Re: 2 Enthusiasts go Storme hunting - TATA SAFARI STORME test drive review!!
You pulled STORME at 1000 RPM to 3500 IN 3RD GEAR do you think you done a great job ?
100% not. you would have followed companies recommendation for perfect gear shift. you are pulling STORME in 3rd gear at almost from idle.
Buddy, now for once try to understand my words and the way I did it.
Have you seen the torque curve of any diesel car? All the diesel cars have enough torque to keep them moving at idle rpm even if they are in top gear and hence I did used 3rd gear for the job. Has the car stalled? Were any jerks felt? NO, because the torque delivery of 2.2 VTT Varicor is more than enough to keep the beast moving, though without urgency, it still keeps moving. I know what I did was wrong, and my own gearshift pattern is start, push till 2500-3000 and shift up and if revs fell below 2000 then shift down and my dear, I am quite used t keeping nay car in it's power band. You name the car and I'll tell you the shift style..nearly every car in the 40 lac price bracket. I guess you have understood me to be a pure novice, then let me tell you I have been driving from the time I was 15 and have already kept cars like Scorpio, Safari, Armada, Innova, Swift, Indigo, Laura and Corolla.
So please justify your claim again. I want proper explanation.
Do tell me what sort of explanation you want and I'll give you a pure technical explanation. Nothing copied from Google or Wikipedia, only everything I myself know...and if I fell short of knowledge then I guess you are there to help me out.
My friend for some extent i agree with you but you forgot the principle of turbocharger, by pressurizing more air entering and increasing oxygen supply and adding more fuel is result to more engine torque and power, turbocharger also helps in redirecting partially burned fuel(black smoke)by supplying back to engine to maintain airflow. ok.
Well, I used to think it's called 'EGR'(Exhaust Gas re-circulation), will you please explain it to me as I am short of knowledge about it and I hope you will answer some typical questions related to it for me.
now the turbocharger worked well and delivered more torque but who is going to handle this torque????? once again its your GEAR brother, if engine produced more torque but vehicle is in wrong gear the inertial pull power is wasted to gain momentum or some time jerks. [/B]
Wrong gear means the net drag or whatever you call it when balances the torque produced by the engine then the power delivery stops at the moment and vehicle then moves at a constant speed. Look at the curve shown below(X axis is rpm and Y axis is torque), this curve depicts the torque delivery of a typical turbo diesel engine. The red line represents the torque produced and the green line represents the load or say 'load torque'. Then point where these two meet is the equilibrium point or say if the load is further increased then the engine revs will fell to attain a torque which is enough to keep the load moving. All what you are mentioning is right to an extent, but not completely. MERE BHAI, HUM BHI GALTI SE ENGINEER HI HAIN!!(By mistake, I am also an engineer)
i hope you did TD for those who are potential buyers of this car and IM one of them.
Then bring your questions, though I have a lot of work to do, but since you have awoken a sleeping engineer hence I am ready to answer all your questions and doubts and in turn will expect a piece of your experience in every reply...please feel free to ask and answer my questions too. I love technical discussions and with you on-board I am happy now.
Vipul wrote -Performance: Disappointing, it's far below the segment benchmark.
Can you explain this in more elaborate way ? Benchmark in what exactly ?
Buddy I took the XUV as benchmark, else Storme is perfect if XUV wouldn't have been there.
See my dear, XUV five double OH
, has got a different torque delivery and a wider torque spread. Where Storme seems to be running out of torque after 3000 itself, the XUV delivers good torque from 1500 to 3500 revs and mated to very finely tuned gear ratios, it has that feeling of urgency in fact performance too that's simply unrivaled in the segment. And not to forget the power to weight ratio of XUV too. I hope I am clear, please feel free to ask any more questions, I'll be free in afternoon.
@ vipul - thanx for your "subjective " opinion concerning Scorpio and Storme .
Well, practicality says it, not me. I don't need 7 seats and since I drive with one hand on gear lever, so shifting is also not an issue for me, in fact I love keeping shifting so Storme easily makes a far far better SUV as compared to Scorpio for me, at least it's stable at elevated speeds and can make my full night drives comfy and quicker as compared to Scorpy.
Now 1 more question
If you have to choose between a xuv and storme what will you choose and why and on what parameters and reasoning .?
Though I won't buy any of these, but since you have asked then. before speaking anything in favor of one or against another, let me for once check the Storme thoroughly. I never kept XUV, but only TDed it some times and I was biased towards Aria. When I drove XUV for a month I found it perfect for me and now I'll be in a state of answering this question once I do a good long drive in Storme. Till then XUV is the car which feels more suitable for me. Why? Because IT SUITS MY DRIVING STYLE, IT SUITS MY DRIVING POSITION AND FOR URBAN MOVERS LIKE ME. XUV MAKES FOR A GOOD CHOICE OVERALL.
@ Mr ranger - what is the correct way of finding turbo lag in a car then ? And why you find vipuls way not correct .?
I for myself did find the storme a bit lazy I have mentioned that in my mini test drive report too . And according to you what is the correct way of overcoming it ?
+100, I too want to know the correct way of checking the turbo lag and I am sure the vast experience of our MrRanger will help us here.