Tata Motor’s Cars – The Ultimate Reliability Survey

How Much Satisfied You Are with Your Tata Car?

Amazing turn of events.Even in my wildest dream I never thought that most TATA car owners are satisfied lot.This voting has been a definite eye opener for me to say the least.

This thread itself is a testimony that the name of tata motors has been ruined by its A.S.S .
The bashing increases when customers are treated inline with the taxi operators.
this has always been a sore point where individual owners were put off.
Only remedy would have been a separate service centre to handle the tour operators and individual owners.

Re: Tata Motor’s Cars – The Ultimate Reliability Survey

Which car doesn't rattle with age? Rattle is something that will slowly creep in with age.
It depends on:
Build quality: Better build cars will rattle less.
Type of roads on which the vehicle is driven: Cars being driven frequently on bad roads will rattle more frequently. Tata and Mahindra cars are considered to be tough and people drive them rough too. Yes metal body is tough, but plastic parts cant be. so rattle more.
Driving style: Its an extension of above point. It depends a lot on the driving style.
Maintenance: If a small squeak is neglected, it will soon become a rattle. And will come back again and again.
Age: Nothing lasts for ever. With age, these things start appearing. And its not Tata specific.

I totally agree with justin. He claims that his A.S.S. experience has been good so far. Because he has been able to identify the faults and knows how to get the work done. Her, I would say, "Only crying babies get milk". Once you raise a concern, Tata will never hesitate to accept its fault and make good. Most of the time.. No questions asked. On 2 occasions, they put scratch on my car (not major. but sorely visible). Both of the times, I raised concern and they repainted the whole panel. Without showing any disgust. I dont think you'll find this with other companies. You're happy till you have a peculiar problem. And you had it. Just go to any consumer forum site. Every manufacturer has drawbacks. Question is who accepts. Tata accpets. Well. In most of the cases.
+100 for your unbiased analysis Nozzle, but please examine the following

With car does not rattle with age ? True, but if a vehicle rattles just before or after 1st service, then what should we blame on After sales service or built quality. When I faced this problem with one of the Indica V2, then the service guy told me that it is the built quality problem !![surprise]

Only crying babies get milk agreed 100% which ever is the brand this is true, but some how I felt that buying a TATA vehicle means becoming a "crying baby " from the beginning, this is where my concern about[confused]

gurrala74 said:
+100 for your unbiased analysis Nozzle, but please examine the following

With car does not rattle with age ? True, but if a vehicle rattles just before or after 1st service, then what should we blame on After sales service or built quality. When I faced this problem with one of the Indica V2, then the service guy told me that it is the built quality problem !![surprise]

Only crying babies get milk agreed 100% which ever is the brand this is true, but some how I felt that buying a TATA vehicle means becoming a "crying baby " from the beginning, this is where my concern about[confused]
I can understand your problem, but now days are different. New gen tata car has got good build quality. See manza/ vista etc they are as strong as any other car.

And the most important thing is that tata listen us and react with some solution.

Here are my own experience...
1. My nano got instrument cluster replacement. I had told that they had got many complaints about wrong fuel display and MIL , so they changed it of all 2012 nanos.

2. Nano does not have glove box. By user feedback , they have now offer addon gove box for all nano.
Ofcource at some cost but atleast we have that OEM option now.

Guys..Sorry for the late:

Here is Mine:

1) TATA Indica V2 DLS(2004 Model)
2) 2006
3) 1,50,000Kms
4) Build quality: Body - Excellent, Plastics - Average
5) coustomer service experience - As I done the service with local mechanic. I've no experience with TASS
6) a.s.s experience - Not experienced
7) warranty issues - N/A
8) if the car has been vfm - Real Value for money
9) issues and niggles faced so far - Engine noise was high.
10) satisfaction levels (-/10) - 8

1) TATA Vista VX
2) 2012
3) 6,800Kms and counting
4) Build quality: Body - Excellent, Plastics - Excellent
5) coustomer service experience - Good
6) a.s.s experience - God
7) warranty issues - replaced the bluetooth Mic.
8) if the car has been vfm - Excellent Value for money
9) issues and niggles faced so far - So far nothing.
10) satisfaction levels (-/10) - 9.9/10

In my point of view. TATA is one of the best company trusted by the people those who used/Using TATA vehicles.

I can say onething why some people saying TATA is not good. B'coz, I'm sure most of the TATA cabs crossed 1.5L Kms and also cab operators are running it without maintaining properly. so the people using those kind of cabs and thinking it is not worth. Even they won't check the Kms it has crossed.

I've seen some of my Dad friend's TATA cars, Which has crossed 2Lakh kms and they are enjoying there rides without any issues.B'coz they are maintaing it properly.

Thread Starter #51

This thread itself is a testimony that the name of tata motors has been ruined by its A.S.S .
The bashing increases when customers are treated inline with the taxi operators.
this has always been a sore point where individual owners were put off.
Only remedy would have been a separate service centre to handle the tour operators and individual owners.
+100
Well said ,sometimes I feel atleast they can atleast make special days if not special centers for private buyers means mon- wed- fri for private car owners only .

We had 3 TATA cars in the past and the experience was worst to say the least. Since then we have vowed never to buy a TATA.

But I will refrain from voting since I currently do not own any TATA car.

We had 3 TATA cars in the past and the experience was worst to say the least. Since then we have vowed never to buy a TATA.

But I will refrain from voting since I currently do not own any TATA car.
Could you please explain further? Otherwise, i feel that your post will not useful. I think you can post your car details and experience here as you was a tata customer. Kindly post the vehicle details of only belongs to you or your family, not from your friends and relatives.

1) Tata Safari 2.0 -

Broke down twice on the road, has numerous clutch, brake and suspension issues, used to emit thick black smoke which the A.S.S. could not resolve and had cold starting issues.

2) Tata Indica -

Was better than the Safari, atleast for 2 years. Then had issues with suspension, power windows, belt noise, power steering fluid leak and even a failed shock absorber. Never had us stranded though, was a relevation!

3) Tata Safari 2.0 -

Thought this was the "improved" version but turned out that it was the same old car with newer colors and stickers. This was had a jammed rear wheel, high oil consumption and smoke issues, gruff engine noise, rattling from almost everywhere and the biggest issue was that the AC would have its own mind. Sometimes it would work, sometimes it would blow hot air and sometimes it would make a creaking noise.

This was way back in 2003. Since then we have never owned a TATA.

Yes, one of my relative is a TATA fan (TATA is the only dealer in his vicinity) and he has owned the Indica followed by the Sumo Victa followed by the Safari 3.0 and followed by the Aria. Now he has booked a Safari 2.2! I have sat in his cars and though I am not aware of it's service history, the cars in general dint impress him. His 1 year old Aria now feels like a 5 year old machine.

Tata Indigo GLX (Ownership from 2004-2007 end)

The purchase was made just because of the hype the car created in the markets. The car never broke down on highways, however it was always suffering from one or the other ailment. Finally the car was sold after 3 yrs & 34000kms of use. It was sparingly used for this reason and my dad considered his office Accent more reliable than our Indigo.
The dealership experience was just average even though they tried their best to satisfy us but couldnt due to short supply of spares from Tata motors.

Thread Starter #56

1) Tata Safari 2.0 -

Broke down twice on the road, has numerous clutch, brake and suspension issues, used to emit thick black smoke which the A.S.S. could not resolve and had cold starting issues.

2) Tata Indica -

Was better than the Safari, atleast for 2 years. Then had issues with suspension, power windows, belt noise, power steering fluid leak and even a failed shock absorber. Never had us stranded though, was a relevation!

3) Tata Safari 2.0 -

Thought this was the "improved" version but turned out that it was the same old car with newer colors and stickers. This was had a jammed rear wheel, high oil consumption and smoke issues, gruff engine noise, rattling from almost everywhere and the biggest issue was that the AC would have its own mind. Sometimes it would work, sometimes it would blow hot air and sometimes it would make a creaking noise.

Yes, one of my relative is a TATA fan (TATA is the only dealer in his vicinity) and he has owned the Indica followed by the Sumo Victa followed by the Safari 3.0 and followed by the Aria. Now he has booked a Safari 2.2! I have sat in his cars and though I am not aware of it's service history, the cars in general dint impress him. His 1 year old Aria now feels like a 5 year old machine.
@ raj -You can very well vote since you have been a tata owner in the past .
Voting is allowed for any 1 who has owned a tata car in past and present .

@ Tata car owners - To all tata car owners in past what was the resale value you got for the tata cars you sold was it too low or satisfactory was it equal to other cars in the respective segments ? This question is IMP because then you guys can confirm if resale value of tata cars is good or bad .

Well. There are members who are more than satisfied. And at the same time, we have members who have horrific tales of Tata ownership. What I understand from above posts is that, most of the horrific tales are from earlier versions of Tata. While most of the satisfied customers are the recent ones. Dose that mean Tata has improved? I feel YES. Tata has improved. But there's lot more to improve. First thing to improve will be After Sales Service. They have shown gradual improvement. I hope it continues the same way.

1) Tata Safari 2.0 -

2) Tata Indica -

3) Tata Safari 2.0 -

Sorry to disturb you again. The car manufactured before 2003 had lot of issues. Please dont post information of the vehicles which not belongs to you. I also has friends whom having cars from all manufacturers. Each of them has their own issues/explanations. If your friend is not satisfied with all the products he purchased, then why he repeating his mistakes as same as you do with your purchase of tata cars. This is the first time i heard from you as you also owned tata cars.

^^he still owns a tata car.
His punto 90hp[lol]

and there is nothing pre 2003 and post 2003 era. All initial launches had niggles. This being true for 2007 VTT safari which had timing belt issues during the initial period.

Sorry to disturb you again. The car manufactured before 2003 had lot of issues. Please dont post information of the vehicles which not belongs to you. I also has friends whom having cars from all manufacturers. Each of them has their own issues/explanations. If your friend is not satisfied with all the products he purchased, then why he repeating his mistakes as same as you do with your purchase of tata cars. This is the first time i heard from you as you also owned tata cars.
I understand your love for TATA, but please note the following points -

1) Car manufactured post 2003 have also reported many issues, so lets not get into that.

2) I have not posted any issues of cars NOT belonging to me. All the 3 TATAs belonged to me.

3) If you are talking about my relative (not friend) who repeatedly buys a TATA, it is clearly mentioned that TATA is the only dealer in his vicinity. Toyota is a good 200 kms away!

4) I never talk about my TATA cars as more often than not, it ends up being criticized as a biased comment and then it leads to a senseless debate. That is the secondary reason why I chose not to vote. Of course, primary reason is that I dont own any new gen TATAs.

Finally, let's just remember -

A manufacturer's reputation is not built in a day. Nor can it be destroyed in a day. It is usually word of mouth publicity. If TATA has managed to malign it's reputation, it has happened over the years... Reasons can be many, but I am someone who believes that a potential Indian auto giant like TATA motors stands nowhere today in terms of brand image, when compared to it's competitors. Some may disagree, no comments on that!