Toyota Qualis (2000): Ownership & Restoration

Thread Starter #76
Hi Duttan,
Saw the old and new pictures of your toyota Qualis. Actually from my point of view, 3.25 Lakhs was on the higher side. Because there was not much change of your old one to the new one.

Here also in coimbatore they quoted more when i asked for Paint job. They quoted 1.10 lakhs in Kitup and 1.25 in Toyota service.. (Only for Paint).

actullay painting work was only Rupee 60,000 and 20,000 for their labour work
They separated the frame and the body and the chassis and The body bush which was 12 cost per 1500 actually the cost was for the whole nut and bolt was replaced with new one and chrome handle cost me 25000 for 4 doors and alloy cost me 40000 and front set cost me 50000 and also the other bush and the parts which are used to lock the frame and the body and the chassis cost a lot . Also they make the car such that it can be used for another 10 years without any rusting in panel and the bushes which were perfect . In the local market they paint the body which was not separating frame or the body or the chassis . The separation of these 3 parts and clear all the parts if there is any trouble in that which was worth for spending the money . I want to maintain the car atleast for 5 years so i go for it .

Thread Starter #78
actullay painting work was only Rupee 60,000 and 20,000 for their labour work
They separated the frame and the body and the chassis and The body bush which was 12 cost per 1500 actually the cost was for the whole nut and bolt was replaced with new one and chrome handle cost me 25000 for 4 doors and alloy cost me 40000 and front set cost me 50000 and also the other bush and the parts which are used to lock the frame and the body and the chassis cost a lot . Also they make the car such that it can be used for another 10 years without any rusting in panel and the bushes which were perfect . In the local market they paint the body which was not separating frame or the body or the chassis . The separation of these 3 parts and clear all the parts if there is any trouble in that which was worth for spending the money . I want to maintain the car atleast for 5 years so i go for it .
Duttan,
Qualis is one of the car where we separate body from Chassis. In many workshops they do in such way only if the car is really have so much patch issues.

Seat is too costly and regarding chrome handles there were no words to describe. how come they charge like that.

Anyway it all done and you are enjoying the ride. But here i am getting frustrated on this snail pace work. At least you escaped from that :).

Congratulations Ambylovers for the Qualis and Kudos for the restoration work [clap]

It's nice to see a car being restored to it's sweet age[:)]

How are the work going on ?

can you tell me whether the mileage of the car will have any large variation when the car running
with and without ac ? Some of the car techinican says that their will be no such major difference
in the mileage of the car since while roll down glass without ac cause the air impact since the
mileage will be a drop when it compared with the drving the car with ac

Thread Starter #81
can you tell me whether the mileage of the car will have any large variation when the car running
with and without ac ? Some of the car techinican says that their will be no such major difference
in the mileage of the car since while roll down glass without ac cause the air impact since the
mileage will be a drop when it compared with the drving the car with ac
If you drive 100+ then the Wind/Air flow will cause a reduce in mileage. In case you rolled up the glasses and driving 100+ with AC, then there will be no much difference compared if you opened the window.

But with in 80, surely the mileage will have a difference in AC switched ON and OFF either you rolled down your glasses or closed.

Thread Starter #83
Sir ji,
Updates please ! We are waiting for the Qualis to regain its original shape and cruise on the roads
Even i am very eager to take it to the road soon. But as usual Tinker is doing a very lazy job. Bumper alterations are going on. Its not completed yet, but i will upload some of the alteration photo.

Can't wait to see your qualis after restoration. And how much does it costs completely to the car getting restored... And further how much day will it take to the car been delivered.

Thread Starter #86
Can't wait to see your qualis after restoration. And how much does it costs completely to the car getting restored... And further how much day will it take to the car been delivered.
I believe In the mid of March, it will be delivered. Cost may come around 60000 INR.

Thread Starter #90
Thanks Guys for all your heart comments.
Since all these are local workshops in my native,It stands around 60000 INR.
Here they dont charge for Tax and other stuff. One and only Labour.

I will procure almost all the spares required. Only labour i will pay them.