Tata Tigor (Kite-5) Compact Sedan Unveiled

Just don't give single penny to him unless you do PDI yourself and satisfied with car.
Also tell them not to go ahead with registration till you confirm.
Not much cash, so I would suggest not to complain.
Thanks for the info but today I saw the Tigor displayed on the shiwroom, it had the ok sticker on it. But when I saw it from inside its cabin lights were giving same intensity on normal mode and maximum mode. Is it normal? Can anyone tell about this who have noticed it?

Its very difficult to trust a dealership PDI.

Cabin light (center top) has one intensity only.
Though IC, HU and power windows light can be adjusted.

Drove the Tigor XZ(o) Petrol today. The car came to my home in the morning from the Noida dealer. The humble attitude of the SA who came with the car was worth appreciating. Unlike many SA(s) who act clever, he, agreed upon pre-delivery PDI too by me once the car is allotted and billing will be done after the go-ahead from my end. Booking amount quoted by him initially was 10K but telling him the official booking amount he agreed for 5K. To fill in the 6-8 months time for a bigger sedan, I plan to get a Tigor Petrol in Silver. However, Its a tussle between Aspire Top End Vs Tigor Top End. This car is strictly for local city use and I want to reduce the use of my Honda City. As of now the waiting period for Tigor is 6-8 weeks.

The TD done was with my Dad and my driver. We were 4 pax in the car. Now, sharing my views about the car.

* Copper Dazzle in Sunlight looks not as pleasing as Tiago's sunburst Orange.

* Gear Vibrations are very very less in petrol version.

* Rear Seats for tall people like my dad is comfortable in terms of back-support and under-thigh support and legroom. Headroom is also acceptable.

* Ingress and Egress are OK but not the best as told by my dad. A 60+ year old man's view on this is worth considering. Coming from a low seating Esteem, he said, its better than Esteem but still could be much better.

* If front seat is pushed back, the knee-room and legroom is a slight concern.

* Auto AC is fab. Cools fast and the Audio System shows the various controls of the Auto AC.

* Sound Quality of audio system is good too. The speakers seem to be of good quality.

* The front seats to me felt comfortable and in XZO the driver seat is height adjustable though. But in all its a 4 seater only.

* Gear Slotting is quite smooth too. No jerks.

* I drove the car in Eco mode and the acceleration is low and the lag is felt. The car makes effort to please you. The more you accelerate in Eco mode, the more evident it becomes that the 3 cylinder motor is under the hood. It is best suited for 70-80 km/h speed and normal cruising in city and not for a Fast & Furious street Race.

* City mode is better to drive in. The car's performance is much better in it.

* The HU screen Visibility in sunlight was not as impressive.

* NVH wise surely a good job done specially in petrol. The in-cabin insulation are good enough.

* In terms of ride, the suspension is well balanced and unscientific speed breakers in my sector didn't give much jerk to my dad in the rear seat.

* Steering feedback also was very good. Though its light enough to turn still in the range of 70-80 km/h speed range, the feedback is very assuring.

* The clutch feedback is similar to that of Tiago and the brakes too were responsive.

20170403_112359.jpg

20170403_112145.jpg

20170403_110931.jpg

20170403_110944.jpg

20170403_111104.jpg

20170403_111109.jpg

If Akaash is considering Tigor then it must be a great car[;)]

Akaash if it is still a war between Aspire and Tigor for the petrol then I must say Tigor should make the cut as the build quality is far ahead in this Tata with unmatched styling in the CS space.

Please share the engine note and the kind of refinement felt with the balancer which is now fitted in this motor. Is it at par with the other 3 pot mills available in the market?

If Akaash is considering Tigor then it must be a great car
Trust me, Petrol Tigor is a no-nonsense compact, simple car with ease of driving.[:D]

Akaash if it is still a war between Aspire and Tigor for the petrol then I must say Tigor should make the cut as the build quality is far ahead in this Tata with unmatched styling in the CS space.
Yaar this is the issue. If I am alone in taking decision, then, I would have gladly paid the booking of the car in morning itself. Mummy came in between and she is still stuck on a Rapid segment. She has absolutely no idea of technicalities and goes by looks only. As for the built quality, I earlier told too, "Built Quality is strong too and believe me as I checked the XZ (o) variant today, the doors felt quite solid and convincing feel was there unlike some of the Japs on offer." In Aspire what I get is a 3 star safety rating, Black Color, Bigger Petrol engine, AT Transmission, better safety in terms of air-bags. But, Aspire is low on rear seat comfort.

Please share the engine note and the kind of refinement felt with the balancer which is now fitted in this motor. Is it at par with the other 3 pot mills available in the market?
Video will be uploaded soon. But yes the balancer shaft has made a difference.

so we are gonna see an excellent ownership review for Tigor ! wish you many smiling miles!
I have not taken a final call till now. Its in planning stage only. Any car that I'll get in between, will be a gap filler between my City and Big sedan which I intend to buy later this year. But yes, for me, Tigor Petrol is a sufficient city car as I am not keeping too high hopes with this one and I want to keep limited options so it will be easy to choose and won't want to make 100 posts and come up with no results.[:)] The ownership review will surely be an epic one of the car that finally comes.

* The HU screen Visibility in sunlight was not as impressive.
Thanks for the pictures Akash ji. How was the responsiveness of touch screen? It was quite laggy in a youtube review from media drives.
I didn't notice the SD card slot in Tigor until your close up shots. It is a welcome addition on top of USB slot, there will be no chance of breaking pen drives or worst case the port itself.

Thanks for the pictures Akash ji. How was the responsiveness of touch screen? It was quite laggy in a youtube review from media drives.
To me it was not really quick neither too slow. It was acceptable enough. The reason I am considering this car is to fill in the gap for the next 6-8 months as I mentioned above[:)]. Now, took mom to dealer so that in daytime we can check the Silver color. I like Silver because its easiest to maintain, scratches don't appear pronounced and paint matching is easy. Also, if any imperfection is there, in light colors its easy to spot them. Lastly, my Esteem was also of Silver color so wanted to own a Silver car again.

The biggest hurdle for my family and not me is the moving away from Maruti Suzuki to TATA. I took stand and against the wishes of my mother, I ruled out Maruti Suzuki from the list. Also, I told her, "you want a Maruti again simply because my uncle has a dealership and he gives us care and gave attention to Esteem but now there is no car in Maruti which can meet the reliability of an Esteem". It was a tough call to make and its impossible for all to be against the parent's wish when planning to purchase a car. I told her, until you explore other brands, perception will not change. I am 90% convinced for petrol Tigor XZ (o) rest 10% is for the price negotiation and that I need to do in next 2 days. If all goes well, then will book the car by Thursday. However, I informed again the SA before hand, after the booking amount, the next payment will be done only once I approve the allotted car in PDI to which he agreed. What I am planning is, I will not go for AMC, Zero Dep and Basic Kit. Instead, I will opt for a normal insurance from Dealer if I buy Tigor.

To me it was not really quick neither too slow. It was acceptable enough. The reason I am considering this car is to fill in the gap for the next 6-8 months as I mentioned above[:)]. Now, took mom to dealer so that in daytime we can check the Silver color. I like Silver because its easiest to maintain, scratches don't appear pronounced and paint matching is easy. Also, if any imperfection is there, in light colors its easy to spot them. Lastly, my Esteem was also of Silver color so wanted to own a Silver car again.

The biggest huddle for my family and not me is the moving away from Maruti Suzuki to TATA. I took stand and against the wishes of my mother, I ruled out Maruti Suzuki from the list. Also, I told her, "you want a Maruti again simply because my uncle has a dealership and he gives us care and gave attention to Esteem but now there is no car in Maruti which can meet the reliability of an Esteem". It was a tough call to make and its impossible for all to be against the parent's wish when planning to purchase a car. I told her, until you explore other brands, perception will not change. I am 90% convinced for petrol Tigor XZ (o) rest 10% is for the price negotiation and that I need to do in next 2 days. If all goes well, then will book the car by Thursday. However, I informed again the SA before hand, after the booking amount, the next payment will be done only once I approve the allotted car in PDI to which he agreed. What I am planning is, I will not go for AMC, Zero Dep and Basic Kit. Instead, I will opt for a normal insurance from Dealer if I buy Tigor.

Please check white as well as Its my hunch that white would be the best color for Tigor [;)] and share the pics with us if you get hold of White tigor

Sirji is there P2P type AMC available for Tigor too like Tiago?
Are you referring to "Point to Point" AMC just like B2B Insurance?

Please check white as well as Its my hunch that white would be the best color for Tigor and share the pics with us if you get hold of White tigor
Will see that surely.