The Story of Nano To Zest

Hello shibu,
Congratulations for making a choice with TATA ZEST !!

I'm also a proud owner for TATA Zest XT 1.3 MJD, which i bought in Sep 2015.

I have made 3 trips from Chennai with Zest - Hosur (1), Bangalore (1) and Coimbatore (1). the ride quality and stability at 100 ~ 120 km/hr speed is commendable. I do not have any reasons for comparison with any other car at this moment as Zest is our first car in family.

I look forward for clocking more miles as i have crossed 7.5k kms in this 3 months period.

Thank you for you valuable posts with lots of information on Sunroof, Head lamps and accessories.

Drive safe. Happy motoring !!

10,000 km update!

So completed 10K in 4 months.
Had some issues with AMT box, clutch position sensor was faulty. The gear wouldn't engage! And I stood on the road once! The TATA Tow vehicle came quickly and towed to the nearest service station. Things moved quickly and the complete clutch pack was replaced under warranty! Kudos to entire TATA team for sorting this issue. They sent a Regional Customer Relationship Manager to study the issue and report to Tata. My fog lamps had a crack and that was replaced under warranty.

blackened all chromes!
20160208090742.jpg

20160208090742 (1).jpg

20160208090741.jpg

Congrats Shibu !!

Good to know that you have crossed 10k kms. I would be excited of you could share the overall mileage capability of AMT model.

I proudly say that I was able to reach 30kmpl - max possible in display of Zesf Fuel gauge.
Have reached 12k kms and yet to do my second free service. On an average I get 23 ~ 25 for trips combining city and ring road commutes.

Kudos to TATA for making a Quality product with Zest. I wish and pray that Tata would make way into more Indian homes after launch of Zica sesan and hatch, Nexon and Hexa.

Prasanna.

Congrats Shibu !!

Good to know that you have crossed 10k kms. I would be excited of you could share the overall mileage capability of AMT model.

I proudly say that I was able to reach 30kmpl - max possible in display of Zesf Fuel gauge.
Have reached 12k kms and yet to do my second free service. On an average I get 23 ~ 25 for trips combining city and ring road commutes.

Kudos to TATA for making a Quality product with Zest. I wish and pray that Tata would make way into more Indian homes after launch of Zica sesan and hatch, Nexon and Hexa.

Prasanna.
Mileage! I dont know how you guys get so much! but mine didnt cross 17Kmpl. i feel i get more mileage in city than in highways. rarely I take it to highways. 90% of my drives are between Kanyakumari to Kollam.

Hello shibu,
Good day to you !!

Being a first time driver after owning a car, these are the certain aspects which i understood / follow to reap better mileage (especially in Zest):

1) Shift to top gear (5) as soon as possible, even if you have not reached the specified rpm levels as directed in user manual
2) Do not press the accelerator hard when cruising at speeds of 80 ~ 100 Kms (around 2k rpm). Just have a light foot on accelerator, which will ensure that you are always past the 15 Kmpl mark on fuel gauge display.
3) Instead of applying sudden brakes, release / take off your foot off the accelerator if u foresee a traffic or man movement
4) Reduce sudden downshifts.
5) You have better chances of getting mileage (atleast above 20kmpl) when you fill the fuel and cruise in an highway, which may get compensated during drive in city traffic.

I have made about 5 trips from Chennai to Coimbatore (2) and Bangalore (2) and Hosur (1). The mileage during these trips would average between 22 ~ 25 Kmpl.

Please remember, i'm not an expert. Just passionate on driving [:D]

Try some of these, and do revert if you can find any improvement. Ofcourse, your vehicle being an AMT, not sure on the application of all the above points. May be seek some advice from TAI experts.

Congratulations Shibu of completing 10,000 kms

I am planning to change my 7 year old Santro and looking for a competent Automatic Diesel within 9 lacs.
I am little confused between Zest, Dzire & TUV. Here are few of my queries hoping that your experience of zest and other cars would help me reach a decision:

1. Between Dzire, Zest & Mahindra TUV, which one would you prefer. I am not very keen on TUV as NVH levels of mahindra vehicles always feel a bit poor than competition. However, i say this purely on my experience as a passenger who travels regularly in Mahindra cars

2. Between XMA & XTA versions, are there any key differentiators? apart from airbags, Touch screen display, rear parking sensor & Auto climate control. Do you think a premium of around 85-90k is justified for XTA? Airbags is something I would really want however 90 for that seems a bit much.

3. Zest AMT does not have hill hold & creep function which might come in handy during my city drive in Delhi (specially on flyovers). How bad it is while driving bumper to bumper traffic on an incline? also is it really difficult to park since creep function is not there so one has to be really quick between A & B paddles

Hope Shibu & other gurus will guide me [drive]

Hello shibu,
Good day to you !!

Being a first time driver after owning a car, these are the certain aspects which i understood / follow to reap better mileage (especially in Zest):

1) Shift to top gear (5) as soon as possible, even if you have not reached the specified rpm levels as directed in user manual
2) Do not press the accelerator hard when cruising at speeds of 80 ~ 100 Kms (around 2k rpm). Just have a light foot on accelerator, which will ensure that you are always past the 15 Kmpl mark on fuel gauge display.
3) Instead of applying sudden brakes, release / take off your foot off the accelerator if u foresee a traffic or man movement
4) Reduce sudden downshifts.
5) You have better chances of getting mileage (atleast above 20kmpl) when you fill the fuel and cruise in an highway, which may get compensated during drive in city traffic.

I have made about 5 trips from Chennai to Coimbatore (2) and Bangalore (2) and Hosur (1). The mileage during these trips would average between 22 ~ 25 Kmpl.

Please remember, i'm not an expert. Just passionate on driving [:D]

Try some of these, and do revert if you can find any improvement. Ofcourse, your vehicle being an AMT, not sure on the application of all the above points. May be seek some advice from TAI experts.
Unfortunately most of the above said points wont suit for AMT. If we are driving with light foot, it will stay at lower gears. and at certain low RPMs it will downshift itself. But for city drive AT will give better FE as far as i understood.

Congratulations Shibu of completing 10,000 kms

I am planning to change my 7 year old Santro and looking for a competent Automatic Diesel within 9 lacs.
I am little confused between Zest, Dzire & TUV. Here are few of my queries hoping that your experience of zest and other cars would help me reach a decision:

1. Between Dzire, Zest & Mahindra TUV, which one would you prefer. I am not very keen on TUV as NVH levels of mahindra vehicles always feel a bit poor than competition. However, i say this purely on my experience as a passenger who travels regularly in Mahindra cars

2. Between XMA & XTA versions, are there any key differentiators? apart from airbags, Touch screen display, rear parking sensor & Auto climate control. Do you think a premium of around 85-90k is justified for XTA? Airbags is something I would really want however 90 for that seems a bit much.

3. Zest AMT does not have hill hold & creep function which might come in handy during my city drive in Delhi (specially on flyovers). How bad it is while driving bumper to bumper traffic on an incline? also is it really difficult to park since creep function is not there so one has to be really quick between A & B paddles

Hope Shibu & other gurus will guide me [drive]
I will say, wait for VW AMEO if you can wait! It will have ESP, Traction control and Hill hold.
(Open a separate thread to discuss about your new car hunt!)

Nice Review and Awesome Pictures!! Zest is a VFM. I have the Diesel Xt Same color as yours. I am looking for the spoilers and Zest plated Door Side Beadings!! If you have them please post a closer photo with the details.

Spoilers looking Cool!!

Saishibu, mine is XT Sky grey.
Where did you buy the shark fin antenna? If bought online Can you share a direct link to it? I checked many websites but not sure which one fits. Please share the exact product page if bought online.

Nice. Looking sportive, I think you can add this also to the beauty. Click here . Also changing the TATA logo in the front grill to chrome looks cool for the color of the grill and yellow Drl!!

Spoilers looking Cool!!

Saishibu, mine is XT Sky grey.
Where did you buy the shark fin antenna? If bought online Can you share a direct link to it? I checked many websites but not sure which one fits. Please share the exact product page if bought online.

Nice. Looking sportive, I think you can add this also to the beauty. Click here . Also changing the TATA logo in the front grill to chrome looks cool for the color of the grill and yellow Drl!!
You can get in Ebay.in/ Amazon. You just have to remove the stock stick and screw the shark fin antenna to the base and stick with 3m tape.

I hav blacken'd the logos. some how it didnt suit. I'm not a fan of chrome accessories.

Just completed 14500km and gave the car to tata motors for the service. i have asked them to flush the engine before engine oil change. First service bill is around 1300rs rest all covered in Gold AMC (18K till 45K kms)

Bodykits done!
12939508_10205709074822801_1612624708_n.jpg

12980613_10205709074262787_270553741_n.jpg

You can get in Ebay.in/ Amazon. You just have to remove the stock stick and screw the shark fin antenna to the base and stick with 3m tape.

I hav blacken'd the logos. some how it didnt suit. I'm not a fan of chrome accessories.

Just completed 14500km and gave the car to tata motors for the service. i have asked them to flush the engine before engine oil change. First service bill is around 1300rs rest all covered in Gold AMC (18K till 45K kms)

Bodykits done!
View attachment 198282

View attachment 198283
Wow Congrats on the Zest and what a wonderful choice for the body kit. Now the car is begging for 16-17" rims! [evil]

Hi Shibu, I plan to buy XMA Zest. But currently there is no TASS in TVM. Where do you service your car? What is the service interval? How much mileage do you get?

Thread Starter #45
Wow Congrats on the Zest and what a wonderful choice for the body kit. Now the car is begging for 16-17" rims! [evil]
16-17 inch! LOL!!

Hi Shibu, I plan to buy XMA Zest. But currently there is no TASS in TVM. Where do you service your car? What is the service interval? How much mileage do you get?
I service at nagercoil-Kumaran Automobile. You have one TASS at Neyatinkara also.

Update! New set of pics, shot at Coimbatore.

IMG_0027.jpg

IMG_0028.jpg

IMG_0105.jpg