Tata Motors: The Story Of Epic Journey

Re: The Story of Tata's Epic Journey from Trucks to Aria

Tata Motors-owned Jaguar Land Rover to raise 2,100 crore to fund growth

Tata Motors-owned Jaguar Land Rover on Wednesday said it will raise $400 million (over 2,100 crore) through issue of bonds to support its operational costs and future growth plans. "Jaguar Land Rover Automotive, the parent company of the Jaguar Land Rover group of companies and a subsidiary of Tata Motors, announces the offer of $400 million Senior Notes due 2023," Jaguar Land Rover (JLR) said in a filing by Tata Motors
on the BSE.

The notes will be guaranteed on a "senior unsecured basis" by Jaguar Land Rover, Land Rover, Jaguar Land Rover North America, Land Rover Exports and Jaguar Land Rover Exports, it added.

"The net proceeds from the issuance and sale of the notes will be used for general corporate purposes, including to support Jaguar Land Rover's ongoing growth and capital spending plans," the company said.

The company, however, did not specify the areas where it intends to spend this fund. In April 2011, JLR had said it will invest £1.5 billion every year for the following five years, mainly on product development as it looked to catch up with global luxury car makers and position itself as a top premium brand.

Last year, JLR had raised £500 million (over 4,000 crore) through issue of bonds. In 2011, the UK-based auto maker had raised £1 billion (over 7,300 crore) to refinance its debt and other purposes.

In 2010, the company had raised £340-million loan from the European Investment Bank for research and development. In 2009 also, JLR secured over £500 million of funding, including facilities from SBI, StanChart, Bank of Baroda, GE Capital and Bank of Ireland. JLR had earlier announced rolling out 40 new products in the next 4-5 years.

Tata Motors-owned Jaguar Land Rover to raise 2,100 crore to fund growth - The Economic Times

Its wonder to see monsoon,floods,election,budget everything affecting the auto industry.
Crossing 1 billion dollar mark is a really big leap
jagrover,

That's is not auto industry but about construction industry.

1 billion dollar sales figures is for construction equipment JV - Tata Hitachi.

Stand alone turn over of Tata Motors (That is excluding Jaguar and Land Rover) is about 11 times of that.

Consolidated turn over of Tata Motors in Financial Year 2011-12 is about 35 Billion US Dollar.

jagrover,

That's is not auto industry but about construction industry.

1 billion dollar sales figures is for construction equipment JV - Tata Hitachi.

Stand alone turn over of Tata Motors (That is excluding Jaguar and Land Rover) is about 11 times of that.

Consolidated turn over of Tata Motors in Financial Year 2011-12 is about 35 Billion US Dollar.
Yes I only meant the JV and not TML as a whole..
Crossing a billion dollar is a great thing.TCS has crossed that. Now Tata-Hitachi will crosss it in the coming years which is a nice achievement[clap]

Thread Starter #351

Buddy, you got any news on that? Are you waiting for the refreshed Venture like i do?
Check this interview:Tata Safari Storme to get added features, sail overseas

All merry for you.This news will surely bring a smile on your face.[:)]

Every product has its own position. With Safari we’ve got Storme. We’ll come with a refreshed Venture very soon. We’ve got many projects that will take care of customers needs. Our plans are sustainable. Some are in design stages, some are in production stages. In days to come you can expect to see them. We’re looking at dominating the SUV market.

Thread Starter #352

Interview of Mr. Ranjit Yadav by IAB:Tata Motors' Ranjit Yadav - Compact SUV segment is strong

Competitors are arming themselves with compact sedans, this year Mahindra and Honda enter this space. Is it time to bring out a Vista CS/Manza CS as that’s something you’ve shown is possible to do?

Tata Motors practically pioneered the compact sedan category. It was extremely successful and now many other players also find it interesting to do. Clearly, below four meters (segment) is a zone where the Indian design, development and production can be world class. That’s a segment we look at actively, without naming brands and models, we will look at that and we will fulfill that.

Looking ahead, which department or aspect of the Nano would you place your focus on?

The Nano is a great concept, which is coming into it own, hitting its infliction point. Going forward the vehicle will be focused at the youth and the young enterprising user. Incidentally the most expensive variant has the maximum demand. People are willing to pay for value, they see value, they are willing to pay the price and its a common theme we see across. As we go forward with the Nano franchise, there’s a lot we will do. Design, features or performance, we look at everything.

The Aria’s a technologically superior car for Tata Motors, but perhaps its been misunderstood. Have you planned changes for 2013 as later this year it would reach its mid-life stage?

The Aria shows the ability and capability of the company, bringing the latest best in class product to the market. Perhaps it was a little ahead of its time, that’s why the market development has been challenging. We are working on a number of things on the Aria, not today, but in the near future we will talk about that. (Mr. Yadav promised to speak about it in our next meeting, hinting that something may well be around the corner)

We haven’t heard much about the Grande DICOR lately. Doesn’t the original Safari, post the Storme’s launch, overlap with the Grande, from the angle of product positioning? Is that a worry?

The Storme with time will replace the Safari. The market for UVs is expanding dramatically, there are various opportunities for growth with the Grande and Sumo Gold. We will be addressing all these opportunities in a systematic way. Current focus is to bring the Storme and Sumo Gold to scale, work is happening on this.

We are a company with a problem of plenty, one of the challenge is we have a whole range of vehicles and we can’t address all of them at the same time. There’s a go-to market, launch, build to volume cadence which we have to build over a period of time, so for the short-term in the last few months we launched four models, we’re digesting that and then we will bring the next.

We have seen many alternative fuel concept vehicles form you in past motor shows. You brought the Manza Hybrid concept to Delhi last year. Do you plan to put it into production?

There’s a lot of work happening. Its a technology we are shadowing and working closely on and at the right time we will bring products together. Bi-Fuel is the one which is of interest, with CNG. In India, there’s a need for fuel economy, that’s an area which we continue to work on strongly.

What do you make of the crossover segment that is putting manufacturers on the map and helping greatly in reaching their sales targets?

That’s a segment that is emerged and is very strong. Its quite evident from the numbers that are coming on the table.

Basically in India there’s an inherent need for ruggedized vehicles which can do more than just a simple car can do and the crossovers are addressing that segment as well. In the short and medium term we are focused on the real SUVs, so the Storme, the Sumo, the Grande, we have enough on our plate in the near term. On the long term, depending on opportunity, we will be addressing that as well. We are watching this space and working on it as well.

The past year was a terrible one for Indian automakers. The growth in the automotive segment was hampered due to erratic fuel policies, rising interest rates and changing market scenario. While the industry expected the growth percentage to be over 10%, it was a little over 2%.

[Left - We spotted the Tata Nano CNG testing near Pune last month with a new bumper; Right - Ashutosh Paranjpe sent us this image of the Nano CRDI from Pune last year]
The biggest hit was taken by Tata Motors as the Indian automaker lost both market share and market position. But under the helm of Karl Sylm, Tata Motors is undergoing a transformational phase to prepare for a brighter future.
Tata Motors has had very few new products in the last four years and the first step in the revival strategy is to introduce freshness throughout the lineup.
Tata Nano Diesel
The most promising product from the Tata stable will be the Nano diesel – quite possibly the smallest and the cheapest car with a diesel engine in the world. It is expected to be powered by an 800cc motor with a generous fuel economy of 35+ kmpl. The estimated price tag is upwards of 3 lakhs.
Tata Nano facelift
Continually improving the Tata Nano platform, the automaker is expected to bring an updated version of the Nano in the coming months. It will feature revised front and rear bumpers, a revised tail lamp cluster and an incorporation of a hatch that can be opened for easy storage.

The Storme is also expected to receive an automatic transmission this year or in 2014
Tata Nano CNG and 800 cc
Tata Motors is conducting road tests of the Nano CNG variant, it is expected in mid-2013.
Tata Manza/Vista CS
Tata Motors believes that the sub-4m segment is important, attractive and is focused on it. The Manza/Vista CS can borrow powertrains from the Vista – the 1.2L SAFIRE petrol engine and the 1.3-liter Quadrajet engine will fit in nicely, giving them the excise benefit for small cars. We don’t have exact confirmation on the timeline, perhaps using the Auto Expo, where the country’s first compact sedan (Indigo CS, Auto Expo 2008) was launched, can be the ideal location and time to showcase the new generation compact sedan?
Automatic gearbox for Aria and Safari
The rise of automatics has forced manufacturers to bring their DCT, CVTs and torque converters to India. Tata Motors is working with ZF to develop a six-speed torque convertor for the Aria and the Safari. A concept version of this technology was presented at the 2012 Auto Expo in New Delhi

[Left - Tata Aria AT Concept from the 2012 Delhi Auto Expo; Right - Tata Vista D90 XTreme Concept from last week's unveiling at BIC]
India’s first diesel automatic hatchback
Despite being a nation that is increasingly favoring auto boxes and diesel cars, we don’t have a single diesel hatchback with an automatic gearbox. According to sources, Tata Motors plans to change that by bringing out a diesel Vista paired to an auto box. This will not be a six-speed torque convertor taken from the Aria but a bespoke five-speed box for smaller Tata cars.
A ‘Scout’ version of the Tata Vista D90
Inspired by the Skoda Fabia Scout, Tata Motors plans raise the Vista hatchback. The automaker presented a concept version of this idea at the D90 launch in New Delhi last week. Tata Motors is currently garnering feedback for the acceptability of this concept. If it gets a green light, it will be a stop-gap arrangement until a new compact SUV is developed.

The Tata Indica XL project has been shelved, but Tata will use this platform in the future
Other products such as a compact SUV and a mini Aria are also speculated to be under development. Unfortunately, no official information is available right now on these new products.
Ranjit Yadav, former country head of Samsung India and Neeraj Garg, ex-director of Volkswagen have been brought in to direct Tata Motors forward. This new team might be the last resort Tata Motors has to truly become a global automaker.

Read more: Tata Motors future product map exposed!

Thread Starter #354

Thanks Raja for sharing this article.Yes the future does look good,but they need to hasten up all the new launches be it Nano diesel,Manza CS,or Vista cross-over etc.Until they do that I really don't see any improvements in their current status!

Stay calm. Stay focussed.
This is what TML has to do at the moment.
Future is always bright[:)]
Decision to spent half of the investment in the PV segment in the coming years is also a nice decision.
Hope to see "WINDS OF CHANGE" at TML[clap]

Tata Autocomp launches new brand for the aftermarket called Autocomp

The Rs 5,200 crore Tata AutoComp Systems, also known as TACO, is now preparing for a serious drive in the automotive aftermarket. The company will operate in the aftermarket under the 'Autocomp' brand name.

TACO, which manufactures a whole host of products ranging from a wiper blade to a driveshaft for OEMs, will initially offer only a few products in the aftermarket. About a dozen products, which includes coolants, washer pump motor, filter, brake pads are available now. The range is sold through five business partners now, and the company's plan is to increase it to 25 in the coming months.

TACO has a wide range of components including large exterior component like bumpers, side moudlings and front grilles, large interior components like door trims, cockpit, dashboard and pillar trims, kinematic plastic parts like air vents, grab handles, cupholders, glove compartments, and small engine and powertrain plastic parts. It also makes sheet metal components like skin panels, door trims, oil sumps and fuel tanks. Other products in its portfolio include automotive batteries, seating systems, radiators and intercoolers, rearview mirrors, command and control cables, and suspension systems for commercial vehicles.

Autocar Professional

Almost every manufacturer sources some thing from TATA for their vehicles..
There was an episode in cnb show of ndtv about these companies of TATA..
Can anyone post the link of that video??

Tata Indigo eCS raises the bar by enrolling in the Limca Book of Records

Source: cartrade.com

Tata Motors, the country's largest automobile manufacturer, scored a new high as its compact sedan- Indigo eCS has set an all-new endurance record for a non-stop country wide mileage run. The entry-level Tata model has been listed in the esteemed Limca Book of Records for a 14,000 km long endurance run that spanned 19 Indian states and union territories in just 15 days. The Indigo eCS used in the adventure trip touched some major points of the Indian turf, such as Kashmir in the north, Kibithu in the east, Koteshwar in the west and Kanyakumari in the south.

Expressing his delight on the highly noteworthy achievement, Ranjit Yadav, President, Passenger Vehicles Business Unit, Tata Motors, was quoted as saying, “The Tata Indigo eCS is the 3rd largest selling sedan in India today. The car has been appreciated for its classy styling and unbeatable value proposition that it offers. This endurance record has proven the Tata Indigo eCS as a robust and the most fuel-efficient sedan. Tata brands have always brought to the Indian passenger car market, best-in-class features, spacious interiors, personalised comfort and fuel efficiency. This feat has further encouraged us to continue developing innovative products and bring to market first-in-class value propositions.”

The pan-India immensely demanding mileage and endurance road trip was flagged off by Tata Motors in February 2012, in order to test the reliability and robustness of its Indigo eCS model. The results were verified by top industry experts and Limca Book of Records felicitated the car after everything had been confirmed. Further, 13 automobile buffs drove the Tata Indigo eCS through its nation-wide course and the sturdy machine managed to churn out a fabulous performance over the 15 days of gruesome non-stop driving.

Tata Indigo eCS raises the bar by enrolling in the Limca Book of Records | CarTrade.com

If the eCS-this one had the CR4-is so reliable an engine what is stopping TML from getting this post haste into the Vista, Manza,Venture...??-if they did and were smart in pricing the cars-i feel the eCS is faaar too expensive-they will be back in business-atleast till the "new" launches in ?2015

Tata Motors-owned JLR global sales up 32% in January

Tata Motors-owned Jaguar Land Rover (JLR) today reported 32 per cent increase in global sales for last month at 34,877 units.

"January sales were up across every major market with sales up 74 per cent in China, 46 per cent in Asia Pacific, 33 per cent in the UK, 24 per cent in North America and 10 per cent in Europe," JLR said in a statement.

In January, Land Rover brand sold 29,118 vehicles, up 31 per cent, with increased sales of Freelander - up 57 per cent, Range Rover -- up 52 per cent, including prior model, Range Rover Evoque (32 per cent), Range Rover Sport (17 per cent) and Land Rover Discovery (14 per cent).

Land Rover sales were up in all major markets with record January sales in several geographies, including the UK, USA and Germany, the company said.

The Jaguar brand sold 5,759 vehicles in January, up 40 per cent, with increased sales of the XJ - up 70 per cent and the XF - up 37 per cent, the company said, adding that Jaguar sales increased in all major markets

Tata Motors-owned JLR global sales up 32% in January - The Economic Times