(Format: Gear: speed @ rpm)
  • 1st gear: 37 kph @ 4600 rpm
  • 2nd gear: 69 kph @ 4600 rpm
  • 3rd gear: 111 kph @ 4600 rpm
  • 4th gear: 147 kph @ 4500 rpm
  • 5th gear: 157 kph @ 3500 rpm

Braking:
80-0 kph: 30 meters in 2.67 seconds.
Thanks for sharing this piece of data, some day TAI will have its own Vbox(i really hope!) and we can do some number crunching too. I hope we get the see the data on the newer discs of the XUV as well.
Yups, with the newer discs I guess one can easily save a meter or two easily. And in emergency situations even 1 centimeter can make a difference between life and death.

Re: Tata Safari Storme Road Test Review

Well, I am a staunch believer of a thought ,' though apple and orange are not comparble , they must be compared first , once you select one of them then you start comparing apple with apple or orange with orange.' And this thought belongs to me.And most of the posters seems to be agreeing with me on this thread.

My neighbor owns a base model of XUV since one year.(OTR price 12.5 lakhs + accsesories 3.5lakhs).

Today I checked it (not driven it yet), I have already mentioned my views about ext.looks
on ' storme officially breaks cover' thread.and no dobt they are subjective.

Opened the rear door and found that luggage space is almost nil unless the third row is flattened, once you flatten it , it immidietly becomes a 5 seater .It doesn't allow accomodation for a child or enemy or servent, but only luggage. In Storme if one rear seat is folded , there is lot of space for luggage and remaining seat can be used by a servent.

I found there are two good looking AC vents specifically for rear seat , one for each side.So XUV rear seats are meant for children and not enemies , comfort wise.

The rear mannual internal fuel lid opener is easily accessible by middle/rear row passeger or the person standing near the left middle door as it is placed adjacent to middle row backrest.
In Storme it is placed further rear to rear jump seat , so if rear seats are unoccupied , one has to get down , open the rear door and then open the lid.

In xuv ingress for front and middle doors is easy, for tall as well as short people . I felt it good for unfit people also as compared to storme.

Middle space is ok for the price paid ,while in Storme it is excellent.You can stretch the legs you can stretch the arms and adjacent passeger won't frown even if you are a six feet +.
In XUV , middle row AC vents looks elegant. In Storme they are ceiling mounted and due to huge headroom they hardly attract your attention.But look wise they are one down as compared to xuv.

Now much debated middle row underthigh support.For me (180 cm plus with shoes) it is shockingly poor in xuv! It is not even comparable to manza front seat leave aside rear seat of manza or middle seat of Storme, however it became comparble with manza front seat when I removed my shoes.
But one innovative thing I found is that when I started reclining the seat ,it leads to mild elevation of underthigh area and underthigh support became enough for me . Sadly if the rear is full of luggage, this facility is not available as the luggage will restrict the backrest's backward movement.
In XUV,the middle row kneeroom and leg room is ok for the segment and price paid . In storme it is more than enough and useful too.

In xuv ,the inner door handle/latch/knob has got a silver finish and looks poor as compared to elegant chrome finished in stormevx. But in storme lx and xuv base model they are equally ok or equally poor.

Egress from middle row -In XUV , my foot faced a mild hurdle near door joint area. In storme ingress egress is a breeze for all doors.

The external door handles of xuv seems to be borrowed from bathroom of a caravan or a train, while in storme ext.handles ,I found sports utility items, look wise and, fit finish wise.

Then front ingress , egress a no problem thing for me and shorter people too in XUV.In storme it can be inconvenient for short people at all doors.It would be must for them to use side steps.

Front pasenger underthigh support is again as bad as front seat of manza, again removed the shoes and it became ok.Then I started reclining the backrest, to my surprise, nothing happened , the underthigh area didn't moved at all.It was really disappointing.

Then I got inside , from driver's door , underthigh suport no problem at all due to height adjustable seat.

In XUV , interior feel and looks are definitely good. The dash board , DIS , instrument cluster central console ,steering wheel all felt elegant.Brown color add up the luxury feel.The upholstery is nice.Now coming to its comparison with Storme.
In XUV interiors, I felt as if I am on a front seat meant for a imp.guest ,of a pandal meant for oath taking ceremony of a minister.

While in storme I felt as if I have sat in the waiting lounge of a star rated hotel. For Ex **, for vx *** , and lx not seen yet by me.

I forgot to mention about the leather, the XUV base model , the seat covers are not leather., they are rexine i.e. artificial leather.
I do not remember the storme Ex but vx leather is excellent quality and skin friendly .
And yes XUV seats are definitely harder than the Storme inspite of the fact that it is 23 kkm run .

I cranked the engine with windows closed , believe me , the starting sound and the engine purrr is better in my 27 k km (servicing due in next 3k km ) run manza as compared to this 23 kkm run XUV. I suspect use of BS3 diesel as a culprit, hence I do not consider it apt to compare it with hardly run TD storme I drove few days ago.

I am going to TD the xuv after few days.
Uptill now , do not hesitate to filll in the gaps in my knowledge.

The question raised from the Superbad's post below.
to put more clarity since i was typing from the phone i had to put it up in short.

many members here and else where had complained of the thigh hitting the steering wheel.

so my question how does the class leading space help the driver?

others were asking why i have put up duster in contention .

some say turbo lag is for novice drivers hence the duster comes in contention for the not so novice drivers.

Well,
do not hesitate to filll in the gaps in my knowledge.
Trying to post self pics taken by me to demonstrate underthigh support problem faced by me and how it got somewhat rectified after removing shoes (reducing height of leg) on both front passeger and left middle row seat.

On left middle row seat , it got more rectified after I started the recline of backrest.

Pic No.1,2,3,4,5 ,8 shows poor underthigh support.
While pic No.6, 7 shows rectification.
2012-12-27 18.23.12-1.jpg

2012-12-27 18.23.12-2.jpg

2012-12-27 18.23.12-3.jpg

2012-12-27 18.23.34-1.jpg

2012-12-27 18.25.54-1.jpg

2012-12-27 18.25.54-2.jpg

2012-12-27 18.26.29-1.jpg

Surprisingly No one here mentioned about the Storme's tinted glass. I am not sure if ti si company tinted, but while TDing with Raja, I informed him that I cannot feel sun's heat on my skin when windows were closed. TD was taken at about 12.30 - 1.00 PM.

Does any one felt the same? Or is it the same for all cars above 10 Lacs ?

Few more pics of XUV.
Pic 1 , shows rexine leather seat cover
Pic 2, shows externel door handle.
Pic 3, shows permanent reduction in boot space if rear seats are to be used
Pic 4 shows good looking rear AC vents.
Pic 5, inner door handles of middle seat .

@Tornado

Your report on XUV things is well written with nice pics, but I think all these could have been posted on Storm vs competition thread I hope[:)]

@Tornado

Your report on XUV things is well written with nice pics, but I think all these could have been posted on Storm vs competition thread I hope[:)]
In that case, my TD report of storme (now in officially breaks cover)should be shifted to ' storme vs competition ' thread along with above mentioned post s of this thread.

I posted non TD XUV report vs storme, on this thread as debate was going on here on underthigh support and rear seats.

In that case, my TD report of storme (now in officially breaks cover)should be shifted to ' storme vs competition ' thread along with above mentioned post s of this thread.

I posted non TD XUV report vs storme, on this thread as debate was going on here on underthigh support and rear seats.
You may be right Tornado, but I just felt that must be the right place for your valuable report, even I have posted a comparison yesterday[:)]

@ALL: there is a doubt the A/C technicians and stereo technicians state that the single din audio system placed in safari storm is the correct location and is safe and the give the answer as the 2-din audio (electronics) in manza tends to get affected by the sweat of the A/C blowers or else it should be like TATA ARIA and T-Fortuner were they have totally separated it seems according to those technicians

Please let me know from other readers view
And brands like CONVEX have touch screen DVD player with LCD in single din itself….
Visit:-
CT-40GL

Surprisingly No one here mentioned about the Storme's tinted glass. I am not sure if ti si company tinted, but while TDing with Raja, I informed him that I cannot feel sun's heat on my skin when windows were closed. TD was taken at about 12.30 - 1.00 PM.

Does any one felt the same? Or is it the same for all cars above 10 Lacs ?
since the sunfilm ban judgement all car maufacturers are providing tinted glasses for their cars.

it is same across all of them

What is the reason for storme not launched in all places at the same time?

In tamil Nadu-chennai they try to sell the 2011-12 model Aria with great discounts and the Safari Dicor also for a gud discount and no proper answer about the storme(mostly by jan end or feb only itseems) hence they're clearing the yards...

Thank you Gurella, Raja. Yes certainly, I will post pictures in couple of days, a little busy.

Good points -
- Amazing power and feel of the vehicle.
- Excellent in space
- I dont have much to explain as I agree on most of the points which are mentioned on the thread already

Some point must mention about my vehicle -
- Found more fuel consuming (but would discount it as just 550KM on clock)
- Middle row seats not getting locked properly
- Glove compartment lights remains on
- A little noise from the driver side door

About Dealer
- Nice people to deal with
- They excel in providing service even visited my for papers

Over All

- [:D] [:D] with the vehicle