The Black Hawk - My Mahindra Scorpio VLX

Yeah a lot can go wrong during the 4 years . it is just to cover for the essential electronics.
Ex : an AC coil which went kaput in my scorpio costs around 7.8k. i got it done for free in warrranty. some companies charge for the gas etc , but we were charged nothing

Since yours is a vlx, things like cruise control, and auto lights,TPMS etc can go kaput with 4 years. so an extra premium of 10K is worth it.

There are things like power windows and other electricals which are covered in it except the regular wear and tear items, so it is just for peace of mind.
The main reason for me not going for the extended warranty is that after 2 years I can get a different set of alloys and ICE and probably other set of accessories for the car without worrying of the warranty being void. Anycase I will check on this extended warranty thing probably when I give the car for the first service.

Hey Ragmax.

Congrats on your all new hawk.

Wish you miles of safe and happy motoring.

From the tyres it looks like MRF wanderer's.

I would have preferred Bridgestone.
Thanks muskesh, Wish you the same too. No the tyres are not MRF but Apollo Hawkz AT tyres. I did ask for the Bridgestone but as you know since we did not have any option of waiting for another car I chose this one. Infact the other colour option I had i.e. Java Brown had Brigestone but they were HT tyres, so I thought this would be better.

Nice review & its interesing that Scorpio has this distinct feature amongst the M&M cars of having its cladding & bumpers in a contrast colour I am told & not the same as the car colour! Interesting thing you shared about XUV service.

BTW I took my Bolero delivery 3 months back from Anant cars on BG road I am guessing the one on mysore road is also the same company/dealership. My experience was just okay & they delayed delivery by few days after full payment but overall they seem to be good!

How has your experience been with Anant? Also You have not mentioned the onroad price of the car can you please share.
Yeah I like the colour combination but I still would have preferred the full black colour one. It seems they have stopped full black one nowadays. Belated congrats for buying your Bolero buddy. Wish you many happy miles with it. Yes it is the same dealership who has another branch on Mysore road. I had been to both the branches but I got a better deal here. Dealership experience was good except for the failure on their promise of delivering a white colour.

Congrats on the mighty muscular Scorpio , have million safe miles with it .
Thanks buddy for your wishes. Wish you the same. I would be very happy if I am able to have a safe and niggle free ownership. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Congrats on your new acquisition [clap]

Do pour in more pics

Wishing you safe miles ahead[:D]
Thanks vishnu, I will definitely will post more pictures soon. It is just that I am busy enjoying my new car on weekends and on weekdays I am preoccupied with my work, but yes I will definitely make some time to click some photos of both exteriors and interiors and will upload the same.

Guys, Please guide me in selecting a good rear bumper guard and also front bull bar, preferably the one which attaches on the bumper itself. This is because the dealer said that if I get a bumper guard which attache to the chassis, and there is an impact the chassis would be bent and so the warranty would be void. Is it correct and if so please suggest some alternatives.

he is correct.

the bumpers would not give you protection against bigger impact. infact, they interfere with the defined crumple zones of any car.

i would prefer , you opt for a nudge guard than the bumper guard.

The main reason for me not going for the extended warranty is that after 2 years I can get a different set of alloys and ICE and probably other set of accessories for the car without worrying of the warranty being void. Anycase I will check on this extended warranty thing probably when I give the car for the first service.
AFAIK, suspension warranty is upto 40K kms. after that you are free to choose your set of alloys. and ICE can be changed even now as long there is no wire splicing done.
better get it confirmed with the Dealer.

Hi RagMax,

Congrats and welcome to m-Hawk gang!

Did you ever consider the Xylo H series? Now, all the H series variants come with m-Hawk engines. E9's gear stick is similar to XUVs and is very slick.

8 people can comfortably travel and additional 2 people can squeeze in, if all are thin [lol]

I see that many people opt for Scorpio when they want a proper 7 or 8 seater. They prefer it compared to Xylo even though Xylo has more space, eually powerful engine, better fit and finish compared to Scorpio. It also can do decent off-roading as GC is higher than Scorpio. It has ESP which Scorpio does not.

I would like to know the reason for not choosing the new Xylo. I am just curious [thinking]

he is correct.

the bumpers would not give you protection against bigger impact. infact, they interfere with the defined crumple zones of any car.

i would prefer , you opt for a nudge guard than the bumper guard.

AFAIK, suspension warranty is upto 40K kms. after that you are free to choose your set of alloys. and ICE can be changed even now as long there is no wire splicing done.
better get it confirmed with the Dealer.
Could you please tell me the difference between the bumper guard and nudge guards. I would presume bumper guards are made of metal while nudge guards are made of PU. Correct me if I am wrong. Also kindly tell me which would be the best possible option in case of nudge guards (both front and rear).

congrats for your new ride bro.the colour is awsome.[clap]
Thank you buddy for your compliments. I am glad most of the people who have seen the car are liking the colour. I was a bit apprehensive when I selected the black colour instead of the white but now I think I have made the best possible choice.

Hi RagMax,

Congrats and welcome to m-Hawk gang!

Did you ever consider the Xylo H series? Now, all the H series variants come with m-Hawk engines. E9's gear stick is similar to XUVs and is very slick.

8 people can comfortably travel and additional 2 people can squeeze in, if all are thin [lol]

I see that many people opt for Scorpio when they want a proper 7 or 8 seater. They prefer it compared to Xylo even though Xylo has more space, eually powerful engine, better fit and finish compared to Scorpio. It also can do decent off-roading as GC is higher than Scorpio. It has ESP which Scorpio does not.

I would like to know the reason for not choosing the new Xylo. I am just curious [thinking]
Thanks sudarshan. When we had plans of buying a car we never had any MUV in our list of choices. It was either Elantra which was the only sedan in our list and the rest were SUVs. I too liked the Xylo and would have gone for it had it not been our obsession of owning an SUV. You just dont get the same kind of feeling that you get in Scorpio if you are driving the Xylo. My next car would again be an SUV. I am loving it too much.

IMO Xylo has a massive body roll and the ride is pretty bumpy ( both in xylo and quanto ) and finally the looks and the bad road handling all these factors are responsible for choosing scorpio over xylo my uncle booked a scorpio 2 days back. These are the factors for people preferring scorpio.

Sir please before installing bull bars please read this ->

disadvantages
Vehicle manufacturers today spend considerable effort in 'tuning' the frontal structure of their vehicles in order to minimise the forces and accelerations on its occupants. Attaching a rigidly mounted bull-bar may affect the ability of a vehicle to perform as it was designed to, in a frontal collision.

Some bull-bar makers have been accused of designing their bars to snap off in a collision, so as not to influence the crash performance of the vehicle. However this measure would likely render the bull-bar ineffective in an animal strike.

Attaching a bull-bar to the front of a vehicle is unlikely to protect its occupants from injury in a collision and may actually have an adverse effect

bull-bars and airbags
Airbags and more particularly the sensors and computers used to trigger their inflation, are becoming increasingly sophisticated. The attachment of a bull-bar (i.e. one not certified for use by the vehicle manufacturer) has the potential to alter the triggering characteristics of the airbag, reducing its effectiveness. The result is an increase in risk of injury or death to the vehicle occupants seated where an airbag is fitted.

A number of vehicle manufacturers currently fit bull-bars through their dealerships that have been tested and certified by them as being compatible with their airbags. Motorists are advised to fit only bull-bars that have been deemed compatible with any airbags fitted to their vehicle.

The biggest disadvantage of bull-bars is the risk that they present to vulnerable road users, such as pedestrians, cyclists and motorcyclists. They also increase the aggressivity of a vehicle in car to car impacts. This is especially the case in side impact collisions, where occupants of the struck vehicle are at greater risk of injury if the impacting vehicle has a large rigid structure bolted to the front of it.

Another potential disadvantage is the potential increase in injury risk to the occupants of the bull-bar-equipped vehicle, as outlined above in Crashworthiness.

vehicle roadworthiness
As discussed above, bull-bars have the potential to interfere with a vehicle's crashworthiness. VicRoads' Road Safety (Vehicles) Regulations 2004 states that it is a requirement that vehicles built to comply with ADR 69 - Full Frontal Impact Occupant Protection continue to do so

Sir please before installing bull bars please read this ->

Thanks Raja for the information. It was very informative. Are there any bull bars or nudge guards authorized by Mahindra themselves which do not interfere in the safety features from functioning properly. If there are, please give me the details.

Guys, I just bought a carnauba wax from Formula 1 and some scrubbing clothes. I guess this will be fine if I use the carnauba wax on my Black Hawk. Any other suggestions are welcome.

Guys please find some more pictures of my Black Hawk below. These were taken during the PDI. Also attached is the image of the carnauba wax.

Fellow members, need some advice on buying a jet car washer to maintain my Black Hawk. Anybody using a jet car washer for their cars. Just found out one from Bosch on the net. Kindly check the image below.

Thanks Raja for the information. It was very informative. Are there any bull bars or nudge guards authorized by Mahindra themselves which do not interfere in the safety features from functioning properly. If there are, please give me the details.
To be very honest with you , kindly stay away from installing any kind of bull bars . The black Scorpio itself looks amazing without any kind of add ons
Why you want to put the bull bars for what reason actually ?

To be very honest with you , kindly stay away from installing any kind of bull bars . The black Scorpio itself looks amazing without any kind of add ons
Why you want to put the bull bars for what reason actually ?
Maybe it doesn't look nice on the Scorpio but the reason I am looking for a good nudge guard is because of the bumper to bumper traffic I will be encountering on my way to office. You might be knowing that Bangalore is renowned for reckless drivers. Just a couple of days back I saw one Ikon backing into an Innova and damaging the front bumper. The Ikon driver didn't even realized that he had backed into the Innova until the driver of the Innova shouted at him. These sort of thing happen almost each and every day in almost every big cities. Maybe we will have to live with these sort of idiotic drivers who don't even realize whether they are going forward or backwards.[frustration]

Brother your VLX model comes with airbags .

Bull bars, Nudge guards may interfere with the deployment of the airbags incase of a impact .

Secondly the crumple zones too get affected in case of collision if the car is installed with a bull bar .

What is important some scratches or life ?

Which was your previous car did you add a bull guard to it ? Have you seen any sedan , or any high end car with bull guards ? How do they protect their bumpers . ?

Scorpio has a super advantage first no one comes close to it because of its aggressive look , beside that being able to see both the edges of the bonnet it gives you a good idea of how close is your car heading .

Secondly there are many safe and wonderful options now available to prevent your cars side or bumper getting scratched .

3M has a transparent film which they install on the bumper and sides of the car which prevent scratches .
There are countless transparent side bumper and door guards also available which saves your car from getting scratched .

See the pics below . And read about the entire process and the product and it's implementation here ->

3M Paint Protection Film Review | MotorBeam – Indian Car Bike News & Reviews

Don't think iam pressing you or imposing my ideas on you please . You have bought a top of the line model with great safety options and adding a bull bar may make them go void If god forbid they are required someday to be used .

Brother your VLX model comes with airbags .

Don't think iam pressing you or imposing my ideas on you please . You have bought a top of the line model with great safety options and adding a bull bar may make them go void If god forbid they are required someday to be used .
No issues bro, Rightly pointed and I appreciate your concerns and I completely agree with you on this point. The whole purpose of me buying the VLX was for the sole reason that it has Airbags. Infact even before I got my car I had enquired on the transparent film in 3M car care thinking that I will not be using any bull bars on the car. It definitely seemed good enough to protect the car from scratches, but I never gave any serious thought about it after I took the delivery. Maybe I was a little over excited with my new car and was not able to comprehend the issues I will be facing if I opt for the bull bars. Thanks again for stressing on this very important issue and guiding me on the same. I would be checking with the 3M guys on this very soon. Again good to know that fellow members on TAI are keen to go to any length when they think that their friends are not able to make the correct decision.[:)]