Tata Tiago Petrol XZ - A Layman's Long Term Ownership Review

Thread Starter #316
re: Tata Tiago Petrol XZ - A Layman's Review, "10000 KM milestone".

what's with the 6 months service schedule but yearly oil change ?
We discussed this earlier here. Quoting the post below for easy reading:
I just reviewed the service schedule from user manual (page 118) and there aren't any critical check points during 7.5K service intervals. Below are the only items listed for this service (rephrased for simplicity):
  • Wash the car and clean condenser fins.
  • Check & top up fluids.
  • Check fuel lines for leakages.
  • Check and clear ECU error codes (probably for reporting/analytics ?).
  • Check and tighten all bolts and nuts.
  • Rotate tyres.
  • Check Battery.
  • Clean AC filter & check HVAC performance.
To me these doesn't sound like lack of confidence by Tata, rather rudimentary checks which not all owners are capable of doing at home. Let me know if you have any questions.

But I think it's useless. They must have recommened unnecessary items so that the bill goes up. Had same experience with maruti(cousin's Ritz 2nd service him costed 11k because of unnecessary items) ,hyundai( supercharger , ac vent cleaning etc) now ford too(suspesnion lubricants for 380rs for my figo)

I don't even give the car at free checkup camps because of the same reason.

Thread Starter #318

But I think it's useless. They must have recommened unnecessary items so that the bill goes up. Had same experience with maruti(cousin's Ritz 2nd service him costed 11k because of unnecessary items) ,hyundai( supercharger , ac vent cleaning etc) now ford too(suspesnion lubricants for 380rs for my figo)

I don't even give the car at free checkup camps because of the same reason.
I don't deny that. We will have to wait and watch once the free services are done with.

Re: Tata Tiago Petrol XZ - A Layman's Review, "10000 KM milestone".

My dealership (SRT Tata, Coimbatore) had organized a small owners meet today. It was scheduled to start at 11am with a short presentation of Tiago's features, followed by a hands-on session to explain basics of engine bay stuff, instrument cluster, infotainment, spare wheel replacement etc.

Soon after I checked in, the Hexa was driven in and its features were explained:
View attachment 221154

Very few turned up at 11:15am. So a few of us took the Hexa for a spin:
View attachment 221155

By the time we got back from TD, they had started hands on session. A technician explaining how to check and replace starter fuse with a spare:
View attachment 221156

Spare wheel replacement procedure. This is where the jack is to be positioned. Notice the hook provided to secure the car during transit (tow trucks, for example). I had earlier noticed another hook in rear wheel here.
View attachment 221157

View attachment 221158

Since the meet happened inside service center, the ambiance was totally different. Lunch was served at 3rd floor and we were taken in this HUGE elevator, intended intended for vehicles to be moved around floors:
View attachment 221159

Lunch was good, with veg and non-veg options. Notice the service bays behind [:D].
View attachment 221160

Q&A section with a TML rep and the dealership's service manager:
View attachment 221162

While all these happened inside, our cars were undergoing a free foam wash:
View attachment 221163

View attachment 221164

Cars were lined up to take off after the event:
View attachment 221165

Customary group photo:
View attachment 221166

A small gift for attending the meet:
View attachment 221167

Overall, the event was very informative for first car owners / new drivers, and beneficial for others to get to know each other in the same city. Our dealership also has a WhatsApp group for Tiago owners to address customers' questions and issues. These little things really increases our trust levels with TASC as well as TML.

Disclaimer: I am not affiliated with this dealership in anyway other than buying my Tiago from them.
These kind of practices are a great effort from their side to know the Customers better and indeed a courteous effort. I believe almost all Companies should do the same.

Crossed 10000 KM milestone today [:D]. If not for the recent long drive of 730 KM for the TAI meet, this would have happened after 2-3 weeks.
View attachment 221106

Also updated my Harman ICE software from V1.3 to V1.7. Per my earlier request, TASC arranged an appointment with Harman technicians for today. The update process took hardly 15 minutes and I was out of there in less than an hour.
View attachment 221107

The new version responds to steering controls almost instantly which took almost half a second earlier. Also noticed font changes in the HU display.
View attachment 221108

Other than these, there are no noticeable feature additions.
Congratulations Prabhagar on completing the 10k kms milestone.

Thread Starter #321

Congratulations Prabhagar on completing the 10k kms milestone.
Thank you Mukesh, and congrats on your 8500 milestone too. I guess we were posting on each other's thread at the same time [:)].
And thanks for sharing your observation on abnormal engine note after a day of rest. I had posted my car's video on your thread but wanted to mention it here as well.

Started mine after two days of idle time. You may need headphones to note the abnormal engine note from 00:25 onward:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jl1D_UCPNAk
And this is my buddy's Tiago, delivered around same month as mine. You can clearly notice it from 00:30 at the exhaust tip:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p2JOfRyIUAI
By the way, it took a solid 2 minutes to warm up and settle down at 850RPM when started after a week's time.

Thank you Mukesh, and congrats on your 8500 milestone too. I guess we were posting on each other's thread at the same time [:)].
And thanks for sharing your observation on abnormal engine note after a day of rest. I had posted my car's video on your thread but wanted to mention it here as well.

Started mine after two days of idle time. You may need headphones to note the abnormal engine note from 00:25 onward:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jl1D_UCPNAk
And this is my buddy's Tiago, delivered around same month as mine. You can clearly notice it from 00:30 at the exhaust tip:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p2JOfRyIUAI
By the way, it took a solid 2 minutes to warm up and settle down at 850RPM when started after a week's time.
I've noted similar noise when I started my Tiago here in Bengaluru during winter after 5 days gap.

Also, it took around 1 - 3 minutes for the RPM to settle.

I tried switching from City -> Eco -> City, but nothing changed in terms of Engine RPM.

But, once it got warmed up, there was no issue while changing mode.

I've noted similar noise when I started my Tiago here in Bengaluru during winter after 5 days gap.

Also, it took around 1 - 3 minutes for the RPM to settle.

I tried switching from City -> Eco -> City, but nothing changed in terms of Engine RPM.

But, once it got warmed up, there was no issue while changing mode.
When did you buy the car. In which month it was manufactured?

Thread Starter #325

When did you buy the car. In which month it was manufactured?
@AHC,
I personally don't think this is a major issue, could very well be related to winter weather. However, if you like to hear from other owners with recent batches, please visit Concorde Mathura Road on 19th March around noon. There is an exclusive customer meet scheduled for Atom Club members (Tiago Owners Club) similar to what my dealership did.
Concorde_Atom_Invite.jpg

Re: Tata Tiago Petrol XZ - A Layman's Review: 10,000 Kms Milestone

Dear Fellow TAIgers,

This post is a layman’s observation of driving around his Tiago for about 15 days/1000 KM. I am no good at writing so included several pictures save you from boredom. Looking forward to your comments and critics. Thanks!

Background

I am one of those IT guys who spent a few years abroad (you guessed it right, USA) and returned home earlier this year. One of the necessities after living a relatively luxurious life abroad is “car” and in my case I also wanted it to be safe to drive around, because:
  • I am a new dad and obviously (over)concerned about my baby’s safety.

• I got used to driving disciplines of the west and nervous of our roads/drivers.
With this in mind, I had my requirements sorted out:
  • Strong structural body that can withstand accidents.

• Airbags are a must (at least driver side).

• Budget 5L (max 6L)

• Comfortable rear seating as my baby and wife will be seated behind most of the time.

• Nice to have: Decent ICE with steering mounted controls (I change songs/volume often).

The Search

With safety on top priority, I started my search with the Japanese car makers Honda and Toyota (I owned a Civic sedan back in the States). Test drove the all new Jazz and instantly fell in love with it. Then came my second priority - a budget of 5L. The pricing sheet of Jazz SV was slapped on my face and made me walk away with disappointment. Didn’t bother TD’ing other cars as almost all of them were missing one or the other requirements of mine under 5L budget. Safety comes at a premium in our market!

While at this confused state, a friend of mine sent the official review links of Tiago and sat down with me discussing all its good stuff (pricing was not announced back then). I wasn’t impressed with the car just because it was a Tata and for some reason it resembled Indica to me. Slowly my negative bias towards Tata faded away as I read through all the good reviews and TD feedback on forums. Shortly after that, Tiago’s official launch announced the stunning price tag.

We visited a Tata dealership at Coimbatore and found 4 Tiago’s on display. Test drove and realized all those good stuff were actually true and honest. So I went ahead and booked Petrol XZ variant on 20-Apr-2016 with a 4 week waiting period. I made up my mind to accept the risks involved in brand new engine and possible niggles with first few production batches, needless to say Tata’s ASS.

A quick note on other cars I had researched (didn’t TD any of them though):
  • Toyota Etios Liva: So-so looks and interiors. Out of my league on budget.

• VW Polo: Emissions scandal.

• Maruti Swift: Poor VFM and safety features. Tight rear seat experience and unusable boot.

• Maruti Celerio: Considered only because of its AMT transmission.

• Mahindra KUV100: No comments!

• Renault Kwid: Didn’t bother as it had 6+ months waiting period.

• Hyundai Grand i10: Expensive. Boring interior design IMO.

• Ford Figo: Poor reviews on Petrol engine and arguable build quality in facelift.

PDI & Delivery

My restless wait continued while I was following Tiago news and updates on various forums/news sources. That’s when I joined TAI and also made friends with some nice people on the Tiago WhatsApp group.

My car had arrived at dealer’s stockyard on 24-May and I did a quick PDI on 28-May. Everything looked good with very minor issues (PDI Link). Wrote them a check for balance amount to proceed with temp registration and finalized delivery on 2-Jun-2016.

On the day of delivery, I visited the showroom with my family, signed the paperwork and listened to boring explanations by the CRM person. We were running out of “good” time to take the car to a nearby temple for pooja.

• To our surprise, they had arranged for ribbon cutting ceremony:
View attachment 203400
  • The sales team surprised us by showing up in blazers for the ceremony!
View attachment 203401
  • Official pooja:
View attachment 203402
  • Sales manager handed over keys along with a flower bouquet and sweets packet. We shared our sweets with them and presented token gifts to my SA’s (I had to deal with 2 of them):
View attachment 203403

• We happily drove home our brand new Tiago [:D]:
View attachment 203404

Dealership Experience (SRT Tata, Coimbatore):

Overall, dealership experience was decent. They had the most cars on display and were constantly showcasing their mods to promote sales. My SA’s were courteous amidst hot discussions back and forth on advance part-payment for allotment and handling charges (which I lost to them in lieu of RTO fees of 3K for temp registration). They were open to purchasing outside insurance too. I bought from Royal Sundaram for 16.5K vs their quote of 23.5K from New India. Also they didn’t have the EW and AMC booklets from TML during delivery.

Cost Split Up:

View attachment 203405

Initial Impressions:

Exterior:
  • I have grown to like the squat look of Tiago when looked at an angle from behind.

• Being one of the few Tiagos in my city, heads turn and I am poked for on-road price, mileage etc. Gratified!

• Orange paint appears to have two shades (at least to my eyes) in daylight.

• The turn indicators flashes once for unlock and twice for lock. Not sure if this is the convention in our country. I am used to the opposite. No audible confirmation for successful lock/unlock though.

• Didn't notice tail lamps at night for a few days until my dad drove it. I always though the entire red piece would glow but this is a pleasant surprise:
View attachment 203410

• Rear mud flaps appears do not cover the wheel fully (not sure if this is by design):
View attachment 203408

• Front flaps are wide enough:
View attachment 203409

More pictures in this post: http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...go-petrol-xz-laymans-review-2.html#post505041
Interior:

• Piano black door handles are my favorite. They are placed at the best possible position for me to hold on to. At times I end up holding it even while driving:
View attachment 203414

• Comfy seats and rear leg room is sufficient for my needs.

• No LATCH/ISOFIX anchors as well as manual locking retractor in seat belts (for child seat installation). I ended up using a locking clip that came with my car seat.

• Dashboard design is crisp, clean and feels premium. Horn pad could be a little wider to be able to use my right thumb:
View attachment 203412

• Instrument Console is neat and lets you adjust brightness:
View attachment 203413

• Center AC vents can be fully shut but not corner ones.

• Headlight leveler has a good range. Noticed shortest throw is at 3 and longest throw at 0 setting. Looks inverted to me. Experts?

• There are two clock displays – one on MID and the other on Harman.

• There is a black box in passenger foot well area and I hurt my leg once:
View attachment 203415

Harman ICE:

• Harman is awesome and is neatly integrated with vehicla electronics – rear parking system, phone call handling, Navimaps, follow-me-home lamps, to name a few:
View attachment 203416
  • All the (illuminated) buttons are well laid out. I like the neat fonts on the buttons and display:
View attachment 203417
  • The system is smart enough to remember last played song and time even after removing USB drive for a few hours to charge my cell phone.

• Steering mounted controls covers all the basics: Accept/Reject calls, Mute, Change folders/tracks, Change volume, Change music source. No fast forward/rewind though:
View attachment 203418
  • Navimaps: Premium features of Navimaps unlocked for up to 4 android devices but only 4 map updates are free (max 2 years, assuming new map updates released every 6 months).

• Navimaps: I personally prefer Google Maps over Navimaps because the latter does not read out street names during navigation.

• High Frequencies on the higher side even at zero Treble (range -10 to +10). At times I go negative to suit my taste. Treble lovers will enjoy it.

• The system is capable of loud volumes which makes door trims vibrate/rattle at full bass. I may have try out a Dampening DIY project down the line.

• There is a rectangular glossy area which appears to be an IR receiver but I could not get it to work with my phone’s IR blaster (tried Harman DVD player and BluRay player as devices). EDIT: Purchased the OEM remote control from TASC during second service.

-----------------------------------
Links/Updates:

-----------------------------------
Hi Prabhagar! Thanks for your unbiased review! I'm currently searching for a mid-sized car as my 1st car purchase. I shortlisted Ford Figo petrol and Tata Tiago petrol. Among the two I liked the way Figo drives and Tiago is also not much behind it in my mind regarding drivability. But where the Tiago wins over the Figo is that we get almost all features of (perhaps more features than) the Figo Titanium model for a considerably lower cost.

I noticed a particularly nagging issue in the Figo and wanted to know if it's there in Tiago too. When I leave my hands off the steering wheel while the car is moving, it immediately goes to the left. When I wrote a post regarding this in a Figo thread i got replies that suggest that not all Figos that issue. That's also one of the reasons I'm thinking of the Tiago now.

I read about some vibrations felt in the driver's seat in this thread. Do you still feel that vibration? Kindly send in your findings.

Best regards,
Balaram

I noticed a particularly nagging issue in the Figo and wanted to know if it's there in Tiago too. When I leave my hands off the steering wheel while the car is moving, it immediately goes to the left. When I wrote a post regarding this in a Figo thread i got replies that suggest that not all Figos that issue. That's also one of the reasons I'm thinking of the Tiago now.
Isn't this alignment issue?
I have tried loosing my fingers at 130 kmph in Tiago, not vibrations or moving left/right.
Vibrations on driver seat, is not there in diesel Tiago, though petrol owners are best to answer it.

Isn't this alignment issue?
I have tried loosing my fingers at 130 kmph in Tiago, not vibrations or moving left/right.
Vibrations on driver seat, is not there in diesel Tiago, though petrol owners are best to answer it.
I have read that those who are facing that issue did wheel alignment but it was not solved. Good to know that diesel Tiago does not have that issue. Most probably petrol Tiago also won't have that issue...

I read about some vibrations felt in the driver's seat in this thread. Do you still feel that vibration? Kindly send in your findings......
You must be kidding. Comparing 3 cylinder against 4 cylinder!

Sorry Prabhagar, if I come off a little harsh but I mean no offence. I just wanted to share my views for a fellow TAIger.

The issue you mentioned with Figo is due to poor or no wheel alignment/balancing. I have had extensive TD of Figo 1.2 and I must say I loved it. If only my Xcent got a good resale last year, I would have gone with Figo without any second thought.

Where Tiago beats Figo is, well, with goodies and that awesome Entertainment System. But apart from few, Figo is better. It is a proper 4 cylinder and thus no-or-less vibrations compared to Tiago! I find clutch/gear play better in Figo than Tiago. Tiago gearshift feel little notchy and clutch is little heavy for my liking. OTOH, Figo is just the way I like. Soft and understated. Easy to use, gears slot with little effort but no notchiness.

I find the NVH in Figo is a tad better than Tiago. One of the sore area for Figo is, it's lethargic, lazy ass engine. Clever gear ratio in Tiago make it looks like a Sprinter and this, this is where Tiago really shines. Along with the Harman Music System! [:D]

It is not uncommon these days to compare 2 cars from different segment. But I couldn't sit and just watch when it happens at my own backyard. So just jumped in to explain!

You must be kidding. Comparing 3 cylinder against 4 cylinder!

Sorry Prabhagar, if I come off a little harsh but I mean no offence. I just wanted to share my views for a fellow TAIger.

The issue you mentioned with Figo is due to poor or no wheel alignment/balancing. I have had extensive TD of Figo 1.2 and I must say I loved it. If only my Xcent got a good resale last year, I would have gone with Figo without any second thought.

Where Tiago beats Figo is, well, with goodies and that awesome Entertainment System. But apart from few, Figo is better. It is a proper 4 cylinder and thus no-or-less vibrations compared to Tiago! I find clutch/gear play better in Figo than Tiago. Tiago gearshift feel little notchy and clutch is little heavy for my liking. OTOH, Figo is just the way I like. Soft and understated. Easy to use, gears slot with little effort but no notchiness.

I find the NVH in Figo is a tad better than Tiago. One of the sore area for Figo is, it's lethargic, lazy ass engine. Clever gear ratio in Tiago make it looks like a Sprinter and this, this is where Tiago really shines. Along with the Harman Music System! [:D]

It is not uncommon these days to compare 2 cars from different segment. But I couldn't sit and just watch when it happens at my own backyard. So just jumped in to explain!
In fact I feel even the Tiago is lethargic and expect Figo to have better pickup. But there are other things also where Tiago fares better than Figo apart from having better features (v imp for me) and music system. It has much better interior quality and better ride quality compared to Figo. Also Figo is very fuel efficient in Diesel mode but have not heard good FE from Figo petrol owners. Where Figo fares is better NVH than Tiago for sure. Ford recently cut some features from its cars so has to be observed carefully. Figo doesn't provide parking sensors which I feel is a must in city. While aftermarket fitments are not so expensive it's not a clean finish like a factory one. Tiago also has lines display on ICE for parking which I personally find very useful. Figo has a bigger boot though.