Tata Nano – To Its Best

I had a similar recent experience with TASS (Wasan Motors, Kandivali West workshop)
During my car's servicing, before handing the care to them for servicing, I had clearly asked them to fix the alignment issue, as the steering was tilting to the left.
When I TD the car post servicing, the issue was not resolved. Hence asked them to re-do the alignment. They took another day and messed the alignment even further. The steering started pulling towards right this time [anger]. I know what they must have done. Furious and upset with TASS, I decided to get it fixed from a local garage, who resolved the issue in 30 mins flat. [clap]
every one is complaining of pulling toward left any reason why nano pulls to left? mine was also pulls left most all the times, and pulling toward right after alignment happened with me twice also[lol] what amount outside shop charged for alignment.

See Buddy, If genuinely the steering is hard then driving with one or both hands doesn't matter. Go ahead and get bushes checked/ replaced.

is this bush you are talking about? They changed 2 weeks back due to some steering vibration and play.

Re: Tata Nano – To Its Best

is this bush you are talking about? They changed 2 weeks back due to some steering vibration and play.
Buddy that's the steering rod. You take the car to the ASC and then tell the SA to check the bushes and accordingly replace them. Also get alignment checked.

Thread Starter #1,848
alignment i did recently at bridgestone select, they charged me 116rs. nano pulls to left because of bad alignment. to temporarily stop this fill 2 psi more on the pulling side. temporary in the sense, till you take the car to TASS. check for the suspensions and tie rod too.
never do alignment in TASS. most of there alignment device are out of calibration. better get it done in authorised stores like MRF franchise or Bridgestone select. i usually avoid local alignment centre because, most labours there are lack of basic knowledge.

alignment i did recently at bridgestone select, they charged me 116rs. nano pulls to left because of bad alignment. to temporarily stop this fill 2 psi more on the pulling side. temporary in the sense, till you take the car to TASS. check for the suspensions and tie rod too.
never do alignment in TASS. most of there alignment device are out of calibration. better get it done in authorised stores like MRF franchise or Bridgestone select. i usually avoid local alignment centre because, most labours there are lack of basic knowledge.
If I go outside for the alignment then visiting 2 times in month will become routine, every time I aligned the car from TASS, it misaligned after 150-200 km because of some pot holes in my way. alignment worker of TASS told me that nano rims are very light and thin as compared to any other car omni and 800 too have heavy rims in comparison that's why misaligned on small jerks.

Slot in first gear and give slight throttle just to crawl the car with no clutch depressed- is your car makes some jerks on this? mine do but TASS worker said because of 2 cylinder engine.

Thread Starter #1,851

If I go outside for the alignment then visiting 2 times in month will become routine, every time I aligned the car from TASS, it misaligned after 150-200 km because of some pot holes in my way. alignment worker of TASS told me that nano rims are very light and thin as compared to any other car omni and 800 too have heavy rims in comparison that's why misaligned on small jerks.

Slot in first gear and give slight throttle just to crawl the car with no clutch depressed- is your car makes some jerks on this? mine do but TASS worker said because of 2 cylinder engine.
Drive slow and carefully on a bad road. It not only affects your alignment but also the suspension then steering rack mechanism, etc. Just do the alignment once outside and see the difference.

No jerks and all. Had it before that was due to worn out engine mounts. Once replaced is better

Can any nano twist owner confirms the position of jack in twist. Some one from team-bhp claims jack is in boot instead of below co-driver seat.
I don't think so, i check the twist yesterday in showroom and the jack was under the front seat only. In the CNG Emax model battery is in the bonnet and Jack in the rear

Can any nano twist owner confirms the position of jack in twist. Some one from team-bhp claims jack is in boot instead of below co-driver seat.
I don't think so, i check the twist yesterday in showroom and the jack was under the front seat only. In the CNG Emax model battery is in the bonnet and Jack in the rear
Yes, In my CNG Emax the Jack is in the boot and Battery is in bonnet. Don't know about Twist.

Tata Nano might be shelved if sales do not improve by 2017.

Tata Nano has seen poor demand with plant operating at 5-10% of annual capacity and piling stocks of Nano’s produced in 2014. The Chairman of Tata Group, has warned that he may even be forced to write off the project if a marked increase in sales is not noted in the next two years
Tata Nano might be shelved if sales do not improve by 2017

Nano owners give your valuable input to what things or features must be added and removed to make nano a successful car. I am not taking alto800 as a rival because no matter what ever you give in nano it will not not be able to compete sales chart of alto800. Also what are the consequences which forces the nano sales below poor.

These comments are from those non nano owners who never seated in nano.
1. No fifth door (whether I need it or not it must be there- 4 doors cheap)
2. No overhang bonnet area of front.
3. Looks like toy.
4. Engine sounds like auto.
5. nano weights only 600 kg while alto800 is of 800 kg (person have no knowledge of engine cc, for him 800 means kg. We don't know how many people like him are our there).
6. Different size wheels
7. Its TATA
8. Small engine size
9. Can't give more mileage than alto800.
10. It has Single wiper (Yes)
11. Battery inside cabin
12. No option for CNG installation in open market.
13. Thin steel body.
14. No Glove Box
15. Only 4 Gears
16. Can it touch 100 km/h speed ?
17. It will drag to corner if a heavy truck or vehicle pass through.
18. 4 people in this size car- are you joking.
19. Can it climb a bridge with passenger on board ?
20. Can it run 200 km non stop ?
21. Does it still cost 1 lakh ? (What NO -- alto 800 is better)

I have not added the comments of those who do not own any 4 wheeler (car) but have 2 wheeler and regularly suffers from bad traffic condition on road. They have not enough money to buy alto800 but will never buy nano because its cheap looking toy which makes their image down in the society. One of that group asked me why nano you must buy a bike or scooty.

I was really interested to buy Nano in 2011-12, but my family was against it after TD. Even though done multiple TD my wife was not ready to accept Nano. She was a learner driver at that time.Issues she told are (some may be related to TD car or 2012 model)

1. No pwer steering
2. no rear hatch door
3. Heat coming from rear seat( though Ac is a chiller,we felt rear seat area getting hotter)
4. No good dash board.(no space for even docs,She hated that bag to keep docs.
5. no good sound insulation.Rattles.

Though many issues Tata sorted out lately..That is the issue.Yes Tata solved it very late. Still some of them are.

According to me many issues still there ,

1.Different tire size. I hate that puny front tire.
2. No disc brake. I heard disc brakes are cheaper than drum brakes to manufacture.
3. No good dash board. Atleast they should give a good dash then start to comapre with M800/alto
4. alignment issue/front suspension issues i heard.
5. Still no rear hatch door.
6. Rattles.No good sound insulation.

Apart from that,to forget this issues and buy one, this car is not that cheaper to own compared to other cars. We have better used cars option there.

Why didnt they sorted out these simple issues in a single version and launched V2. I dont think Tata didnt have the technical Knowledge to sort this out. With its 625 CC rear engine nano is most powerful car to drive compared to competiters they are powerful in paper. Tata should think about the other issues before thinking about Engine power upgrade.

At least they could have given a rear split seat for a car which doesnt have the rear hatch door. without these spending crores for advertisement doesnt give good sales.AFAIK, ads will attract people to showroom, but it doesnt convert to sales unless they sorted out these issues along with their infamous TASS.

Nano owners give your valuable input to what things or features must be added and removed to make nano a successful car. I am not taking alto800 as a rival because no matter what ever you give in nano it will not not be able to compete sales chart of alto800. Also what are the consequences which forces the nano sales below poor.

These comments are from those non nano owners who never seated in nano.
1. No fifth door (whether I need it or not it must be there- 4 doors cheap)
2. No overhang bonnet area of front.
3. Looks like toy.
4. Engine sounds like auto.
5. nano weights only 600 kg while alto800 is of 800 kg (person have no knowledge of engine cc, for him 800 means kg. We don't know how many people like him are our there).
6. Different size wheels
7. Its TATA
8. Small engine size
9. Can't give more mileage than alto800.
10. It has Single wiper (Yes)
11. Battery inside cabin
12. No option for CNG installation in open market.
13. Thin steel body.
14. No Glove Box
15. Only 4 Gears
16. Can it touch 100 km/h speed ?
17. It will drag to corner if a heavy truck or vehicle pass through.
18. 4 people in this size car- are you joking.
19. Can it climb a bridge with passenger on board ?
20. Can it run 200 km non stop ?
21. Does it still cost 1 lakh ? (What NO -- alto 800 is better)

I have not added the comments of those who do not own any 4 wheeler (car) but have 2 wheeler and regularly suffers from bad traffic condition on road. They have not enough money to buy alto800 but will never buy nano because its cheap looking toy which makes their image down in the society. One of that group asked me why nano you must buy a bike or scooty.
You simply cannot change mentality of the folks in our country very easily. As they say, once a flop, always a flop. No matter how big Tata pays in marketing, advertising (which they tried sometime back but eventually gave up). I remember they tried to change Nano's image from 'Cheap' to 'For the youth', this Tata product will always be under-rated.

Whatever people say, it does not bother me anymore. The car does the job (from point A-point B) and does it in a cost-effective way, provides comfort in comparing to an Auto.

All the points that you listen to people saying, just ask them next time you hear the questions again 'Have you ever driven, or even sat in a Nano?'