Starting a Used Car Restoration Business – Suggestions Invited

Re: Is Maruti 1000 Good Car For Commercial Restoration Project?

PETER @

Santro may have a good resale value in GOA, due to the low petrol price,but it is not the condition here in Kerala and they are here pretty famous for the low mileage and low resale value. Even 2010 Santro xing will not fetch more than 2 lakhs here. One of my friends 2009 santro(mint condition) sold on 1.5 lakh here. I dont know much about resale price at bangalore

Your enthusiasm will definitely lead you to some better place
BTW i am also in same race of restoring cars i am actually in beginner phase so i am collecting tools for my future modification and restoration

i have selected M800 for same purpose see my thread maruti 800 restoration
i have purchased many of the tools for this purpose some of them are required to be purchase yet.
I also work on Sundays and holidays like you but i want that you start doing this first experiment on one car(like matiz or M800) and then go for next this way you will come to know that what is required (tools)and time you need to devote on restoration.
Remember one thing from my side if you want to make large profits then "Do it yourself"
i promise that i will not be your competitor in future [lol]

Hi Anand,

Since you love automobiles so much, why not make a proper carrier in it? Why just one last shot?

2 things you can do before you take the plunge:
1. Work with a used car dealer for a few mnths and understand how cars change hands in a mnth or so.
Meanwhile you can buy a car and restore it or change defective parts and resell that car for a profit. But has to happen in a mnths time. You shud not have to transfer the car in ur name.

2. The second thing you can do is not buy cars but restore/modify them for owners who want to. You might have to showcase your work on a car or a dummy non-working model so its cheaper.

Restoration is a good business as long as you dont have to buy the car. Things are different with classic cars, not the same with newer cars though.

@Anand

Salute to your enthusiasm man !! To me you are moving in a right direction of establishing your self in Automobile side as we discussed the same some time back on the forum.

Yes, As suggested by all the members, select the car which will be also profitable for you end of the project. Yes it is not for money and for passion, but at this moment you definitely have to look at the commercial aspect of the project too and when you are through with few project and bit of finances, then you could take up your dream car project only for the passion

I wish you all the best buddy !!

Re: Waiting for cash as of now

@Anand

Salute to your enthusias........ up your dream car project only for the passion

I wish you all the best buddy !!
Thank you Sir.

Hi Anand,

Since you love automobiles so much, why not make a proper carrier in it? Why just one last shot?

2 things you can do before you take the plunge:
1. Work with a used car dealer for a few mnths and understand how cars change hands in a mnth or so.
Meanwhile you can buy a car and restore it or change defective parts and resell that car for a profit. But has to happen in a mnths time. You shud not have to transfer the car in ur name.

2. The second thing you can do is not buy cars but restore/modify them for owners who want to. You might have to showcase your work on a car or a dummy non-working model so its cheaper.

Restoration is a good business as long as you dont have to buy the car. Things are different with classic cars, not the same with newer cars though.
Hi Sanky,

Thank you for your valuable suggestions.

I had a used M800 previously in which I did DIYs & that is when I started to learn about cars & its parts etc. I am not as good as a mechanic/ restoration expert but just enough to start off something like this. I did work for a used car dealership for a couple of months as a sales exe too. I got to know about basic car refurbishment, documentation, preventive maintenance (only essential ones) etc.

I fully agree to your words, as long as I do not get it transferred to my name, I will save the drop in resale value & also unnecessary documentation work.
I would be lucky if the owner agrees to part with the car without getting it transferred to my name. But at the end of the day, if I have a awesome car with me, then the right buyer will not be hesitant to buy despite me being second owner.

Your enthusiasm will definitely lead you to some better place
BTW i am also in same rac........... tor in future [lol]
Thanks Raman,

I will certainly focus on DIY & tools. Here is a thread about my first car (a crazy love started with a breakdown on day one[lol])

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/ownership-reviews/6379-bought-my-first-car-maruti-800-ac.html

I had done a complete overhaul of my M800 carb all by myself. This was a year ago. Had taken pics too so that I can post it here. Sadly not able to find them in my computer.

BTW I have this 93 model car which I painted(with a brush),polished for a great finish and shine and did all sorts of on-sense with the car. Never used it in the last few years. Still lying in my parking lot with a huge lizard and her family in it. Dont knw wat I will do with it. Sometimes think of selling it to scrap dealers. I will need a petrol/CNG car in a few mnths time and currently the hot favorite is a Santro 1.1 old shape. Lets see wat happens few mnths down the line with this car.

Anand, I want to hug you for your enthusiasm yaar. Don't let it die. If you enjoy what you do, then you can never be a failure.

Let me suggest you something different, since you are planning this for the long term. I have been a follower of your SS80 restoration project. You don't sound like a noob at all.

"JEEPS"

These are vehicles that would perennially remain in demand, irrespective of the model year of the jeep, and a properly restored MM540/550/CJ/Gypsy etc. would always fetch a good price. These vehicles are easy to source, easy to work on due to their simple mechanicals, and a well restored jeep is easy to sell too. You may not have any experience with transfer cases and differentials so you might want to start off with simple 2WD jeeps. Believe you me, these vehicles are a pleasure to work on and once the jeep bug bites you, you get so hooked that there's really no looking back. Moreover, the number of customization options on a jeep are virtually endless and therefore you will always be kept busy. Various internet forums are a repository to jeep restorations and replete with DIYs on jeeps.

Start reading about jeeps and get thorough on them as there are several little nuances about these vehicles. Then start with a discarded MM540/550. You will love it and rest assured it will yield you good returns when you come to sell it after restoration.

Try it.

ss80 Appreciate your enthusiasm and zeal but i cant agree more with what Sam Dinkar said.
Old Jeeps, Jongas, Ex military Iron Mongers should be your target rather if you intend to make money and enjoy as a passion too. There are plenty who put their money here, start off with a project or 2 and do something real eye catching - the whole world will come to you eventually as you make a name ! In the Maruti bandwagon apart from the 800 I wouldn't recommend anything that you should even consider restoring(since you named the title of the thread "commercial restoration project") - but again ill recommend start off with old jeeps/ex military kinds if you intend to make some money!

Edit:- or consider creating a Diesel Gypsy!

"JEEPS"

These are vehicles that would perennially remain in demand, irrespective of the model year of the jeep, and a properly restored MM540/550/CJ/Gypsy etc. would always fetch a good price.

There it is. U got wat u need to do right away. Jeeps are all time classics. Thats the reason Mahindra launched a 1960s look Thar in 2012.

"JEEPS"

These are vehicles that would perennially remain in demand,
In the Maruti bandwagon apart from the 800 I wouldn't recommend anything that you should even consider restoring(since you named the title of the thread "commercial restoration project") - but again ill recommend start off with old jeeps/ex military kinds..
There it is. U got wat u need to do right away. Jeeps..
Right suggestions.

Jeeps are the best option for you. Study them for a while and for a DIY person like you, that would be fun as well.

Demad is assured and you can attract enthusiasts and even people just looking for a commercial vehicle.

Did Jongas come in diesel?They are pure gas guzzlers [;)]

Anand where are you?Whats the latest update, which beauty are you eyeing?

Let me give you a suggestion you can think about : Buy a Fiat premier padmini and modify it like a muscle car with a sleek metallic paint you would be astonished to see the amount of heads your turn on the roads and moreover the amount you invest will be less and profit you make will be more (Provided you have an amazing engine)

Only drawback would be finding a good mechanic to work on such a wonderful engine

The grunt and the modified padmin, i would buy it for 1.5L even if you had bought it for 25K and worked on it for 50K and sell it for 1.5L, it has a charm and its [evil] and its a head turner now i have seen it through my eyes [;)]

Hi Anand,

The thread is getting really interested. Perfectly agree with others on Jeeps and Gypsies which always has a value anytime.

Why don't you begin something with a GYPSY??? Then slowly with the "JEEPS" later.

Girish

Few days back when I met him, he was planning to buy OHC, type 2.

Or finally Zen mpfi (old shape)..

Also mega DIY coming soon !!