Tata Tigor (Kite-5) Compact Sedan Unveiled

Not having ABS, Airbags in the base variant is smart to show a low price point and may attract the taxi market when they allow that; however i feel it is a self goal-most others are moving towards safety in all variants.

Yes, as per the insider info, the optional variants will be introduced once the initial demands will be taken care of. Tata did this to maintain a good demand vs delivery ratio and to decrease the inventory management chalenges.

If one can live without ACC then XZ variant is a good buy and pretty much loaded with all the features required.
One thing I believe that ABS is more important than airbags and am happy that Tata is providing ABS in other variants as well rather than XZO or XZ variant.

If you can live with expensive service and poor fuel economy then yes. Of course VW has brand value more than a tata.
Highlight what brand value VW has apart from being Vidheshi ?? Getting into the famous Diesel gate ? Releasing the same model face lifts since years ?

With due respect, for most aam Aadmi, VW is has better brand value. If you go any place in India or even US, VW still is perceived premium brand over Toyota or Honda let alone Tata. Travel to a function in Polo vs Bolt you can see difference in attitude of people. May be because it's maintenance is costly, so to own one you have to be rich ;). Just kidding.

Meanwhile, is Ameo buid quality better than Tigor/Tiago? Can someone please shed more light.

My only reason of thinking about Ameo came because of perceived better brand and built over Tiago and lack of safety features in XE model.

With due respect, for most aam Aadmi, VW is has better brand value. If you go any place in India or even US, VW still is perceived premium brand over Toyota or Honda let alone Tata. Travel to a function in Polo vs Bolt you can see difference in attitude of people. May be because it's maintenance is costly, so to own one you have to be rich ;). Just kidding.

Meanwhile, is Ameo buid quality better than Tigor/Tiago? Can someone please shed more light.

My only reason of thinking about Ameo came because of perceived better brand and built over Tiago and lack of safety features in XE model.
Why should you go by what others think? Your money, you drive and you have bought it coz it satisfy your needs. Don't choose a car because other think it is better or to showcase your stading position (showoff).

Ameo should have better build than Tigor.

Polo vs bolt is a different story and Tigor vs Ameo is different.

Last Friday we went to a party and one of my friends driving Ameo and the reaction of people were like "ih taan jugaad hai" meant its just a cheap alternative as in आम आदमी take it as Vento/Rapid shortened to Ameo

Where in Tigor will stand out for it's fastback design and precieved as premium product and step above to Tiago.

So it's all about you how you think and brand value is also about resale and how people give a chase look in second glance . These days Tata cars are no short on build and interior quality. Even you can listen words like is it Tata? After they sit in it.

And you can't get enough from a base model from almost any brand.

It's not me who think like this, but the people i am surrounded think like this and they are medicos and well educated. Thats the perception. IMO tigor is anyday better than ameo except base variant.

IMO tigor is anyday better than ameo except base variant.
Hi Rishabh, If we compare a diesel Tigor to a diesel AMEO, then Tigor looses its ground on many aspects buddy. Below are the specs of AMEO.

20160202_134336.jpg

Ameo has 1.5 TDI Diesel engine with an option of DSG where as Tigor gets same Tiago wala diesel engine and no option of AMT or AT. Comparing the performance, AMEO Diesel definitely performs better than Tigor Diesel buddy.

These days Tata cars are no short on build and interior quality. Even you can listen words like is it Tata? After they sit in it.
Oh man, I can relate it. Have listened and liked it many times when dad's friend sit in our Tiago and says it has great suspensions and pretty quiet. They weren't able to make out that its diesel.

In Tiago even if we redline (talking of diesel), one doesn't get any vibes. In Tigor it should be atleast same or better.

It's not me who think like this, but the people i am surrounded think like this and they are medicos and well educated. Thats the perception. IMO tigor is anyday better than ameo except base variant.
Why let others decide your car?
I can't understand why it affects you? Why do you want to 'Log kya khainge' ?

Its simple funda:-
1. If Petrol settle for Tigor
2. If diesel then go with Ameo

Hi Rishabh, If we compare a diesel Tigor to a diesel AMEO, then Tigor looses its ground on many aspects buddy. Below are the specs of AMEO.

Ameo has 1.5 TDI Diesel engine with an option of DSG where as Tigor gets same Tiago wala diesel engine and no option of AMT or AT. Comparing the performance, AMEO Diesel definitely performs better than Tigor Diesel buddy.

Of course Akash. I was talking about petrol as OP is considering petrol only.

Oh man, I can relate it. Have listened and liked it many times when dad's friend sit in our Tiago and says it has great suspensions and pretty quiet. They weren't able to make out that its diesel.

In Tiago even if we redline (talking of diesel), one doesn't get any vibes. In Tigor it should be atleast same or better.

Why let others decide your car?
I can't understand why it affects you? Why do you want to 'Log kya khainge' ?

Its simple funda:-
1. If Petrol settle for Tigor
2. If diesel then go with Ameo
Very true GautamJ. You have some misunderstanding. I don't allow anybody to take my decision. It's the AAM Aadmis perception and I don't care about it. My money, my decision.

Hi guys, today I went at my dealership to finalise my Tigor and to know it's final price, also I had to get the quotation for the loan. He asked me to deposit some more cash if I want to make my car hold and get it early. So I did give him a cheque of 20000 Rs. He also gave me the receipt and said that they will give the car to the person whose payment comes first. So I wanted to know that is it ok that I gave him the money?

today I went at my dealership to finalise my Tigor and to know it's final price, also I had to get the quotation for the loan. He asked me to deposit some more cash if I want to make my car hold and get it early. So I did give him a cheque of 20000 Rs. He also gave me the receipt and said that they will give the car to the person whose payment comes first. So I wanted to know that is it ok that I gave him the money?
Let me tell you your SA is a big time fool. He is simply pushing you to make the payment so that he can close a sale and claim his incentive. No need of paying him the rest of the amount now. Let the car come, check the car and then pay him the money. You are simply falling on mercy of the SA and blocking your money. Do not pay heed to your SA's pushing. Since its the beginning of the month and a new financial year, your SA is cleverly taking advantage of your situation and the new car.

Hi guys, today I went at my dealership to finalise my Tigor and to know it's final price, also I had to get the quotation for the loan. He asked me to deposit some more cash if I want to make my car hold and get it early. So I did give him a cheque of 20000 Rs. He also gave me the receipt and said that they will give the car to the person whose payment comes first. So I wanted to know that is it ok that I gave him the money?
Till 20k its ok. But don't pay if they ask 50k when they say car is in-transit, they may go ahead with registration then. If they ask, tell them that now you wouldn't pay a single penny before you PDI the car and approve it.
If they went ahead with registration, you wouldn't be able to change car in worst condition.

Till 20k its ok. But don't pay if they ask 50k when they say car is in-transit, they may go ahead with registration then. If they ask, tell them that now you wouldn't pay a single penny before you PDI the car and approve it.
If they went ahead with registration, you wouldn't be able to change car in worst condition.
He first asked me to pay 50k or more and tried to convince me that if I would pay more money than their GM would give us the car more quickly so now he is having total money of 25100 RS( first before its launch I gave him the check of 5100 Rs)

Now what should I do. Should I try to complain about him or what?

Let me tell you your SA is a big time fool. He is simply pushing you to make the payment so that he can close a sale and claim his incentive. No need of paying him the rest of the amount now. Let the car come, check the car and then pay him the money. You are simply falling on mercy of the SA and blocking your money. Do not pay heed to your SA's pushing. Since its the beginning of the month and a new financial year, your SA is cleverly taking advantage of your situation and the new car.

So what should I do now. Contact his higher authorities or should I complain about him and his dealership to Tata or consumer court? I have now paid him 25100 rs( 20k today and 5100 before the car's launch)
I think I am making a big time fool of myself.

He first asked me to pay 50k or more and tried to convince me that if I would pay more money than their GM would give us the car more quickly so now he is having total money of 25100 RS( first before its launch I gave him the check of 5100 Rs)

Now what should I do. Should I try to complain about him or what?
Just don't give single penny to him unless you do PDI yourself and satisfied with car.
Also tell them not to go ahead with registration till you confirm.
Not much cash, so I would suggest not to complain.