stick to that itself. Beside that many members atleast me I was talking only about storme as a car in its own rights.

3) what kind of expectations did members evoke in you about fit and finish of storme ? That it disappointed you ? What were you precisely expecting a skoda yeti finish or can you please explain us ?

I will appreciate if you will answer this 3 simple questions in the most simple way.
Raja, when It comes to benchmarking strategy I guess STORME out shined XUV in that department so Innova played role to beat STORME.
now Im hitching to compare STORME with swift [lol].

So when are you going to clear the air buddy atleast Jayadev is keen to get answers from you ?

Vipul,

I do not know what is wrong, but this does not clear confusion, but increases to double [surprise] See the comments in bold

But, it is really confusing to me even now, what is your vedict ?? it is like "kabhi haa, kabhi naa" in english " sometimes yes, sometimes no"

I am bit disappointed that after so much of discussion and debate still you are not clear that what you want to convey about this vehicle. Keep the XUV a side and just talk about Storm.

This kind of views will never ever help a buyer and further confuse them, hence I request you to think twice before you post something as you got really good capabilities of analysing and writing a very useful reviews[:)] All the best buddy and always take things in a positive way
Yes I wonder he is just started from beginning [confused]

Thread Starter #50

Okay Gurrala sir, now since you are not getting me the exact way I want to say so let me try it again. Or maybe my selection of words is inappropriate!!

Vipul,

I do not know what is wrong, but this does not clear confusion, but increases to double See the comments in bold..
After seeing your comments I am forced to turn back to you, kindly throw your questions..I m ready for them(but I need some time too, so you need to have patience too)..

Originally Posted by TSIVipul
I haven't said that "the 'overall' vehicle knocked me down", instead I said it in the "Comfort and NVH section".
Read my review again and you will find that I have written something like "Here I am knocked down by the vehicle". From HERE, I mean comfort and NVH section. I have already written the review in parts and the conclusion written "knocked down" was for that specific part. But the issue is that you people took it to be written for whole review. Actually as mentioned by our respected 'IR' sir once:
"Vipul, before commenting, you need to go through the content thoroughly" and I pass the same to you. In the review you will find a lot of positives and negatives, after that i am sure your confusion will become half from double.

I haven't said that "Storme corners better than XUV", instead I have continuously said "straight line stability is better than XUV". It is best in corners
What this 'IT' is? For me it's XUV, I won't call for the Toyota UV any more now. Out of Scorpy, Storme, Aria and XUV it's the XUV which is more eager at cornering. What Storme and Aria offers at their best is straight line stability and ride quality.

I guess I have said that XUV is better at turns "when road is well paved, or surface is even", so I think that saying "XUV is better at high speed handling too as per Vipul" will be unfair. If road is well paved and surface is even, then what is a big deal any vehicle will be good in turns, what to understand from this ??
Right now there is a state in which I am in favor of XUV, but still I have no issues in mentioning it's shortcomings too. Slight undulations are taken by XUV fantastically but larger ones make it do some googly on the road but Storme is a different thing, though it also gets unsettled(but then which car don't?) but not as much as the XUV gets.
Coming to the cornering section, my buddy even if the road is well paved and surface is even, then also there exists some factors like body roll and suspension movements which come into play while cornering. It's nearly impossible for two vehicles to behave same way while cornering because even if the road is very nice then also the body roll, steering response, suspension and the thing we call 'body control' play a vital role here.
I want to give an example but I won't because it will be misunderstood as a comparison of Storme with sedans like City, Civic etc.

I said "Storme has class leading fit and finish" but I never said it has best "interior quality", if MUVs can be involved in this then Innova is the benchmark for fit, finish and quality..all three. Else it's Storme down right. Why Innova has come into this ?? we talk about storm, then talk about storm only. What is the difference between "class leading" and " best interior quality" ??
I have already mentioned "If Innova is not involved then Storme is already best", here it seems like you are just dragging me in for no cause. When you want to talk Storme only, then with the fact that "Storme has best interior fit and finish and quality in it's segment itself kills any further scope of discussion".

At last, I guess I have already mentioned the point somewhere that "Storme disappointed me because it's nowhere near what I expected, especially after reading the initial reviews in this thread itself and a lot of comments too, yes I won't call it overhyping the car, it's just I felt that the car was still not as great as it was being projected, second time I TDed it thoroughly and tested it being practical comparing it with the competition and found it competitive". It means you are able to give two different opinions, OK agreed one was before the extensive TD and one is after thorough TD, then those first comments " car was still not as great as it was being projected" what draws you to this kind of conclusion ?? which just looks to me a vague statement
See buddy, instead of understanding what I have mentioned, you are understanding what you want to understand. Look at this thread and you will find hundreds of such points which will keep on raising the expectation graph higher and higher. Here I am calling for Raja's help, RAJA BUDDY...WHERE ARE YOU? Kindly come up and tell Mr. RK that someone told me that "Storme is like a luxury lounge and it's head and shoulders above these XUV and all and is directly in the Fortuner territory and is comparable to Fortuner only". This will help me explain why I got disappointed when I said "Just a facelifted Safari" and got disappointed.

I am very clear in my verdict from day one, likes are likes fr me and dislikes are dislikes. Rest you can tell me what confused you...I'll surely explain it for you(but you will have to give me some time)

Noted down your words...I hope you won't get further chances to complain.

ofcourse I will help you here vipul.

You want me to re state here what were /are my impressions of storme. Here it goes again .
I have seen storme on 16 September, again on I think 18 or 19 0ct when Concorde motor called me for a preview ,then on 23oct when I test drove it and 24 Oct again at Delhi airport.

Read my impression about the storme I posted on 16 Sept
1) xuv has a famous disco kind of interiors and storme has a business lounge kind of ,can you show me 1 post were I or anybody has brought fortuner here and its interiors?
Infact your impression are no different then mine or anybody infact you have written extra great things then any of us . And again in range of 11-15 I still feel they are good but that single din unit is a eyesore and extremely silly desgin strategy of Tata desginers.
What you expected is your subjective expectation , were you seriously expecting 25lakhs fortuner interiors in 10-15 lakh storme ?
Btw in my "subjective" view second seat comfort and ride quality of storme is fantastic then fortuner.

See buddy, instead of understanding what I have mentioned, you are understanding what you want to understand. Look at this thread and you will find hundreds of such points which will keep on raising the expectation graph higher and higher. Here I am calling for Raja's help, RAJA BUDDY...WHERE ARE YOU? Kindly come up and tell Mr. RK that someone told me that "Storme is like a luxury lounge and it's head and shoulders above these XUV and all and is directly in the Fortuner territory and is comparable to Fortuner only". This will help me explain why I got disappointed when I said "Just a facelifted Safari" and got disappointed.
Now from no where Fortuner comes into the picture. In your Storme TD review, you have used XUV as benchmark, then from some where middle you started comparing Storme interiors with Innova and now after all this fuss, Storme directly competes with Fortuner. I will not be surprised to see the Storme being competing and compared directly with Land Cruiser and Range Rover in near future.

I appreciate your efforts for TD and review was also good. But the way you are just sheding off the claims you made earlier is totally not appreciated by me. [glasses]. Sorry no personal offence to you.

@Vipul,

I appreciate your effort in answering me[:)], you gave my answers to your post in your reply, so read the whole story once again. I never wanted you to post only great things about Storm. I wanted both to come out but with proper explanation when required. When you write something either good or bad, then stand for it and ready to answer the questions with patience.

By now, I think 6 to 7 people did the TD, do you think all of them have written all positives things only and no negatives ??. Just think that why they did not faced so many questions like yours, because the review itself created all the havoc !!

I wish and I am glad that, people take my writings seriously, hence I am extra cautious always and if I commit a mistake knowingly or unknowingly, the best thing I do is ask apologies with them and try and not to repeat such mistake again. I am really happy that members enjoy with my posts and correct me if there is something wrong in it.

Further to your post my questions/views/answers are already posted by Mr.Raja and Mr.Dharmesh above, I do not want to add anything more to it !!

+100 Raja for your experience of braking at 100kmph, My experience was the same

Note: Thread cleaned. The references related to ABS issues have been removed to prevent any further misinterpretation as the author has taken back the claim himself. Let’s continue with a fruitful and polite discussion henceforth. Thanks.

Vipul,can you a produce a list of things that you liked and didn't like in Storme?? It will bring forward the gist of your thread after hearing from the horse's mouth himself.Thanks in advance.

Thread Starter #56
Okay guys, so now let me make a list of good bits and bad bits as per my observations, so here I go:

Good bits: Some parts contain direct comparo with the outgoing model(2.2 vtt Dicor) and hence some opinions regarding design etc are subjective.
Design elements, fit, finish and quality:
  • First comes design, new look gave this SUV more character. Pakka SUV look it carries now.
  • A lot of new details and neat touches like Storme engraved on the chrome strip etc give an upmarket look.
  • Addition of projector headlamps is a welcome move.
  • Neat rear and twin exhaust treatment though may not liked by some, but I give it a [thumbsup]..
  • New side profile is something which really looks better and with the addition of new skirts and new pull type door handles, overall the vehicle has got a modern SUVish look(my subjective opinion).
  • Coming to interiors, you will find a better..in fact class leading fit and finish now. everything feels very well put together.
  • Though doors lost those A/C vents, but not they look more upmarket and of course quality feels better too.
  • Rest the wooden finish looks good and new wheel is also a welcome move(at least for me). Rest seating comfort etc was same as before.

Leave the show and let's consider GO:
  • First of all the first highlight, the Varicor engine- more refined and smoother than before.
  • New gearbox, feels slick and positive now(from positive, shifting action feels better now).
  • Really better braking, no doubt.
  • New chassis feels more rigid and this is easily felt while giving sudden steering inputs and similarly weight shedding can be easily felt.
  • Though hard to digest, but vehicle feels a bit agile now.
  • New suspension has given it that 'perfect' ride balance, though low speed ride is still slightly bumpy but still there won't be anything wrong in calling it class leading. Same is with NVH, simply fantastic.
  • Handling is also bettered now, with a more responsive but quite neutral steering. Overall impression is on a positive side.
  • Turbo lag is significantly reduced and same is with body roll.
  • Better all round visibility offers ease of driving, low dash also helps here.

Bad bits: (Note: Subjective opinions can vary from person to person)

Design elements:
  • Exterior panel gaps(note: I haven't said interior) feel a bit too big. Close the doors or on the bonnet, wherever they are they are BIG or WIDE. Wide enough that you can even put your finger in between, especially the ones between lower parts of the front and rear doors. Tighter panel gaps would have increased the appeal even more.
  • Either fuel filler cap is out of place or the skirting is, that particular area looks odd(my subjective opinion it is).
  • New alloys are okay but 17 inchers would have done wonders.
  • Coming to interiors, not to say but Tata has missed an opportunity for sure. The dash still looks bland and of course under-equipped too.
  • Though design language is good but still there are a lot of plane-jane parts. It looks more of a workhorse dash instead of a 12 lac SUV's dash.
  • I hope no one will feel bad if I call it a 5 + 2 seater, but not a 7 seater.
  • How can we forget our favorite - single DIN ICE?
  • A/C vents look and feel flimsy and rear ones feel downright cheap. Just like an aftermarket addition(subjective opinion it is).
  • Front seats didn't feel as well contoured as of competition..eh, let me call by name, XUV Five double oh.
  • Severely under equipped car it is, all you get is A/C, power steering, power windows and an ICE(let's forget other small bits). Though if you count then you can add things like arm rests, a clock, tachometer, stalk mounted controls, bluetooth connectivity etc for personal satisfaction.

Leave the show and let's consider GO:
  • The wheel still touches thighs, though it doesn't do while driving but what if you are in a jam or parking?
  • No dead pedal!! First of all the narrow footwell and then dead pedal also omitted!!(Again my subjective opinion)
  • Gearbox is good but gear ratios don't feel as good, there is still hesitation. Not to say, but still it never feels like there are 140 horses and a twist of 32 kgm.
  • Though turbo lag is reduced but still if you compare with other cars then there is still enough of it.
  • The vehicle weighs 2000 kilos and feels too. There is still enough body roll and agility is still not upto the mark, but yes, the vehicle is more agile than before.
  • A sixth gear would have been a welcome addition, slight altering with initial ratios to give a good acceleration and top 3 for cruising would have made me happy at least(subjective opinion).
  • Torque spread still feels shorter, I mean a wider powerband would have been a boon(subjective opinion).

That's all.

That is awesome said. that speaks volumes of typical Tata car ,of-course in positive ways. viz.

questions and comments on Plastic quality,rattling and retarded etc are gone it seems, I can see people speaking on Perrformance and improvement side.

Thanks a lot.

Okay guys, so now let me make a list of good bits and bad bits as per my observations, so here I go:

That's all.
That was a nice overview of Storme buddy and much more simple and easy since all the bad and good bits are simply listed out.

Nice work[clap]

Very nice summary buddy.Loved the good parts and excepted the bad parts.It looks like from your list that indeed Tata has came along a long way,but they still need to strive for that finesse which the Europeans and Japs have.Loved your report anyway.Keep it up.