Tata Motors: The Story Of Epic Journey

Thread Starter #421
Re: The Story of Tata's Epic Journey from Trucks to Aria

IAB reports:Tata Ultra 812 showcased publicly for the first time

Tata Motors unveiled the new LCV and ICV range of vehicles at the 2012 Delhi Auto Expo. The company said that the new light-weight and intermediate commercial trucks, christened ‘Ultra’ will be offered in several variants with payload capacity between 5 and 14 tonnes.

The range will be built on the Dormex 650 steel rolled chassis, a newly developed platform engineered for flexibility which aids towards multiple wheelbases and payload points.

Shown here are images of the never before seen Tata Ultra 812, showcased by a Tata dealer at the India International Commercial Vehicle Show in Chennai last week. The Tata Ultra 812 is also one among the newly developed light-commercial vehicles, expected to launch towards the end of this year. Tata had previously showcased the 714 and 1017 models.

Tata Motors has not released any details on this truck, but is reported to have sold about 25 Ultra truck variants to gauge feedback. It could be powered by the same 3.0L engine that powers the Ultra 714, tuned to produce more torque. The Ultra 812 could host more or less the same set of features as seen in the Ultra 714 and Ultra 1017 which were unveiled at the 2012 Delhi Auto Expo.

The Tata Ultra 714 truck housed a 3.0L 138hp common rail DICOR engine, capable of a peak torque of 360Nm. Features in the Ultra 714 included an audio system, cab tilt lock indicator, low-fuel indicator, air filter service indicator, door ajar lamp and a leather finish dashboard.

The Tata Ultra 1017 ICV on the other hand was powered by a new 5L DICOR engine, capable of driving out 168hp and 590Nm of torque. The Tata Ultra 1017 was rich on features which included HVAC, cruise control, ABS, suspended driver seat, 12V power socket, power windows, electrically adjustable ORVM, GPS and a music system.
Now time for some snaps[glasses]:

India collapsed, Tata Motors planning more products for global markets: Karl Slym - Business Today
It would appear that TML is being smart by having smaller sales targets many locales than a big one in India. Still feel sad that the Aria cntinues to bomb despite all efforts. The CNG Nano seems to have had a relatively soft launch in Gujarat? Priced at 50k more than petrol version this seems more a green venture than a profitable one!-just my thoughts.

Thread Starter #424

Aria continues to bomb after all the efforts? Well they still haven't launched A/T,6 speed manual with mild facelift.So if these are the great efforts put by TML,then it deserves to bomb in my humble opinion!

I am as baffled as you,but imagine that K Slym and team MUST be having a good strategy in mind. The speed TML manages to upgrade(not minor facelift) disappoints, but guess major changes cost a lot in Tooling in a factory and so guess they ave their own reasons. Would love someone from TAI doing a detailed interview with Mr Slym and get his take product by product!

Seeing a "small" increase in Aria sales as taxis near CIAL, Kochi [:)]
Small means small though..[;)]

Thanks Xover. I was hoping we would get such an interview done by TAI. Watched the Interview with great expectation. Perhaps that led to some disappointment.
Karl did not seem to have too many concrete answers to Hormazd specific questions; for example-the plans for nano are that it is a good canvas,plans for improving ASS were a classification of the types of improvements that one can do, and the list goes on.
He did o reveal a native petrol engine series and new vehicles coming from 2014, which? -we will have to wait.
Overall though, the sense one gets is not one of optimism from him;or perhaps that's a British poker face not wanting to reveal his hand ?

After a three-year hiatus, Tata Motors, India’s fourth largest car maker, will launch two all-new products next year to give its sagging portfolio a much needed fillip.

The Mumbai-based company will unveil a hatchback and compact sedan at the Auto Expo in February followed by their commercial launch.

The new hatchback (codenamed Falcon 4) will sit alongside its existing Indica and Vista models and the company ruled out any phase out of either of the two models.

Similarly the new compact sedan (codenamed Falcon 5) will complement the Indigo CS, the country’s first compact sedan, having length of under four meters.

Ranjit Yadav, president, passenger vehicle business unit, Tata Motors said, “We have planned a portfolio where we will be bringing new vehicle every year up to 2020. Next year we will launch completely new cars. It will have a completely new DNA with modified platforms, new attributes, powertrains and design language. These cars are actually for the global markets so we will launching them first in India and then take them to select international markets from 2015.”

Both the new models will have design and styling that would be very different from any of Tata Motors’ existing models, helped by feedback from some potential customers and dealers, according to Yadav.

While the existing Vista uses a platform that is not the same as the ageing Indica, a new model launch in the hatchback segment will be the first in the segment by the company in more than five years.

Tata Motors has been slow in bringing new products to the market. Even the multi-seater, premium utility vehicle Aria, which is a totally new product, was launched three years ago.

In comparison the gap between the launch of Sail, Sail UVA and the Enjoy by General Motors was less than a year. Maruti Suzuki, India’s largest car maker, launched two new models, Alto 800 and the Stingray, in a space of less than ten months.

The company refused to share details about the price of the two vehicles but reassured that none of the existing models will be pulled out of the production.

“We are not looking to replace any of our current brands. There are opportunities and spaces for us to address. These are high performance vehicles with a differentiated feature and new driving dynamics”, added Yadav.

While the Indica is priced at Rs 453,480, the more expensive Vista is available at Rs 472,474 (both prices, ex-showroom, Mumbai). There is presently a huge price gap between the Nano and the Indica with a total lack of any product offering by the company.

The present Indigo CS uses the same platform as the Indica and is priced at Rs 510,340 (ex-showroom, Mumbai). This compact sedan, which was launched in 2008, eventually replaced the regular Indigo as sales of the latter dwindled.

The new compact sedan will boost Tata Motors presence further in the segment, which sees monthly sales of more than 10,000 units. Apart from the Indigo CS, Honda’s Amaze is one of the only two models present in the segment.

Tata Motors has developed a new turbo-charged 1.2 litre petrol engine for the two new models, looking at the demand trend swinging back in favour of petrol. Tata Motors developed this engine in partnership with companies in UK and Korea.

Also on offer will be the same 1.3 litre Fiat developed multi-jet diesel engine seen on the Vista and the Manza.

“We have been working on a portfolio for a while, so we have sharpened and crafted it. Most of the work on these new models done is in-house. We will see a difference in design. We believe we have designs which are contemporary for the next five years”, added Yadav.

On the back of recording its biggest quarterly stand-alone net loss of Rs 803 crore Tata Motors in the September quarter, Tata Motors continues to be the biggest struggler in the passenger vehicle industry.

As per data released by Siam, Tata Motors recorded a 35% drop in sales during the April-October period at 128,263 units as against the same period last year. The company is looking to regain most of its lost ground with the help of these two new launches.

Courtesy:
Tata Motors lines up two new car launches for next year | Business Standard

TATA is the only company in India to launch new products in a New platform. I like their guts because of this.

Hope the upcoming products in TATA will be good enough for the competition in the current car market.

A question
Karl Slym says he drives Tata Cars-seen him in a Storme in the Hormazd interview and has mentioned driving in the Aria in a previous interview. He claims both are wonderful vehicles-however sales and feedback on TAI dont seem to suggest the same. Is he missing the whole plot or does he have to say that till new , better models come in? Seen only 1 Aria in Vellore-that too registered in Kerala!

A question
Karl Slym says he drives Tata Cars-seen him in a Storme in the Hormazd interview and has mentioned driving in the Aria in a previous interview. He claims both are wonderful vehicles-however sales and feedback on TAI dont seem to suggest the same. Is he missing the whole plot or does he have to say that till new , better models come in? Seen only 1 Aria in Vellore-that too registered in Kerala!
Considering vehicles to be wonderful is all subjective. I have a storme and if you ask me. I am in love with it. So is my opinion on Aria.

Both Storme and Aria are very refined products from Tata stable.

However, Sales is different ball game altogether. its got to do with marketting tactics and with perception of a brand. Both these factors talk against Tata.

A question
Karl Slym says he drives Tata Cars-seen him in a Storme in the Hormazd interview and has mentioned driving in the Aria in a previous interview.
Correct .

He claims both are wonderful vehicles-however sales and feedback on TAI dont seem to suggest the same.
What exactly you read on the forum that is contrary to what he says ? And there are many cars which sell less too , does that mean they are bad cars ?

Is he missing the whole plot or does he have to say that till new , better models come in?
Incase you have further questions you can ask him directly on twitter he answers many of the questions asked to him I heard .

Mean while people on our forum who have bought the storme have to say this ->

Hello friends,
Just back from 3000Km round trip (Gurgaon - Ranchi - Gurgaon). Only one word for storme is awesome. I don't have the words to describe the feeling and happiness storme has given to us of 20 hours continuous drive (two small tea break of 10/15 minutes and two lunch/dinner break of half an hour each) from Gurgaon to Ranchi. It was gliding on the highways. No problem even a small one no drama, simply superb ride. I am in love with my storme once again. Just for your information i have not at all prepared anything for this long drive, simply took the storme out, fill the tank , checked the air pressure and started the journey, Reason i have a confidence on this machine and it perform really to my expectation.
After returning i realize the confidence this car has given me, and i hope it will serve like this in future also.ODO is touching 14K km and 3rd service is due in next couple of days. And as a conclusion i can say that i have well spent my money by buying storme, and apart from some small niggles like back door rattling, driver side set belt noise everything is perfectly OK.
Rajeev
@rajiv, excellent buddy, i also completed my Delhi-Dharamshala-Mcleodganj-Dalhausi trip last week in my Storme, enjoyed every km that i travelled. moreover my wife who literally hates any kind of SUV was happy with the comfort on sofa seats[clap].

Tata Motors today launched CNG versions of mid sized sedan Tata Indigo and compact car Tata Indica under its emax series priced up to Rs 5.27 lakh (ex-showroom Delhi).

The new Tata Indigo emax price starts at Rs 4.99 lakh and goes upto Rs 5.27 lakh (ex-showroom Delhi), while the new Tata Indica emax is priced between Rs 3.99 lakh and Rs 4.26 lakh (ex-showroom Delhi), the company said in a statement.

The new emax range has CNG and Petrol bi-fuel system options, it added.

Commenting on the launch, Tata Motors Senior Vice President, Passenger Vehicle Business Unit (Commercial), Ankush Arora said: "CNG is gaining momentum in the Indian automobile market and we are happy to announce expansion of our CNG portfolio."

The introduction of the new Indigo and Indica variants comes as an essential step that underlines the company's commitment to be a sustainable automotive player, he added.

The two new variants have been introduced in six markets across India and will now be available in Delhi, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh and Tripura, the company said.

Tata Motors had showcased its Indigo and Indica emax range at the 'Horizonext' event, held in Pune, in June 2013, with a commitment to launch its CNG range in a phased manner in FY 14.

The Tata Motors Nano emax was the first in the range.

Courtesy:
Tata Motors launches CNG versions of Indigo, Indica cars, price starts Rs 4.99L - Financial Express