Tata Tiago Petrol XZ - A Layman's Long Term Ownership Review

Re: Tata Tiago Petrol XZ - A Layman's Review: 10,000 Kms Milestone

Have a Query:Should i take AMC of 45000kms/4 years at Rs.4500/- or avoid??
Mileage seems to be less IMO. I have atleast got 16 kmpl (as per tftf) earlier but after that I easily get around 20 kmpl (as per tftf). Plus I drive in city mode with ac (100%) only. I would suggest using city mode in city conditions and eco mode only during cruising highway speeds.

I would suggest better go with P2P rather than Gold. It is much better package at that cost. Gold AMC isn't worth.

My Tiago xz Diesel 45 days 1800kms review:
Mileage so far:18.4kmpl overall (as per Mid)
Mileage in city:18kmpl(mostly 2nd & 3rd Gear)
Mileage on Bangalore airport run:14kmpl(total 800kms ,speed of 110-140 with luggage & 4 adults & 2 kids with AC,including bangalore city traffic)
Mileage on highway:25kmpl(speed of 70-90kmph with AC).
Value Add on the Car:
1.Seat Covers:7300/- 2. full mat & Noodle mats:4700/- 3.Reverse Horn:200/- 4.Alloys wheels(from Dealer):Rs25000/- 5.Car Roof Carrier:7300/-(now removed after Bangalore trip) 6.Mobile Holder:1000/-
Car is very comfortable,no rattles,easy to drive,AC is quite effective on all occasions.
Eco mode is used all times as very little requirement of City Mode.Audio is top class.Car is easy to clean both inside & Outside.Pickup is low in eco mode & in times of need city mode is more than sufficient.
Have a Query:Should i take AMC of 45000kms/4 years at Rs.4500/- or avoid??
Go for P2P along with that try nitrogen in tyres to get best out of it with the alloys. Will share some data points soon on nitrogen for alloys in Tiago a currently some data points are missing[:D]

Back from 1st service at SRT Tata.
Paid 4399 for P2P of 45000kms/4 years.Papers will be given in 2 days time.Extended warranty papers yet to recieve even after 40 days time.Other cost was 360 for a broken clip of stay rod of front bonnet & ultrashield service[surprise].
Clutch has been adjusted as per my liking.Vehicle was neat & clean both inside & outside.As regards Mileage I was told to continue driving normally & avoid any speed above 100 till 2nd service.

Harman Audio was updated as per dealer but not sure as it shows last update at 30june 2016.whom to contact for this.
Also saw a Hexa getting ready for a road trip to London.(in 70 days by a team of 4 ladies,trip cost around 60 lakhs,24 countries).

Thread Starter #349

Visited TASC yesterday to check on a couple of things:
  1. Slight left pulling, possible wheel alignment issue.
  2. Harman ICE: Navigation option missing post update, backlight on volume and browse dials does not work.
  3. Request to claim warranty replacement of rear right parcel tray holder, It never stayed in place since PDI.

Wheel Alignment was slightly off and was corrected. It felt steady but could not test it thoroughly due to lack of flat, straight roads on my way back. Will test over the weekend. Looks like they ran out of plain paper and started re-using printed ones, good luck in interpreting this mess.
Wheel_Alignment _Edit.jpg

I believe they did something with their laptop and/or reset Harman to factory settings to get the Navigation option back. However, the circular dials still don't have their backlight, which I did not test before dusk.[frustration]
Harman_Volume_Dial.jpg

Parcel Tray holder's locking clips were replaced and it seems to be strong now, upon testing with bare hand. Time will tell if this proves to have fixed it. They also replaced wiper blades (again) claiming they are making good use of Gold AMC package [anger].
Service_Invoice_Edit.jpg

Oh and by the way, this happened on my way back [:D]:
Odo_11111.jpg

Thread Starter #353

Hi Prabhagar,
you could have gone for Diesel
BTW, Eagerly waiting to see 1L kms on your Tiago ODO
1L? He might reach it before I touch 50-60k!
Yes guys, I obviously overshot my running estimates. Except for that one long drive to Yelagiri, my ODO chart is quite linear. I never considered diesels during car shopping as I neither drove one nor knew their inherent differences in behaviour/power delivery. Even at this rate, 1L is 5 years away [evil].
ODO_Chart.png

Yes guys, I obviously overshot my running estimates. Except for that one long drive to Yelagiri, my ODO chart is quite linear. I never considered diesels during car shopping as I neither drove one nor knew their inherent differences in behaviour/power delivery. Even at this rate, 1L is 5 years away [evil].
[clap]

If your running is going to be like this, I see no point in sticking to petrol. But it's up to you!

Diesels are fun to drive and lately they have grown beyond our expectations. Hyundai/Ford diesels are a good example of how it changed over the period. It is butter smooth, picks pace in tremendous way and much more economical than petrol siblings! So to put it this way, Diesel is as much fun as driving petrol except couple of things!

Thread Starter #355

[clap]

If your running is going to be like this, I see no point in sticking to petrol. But it's up to you!

Diesels are fun to drive and lately they have grown beyond our expectations. Hyundai/Ford diesels are a good example of how it changed over the period. It is butter smooth, picks pace in tremendous way and much more economical than petrol siblings! So to put it this way, Diesel is as much fun as driving petrol except couple of things!
I agree that Diesel mills have come a long way now and are a pleasure to drive too. Financially it is not wise to trade in at this point in time, I will wait for another year to make that decision. My next purchase won't happen without TD'ing quite a few cars for sure [:)].

^^ Selling your Tiago at this point of time sure is a big loss! I was just pointing out the obvious. But as long as we are okay with fuel cost, we have nothing to worry about and I, personally prefer Petrols over diesels.

So screw the mileage for me!

Thread Starter #357

Tata Tiago Harman Engineering (Service) Menu
Credits: This post would not have been possible if not for Sanmeet ji who shared this with fellow Tiago owners via social networks. Special thanks to him!

As with (almost) all electronics products, Tiago's Harman audio system is also equipped with a hidden service menu. This menu is typically used by their technicians for troubleshooting and maintenance purposes. We will go through the secret key sequence to launch this menu and review each of the options available.

The Secret Button Sequence:
Press and hold Media button, then Radio button, then press and release Home button.
00_Home_Keys.jpg

You should see the engineering menu as shown below with 6 options. Navigating through this menu is similar to regular functions in the system.
01_Engg 00.jpg

Software Download:
Displays current version of audio system software and allows updating to latest version...
02_Software 01.jpg

... provided you have the executable file in the USB port. Otherwise, this error message is displayed.
02_Software 02.jpg

Display Setup:
Display Brightness: Allows changing the monochrome display's brightness levels (0 thru 100).
Keypad Brightness: Allows changing the backlight brightness levels of buttons (0 thru 100).
03_Brightness 01.jpg

If you are a keen observer, you would have noticed that my Volume and Menu knobs (the two circular dials) aren't back-lit in the above images. This happened after I upgraded to version 1.7 back in Feb-2017. My original version, 1.3 did not have this issue (reference image). My dealer is working on getting Harman folks appointment to troubleshoot this issue. Also note the the keypad setting affects only the volume and menu knobs' brightness, all other buttons retain the same levels irrespective of this setting. At around level 33, the dials loose their backlight completely, as shown in below image:
03_Brightness 000_Keypad4.jpg

Park Assist:
This option requires they key to be in ON position and triggers a variation of park assist mode. Here, a numeric value for each sensor is displayed which reduces as the object(s) come closer.
04_Park Assist 01.jpg

It starts at 255 (about 4 feet) and drops to 0 where STOP is displayed on the screen. It may be useful to ensure each of the sensors are working and in acceptable accuracy levels.
04_Park Assist 02.jpg

Test Mode (Media)
This menu automatically switches between Media and Tuner modes depending on the active audio source. In media mode, it displays information about the audio file being played: bit rate, sampling rate etc. Speed dependent volume levels can also be tested using this option, though I did not test this when running.
05_Test Media 00a.jpg

Test Mode (Tuner)
In Tuner mode, we get to see a lot of data pertaining to frequency, signal strength etc, along with speed dependent volume levels.
05_Test Media 00b.jpg

Debug Logs
A check box to turn ON/OFF log files of the system. However, I could not see any files in my USB stick even after driving for quite sometime with this turned ON.
06_Debug Log.jpg

Temperature
Current ambient temperature in Celsius is displayed in parenthesis.
01_Engg 02.jpg

That's all folks, please feel free to try this out in your Tiago (or any Tata vehicle with Harman audio for that matter) and let me know your thoughts. You might find different options or functionality based on your system and current software version.

Congrats on the milestone ji. Don't worry about petrol vs diesel logic etc. You got a good car enjoy it. No matter how good diesels are, the basic character of are petrol car (drive in any gear any speed almost* ) and u don't really work the gears much as power is felt across the entire rev band. So u have fair bit of plus points to hang on to.

Thanks for this. I checked in my friend's car and the knobs weren't backlit. Also checked the parking sensors. Although after checking the sound became too low so i enteted the settings again and the parking beep sound came back to original sound level.

Thread Starter #360

Congrats on the milestone ji. Don't worry about petrol vs diesel logic etc. You got a good car enjoy it. No matter how good diesels are, the basic character of are petrol car (drive in any gear any speed almost* ) and u don't really work the gears much as power is felt across the entire rev band. So u have fair bit of plus points to hang on to.
Thanks for the kind words bro. As I noted earlier, I have never driven diesels in the past and so no worries. The 1 year consideration is only if Nexon proves to be a worthy upgrade and TML offers a mouth watering trade in option, the latter won't happen for sure [evil].

Thanks for this. I checked in my friend's car and the knobs weren't backlit. Also checked the parking sensors. Although after checking the sound became too low so i enteted the settings again and the parking beep sound came back to original sound level.
Thanks for trying this out bro. The knobs are backlit in your attachment, did you wrongly type "weren't backlit" in your post?