Tata Hexa Finally Launched. Priced @ ₹11.99 Lakh (Details: Pg.68)

Please check out the GMC terrain first means the production model and then start fighting[anger]

1.jpg

2.jpg

And if you talking about this version then it was the Denali, there are bits similar in both the products but Hexa was designed earlier then Denali (correct me if am wrong) and these are just add/stick on chrome blings [:)]

3.jpg

Actually GMC terrain is a Captiva sized vehicle ,probably based on the same.The car in the pic is the outgoing model, I have been seeing the car for a while now and was pretty impressed with the macho elements in the design .When I saw the rear of the Hexa for the first time, it gave me very much positive impression & some kind of global tastes in the design. I think the design gels very well with the Hexa & add to its strong road presence in India roads, Just like that of the Big brothers of Terrain-The Yukon,Tahoe in the global market.

I don't think Tata Motors would look for monthly numbers, Even the Tiago's best was around 6K with 80K bookings. Glad to see the market acceptance of these genuine products.

From last few days I saw 4-5 Hexa's on road. I guess now product Hexa is getting good sales & we can think of more than 2000 sales for Hexa for April 17.
Sirji 2000+ units sales isn't possible now as TATA is manufacturing only 50-55 units per day.
It is rumoured to increase to 80 units a day soon.

Okay guys, those who are in touch with me must be aware that I have always been paranoid regarding the 19 inch rims, in fact I had even once declared that after the Crysta for it's 17 inchers, it will be the Hexa which will have the recall for the 19 inch rims; due to tyre bursts. The reasons:
  • Owners normally neglect tyre pressure and running at low pressure on 19 inchers, can cause a lot of shock to transfer to rim, hence can cause damage to tyre side wall
  • This isn't a runflat.

So, let me share my own experience which has fortunately proved my estimations wrong, and how.

Today while driving the Hexa XTA, I observed that there is slight wobbling in the steering wheel. Now since it's a media car with 17,600 kms on odo (Picked late, so that you guys get a genuine review of what it will be in long terms of ownership), so I simply thought of it as some minor alignment or balancing issue and kept driving, but at a lower speed of 80 kph. I drove on bad patches, highway, over speed breakers etc. Once I was home, I parked the car and did my mandatory inspection, just to discover this: [surprise]
hexa flat tyre.JPG
hexa flat tyre 2.JPG

While the culprit was this, a proper nail that is long and sharp - perfect recipe of a tyre burst:
hexa culprit.JPG

Okay, so we have all the elements in place:
  • A heavy car
  • Decent Speed
  • Deflated low profile tyre

Still, it didn't burst. Innova crysta had tyre bursts, why didn't Hexa? My estimation is a better rim design and a better designed tyre since MRF developed it specifically for Hexa- would be looking forward to listen from experts.

Why I didn't notice? I tell you guys, I have experienced many cars and have covered over 2.5 lac kms on Indian roads. Have experienced a couple of rear tyre deflations, but this one was different. Probably a larger rim, better wheel arch NVH and a suspension that soaks every minor undulation is what simply kept me insulated over the recipe of disaster that was ready to unfold. Any ways, I give 10/10 to Tata for this, shivers are still running down my spine thinking of a tyre burst at 100 kph in a 2.3 tonne monster without any ESP or TCS.

That said, we are going to spend over 1000 kilometers with Tata Hexa MT and AT, review shall be up shortly. This time we took high mileage car and it's showing the true colors of Hexa too. Expect some niggles to be reported which are going to hit you owners in future. [evil]

And yes, Tata - why didn't you gave a TPMS? Many people are going to get into this situation I tell you. [frustration]

Okay guys, those who are in touch with me must be aware that I have always been paranoid regarding the 19 inch rims, in fact I had even once declared that after the Crysta for it's 17 inchers, it will be the Hexa which will have the recall for the 19 inch rims; due to tyre bursts. The reasons:
  • Owners normally neglect tyre pressure and running at low pressure on 19 inchers, can cause a lot of shock to transfer to rim, hence can cause damage to tyre side wall
  • This isn't a runflat.

So, let me share my own experience which has fortunately proved my estimations wrong, and how.

Today while driving the Hexa XTA, I observed that there is slight wobbling in the steering wheel. Now since it's a media car with 17,600 kms on odo (Picked late, so that you guys get a genuine review of what it will be in long terms of ownership), so I simply thought of it as some minor alignment or balancing issue and kept driving, but at a lower speed of 80 kph. I drove on bad patches, highway, over speed breakers etc. Once I was home, I parked the car and did my mandatory inspection, just to discover this: [surprise]

While the culprit was this, a proper nail that is long and sharp - perfect recipe of a tyre burst:

Okay, so we have all the elements in place:
  • A heavy car
  • Decent Speed
  • Deflated low profile tyre

Still, it didn't burst. Innova crysta had tyre bursts, why didn't Hexa? My estimation is a better rim design and a better designed tyre since MRF developed it specifically for Hexa- would be looking forward to listen from experts.

Why I didn't notice? I tell you guys, I have experienced many cars and have covered over 2.5 lac kms on Indian roads. Have experienced a couple of rear tyre deflations, but this one was different. Probably a larger rim, better wheel arch NVH and a suspension that soaks every minor undulation is what simply kept me insulated over the recipe of disaster that was ready to unfold. Any ways, I give 10/10 to Tata for this, shivers are still running down my spine thinking of a tyre burst at 100 kph in a 2.3 tonne monster without any ESP or TCS.

That said, we are going to spend over 1000 kilometers with Tata Hexa MT and AT, review shall be up shortly. This time we took high mileage car and it's showing the true colors of Hexa too. Expect some niggles to be reported which are going to hit you owners in future. [evil]

And yes, Tata - why didn't you gave a TPMS? Many people are going to get into this situation I tell you. [frustration]
If these are media cars then I think that these machines were abused to the core by the reviewers and 17500 is a big number on media cars to get the real picture out of it.
Lucky you
Waiting for your review however please keep on posting some sneak peak till then

If these are media cars then I think that these machines were abused to the core by the reviewers and 17500 is a big number on media cars to get the real picture out of it.
17,500 kms on a media car means something that you can expect in 35000 kms of ownership with any regular customer and 50,000 kilometers of ownership under a caring customer. As of now, the engine and drivetrain are absolutely bliss, and media guys normally do push the cars but they still take care of many basics too and these cars are also regularly serviced etc time to time.

Lucky you
Indeed I am, a tyre burst at speed with a 2.3 tonne car would have been catastrophic maybe.

Waiting for your review however please keep on posting some sneak peak till then
A complete review is the one which should give the to-be owners an insight of what all is coming in the future. Any car will be good with brand new tyres and components and 100 kilometers on odo, real picture appears in long run. Here are few minor updates:

hexa2.JPG
Puncture finally repaired with many new findings, wait for the official review to get the entire story unfolded.

hexa4.JPG
The culprit was big and strong, VW polo key for a size reference.

hexa3.JPG
I washed the Hexa myself to gauge paint quality, a feel of lines and angles and of course, the pain owners are going to get in washing one - a review (If allows) should tell this aspect too.

hexa.JPG
Washed, all tyre pressure checked, liquids checked, everything in place - Hexa is stickered and ready for the grind. [evil]

Already some hexa owners are angry at you in whatsapp group. Waiting to see their comments after your review [:)].
Wow, that sounds really interesting, let me help them to increase their anger a bit more. They can any ways express their concerns by writing directly to me. Yesterday itself I was telling someone that the review of this car is going to be fun. Any ways, one pic from my side; chauffy in driver's seat and I tried to open my rear left hand side door and this happened - yes, it is stuck!! [lol]
stuck door handle.jpg

hexa2.JPG
Let me tell you, until it's a proper highway drive, Hexa automatic loves to visit this place. Believe me, I had a better FE in an Innova Crysta petrol AT than what I am enjoying with this 2.2l 2.3 tonne automatic Tata . [lol]

tata-hexa-01.jpg
Here let me introduce a situation, whenever we (My extended family especially) go for a long hilly drive, it is always full size male adults in the last row. Why? Motion sickness issue with ladies and kids. This is with many more people and for the full size adults, it is not an easy task (Full size == 100 kilo khaate-peete, fat tummy Indian men). So I took around 15 minutes of my time and after trying all the permutations and combinations, I have attained this:

hexa middle row.JPG

So, the issue is solved now. Access to third row may be tougher but is well manageable and there is equal space for access available as in case of the middle row bench seat version. [:)]

Let me tell you, until it's a proper highway drive, Hexa automatic loves to visit this place. Believe me, I had a better FE in an Innova Crysta petrol AT than what I am enjoying with this 2.2l 2.3 tonne automatic Tata . [lol]

Here let me introduce a situation, whenever we (My extended family especially) go for a long hilly drive, it is always full size male adults in the last row. Why? Motion sickness issue with ladies and kids. This is with many more people and for the full size adults, it is not an easy task (Full size == 100 kilo khaate-peete, fat tummy Indian men). So I took around 15 minutes of my time and after trying all the permutations and combinations, I have attained this:

So, the issue is solved now. Access to third row may be tougher but is well manageable and there is equal space for access available as in case of the middle row bench seat version. [:)]
@Vipul, superb reviews mate. Waiting fot more. The FE claim between At and manual is 3kmpl so I expect manual to be significantly more efficient. FE is a major reason why many people went for manual instead of one of the best AT. And when it comes to motion sickness Etios comes to my mind. Now whenever I go for long highway drives taking rented cab by default everytime they give Etios and I ask them for (smaller) Dzire instead of Etios. That car has worst motion sickness feeling if you switch on the AC.

My friend got the Hexa AT media car last week or so. Yes we were harsh with the car. What is the number of the car you got? They have plenty in Delhi NCR right now.

Similar issues were common with Aria too
A close family friend of mine had one