Suzuki Baleno: Petrol 1.2 MT & Diesel 1.3 MT Drive Review

Today I visited nexa akshardham. Only top variants were to inspect. Car's amazing.

Clutch is awesome in diesel. It's super smooth and light. Thought for trying the petrol. A petrol alpha was getting ready for delivery, tried it, was surprised. It had a hard clutch than the diesel one. But I figured that it had some play or it required some adjustment.

About build quality.
Build quality is good. Nothing to doubt about. Don't know why people are assuming for lighter body or build quality. Weight reduction is done through several manners. Exhaust system and. Other parts, type of metal used,etc etc.

Interiors are also good. Everyone has their different USP's . the interiors are of great quality. Maruti has left no stone unturned for presenting or as a premium.
The only thing I didn't like was the height increasing lever which is oddly designed. A long handled lever seemed like it would break on operating harshly.

Ground clearance is awesome. This is where Maruti beats everyone. Whatever be the car be whatever be the segment. No one can match its ground clearance.

ICE is good. Lights are good.

In short... Ache acho ko hila dala baleno ne.

Attachig a PIC of HERTZ woofer system which was installed in the display model. It looked sexy. Small, less space consuming and would be apt for the purpose of a decent punch.

And aakash ji, prices were not increased. It was still the same 4.99 for sigma petrol. And when I confirmed the manager. He said till November end prices are going to be same.

Can't upload the PIC coz its exceeding the size limit.

Thanks & regards
Vaibhav

Can you share the hertz wooffer installed pic of baleno .

Dear..I have booked Baleno delta 2 weeks before.For delta variant ,Rear chrome strip is not available.Can I get that from market??? [confused][confused]
Please reply.

Dear..I have booked Baleno delta 2 weeks before.For delta variant ,Rear chrome strip is not available.Can I get that from market??? [confused][confused]
Please reply.
Not available yet but my RM says that it will be available after some time. You can confirm the same from your RM.

Aftermarket shops are not very likely to have this product as it is a very thick strip which would cost around 1.5k, and no one would get this from aftermarket at that price.

Hello guys,
I saw a black baleno petrol with HR registration. It had all 4 disc brakes and engine sound was more compared to my baleno petrol. And baleno was not launched in black colour. It should be booster jet petrol engine. They were testing it along with a polo GT TSI. I am in cochin now and happened to spot the same in basement parking lot. It had projectors and DRLS, but no touch screen music system. I couldn't click the pics, will do it if I spot the car again tomorrow. Also alloys were different and looked a lot better

Hello guys,
I saw a black baleno petrol with HR registration. It had all 4 disc brakes and engine sound was more compared to my baleno petrol. And baleno was not launched in black colour. It should be booster jet petrol engine. They were testing it along with a polo GT TSI. I am in cochin now and happened to spot the same in basement parking lot. It had projectors and DRLS, but no touch screen music system. I couldn't click the pics, will do it if I spot the car again tomorrow. Also alloys were different and looked a lot better
That has to be the Booster Jet engine. There were other spottings of a similar car elsewhere in the forum also.

Just sharing my discovery on Friday. Wanted to check if the Swift's engine air filter fits the Baleno, given it the same engine. I was actually expecting the filter to have the same face area but a different form factor. Surprisingly, the Baleno's filter is larger than the Swift's- an inch wider and atleast 2-3" longer. My K&N Swift filter will not work. Since nothing else is available, I have written to K&N and asked them to confirm on the filter availability.

Given the fact that the boosterjet car is also being tested, I presume the larger filter is shared between the normally aspirated and boosterjet engines

Ameyam

I am new here. I need some suggestion/help. I have ben driving swift petrol from last 7 years. I am planning to change the vehicle now. I am so confused which is the best one to pick. My average commute might be around 25000 per year. My budget is 10 lakhs maximum. There are so many models in the market and I am getting confused in picking the best one. I need hassle free good car so that I can use it for another 7 years. Baleno petrol alpha was one of my pick but I heard some negatives like melting of wires and small dents from side, huge waitingperiod etc etc. Not sure how serious they are. Just wanted to see your opinion

Thread Starter #264

I am new here. I need some suggestion/help. I have ben driving swift petrol from last 7 years. I am planning to change the vehicle now. I am so confused which is the best one to pick. My average commute might be around 25000 per year. My budget is 10 lakhs maximum. There are so many models in the market and I am getting confused in picking the best one. I need hassle free good car so that I can use it for another 7 years. Baleno petrol alpha was one of my pick but I heard some negatives like melting of wires and small dents from side, huge waitingperiod etc etc. Not sure how serious they are. Just wanted to see your opinion
Ssuneel, I have heard that MSIL has taken note of the "dents" on Baleno doors and are in process to address it. As of your choice, as you have driven Petrol Swift, you may upgrade to a Petrol Baleno because it does have better equipment and feel to it but with the kind of running you have mentioned and the budget, I would say, go in for something better and bigger like Elite i20 or even Jazz I-dtec. 2K kms approx per month of running points to owning a diesel car.

For more suggestions by other members, I suggest you may begin a new thread in "CAR Shopper Section" of our forum buddy.

My first post. I have booked Baleno Petrol Alpha Ray Blue on 13 Apr 16 at Lucknow. The wait starts........... How to speed up the process and ensure there's no hanky panky by the dealer?

Please reply.
Hello jithis
I wanted to add it to my accessory list too. I'm awaiting delivery of my Baleno Delta. The rear chrome strip is now available at Nexa. I confirmed it with my RM. It should cost you around 2200 including fitting. Note that attaching it needs some drilling on the bumper.

Hello everyone
I m new here on TAI
this is my first post
Today made payment to book baleno diesel
Tommorow will call the dealer for to confirm variant and colour
My choice Delta in Blue Ray colour
This will be my first car
All suggestions are welcome

Excellent review Aakash.
I haven't gone to check Baleno in person as test drive haven't started here. But my father checked it out and he was quite impressed.

Imo diesel doesn't makes sense over Jazz and Figo which have a much better engine, handling and road presence.

But Petrol is the one iI m interested in. Delta is VFM considering it will be under 5% road tax bracket and for Zeta will have to pay atleast 90k more as it is under 8% tax. Let's see how the td goes.
Could you please elaborate this 5% and 8% tax about delta and zeta.