Tata Storme VX VS Mahindra XUV5OO W8: Which One?

i dont see the qashqai to be launched any cheaper.
if anything it will be cheaper than the renault koleos.

My mobile battery completely drained and was not able to respond earlier than this.

@Mukesh, Raja_5004, Vicky, Superbad, Raja, RK - thanks for most valid inputs.

RK - Fortuner is a bit over stretch for me and it is close to 30 L. I liked its road presence. But cautiously put it off my list. No doubt, it is a great suggestion on any given day.

Let me use this opportunity to refresh a one of the great take away from Tolloywood legends, late Shri N.T.R. When his co - stars approached him for a suggestion on buying a CAR, he replied "Brother, if you have money don't put it on Iron (he referring to luxurious Cars here) rather put it on land (small plots). When comes to a new CAR it depreciates from the moment it leaves show room. He was not against buying a car but warned from going exorbitant. Let's not mistake me on this. It sits always back of my mind and applies brakes on my thought process. Even today I am a great fan of him, BTW. This time I am making a small exception within my limits and started closely looking at this particular segment. You never know above words might even help someone who follows this thread in future. (wish you don't hit me back on this)

Cutting long story to short, at the moment I am closely working with both the dealers for a decent bargain.

As Vicky said,

Storme - 20K cash discount + 30K exchange + 6K Corporate discount.
XUV - 5k discount or Accessories ([anger] not budging + 30K Xchange Bonus.

Do you see any room for further discounts?

Coming to Exchange, does it any way work in favor of us? Appreciate any insights from your experience?

Sir kindly read this
Nissan evaluating Qashqai SUV for India - News - Autocar India Mobile Edition

X trail comes in koleos segment that too now Nissan is planning to manufacture it locally.
even then i am not much optimistic since there is a terrano which is slated to be priced above the duster , which too sits in that 12 lac segment (OTR)

so as a differentiator, with so many features than the terrano , i see it as a very bleak possibility that nissan would want to cannibalise the duster as well as the terrano with the qashqai.

even then i am not much optimistic since there is a terrano which is slated to be priced above the duster , which too sits in that 12 lac segment (OTR)

so as a differentiator, with so many features than the terrano , i see it as a very bleak possibility that nissan would want to cannibalise the duster as well as the terrano with the qashqai.
Autocar dosent generally publish news on whims , they most of the time have clear idea about what they are posting . When they say it will be between 12-20 they know what they are talking .
Terrano ends and qashqai starts Qashqai ends and x trail starts is their plan .

It seems suhas wants to decide between xuv and storme so let him decide between both .

Raja - Coming to qashqai, you are the second person to suggest this, one of my colleagues also hinted me. Similar wait on, EcoSport launch one way orther delayed the buying decision.
Moreover Qashqai falls in 20L bracket, per mu knowledge.

Raja - Coming to qashqai, you are the second person to suggest this, one of my colleagues also hinted me. Similar wait on, EcoSport launch one way orther delayed the buying decision.
Moreover Qashqai falls in 20L bracket, per mu knowledge.
Autocar says it will be above the terrano and might fall under 20 but it will be comming next year so there is wait involved here .
My friend in maritius has one for past 2 years and is more then happy . It is " fill it forget it " type offering very popular in the UK too .
It is a 5 seater , frugal , reliable , practical but the foot print is smaller then the xuv and storme but bigger then duster .
What is your basic requirement I mean do you need a big SUV ? Or a small compact SUV can also do the job for you ?
And since you belive in investing less in a depreciating asset like a car , have you considered the ford ecosport ? Or its small for your needs ?
ES is for 4 adults and one kid the top end comes with host of segment first features , reliable , frugal engine ( diesel ) with 6 airbags and other safety features too . And will be max 11 lakhs .

Yes, I did. It looked bit congested inside. I felt no much space even between Driver and co passenger. TD both 1.5 diesel and Ecoboost versions.

Now I am very close on choosing between Storme or XUV.

Is Exchange bonus real worth to consider? Or point me to the thread if the topic was already discussed in recent times.

Yes, I did. It looked bit congested inside. No much space even between Driver and co passenger. Dropped from my list after TD both 1.5 diesel and Ecoboost versions.

Now I am very close on picking Storme or XUV.

Is Exchange bonus real worth to consider?
Depends sometimes it does help . But sometimes you can get a good value for your car when you sell it to some individual .

Just check what is the current offers for the car you have in the second hand market first .

With tata there is a chance you can negotiate more for discounts .

Btw most imp question

1) did you test drive both the cars ?

2) which car you and your family likes look wise ?

Yes I did but not very long drive. During my XUV test drive when getting in to my apt there was a burnt smell. We started of XUV in mind but this experience pushed my to further research. Then storme came in to the picture. We all liked the Display piece when visited a show room. At the moment looks wise It is divided kids are XUV and rest of the family Storme. I will let you know my decision by EOW up on consilidating my learning here and elsewhere.

We are pretty much clear on what we wanted in the begining but confused for two below reasons

1) XUV TD vehicle having issues
2) lacklustre response from TATA sales

Then onwards looking for more information, came across this fabulous site. Immediately signed on looking people's passion and intentions to share indepth information. Yet times, I am thrilled the direct and honest opinions. I never thougy ASS was such a big issue and I am learning this part. Rest you know. This specific thread I opened to discuss, debate and decide on XUV W8 and Storm VX.

As per my personality, I look for peace of mind end of my buy.

Yes I did but not very long drive. During my XUV test drive when getting in to my apt there was a burnt smell. We started of XUV in mind but this experience pushed my to further research. Then storme came in to the picture. We all liked the Display piece when visited a show room. At the moment looks wise It is divided kids are XUV and rest of the family Storme. I will let you know my decision by EOW up on consilidating my learning here and elsewhere.

We are pretty much clear on what we wanted in the begining but confused for two below reasons

1) XUV TD vehicle having issues
2) lacklustre response from TATA sales

Then onwards looking for more information, came across this fabulous site. Immediately signed on looking people's passion and intentions to share indepth information. Yet times, I am thrilled the direct and honest opinions. I never thougy ASS was such a big issue and I am learning this part. Rest you know. This specific thread I opened to discuss, debate and decide on XUV W8 and Storm VX.

As per my personality, I look for peace of mind end of my buy.
I think you must go and take another test drive of xuv suhas maybe from another dealer .
The xuv did have clutch probems but it was resolved i think last year itself .

The burning smell might be just limited to that particular xuv .

I have driven the xuv countless times and have never encountered such issue .

That being a test drive vehicle people must have abused it badly .

Test drive the storme also and report your findings .

If possible drive both in city traffic , small by lanes , highway if your wife drives tell her to drive also under similar conditions .

Iam requesting you this because you will get an idea how both behave under various settings .

You might like the storme now but after test driving you might like the xuv more and vice a versa or maybe won't like both .

Looks are subjective hence its only you and your family who will decide which looks good .

And in the end how much money you are willing to shell out .

As Raja suggested, the best thing to do now is to test drive both the vehicles back to back and pick one which suits your needs. On almost all the other parameters, both cars are neck to neck.

TATA seems to be doing good with Jaguar Land Rover sales but struggling with Domestic passengers cars product lines. Q1 net profit down by 23% fyi.

My Experience with Exchange bonus:

I was offered exchange bonus of 20K, but then the price they quoted for the my wagonR was around 1.25L. over all it worked out to 1.45L with bonus. I wanted to get around 1.6-1.8 atleast as the car was in good condition. Finally I sold it to be brother for 1.6 L.

he was quoted around 2 L for an 5 yr old santro, Both him and I were happy with the deal we did amongst our selves.