Tata Safari Storme EX (Urban Bronze) - Buying & Ownership Review

Good review on Safari Storme indeed.

I too am one proud and satisfied owner of Tata Safari Storme VX 4x4 and have already completed 12000 kms on all types of roads + even routinely on off road trips on my farm.

I had also owned a Safari 4x4 earlier so, I am going to dwell upon my experience in relation to
]
Welcome, Captain Saheb ,
Here is a thread where your opinion might be useful.
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...ty-safari-storme-safari-dicor.html#post308929
Here are few threads which you might find intresting [/url] http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...motor-s-cars-ultimate-reliability-survey.html

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...reliability-survey-post308872.html#post308872

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...ata-storme-vs-mahindra-xuv5oo-one-choose.html

Good Day Rajeev,

You are welcome to Pune.
I got the upgrade on my Storme VX done at Bhandari Auto on Jangali Maharaj Road - very next to the Jangali Maharaj Temple. Sound deadning cost me Rs.7,000
and the Hellix speakers Rs. 60,000+
Thanks Captain. I know that place very well. I will visit and do the needful thanks for referance.
For Sound deadning which product they are using ? They will cover all 5 doors ?

Rajiv9896

Dear Rajeev,

You are welcome. For sound deadning, they use a tar like substance which dries after 2-3 hours but become close much better after a day or so. So, one must expect best performance after a day. I forgot the name of the product but, if you need it, I could finnd out for you on Monday and revert back. They were going to do only 4 doors for the price but I insisted on all five for the same price and they did oblige. I personally think that for the price, the benefit is really worth it.

Thread Starter #125
Hi guys!
Sorry for hibernating so long.Ive been tripping and trotting all around.Hope this makes up for it.
1604981_10152140144415781_2102087323_n.jpg
Report after 1 yr and 10k kms on the odo (was not in the country for past many months,hence pardon the scanty odo reading):-
Zero Niggles
Top notch Paint quality/all weather shine maintenance
Nil mechanical problems
Consistently superior Interior quality,leather,upholstery,dash and gear knob leather wear and tear
Across all terrain,all season,Average annual mileage 10-11 kmpl.
TASS response and service and constant feedback mechanism 9/10
Only problem are the squeaks and rattles from tail gate and passenger door middle row.Will get it fixed this time during service hopefully.
Renewing insurance with Concorde-TATA MOTORS INSURANCE (National Insurance)@Rs29k .Zero dep,cashless,third party,Bumper to bumper and NCB transferred from my first year Bajaj Allianz. policy.
Wishing everyone a great year ahead!

Renewing insurance with Concorde-TATA MOTORS INSURANCE (National Insurance)@Rs29k .Zero dep,cashless,third party,Bumper to bumper and NCB transferred from my first year Bajaj Allianz. policy.
Wishing everyone a great year ahead!
How is the Bajaj Allianz Insurance? What is the difference in insurance premium, and facilities? What about passenger insurance? Any offer for replacement options?

Thread Starter #128
Bajaj allianz is good.I had it in my first year of ownership, though didnT claim anything. Premium is comparable to Lombard and hdfc ergo.Generally most private players as I found ,offered premiums in the same range,Bajaj Allianz gave an option for voluntary excess,I.e you reduce some amount from your premium and pay that amount if you make a claim.eg.if your vol excess is 7.5k then if your claim amount is 10 then you get only 2.5 from the company and you have to put in the 7.5,on the flip side you can't make any claim less than that as you might as well pay it out of your. Own pocket and take no claim bonus next year.I believe most companies offer this option.As for passenger insurance, it can be done , while you draw up the premium you need to mention it.Just get some agents numbers and pit the. Against each other,bargain hard and get a good quote.
I shifted to national alias tmi, because Concorde Workshop seems to have a tie up with them and it's cashless.premium for renewing Bajaj was also around same,hence thought might as well go for something tied up and hassle free,just in case.

i feel you could have done more research on finding better insurance quote.

Though Mine is a comprehensive insurance policy.
I did sign up with various insurance companies for their quotes.
All private players do post a higher insurance premium upfront but when talking numbers, they are ready to match the numbers of their competitors.

After 3rd service how's the performance? or its the same?

Did the new engine oil made any difference in refinement of engine?

Thread Starter #131
3rd Service Report
At Concorde motors mathura road
SA:Mr.Khalid
The normal bill for 3rd Service including oil change and wheel alignment was working out close to 6.5k,So for around 9k,took Silver AMC before billing.I get this service and the 30k/2yr service covered in that amount.
Jobs done: full scheduled 3rd service routine.tail gate beading and hinges changed again.squeaking noise has stopped now and hope it doesn't come back.I had busted my back bumper in a battle scar in NDMC Parking wars some months ago,so that needed to be changed.bumper costed 900.these parts come in black and so painting RS,2000 extra to UB.
SERVICE QUALITY has definitely improved.The general lethargy that hung around the air TASS has surprisingly gone away.Im seeing more proactive SAs constantly following up and taking good care of the car. Car was nicely washed and cleaned when I went to pick it up.Took a road test with SA and came back for BILLING.Nice plush waiting lounge for owners to wait next to billing area with a coffee vending machine and a television.Thanks to such small pleasures in life.Even the gate security is doing a diligent job keeping note of each car with km noting at each entry exit.
Silver AMC meant service cost was nil,paid only for bumper.By the time I made the payment and came out proactive SAa had taken the car again for wash as it had become a little dirty during road test in the rains.Got it spanking clean and vacuumed in some time.
Overall very happy with improvement in TASS and hope they keep it up.

Vehicle is clearly smoother and quiter after the service.Took it on a dash to tajmahal,Agra and back today on the Yamuna expressway, and it proved effortless climbing up to big 3 digits and staying there.Thick fog on the return leg would ve proved scary in any lesser car but the beast pierced it with gusto and godsent fog lamps.Felt very confident and planted all through the drive. Feels like the beast has cleared its throat after the 3rd service, and roaring like never before.Cheers!

3rd Service Report
At Concorde motors mathura road
Vignesh nice report , good that you are enjoying your storme . So now 1 frank question and expecting a honest answer from you . Is the money well spent ?

Thread Starter #133
Vignesh nice report , good that you are enjoying your storme . So now 1 frank question and expecting a honest answer from you . Is the money well spent ?
Frank answer is what I'll give then Raja but long and frank.Bear with me:
But these are just IMHO,At the outset, the looks and the presence of the car has grown into an addiction.As said by other Stormers, once I park the car and walk away, it always demands another look back at it.A drool with pride and passion kind of look. I don't know if I'm making sense but many others here might get it.
Send me to hell for the next one, but hey I don't own TATA shares...yet. Frankly, I'm even selfishly happy in one corner of my mind, that I don't see many Stormes on the road. Whether it is not making numbers because of TASS or product reliability or customer perception can continue to be debated,but while everyone's busy debating, it's nice to enjoy the exclusivity it offers on road.it s carved out a small niche for itself catering to the tastes of a particular breed of people. A storme sighting here and there, and owners exchange a knowing look of camaraderie.Im happy That STORME has not become the 'Big car' that politicos readily add to their convoy or that badi gadi that big families fill to the brim. I'm sorry again if I'm hurting feelings in any way but I'm just being frank.
Mechanically throughout its first year with us, Kumki has done whatever I've asked it to do with a wide front grille grin.This includes many a off-track adventures and misadventures I drive into on each of our trips, with an over ambitious 4x2. These are no way comparable to the off-road prowess that serious guys in the forum do, hence using word off track.even during these small detours from Tarmac, the storme has been sufficiently powerful to overpower anything in its path. I would not even have gone to some of these places if I was not confident of what I was driving. I've never mentioned these trails in the thread, as They were not noteworthy compared to serious off roading we read here.Through all that the Storme has got stuck only twice and both attributable to lack of driver skill.i.e.mine.But each time, I ve become a better driver, learnt more about what the SUv can do and more importantly what it can't.i ve understood that
It's like a 2ton fat lady on pointed heels when hitting soft ground and judgement and skill and acknowledgement of its limitations is all that is important while attempting any thing offbeat.But on the other side,Kumki has waded through arguably deep water for a long long stretch ploughing while others watched and waited. It has pulled out an alto in distress from sunk in slush. These are small things maybe not mention worthy here but to the owner makes all the difference.paint quality is top notch and small scratches from other cars hasn't once scraped off the paint layer. It leaves only small blemishes of white on the body which gets wiped away magically.
On the flip side, the trademark tata rattles and squeaks do make me frown after plonking so much money on it. Makes me wonder how much more should the average indian bleed green to get a an all rounded well put together, home bred affordable SUV.But with the available options today,storme checks out at the top for me.

Having said all that,to answer your question.one year later today if I had to make the decision again and buy an SUV for same budget,wiser by my year experience with storme,I would still go in again for the storme.[:D]

I would still go in again for the storme.[:D]
Superbly written review. Just what I feel about my beast. The rattles do appear but have managed to keep them at bay by visiting the service center. They have improved a lot I'd Say. Well apart from 2 services the beast had been to service centeronly once. that too to remove the rattle.

I am also truly satisfied with beast and loving every KM driven.

I would still go in again for the storme.[:D]
Wow !!, +100000 buddy, you have just posted whatever I had in my mind with my driving exposure of this beautiful beast[clap] wish you many many happy miles with it