Tata Safari Storme Breaks Cover (Launch Coverage: Pg.301+)

Re: Tata Safari Storme Breaks Cover (Launch Coverage: Pg.322+)

One more thing I forgot to mention, there were just slight amount of vibrations on gear knob, but it was very slight. But I am hoping that it will get smoother as car starts munching more miles. Long term ownership review will clarify the doubt.

[lol] So honest.
Thanks for your feedback. Appreciated if you could have uploaded some pic of all of you with storme. [:)]
Sorry, but by the time I reached it was started getting darker and I was so excited to see the Storme, I asked Raja to take pics afterwards.

@Dharmesh: Did you/your wife feel any turbo lag/lack of bottom end grunt as claimed by some of the auto experts whilst driving the beast known as Safari Storme?

You need to drive this beast to believe whatever I am going to write now, simply because of old history of Safari and TML.

Aria was a stepping stone for TML in terms of good quality product but it failed, because NOBODY was ready to buy a 16L car that too from TATA. but whoever got a chance to drive or own it, nobody complained..correct?

Same goes to STORME,I am a current Safari owner and die hard Safari fan so it may sound a biased feedback. And neither I am going to compare it with any other SUV because everybody loves his\her car whatever they own, and I respect that neither I am “Auto certified “to do that 

All you have to do is TD once and you will\may associate everything what I am going to write now in short

1. Looks: its huge ( Yes being a old safari owner ,I felt its huge, spl from front and on technical specification also)

2. Space : Better thn current Safari, space space n more space. Back seat is for kings and Queen :-)

3. Interiors: Top notch, all switches and material is of very high quality

4. Dash (console) : My only disappointment :Single din but works fine, Bluetooth was awesome when I used it. Though I am against too much electronics in SUV but a 2-DIN system was must. I guess TATA missed the trick here. Spl first time buyer of SUV will not like this at all

5. Drive : Butter smooth, Makhkhan.Thats where the main difference is. Felt like driving a car, though i missed the sound of roaring engine :-). Asked couple of lady owners also to drive and they felt its like car. One lady commented "its like I am driving my i-20)

6. You can NOW take U - turn on spot ( no need to go left first ;-)

7. Brakes: Simply awesome, and yes ABS is working fine . Tried couple of times on Mumbai expressway and it was amazing.

8. Body roll, Turbo lag: Technical term only :-)

9. Ghat section: was driving in 4h gear :-)

10. Doors: car like

11. AC: chiller,(well know for existing cars also)

12. Paint quality is very good

13 Gear: Better thn Prev generation, but gear box is not like car

13. Suspension: it glides. Just one example> Have driven my old Safari on some very bad road in Pune, spl Sayaji service lane is test track :-), and every time my friends used to tell me that only Safari can "run" on this road. Took Storme there and it was gliding

So plz take a TD if its launched in your State and I am sure you will love the drive.

Buddy, first of all accept my warm wishes...the car is looking killer and you too!![;)]
Okay, now kindly bring a quick ownership review, I just love reading Safari ownership reviews(they are always straight from heart).

Aria was a stepping stone for TML in terms of good quality product but it failed, because NOBODY was ready to buy a 16L car that too from TATA. but whoever got a chance to drive or own it, nobody complained..correct?
100% correct, Aria is in a league of its own(Hehe, my favorite Tata it is).

Same goes to STORME,I am a current Safari owner and die hard Safari fan so it may sound a biased feedback. And neither I am going to compare it with any other SUV because everybody loves his\her car whatever they own, and I respect that neither I am “Auto certified “to do that.
This is the reason I want a good ownership review now..your words are addictive, at least for me.[clap]

All you have to do is TD once and you will\may associate everything what I am going to write now in short

1. Looks: its huge ( Yes being a old safari owner ,I felt its huge, spl from front and on technical specification also)

13. Suspension: it glides. Just one example> Have driven my old Safari on some very bad road in Pune, spl Sayaji service lane is test track :-), and every time my friends used to tell me that only Safari can "run" on this road. Took Storme there and it was gliding
Happy to know that you are more than satisfied with the vehicle and even happier to know that no issues at all are faced by you. Wishing you lacs of happy miles with Storme.[:)]

Congratulations Sanjaysg for the new Storme. Its gleaming.

Congrats for all those TAIns who booked already.

but what did sachin finally decided ?
He is a tough nut and would take some time to decide.
He said that he is impressed by the looks and very much happy with the acceleration and ride quality.
Only thing confirmed by him is - colour is black.

Does the Tata storme has healing power too?
It was real.

Some pictures this time.

IMG20121214_003a.jpg

IMG20121214_001a.jpg

Furtunerx checking the fitment and build quality.
IMG20121214_005a.jpg

IMG20121214_006a.jpg

IMG20121214_004a.jpg

IMG20121214_011a.jpg

@Dharmesh: Did you/your wife feel any turbo lag/lack of bottom end grunt as claimed by some of the auto experts whilst driving the beast known as Safari Storme?
My wifey have to do nothing with turbo or lag, what she wants is, when she leaves half clutch car should move and it did and she was happy. [lol]
As far as I am concerned, I shift gears at bit higher RPM to negate the turbo lag. And IMO, turbo lag is just psychological term. [lol]

Hehe, you drive a Punto right? Eh, any person driving any heavy car with an engine which is nearly dead without turbo(Punto, Linea, Corolla etc) develops this habit of pushing in gears and then shifting up.[;)]

I will use a better term called "adapted" instead of habit. [;)]

@autosafari

Nice pictures.Storme looks great.The Darker shades are better suited,especially black in pictures.
What did Furtunerx say after having checked the fitment and build quality ? Was he happy?
Hope to see it in Palakkad in January [roll]

I will use a better term called "adapted" instead of habit. [;)]
Whatever the word is, I am happy that I am not alone. And this adaptation is so good that now I press every car for once as soon as I start driving it.

@Autosafari:
If I am not wrong then Fortunerx is checking the build quality by some sort of punching..right??[:)]

@autosafari

Nice pictures.Storme looks great.The Darker shades are better suited,especially black in pictures.
What did Furtunerx say after having checked the fitment and build quality ? Was he happy?
You are right the dark colours look amazing but pearl white too looks very elegant here is a pic

@autosafari

Thanks Manoj,

Furtunerx is keen on checking the build quality since he is planning to keep this car for next 6 to 7 years atleast.

He is happy with the fitments and build quality.

Its looking rugged and strong and build quality took a big leap forward from old Safari.

I too assume that Storme should reach Palakkad by January.

@Autosafari:
If I am not wrong then Fortunerx is checking the build quality by some sort of punching..right??[:)]
Yes buy punching and also by kicking [evil]

We in Materials department do check it in many different ways.

@ Raja,

The beast in white looks dashing as well.

For me that chrome strip in front and the dual colour design at the back don't go well with other wise a classy exterior. The panel gaps seems to be very evident in the bonnet area where as almost non-existent elsewhere ,in those pictures.