Tata Zest XT Revotron: My Whitey, Pristine

Yes you can.
From the dealer it would be around 5-6k.
Outside/Online it would be 3-4k.
Not sure if the warranty gets void if we fit from outside.
Well I got after-market reverse sensors fitted on my storme. I was told by my SA that as long as the wire are not cut into two the validity is not voided.

Generally the only connection that is required is the activation of the reverse gear. So they need to connect to the reverse lights at the rear. They generally remove the protective plastic sheath of the wire connect the sensors input wire and wrap with insulation tape. So no cutting of wire and thus no warranty issue.

Well I got after-market reverse sensors fitted on my storme. I was told by my SA that as long as the wire are not cut into two the validity is not voided.

Generally the only connection that is required is the activation of the reverse gear. So they need to connect to the reverse lights at the rear. They generally remove the protective plastic sheath of the wire connect the sensors input wire and wrap with insulation tape. So no cutting of wire and thus no warranty issue.
I see that you are from hyderabad.

Did you get in the accessories shops in minister road near KIMS ?

How much price is the total set up including installation ?

Thread Starter #109
Aspire looks good on paper, however the reviews say its not the usual driver's car from a Ford's stable. Even the build quality is not up to Ford's standards. The 14 inch tire's look puny and definitely need an upgrade.
Zest's infotainment looks better than Aspire's. Both the engines are well refined in Zest and are a pleasure to drive. There's nothing you need to worry on the car. Zest has a bigger boot space as well.
All in all I don't see any value/justification for that 50k extra for Aspire compared to Zest.

Test drive both the cars, back to back and take a call. All the best.

I see that you are from hyderabad.

Did you get in the accessories shops in minister road near KIMS ?

How much price is the total set up including installation ?
I got it done from a shop near myhome (Madhapur) he charged me 3.3K for reverse sensors. I did not fit reverse cam as sensors work just fine for me. I have to reverse slowly and they work like charm. There is another variant wihch is around 4.5K which are anolog (difference is that they instantly pick the hinderances) like some one crossing in vehicle or you are reversing too fast.

both are of Autocop brand.

Guys, just saw an ad stating a zest XM petrol is for sale for 2 lacs. The odo shows 7800 kms. The price looks fishy. The owner says he is selling the car as he is leaving abroad.
Is it worth a look ?

Took back to back test drives of toyota etios diesel and tata zest diesel.

The ride quality is very good in etios and it was very good. For zest it felt planted on road due to its heavy weight.

Etios is very driveable and easy to handle heavy traffic.

Features and feel good zest was in different league altogether.

The etios GD was 8 lakhs on road and zest xms diesel was around 8.1 lakhs here on road. I can negotiate on the zest as the dealers have a lot of idle zests in their stockyard. The etios diesel is a super hit here in hyderabad with most of the cabbies opting for it. So not much discounts for etios. I am not going for the petrol due to its air con issue and low mileage.

My running is 9K to 10K per year, but even then I am looking to go for the diesel due to its proven engines and ability to handle highways alongwith good mileage in the long term.

I am seriously confused after the test drive. [frustration]

I have rejected aspire once and for all.

The 14" don't justify the car and ford has clearly compromised on ride and handling. Its just another dzire for me. I am sorry to be harsh but I was clearly disappointed due to my higher expectations from it.

Need to wait to get another quotes for other dealers.

Hi, I own a Zest Revetron XMS. Since few days after running my vehicle for few kms whenever i stop at a signal i could feel jerks in the car....when i say jerks i feel as if the vehicle is struggling to stop the engine from turning off, i observe that the RPM goes down to 500 and again it comes back to 700-800 RPM during this period i can feel the car or seat shaking. I usually drive in ECo mode w/o A.C. I went to the service station but not sure if they have taken care of it. I am from Bangalore.

Have anyone of you faced this issue...if yes could you please give me the solution or guide me to the right service center in Bangalore.

Thread Starter #116
When the engine is trying to settle down during neutral there is a slight vibration which can only be felt if you observer and listen carefully. Apart from this I have never seen jerks which are obtrusive. If you haven't got the software upgrade after buying you can get it done at the service centre.

In Bangalore I have heard good reviews about Prerana Motors and Concorde Diary Circle. Check with them if the jerks are frequent and obtrusive.

Happy motoring.

When the engine is trying to settle down during neutral there is a slight vibration which can only be felt if you observer and listen carefully. Apart from this I have never seen jerks which are obtrusive. If you haven't got the software upgrade after buying you can get it done at the service centre.

In Bangalore I have heard good reviews about Prerana Motors and Concorde Diary Circle. Check with them if the jerks are frequent and obtrusive.

Happy motoring.

When we open the bonnet, can we see the ground in Zest ?
There is no under body protection? I had checked the Baleno and it too does not have that protection.

My simple question is - this should create a problem with all kinds of stuff getting an easy access to the bonnet. Or am I incorrect ?

Thread Starter #118
Yes this has kind of become a norm these days. You can easily see the ground in Zest. The layout is big and the engine is small. Rats and other rodents can easily make way to these compartments and do whatever they want. From here they can even go inside the car I guess. I saw small paper pieces usually the type of cutting only rat can make inside my passenger seat area.

Thread Starter #119
Got the 3rd Service done at Concorde Mysore Road.
Odo is hovering around 12k. The drive is going good, Engine sound has comparatively increased.
All the necessary consumables were filled free of cost. Wheel balancing weights(4 of them) were charged at Rs 250. Hand break was adjusted, basically tightened. A faint Steering column noise still persists even after mentioning it to the service advisor. He mentioned that all the Zest cars have this problem and we should be getting a fix from Tata. Not sure when it will be fixed, though. There was some rattling sound from the B-pillar/door(not sure), This has been sorted out. Good that they were able to identify it and fix it. I didn't have any faith in them to fix it. It came in as a surprise.
Washing and cleaning were done neatly however people are obsessed with the polish I believe. The wax or oily surface will be glaringly evident when you touch. This has been the case with every service or wash.

Overall I am happy compared to 2nd service, to be honest.

I am a regular to Aadya Motors in Hebbal (Closest to my home). They definitely are obsessed with polish. Even when i ask them not to use it. Washing is a real nightmare as you will find new scratches after they wipe the car dry.

By the way Don, do you drive with your windows rolled on? I always do that and I ran out of my car perfume recently. I regularly use Areon Wish Gel perfume. This is pretty strong and does a good job by keeping the big cabin smelling good. Do you guys have any other suggestions for a good car perfume except for Godrej or Ambi pur?