Traffic Mess in Bangalore

As someone said, the airport road flyover is opened to an extend it seems. Another heavy TOLL soon (for 20 years)!
Yes I drove last Sunday, three out of seven (I guess) are open. Its a breeze to drive but Max speed 80 kmph[frustration].

New Toll plaza under construction also (just before old toll gate near airport).

Other hand, Mekhri underpass is under repair hence heavy traffic jam either way.

Actually, we have another thread on the same topic (http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...e/5875-driving-through-bangalore-traffic.html). Guess, we could merge it.

Here are my points.

Though the issue is not specific to Bangalore alone, but few unique qualities makes Bangalore to be the worst.
  • Useless, inefficient, and worst planned infrastructure and officials.
  • Don't care, lethargic and rude attitude
  • Put Holes & Car Breakers on nonexistent roads
The list would go on...

If you ask any Bangalorean, will just say it's an unplanned city. OK, but for how long? Even the new constructions happening in present day are too? Just a lame reason. The actual reason is the "Attitude". Apart from that and despite known factors like infrastructure; politics etc., traffic concerns are mostly because of lack of our own self-discipline. And most importantly “Don’t care” or “Chalta Re” attitude.

Just putting few comes into my mind right now.

1. Block the free left when one is intended to head straight. (Same to right turns as well).
  2. Frequent lane changing & zig-zag driving and take a turn anywhere you like.
  3. Wrong side driving / overtaking (the most irritating one – especially when you are the unluckiest one to be on the edge of the lane and awaiting green light for hours).
  4. Buses & Autos (Rickshaws) – Unwritten Rule: They don’t have to follow any rules at all.
  5. Bikers – Possibly, to be added to the above point, but didn’t since not everyone is at blame. But a BIG YES…
  6. Curbside Parking Lots occupied by Street Vendors – They even threaten you not to park the car there or it will be deflated.
  7. Double Parking (Sometime Triple Parking as well).
  8. Most Importantly – Cellphone Driving. Seems everyone in our country is SO BUSY, especially while driving. A BIG HATE to this.
Today while coming to office there was huge traffic pile up at Marathahalli underpass. (more than 1.5 km)

Why -> ?

Two empty BMTC buses were parked near the bus stop in front of Kalamandir and presumably drivers gone for "coffee"
There is a bus stop just after that underpass. So, the drivers would have parked it happily there and went for a refreshment. Perhaps, almost every bus stop in Bangalore is either next to the signal, cross junction, underpass/over bridge etc. How cleverly thought, isn't? Are these officials really qualified to be there?

I was exactly discussing the same with my friend today. Lanes become narrower once you turn right towards SAP from Graphite India signal. This reduces the flow density of traffic, allowing vehicles to move slowly.

I have a question here for fellow members, who planned all flyovers near KR Puram. Traffic is worst in Tin Factory area. We have Three flyovers here pouring traffic from all places to here.
Don't remind me of KR Puram, my BP shoots more than the congestion happens over there... [frustration]

Everyday, literally everyday, I sail thru there, I curse myself of my decision to move to Bangalore, that too from a city like Pune. That place has all possible bottlenecks, some are impossible to imagine too. More than that, only about 50% of the road is used rather, motorable there. Remaining is just an off-road or used by Trucks to be parked. If the entire space would be motorable, you can have at least 6 lanes on each side, excluding the infamous Hanging Bridge. BTW, this issue isn't limited to KR Puram, but entire Bangalore as most of the roads only 50% utilized. Who to be blamed? Or, just that it's an unplanned city?

@rekharam,
It is not just KR Puram, most of the flyover constructions are like that. Even the new constructions happened are also no exception.
Very true. I just can't imagine the master mind behind the Bridges constructed newly near RMZ, Ecospace in ORR. If it's to manage the traffic to Ecospace, why do you need 2 bridges, before and after Ecospace making the entire traffic flow still congesting the main road. Moreover, the Service Roads on both sides aren't motorable, so, the entire flow is again on the main road despite spending crores on the new bridges. Likewise near Manyata Tech Park too. So, just because "It's an unplanned City?" To my knowledge, no city in India is a planned one.

I curse myself of my decision to move to Bangalore, that too from a city like Pune. That place has all possible bottlenecks, some are impossible to imagine too. More than that, only about 50% of the road is used rather, motorable there. Remaining is just an off-road or used by Trucks to be parked. If the entire space would be motorable, you can have at least 6 lanes on each side, excluding the infamous Hanging Bridge. BTW, this issue isn't limited to KR Puram, but entire Bangalore as most of the roads only 50% utilized. Who to be blamed? Or, just that it's an unplanned city?
Even i wonder why i moved from Mumbai, whenever i see traffic pile-up at every other junction, dug up roads n left open, guess, these are illegal digging, no wonder almost all roads are in a mess.

Its more of a off-road daily commute, and with animals all over the road, makes it worse than a Village.[frustration]

Moreover, i had visited Bangalore in 2012 Feb, and its now 2014 Feb approaching, the HAL - BEML road was dug up then, and it is still dug up, and has become un-motor-able. And with present condition of BBMP revenue (Rs5200Cr debt), we are going to meet a disaster in Benga-loo-ru pretty soon.

Wonder where all the tax payer's money is goin for IT city to become in this kinda situation.[shock]

To my knowledge, no city in India is a planned one.
Chandigarh, i've been there for a couple of days. [thumbswink]

Latest on the lows of Bangalore traffic -

Nobel laureate gets Bangalored

On his way to Biocon, Harold E Varmus, the director of National Cancer Institute (US), was stranded in a jam for 45 minutes. Vamus got out of the mess only by getting out of his car and walking. The shameful experience of her guest got Kiran Mazumdar Shaw's goat

The trend of jobs being outsourced to tech companies in the city not only brought Bangalore into sharp focus on the world stage, but also gave the dictionary a whole new word — Bangalored. Laid off many might be in the West (read US) thanks to the city's IT prowess, but for residents, the word has taken on a diabolical meaning: 'Marooned in a chaotic sea of traffic'.

The city's traffic is a great leveller, albeit in a poor sense of the word, as Harold E Varmus, the Nobel prize-winning scientist and director of National Cancer Institute (US) learnt on Hosur Road on Monday. Stranded in a nasty jam for nearly 45 minutes and with no sign of it clearing, Varmus was forced to abandon his fancy set of wheels in favour of his legs — he got out, waded through the jam — which had just about every size and shape of vehicle pointed any which way — braved the shrill horns and made it to the other side of the road. There, he boarded another car which took him to his destination, the Biocon campus.

Read More -

Nobel laureate gets Bangalored - Bangalore Mirror

Also, I always wondered that why I see so less police on Bangalore roads? If you also wondered the same here is the answer.
Bangalore has only 160 policemen per 1 lakh people compared to Delhi's 600, Mumbai's 550 and higher figures in other metro cities. Bangalore has lowest police coverage among all Tier 1 cities in India.

15 days back while i am driving around KRpuram railway station @8pm
Just to enquire for some address i drove my sparkling new grand near to road side shop.

Suddenly THUD.... Driver side tyre landed into a drainage hole. (Not at all visible also it is a Big hole)
I was shocked and unable to digest what happened........

Thanks for Shop keeper and localites who immediately come to rescue and pulled/pushed my car from that trap.
Nothing major happened except few scraches under bumper + Paint torned out under body side rail for 1 inch....

From the way shop keeper guided me i understood its "Regular phenomenon" for him.

This shows how ineffecient our BBMP babus are........

After driving my grand for 5 months i am cursing my decision why not i choosed ECOSport or THAR for this Pot holes [anger]

We are paying india's highest road tax inreturn we are getting worst of world roads [;)] God throw me out of bangalore [clap]

From the way shop keeper guided me i understood its "Regular phenomenon" for him.

This shows how ineffecient our BBMP babus are........
Likewise, there is one such in the ORR connection from Service Road just before Kasturi Nagar Bridge. To be precise, the entry point from Ramamurthy Nagar / Kasturi Nagar to Kasturi Nagar Bridge on ORR. I happened to fell in that once, more than a year ago and my FL Rim went bend. That hole is still present even today! Inefficiency? That would be way too high for them to even understand.

We are paying india's highest road tax inreturn we are getting worst of world roads
Let's say worst in the world, but not Roads. We could hardly find one in Bangalore.

Dont worry these kind of holes exist in BLR.

Just when you come down from Agara Flyover on ORR towards Marathalli 100 m head there are two deep pot holes.

And to be precise I am seeing them for last 5 years at least

Nice to see all the members let off some steam here [:)].
I am not into daily commuting like most but i understand what it must be like,i was stuck at Silk Board junction at 7 in the morning for half an hour[surprise],so i can understand what the regular office going folks must face.

I have a friend who is a software tech (guessing cloud computing or something like that).
He has taken a shift which starts at 6:30 in the morning & ends at 2:30 afternoon,what this does to his commute is save 2 hours everyday in travel in comparison for example when it is 9:30 to 5:30 shift. He says he is much stress free & gets to spend more time with family members in the evening & also has a power nap when he comes home.

PS -Imagine if it snowed in Bangalore,all the cars(cabs usually) ,bikes & heavy vehicles would be flying & ramming into eachother.
It would be like that joke ,Thank god cows dont fly [lol]

I'm starting this thread for all Bangaloreans who drive/ride in Banglore's peak traffic. Though Bangalore is IT Capitol, Silicon Valley of India, its infrastructure is very poor. To begin with roads are narrow, filled with potholes and famous speed breakers for almost every single kilometer. If there is a two lane road, left lane will e used for parking vehicles and you can definitely see some hole dug for OFC/Water/Underground Sewage etc. We have people from all over India here who follows their own rules on road.

Here is an incident happened to me today. I was driving towards Millers Road from ITPL. After Indiranagar on a traffic light when turning orange, I slowed down and stopped. A two wheeler who was behind me banged on my bumper. I came out and checked, nothing majot. I returned to my vehicle politely after checking if the biker is alright. When I was waiting in the signal, a decent guy in Innova who was in my right hand side knocked my passenger window. I rolled down the window and he started blaming for slow down.

Now my questions,

I was driving around 30 KMPH and the traffic light turned amber, I stopped slowly.
What did I do wrong? And if somebody hits from back, it is their fault. The guy from Innova advised me to look back and drive. How can I do that especially when traffic light is turning to amber. If someone who drives rash behind me, to avoid him being hit do I need to break traffic rules?

I really feel sad that most of drivers here doesn't know the rules to be followed. You can also share your experience in Bangalore traffic here.

PS: I have been hit four times including this in my car. Thrice in Bangalore and once in Chennai and all incidents happened near Traffic signal.
Never seen such incident in Kolkata. But when I was in Chennai, it was an everyday phenomenon. I have never been to B'lore, but could resist putting my comments here since you said "once in Chennai".

Another case of so called Scientific Humps coupled with Thug's reckless driving in Bengalooru. [frustration]

An unscientific road hump coupled with reckless driving of an autorickshaw driver resulted in the death of his six-year-old son at Kaveri Nagar at K R Puram here on Wednesday.

Bangalore: Road hump snuffs out boy's life

10 yrs on, Hosur Road traffic congestion remains
http://www.bangaloremirror.com/bang...c-congestion-remains/articleshow/29262929.cms

Another case of inefficient BBMP. [anger]

BBMP doesn’t know how many streetlights it has, yet hikes tender by 127%

When will the Authorities wake up to the woes of public??? [rules]

Today cops were checking speed limit under Marthahalli bypass. Has anyone crossed it from ISRO towards Belandur?