The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In [210+ BHP Remap]

Re: The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In [10K Kms Crossed]

Also a small question to Iron Rock & Chetak? I filled up the normal oil on my 6 months service. I checked with the people at the showroom and they asked me about my usage(7800 kms in 6 months) and said that normal oil should do. Any thoughts?
While this topic can be discussed about till the cows come home, I prefer normal mineral oil over synthetic purely because of two reasons.
1. Hariya (my Scorpio CRDe) ran on normal Mahindra Maximile for a good 2.5 lac km without a whimper and was as fresh as a daisy when we parted ways.
2. I do not find the price difference between normal and synthetic worth it since I change oils every 10k kms irrespective of the grade and the quality.

Your vehicle is a KA-41 registered Pajero, which is the Kengeri RTO. Where do you stay? We should meet up sometime for a shoot. One black and one white Pajero will look good together.

I suggest you wait for a little bit, as the automatic sport will have this component as standard, getting the spare in india itself shouldnt be an issue, Infact the mumbai dealer already has this + the system is same as the one in outlander, so you might not need to import this like i had to.
I am in no hurry but I m sure that the price of the component when sold by MMC/HML will be far higher than the amount you have paid.[:D]

Now the current update: -
Time:
Chetak reached Bangalore today early in the morning. This is my quickest lap time from Delhi to Bangalore. I usually cover this distance in 33hrs however, the improved roads between Jhansi-Gwalior and between Narasinghpur-Nagpur ensured that I was able to shave off 3 more hours and reach Bangalore in 30 hours. This included a 1.5hr break near Sagar and a royal 2.5hr break near Kurnool.
FE:
Ever since the first tankful of BP normal diesel at Gurgaon, I figured out that Chetak is sensitive to speeds starting at and going beyond 120kmph and hence I restricted myself to 110-115kmph on 4laners and am happy to report that the FE has constantly been 10.xx kmpl all along. The best FE was 10.8 kmpl and the worst 10.3.

I also used System-D for every alternate tank of fuel and while it did not add to the FE, I know that it helps to keep the injectors and HP lines clean.

Chetak's Behaviour:

Super stable, very comfortable on good, bad, broken roads. Highway diversions which were almost perpendicular to the direction of travel were handled with aplomb and ease. Being the only person in the vehicle, it was time to do some impromptu "elk/moose test" maneuvers and Chetak came out with flying colors.

With the odo now touching the 20k mark, he is far smoother with the clutch, the gear shifts and the steering than before.

I had the front brake pads replaced at Gurgaon and managed to save around 60% compared to the ASC quote in spite of having put genuine MMC brake pads.

The wheels too were rotated, aligned, balanced and filled with Nitrogen (32PSI).

I also had both the propellor shafts greased and a rattle on the driver door fixed. However, the rattle has come back and I need to get it rectified at SVR Motors here along with the centre console rattle and steering wheel rattle.

Further, the left ORVM adjustment has stopped working and has to be rectified.

Chalo, till next time then.[clap]

Re: The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In [11K Kms Crossed]

All right, so am a newbie to this forum. First of all, thanks to you - Iron Rock, for this comprehensive review thread. I did not find much of this anywhere else so this was most useful.

I am most likely going to be joining the PS family very soon in Bangalore. Your thread was useful in that decision.

@Chetak - I remember you Hariya from the other forum. I too have a Scorpio now, looking to move to the PS soon. Good to see someone like you here too!

Nice to e-meet you again Anshuman. I have sent you my contact details here and on your email id too.

Further, I stumbled upon this video which compares the stability of the base vehicles/platforms of both the Fortuner and the Pajero Sport. Take a look, the differences are pretty appalling.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IRT33AYBN1w

Originally posted by Chetak.Your vehicle is a KA-41 registered Pajero, which is the Kengeri RTO. Where do you stay? We should meet up sometime for a shoot. One black and one white Pajero will look good together.
I stay in Marathahalli. We should meet up.[:)]

Links are very well seen & flawlessly, & last link can be viewed in HD (720p & 1080p) version.

It is rock stable in 2WD in dry road conditions. I generally use the 4WD for high speeds (140+) & curves on the road. It just gives extra confidence on the turns. Felt this while coming from Madurai to Bangalore. Roads are excellent with lot of flyovers but they keep turning.So you climb the flyover at a particular speed and can maintain the speed without slowing down on the turns. The car is extremely stable though after doing a few like this i reduced the speed just to be safe.Thanks for your best wishes.
My car is TOD = Torque on Demand (SsangYong version of Part time AWD), so conversion to 4WD(H) is automatic. Car is rock solid up to 160kmph speed but don't know it is 2WD or TOD is employed, as no visible clue / indicator in dashboard for TOD/AWD (however there is dashboard indicator for 4L lock).

But I have read somewhere that 4WD mode is released as soon as higher speed (i.e. > 120 kmph) is achieved.

Thread Starter #188

Hey IR Loved reading your thread. And great pictures as well. @chetak your beast also looks cool in black color. [thumbsup]
Cheer welcome Dheeraj you might see me around so wave when you see![clap]

check this out

new pajero sport 2014 in india
Congrats on the booking is this the color you went for ? welcome to the sport club!

Wow we have quite a few sport owners out here now, buntybaba, arichamp, anshuman_v and chetak. [thumbsup]

I don't think Buntybaba has booked one. He was only posting pictures.

But yes, I guess we have the highest number of PS owners in India on this forum.[clap]

Hey I have already booked a Red/White PS Limited Edition! Have delayed its delivery as its Shraadh month going and we do not buy anything during and until Mahalaya which is on 25th Sep. Plus I wanted to make sure that the dealer is giving me everything that he has promised. So my PS is already there resting in his Workshop and I have already visited thrice just to admire it! [:D] This dealer has also promised me MID installation that is missing from the current model. He is yet to successfully install it as according to him there is a size mismatch (IR are u listening!) but I am insisting hard and am sure will get it done in front of me. Here are a few random snaps. They are yet to clean and polish my PS :)

He is yet to successfully install it as according to him there is a size mismatch (IR are u listening!) but I am insisting hard and am sure will get it done in front of me. Here are a few random snaps. They are yet to clean and polish my PS :)
Congratulations Buntybaba....!!!!

I stand corrected on not realising that you had booked a dual color vehicle.

Coming to the MID fitment, it is a 45 minute job that is successfully being done at Bangalore, Pune, Delhi and Bombay. Please feel free to get in touch with any of us (IR/Me) with your dealer's technical team.

When are you taking the delivery?

I stand corrected on not realising that you had booked a dual color vehicle.
Indeed!!![;)]

Coming to the MID fitment, it is a 45 minute job that is successfully being done at Bangalore, Pune, Delhi and Bombay. Please feel free to get in touch with any of us (IR/Me) with your dealer's technical team.
Sure. I would be getting it done on Wednesday/Thursday next week. I suppose you need to remove the black panel before inserting the MID unit. The technician was trying to insert it without removing the panel and hence was not able to push it all over till the end. Anyways I would be needing you guy's help for sure [roll]

When are you taking the delivery?
Thursday next week. All formalities are done already [:D]

Hey I have already booked a Red/White PS Limited Edition! Have delayed its delivery as its Shraadh month going and we do not buy anything during and until Mahalaya which is on 25th Sep.
Congratulations for the proud ride. Enjoy plenty & safe miles.

Anyways I would be needing you guy's help for sure
Yes, the black box (which is in the centre console below the ACC control knobs needs to be removed before the MID is inserted with its casing there. Feel free to shout out to me @ n.devdath@gmail.com in case you need any help and we can exchange contact numbers as well.

Can post a price break up of the vehicle that you managed to get it for?