Tata Tiago Petrol XZ - A Layman's Long Term Ownership Review

Re: Tata Tiago Petrol XZ - A Layman's Review: 10,000 Kms Milestone

^^ The reason I missed FE was because, you know, 3 potter always tend to win 4 potters in this aspect.

And Camera/Sensors? Every company offers these are official accessory and it doesn't look out of place at all! Tiago surely have nicer interior, but for me, Figo is well built. Not a single rattle from 20k km, abused TD car! This speaks a lot. Whereas less than 5k km Tiago came with a rattle or two when I drove.

^^ The reason I missed FE was because, you know, 3 potter always tend to win 4 potters in this aspect.

And Camera/Sensors? Every company offers these are official accessory and it doesn't look out of place at all! Tiago surely have nicer interior, but for me, Figo is well built. Not a single rattle from 20k km, abused TD car! This speaks a lot. Whereas less than 5k km Tiago came with a rattle or two when I drove.
Ride quality is big plus Tiago have.
Build quality, I won't say anything else other than 3 star ratings of Aspire (expecting Figo to be similar), plus Ford Mustang (2 star). I can safely say I doubt Ford on build quality these day. Notice door plastic flex while opening/closing window.

Had taken TD of Figo Diesel, NVH is surely not better than Tiago for me atleast.

For me CAR is not limited to ENGINE only. But that's just my view.

Thread Starter #333

I noticed a particularly nagging issue in the Figo and wanted to know if it's there in Tiago too. When I leave my hands off the steering wheel while the car is moving, it immediately goes to the left.
Hi Balaram,
I did notice very slight deviation towards left during my Tiago's first highway trip but as Gautam said, it could be due to wheels misaligned. At what speeds did you notice Figo's left pull? May be I can run the same test on mine and update you.

I read about some vibrations felt in the driver's seat in this thread. Do you still feel that vibration? Kindly send in your findings.
Yes there are vibrations felt on seat and steering wheel but very sporadic. From my guesswork so far, it happens with 3 or more on board and AC is ON at idle RPM. Once on the move, there is nothing felt.

You must be kidding. Comparing 3 cylinder against 4 cylinder!
When it comes to purchase decisions we usually tend to go by our budgets and hence the overlap in segments. I guess that is the case with Balaram too. Otherwise, I agree with you it is not fair to compare the two.

I don't quite agree on the 4potter thing. Maruti's 4potter might be the most fuel efficient 1.2 in city traffic and should be slightly better than Tiago but Figo is not efficient like Maruti. On highways Tiago is most efficient though. Camera might be okay but I don't like to have those black aftermarket parking sensors. I have seen many cars having this and to me personally it doesn't look neat. Atleast top model of Figo should have had that. Anything factory fitted is better than dealer fitted. And yes you have to pay extra for that. Even I have heard few Tiago owners complaining of rattling so Figo should be better here. But I am lucky till now in this regard. There's one more thing Tiago does very well. The AC in Tiago is so soothing and is a chiller. I drove my family's i20 for 11km recently and while it was a superb drive overall, I realized Tiago's ac is so better. But it has a downside as well which I don't like. The drop in pickup is substantial and even FE to some extent, is more than usual due to ac being too effective.

You must be kidding. Comparing 3 cylinder against 4 cylinder!

Sorry Prabhagar, if I come off a little harsh but I mean no offence. I just wanted to share my views for a fellow TAIger.

The issue you mentioned with Figo is due to poor or no wheel alignment/balancing. I have had extensive TD of Figo 1.2 and I must say I loved it. If only my Xcent got a good resale last year, I would have gone with Figo without any second thought.

Where Tiago beats Figo is, well, with goodies and that awesome Entertainment System. But apart from few, Figo is better. It is a proper 4 cylinder and thus no-or-less vibrations compared to Tiago! I find clutch/gear play better in Figo than Tiago. Tiago gearshift feel little notchy and clutch is little heavy for my liking. OTOH, Figo is just the way I like. Soft and understated. Easy to use, gears slot with little effort but no notchiness.

I find the NVH in Figo is a tad better than Tiago. One of the sore area for Figo is, it's lethargic, lazy ass engine. Clever gear ratio in Tiago make it looks like a Sprinter and this, this is where Tiago really shines. Along with the Harman Music System! [:D]

It is not uncommon these days to compare 2 cars from different segment. But I couldn't sit and just watch when it happens at my own backyard. So just jumped in to explain!
Hi! Thanks for the clarification! [:)] Actually when comparing the 2 cars feature by feature, not by the engine type or the segment, the Tiago wins me over in areas like overall features available as factory fitment (awesome music system, 8 speakers, parking sensors etc.), Tata's after sales service (at least from what I've read in this forum I think it would be better than Ford's), FE, cockpit design etc. But Figo wins in driving dynamics, looks (especially the front area), quality of interior elements (specifically door lock, dashboard controls), Ford MyDock (or whatever that's called.. it's really a good feature). After all, no car is a perfect car with zero flaws. Every car will have its share of cons. And the cons of the Tiago are not deal breakers either... I need to take another TD of the Tiago and then decide...[:)]

Somehow I agree with you on all fronts but disagree on the quality of interior part. I have been in both older and the newer figo. while newer figo better interior than older figo, the interior plastic quality isn't good. Tiago plastic quality is better if I am being honest except door lock.

Very useful review.

I am new to Coimbatore & I too have the same requirements as of yours when you zeroed on Tiago

Also, Following on Tigor(Considering it being built on Tiagos platform).

In your review,I noticed you referring to Tiago WhatsApp group. Can you please add me to the group as I believe I can get some valuable inputs from other Tiago users like you.

Further,I too am planning to contact SRT Tata, Peelamedu for the purchase.
So,would require your expert advise.

Looking forward for your reply & advise
Dalston

Thread Starter #338

Hi Daltson, I would definitely wait for Tigor's launch to know its VFM quo as compared to Tiago. SRT is a good dealership here in Coimbatore so thumbs up for that too [thumbsup]

Very useful review.

I am new to Coimbatore & I too have the same requirements as of yours when you zeroed on Tiago ��

In your review,I noticed you referring to Tiago WhatsApp group. Can you please add me to the group as I believe I can get some valuable inputs from other Tiago users like you.

So,would require your expert advise.

Looking forward for your reply & advise
Dalston
IMO Tigor and Tiago is one and the same except the nicely integrated boot.

If you need to carry around a lot of luggage, then go with Tigor.

If you are a minimalist like Prabhagar, go with Tiago!

IMO Tigor and Tiago is one and the same except the nicely integrated boot.

If you need to carry around a lot of luggage, then go with Tigor.

If you are a minimalist like Prabhagar, go with Tiago!
Nope! I differ here as there are lots of changes except from the boot.

Few are:

# Balancer shaft in petrol engine (a big difference)
# Auto climate control
# Bigger wheel base for better rear space and leg room
# Bigger End to end seat setup for three passengers ease
# Dual airbags and abs standard on even lowest trim
# Projector headlamps
# Better infotainment system than Tiago
# Rear parking camera
# Changes in door trims are also there along with size
And lots more

So now it all depends on the PRICING....

All in all amazing product from Tata

Nope! I differ here as there are lots of changes except from the boot.

Few are:

# Balancer shaft in petrol engine (a big difference)
# Auto climate control
# Bigger wheel base for better rear space and leg room
# Bigger End to end seat setup for three passengers ease
# Dual airbags and abs standard on even lowest trim
# Projector headlamps
# Better infotainment system than Tiago
# Rear parking camera
# Changes in door trims are also there along with size
And lots more

So now it all depends on the PRICING....

All in all amazing product from Tata
You missed out addition of rear armrest and its slighly wider than Tiago.
Also the boot is not a conventional one which creates a problem in inserting luggage. It comes with a segment first pheneumatic struts ehich even many expensive sedans lack. I honestly feel its too good for its competitors except the slightly underpowered diesel and should dent the CS and hatchback market if people buy sensibly.

Nearest tata dealer said the variant wise difference will be around 1 lakh rupees if compared with the tiago. A friend of mine will take delivery of the tiago tomorrow.

You missed out addition of rear armrest and its slighly wider than Tiago.
Also the boot is not a conventional one which creates a problem in inserting luggage. It comes with a segment first pheneumatic struts ehich even many expensive sedans lack. I honestly feel its too good for its competitors except the slightly underpowered diesel and should dent the CS and hatchback market if people buy sensibly.
The boot itself is the highlight "USP" and if we talk about inserting luggage yes the lip is high however will not make to a deal breaker point and how often we use big luggage? Rarely for an average Joe still am not negating for all.

The only thing is low powered diesel engine but it compensate with kitna deti hai point Indian mentality. Better fuel mileage and low ownership experience

Tata might introduce bigger engine options after Nexon launch, 1.5 L can be introduced with sports tag

Tigor +
1: Electronic boot release. (Also opens on long press of middle button on Remote Key)
2: Touch screen on Harman.
3: Image & Video playback on Harman
4: Rear Parking Camera.
5: Center arm rest with 2 cup holders on rear seat.
6: Automatic Climate control.
7: Two 12v charging points. (only 1 in Tiago)
8: Projector headlamp.
9: New front hexagonal grill.
10: Smart looking & modern real spoiler! Looks more better when LED glows on it upon breaking!

Best thing is Tigor comes with Dual Airbag and ABS as Standard across all Variants!

My Tiago xz Diesel 45 days 1800kms review:
Mileage so far:18.4kmpl overall (as per Mid)
Mileage in city:18kmpl(mostly 2nd & 3rd Gear)
Mileage on Bangalore airport run:14kmpl(total 800kms ,speed of 110-140 with luggage & 4 adults & 2 kids with AC,including bangalore city traffic)
Mileage on highway:25kmpl(speed of 70-90kmph with AC).
Value Add on the Car:
1.Seat Covers:7300/- 2. full mat & Noodle mats:4700/- 3.Reverse Horn:200/- 4.Alloys wheels(from Dealer):Rs25000/- 5.Car Roof Carrier:7300/-(now removed after Bangalore trip) 6.Mobile Holder:1000/-
Car is very comfortable,no rattles,easy to drive,AC is quite effective on all occasions.
Eco mode is used all times as very little requirement of City Mode.Audio is top class.Car is easy to clean both inside & Outside.Pickup is low in eco mode & in times of need city mode is more than sufficient.
Have a Query:Should i take AMC of 45000kms/4 years at Rs.4500/- or avoid??