Tata Tiago Ownership Review - My Beloved Tia(Go) Finally Comes Home

Hi Guys
Newbie here. I am planning to buy my first car and since i'd be driving 100 KMS every day (70 % Highway) with occasional highway trips. I want a family car which is good on highway and fun to drive. I have a budget of around 7.5 Lacs for a diesel hatchback.
I have almost zeroed on Ford Figo Titanium but can also buy top diesel variant of Tiago as well. But my concern is it's 1l diesel engine, which i feel that it won't be adequate to perform on highway with 5 people sitting in it.
Should i stick with Figo or Tiago is a good and cheaper option ?
Please help me, as i got nowhere to go. All my friends are carless like me [:)]
One of the factors you need to consider is Tiago's diesel engine revetorq is brand new engine. The petrol engine revetron is a 3 cylinder variant of engines used in bolt and zest. Zest diesel car has the engine from fiat but tiago diesel engine is TATA in house engine, not used in any existing cars.

Hi Guys
Newbie here. I am planning to buy my first car and since i'd be driving 100 KMS every day (70 % Highway) with occasional highway trips. I want a family car which is good on highway and fun to drive. I have a budget of around 7.5 Lacs for a diesel hatchback.
I have almost zeroed on Ford Figo Titanium but can also buy top diesel variant of Tiago as well. But my concern is it's 1l diesel engine, which i feel that it won't be adequate to perform on highway with 5 people sitting in it.
Should i stick with Figo or Tiago is a good and cheaper option ?
Please help me, as i got nowhere to go. All my friends are carless like me [:)]
IMO you should go for Figo. Figo Trend Diesel should fit in your budget of Rs. 7.5 lakhs. Since your drive will be mainly on highways, 1.5L diesel of the Figo will suit your requirement [and will delight you as well[:)]].

The difference between price of Tiago XZ diesel and Figo Trend Diesel will not be much.

Dear Pradeep, Can you please update more feelings toward your Tia(go).[;)].
I going to Book Tiago, but I'm Confused between Petrol and Diesel. Can u please update information like Mileage in Both Mode With AC on Highway and In Traffic.
Your Information is Much Valuable. Any other owner please share your experiences with Tiago

I going to Book Tiago, but I'm Confused between Petrol and Diesel. Can u please update information like Mileage in Both Mode With AC on Highway and In Traffic.
Your Information is Much Valuable. Any other owner please share your experiences with Tiago
I took a TD of both models a week back and i felt the diesel mill to be more refined than the petrol ! No problem of low end torque on the diesel mill . But its there slightly on the petrol variant . I cant comment about milage as the real time milage varies alot . i didnt find much vibrations in both . [:)]

Hi Gajraj,
Please take the time to TD both the cars several times from different dealers. Trust me this will help a lot in making your selection. Also your monthly running and driving taste will have a say in picking the right engine.

Mileage:
I hear from owners of the WhatsApp group that mileage is very good @ highways but it will be a while until they settle down at a consistent rate as we clock the ODO. Mine is Petrol and I agree with other posts about insufficient low end torque. I am eagerly waiting for the run-in to complete before I right foot harder. I have clocked only 100KMs since my delivery yesterday. All the best!

@Lovekesh
Go Figo, a BIG engine is a BIG engine and Figo is bigger than Tiago on every measure. In fact not stretching it any more, it is the figo which actually suits your requirements better way.

Hello Folks,

Just joined this forum. Thanking you all in advance for answering my query.

I booked a Tiago XZ petrol and now I am confused about everything it seems [frustration]

Requirements:
=====
I am not going to drive more than 500-700 KM/month
Would love to take it to the hill station near by on weekends etc(enough power)
Budget can be stretched till 8 OTR Bangalore
Mileage is not too much worry(12-14 would be fine)
Safe
Fun/Ease to drive
VIMP: Fuss free A.S.S.(lack of time [cry])
=====

Confused About:
=====
Figo 1.2 Titanium
Toyota Etios Liva VXI
Tiago XZ
=====

Please suggest me. I can even check the Diesel too but heard from folks that maintaining a diesel vehicle is harder than petrol.

Amit

Hello Folks,

Just joined this forum. Thanking you all in advance for answering my query.

I booked a Tiago XZ petrol and now I am confused about everything it seems [frustration]

Requirements:
=====
I am not going to drive more than 500-700 KM/month
Would love to take it to the hill station near by on weekends etc(enough power)
Budget can be stretched till 8 OTR Bangalore
Mileage is not too much worry(12-14 would be fine)
Safe
Fun/Ease to drive
VIMP: Fuss free A.S.S.(lack of time [cry])
=====

Confused About:
=====
Figo 1.2 Titanium
Toyota Etios Liva VXI
Tiago XZ
=====

Please suggest me. I can even check the Diesel too but heard from folks that maintaining a diesel vehicle is harder than petrol.

Amit
All your requirements will be met by Tiago XZ, not sure, why you are still confused? For service, just get your car serviced with TATA concorde dealer - since its tata's outlet, you will always find multiple channels for escalation. I don't see the reason why you need to shell out more money for the other cars instead of buying XZ.

Thanks for your reply, Sir! By Tiago XZ, did you mean Petrol Or Diesel?

Anyone aware of any fresh refinements done by TML in freshly made Tiago Petrol. First batch Tiago petrol, I heard had high NVH issues.
Some threads on Team BhP suggest /talk about some refinements done for Tiago Petrol.

Thanks for your reply, Sir! By Tiago XZ, did you mean Petrol Or Diesel?

Anyone aware of any fresh refinements done by TML in freshly made Tiago Petrol. First batch Tiago petrol, I heard had high NVH issues.
Some threads on Team BhP suggest /talk about some refinements done for Tiago Petrol.
Petrol. If you book now, you will get it from the latest batch. The people who got their car recently are satisfied with NVH.

I don't know what refinement TML did to latest lots but mine is a May 2016 petrol and it does have vibes on the gear lever at low RPMS (below 1000). Have you had a chance to test drive a Tiago yet?

I heard that on other forums that the vehicles made by TATA in Jan/Feb had higher NVM compared to the ones made in Apr/May. People are also saying that TATA took the feedback and did some work on insulation and engine mount.
I rejected my blue Tiago XZ petrol some 15 days back, because it was Feb made. Now I am again in the waiting line. [frustration]

I heard that on other forums that the vehicles made by TATA in Jan/Feb had higher NVM compared to the ones made in Apr/May. People are also saying that TATA took the feedback and did some work on insulation and engine mount.
I rejected my blue Tiago XZ petrol some 15 days back, because it was Feb made. Now I am again in the waiting line. [frustration]
No worries.. I would recommend you visit the showroom (better yet, their stock yard) and ask the SA to start any recent manufactured car to observe vibrations. I remember my car's engine danced around in the bay like a mad monkey during my PDI. [:D]

if you are able to visit both the cars, open the bonnet and see the insulation. If TATA has made the changes, you will be able to see it.