Tata Safari Storme Breaks Cover (Launch Coverage: Pg.301+)

Re: Tata Safari Storme Breaks Cover (Launch Coverage: Pg.322+)

A lot of speculations, information from unreliable sources, reviews and views has been put on this thead. There are and were certain questions which are still not answered by anyone on this thread, like

1.) Whether a new luxurious version of storme will come or not?
My take: Even if a new variant will come, than the prices of that variant will be more. and as far as my knowledge goes no new variant with so called luxurious interiors will come in existing safari. Only new stereo with some other on board gadgets will come into scene which most probably will be available as after market accesories.

2.) Storme vs Scorpio: Which is better, VFM, etc etc

Scorpio is to be compared with safari only not with storme. Apart from the so called low end grunt and turbo lag (people who does nt know how to drive vehicle in right gears) is the minor issue in city driving only. Other wise i bet storme is miles ahead than any other varity of scorpio.

3.) Is storme Lx VFM or should we buy Storme EX

If you are tight in budget than go for Lx as it has all the safety features and equipment level. But if you can afford, than go for EX or VX. I personally would prefer EX.

Lets see how many numbers it will garner in terms of sales. ANyways Safari is always bought by heart and less by mind. If this isnt the case i would not had bought the Aria, which is a mind over heart decision in my case.

To all the experts,

My VX 4x2 getting deliverd in 1st week of jan, and i would be upgrading tyres to 255 65 R16!

i have options Michelin/Yokohama/Hankook/Maxix/MRF/Apollo
I have shortlisted Michelin/Yokohama Geolander AT and Hankook.
Michelin is way too expensive coming around to 13k per tyre, i am not sure about Hankook performance and Yokohama seems to have sidewall problem as i am been reading a lot about that problem bursting tyres and stuff.

Also as i am going for AT tyres now, hope the on road performace remains as good as HT.

I am confused can anyone help me here please

M

To all the experts,

My VX 4x2 getting deliverd in 1st week of jan, and i would be upgrading tyres to 255 65 R16!

Michelin is way too expensive coming around to 13k per tyre, i am not sure about Hankook performance and Yokohama seems to have sidewall problem as i am been reading a lot about that problem bursting tyres and stuff.

Also as i am going for AT tyres now, hope the on road performace remains as good as HT.

I am confused can anyone help me here please

M
Congrats Buddy.

Apart from all above brands, why not to think about Bridgestone. My Bolero having Bridgestone & mileage they given in rough use is quit good. (read 87 K) It seems still there is another 20K life remains.

For STORME EX, I will go for stock tyre setup & will upgrade when they give up.

To all the experts,
As far as I know off-roaders really prefer the Hankook tyres.But as Vikram said why don't you look at Bridgestone tyres?

However, if I had to make a pick,I would close my eyes and choose Michelin as it's the best in the world.When it comes to refinement and ride quality literally nothing beats it.[:)]

More confusion and delima... I Love storme but after 6 month.
Guys what's your take on this?
No confusions and no drama.You never know what future has in store for us,live the moment dear live the moment.

You never know when Tata will launch ZX variant,it may take them atleast 12 months to even 2 years,you never know.So just avoid any confusions and go for Storme.

Cause of the testimony of the owners I do believe you will not regret your decision.Happy purchase.[:)]

@ Bugs

Buddy a special request to you ,can you please post the pics of your gold ex storme and if possible your friends black storme also .

Congrats Buddy.

Apart from all above brands, why not to think about Bridgestone. My Bolero having Bridgestone & mileage they given in rough use is quit good. (read 87 K) It seems still there is another 20K life remains.

Bridgestone are the standard tyres on the Storme. Unless some one has hard core off roading on their mind, the standard tyres would do their job quiet well on most of the terrains....

@ Bugs

Buddy a special request to you ,can you please post the pics of your gold ex storme and if possible your friends black storme also .
hi raja,

i apologize to all the members of this group for the delay with the photographs... I would post them over the weekend!

One information i would like to share with those who are willing to take storme: today when i saw the price list of storme insurance cost was 37k n i called my agent to get it directly he said sbi is offering at 32k, then i asked him to get it from some govt insurance company, national quoted 25k. So friends just be aware of this and try to get your own insurance as most of the margin directly goes to the dealer. Straight way i safe 17k...

Tomorrow i will book my Black Beast LX n will take it on 1/01/13 if everything goes well.

Thanks buddy I wish, but Bridgestone India doesn't have 255 65 R16 , i have enquired all best places in delhi, it does mention on website but n,
on of the dealers got it.

Congrats Buddy.

One information i would like to share with those who are willing to take storme: today when i saw the price list of storme insurance cost was 37k n i called my agent to get it directly he said sbi is offering at 32k, then i asked him to get it from some govt insurance company, national quoted 25k. So friends just be aware of this and try to get your own insurance as most of the margin directly goes to the dealer. Straight way i safe 17k...

Tomorrow i will book my Black Beast LX n will take it on 1/01/13 if everything goes well.
@ navdoon

Congrats finally the call has being made on black storme [clap]

Wish you many many blissfull miles of comfort in your storme . I request you to start a ownership review and as soon as you get delivery kindly post some pics on this thread as a treat from you for us [:)]

i forgot to attach a picture of my Storme came today n the stockyard taking deliverly in jan :)

A little late to update this thread as was busy with work and studies and had no time for surveying or test driving all these cars. 2 days back got a call from Dad that he wants to get the new car soon by 15th Jan. So finally today took out some time to test drive the cars.

Had driven XUV500 extensively over the last month as a cousin of mine bought it. Really love everything about this car, but it was always going to be out of budget. So planned to drop it from the list.

Ertiga and Innova dropped from the list as they don't give that SUV feel which is very much required.
Scorpio rejected by me solely for being an age old product now and the interiors are really not to my taste. Dad still might give it a look when he comes on the weekend.
Only cars left for the final list were Tata Safari Storme and Renault Duster.
Had a test drive of both today.

Renault Duster
Went to the local Renault showroom. There were like 15 Dusters standing outside to greet us. Each and every color was standing. Really liked it in white and silver. Woodland brown too looks good but i guess i would get bored of it in sometime if i end up buying that shade.

To begin with there is a lot of confusion over the variants of Duster. Was in a total shock when the SE started telling me about what feature is available in which trim. Finally got down to 2 variants RXL 85 And RXL 85(O)
Price difference is 1 lac between the variants and the RXL(O) gets Dual Airbags, ABS and alloy wheels as extra than RXL 85. Really didnt liked the sound how the doors closed. Very flimsy in my view. No rubber beading on the door was like a total shock. (Cost cutting at its best.) Interiors are ok. I liked the driving position in the Duster. Its more car like. Power windows switches are really awkwardly placed. Looks like an after market job.
Did a small 5km drive in RXL 85 and liked the drive. Doesn't have the out right punch but it just breezes smoothly. Was in total command from the word go. Didn't feel like much of a change from my Polo. Rear seats look a bit cramped for a car of this size. Engine noise was fairly audible inside the cabin. Sound quality from the ICE was below average. Surely an upgrade for speakers would be required.
RXL 85 - Ex showroom price -9.57Lacs
RXL(O) 85 - Ex showroom price - 10.57Lacs

These two are in contention at the moment. Waiting period as claimed by SE is around 3 months at present. But Dad knows the agency owner and I'm sure we can get it for ourself in a week max.

Then headed to Tata showroom.

Tata Storme looks substantially bigger than Duster from every angle. Its a got very solid feel to it. Literally had to climb to get inside the car on display. The front seats are super comfortable. But the mammoth size of the Storme got me a little worried if it would be a good idea to go for this beast.

Tata Safari Storme LX and EX fit the budget perfectly.
Had a short test drive of the Storme. Really liked the commanding view from the drivers seat. Not very cumbersome to drive in the city as i was thinking it would be.Pick up is noticably quicker than the Duster i had test driven earlier. Turning radius of this beast is really one thing that makes your jaw drop. Its literally astonishing how a car of this size makes U turns in congested streets in one go. Steering wheel is on a little lower position, not particularly to my liking,but still ok. Steering wheel didn't hinder with my thighs during the drive as was complained by some members.(I'm just 5'8). Loved the sofa seats in the rear. This really would be one car in which i would prefer trvelling in the rear seats as much as being in the driver's seat. Saw the interiors of LX and EX variants. Not particular to my liking,specially the bizarre silver portion in the middle of the dash is totally out of sync. Maybe would try getting faux wood for them in after market if we go for this car. Jump seats in the rear are good for kids only. Although in our case would hardly be used.
LX sounded more Value for money as it just doesnt have the Fog lamps, roof mounted AC and rear wiper. Paying a whole 90k for these 3 doesn't sound right.
Storme LX - Ex showroom price - 9.95Lacs
Storme EX - Ex showroom price - 10.8Lacs

Waiting period - 3-4 weeks.

A twist in the tale -

Tata Aria

Saw one standing inside the Tata showroom. Went to check it out and was completely blown away by the interiors. Really loved the dash design and the whole interior lay out. Don't particularly like it from the outside though. There is a 1.5Lacs discount on the base Pure variant which comes down to 10.5Lacs ex showroom price. But surely wouldn't be going for this vehicle.
I would have gone straight away if i was given these interiors in the Storme. I guess Tata messed up real bad when it came to the interiors of the Storme.

Verdict
Preferably would go for the Storme now after the test drives of both the vehicles. Waiting for Dad to come and experience the cars himself on Saturday.
My vote at present is for Storme LX either in Black or White. Should be finalizing over the weekend.