Hi everyone,
I have a plan to start a small part time weekend business, of buying, restoring & selling cars. I have tried all sorts of things in cars so far, except knowledge & experience I earned nothing (rather I lost a lot). Having learnt from my mistakes,
I want to give it a shot one last time. No more stories here is the plan.
Why this business & not anything else?
- I simply love cars, I dont mind spending time & money on cars, I love buying spares ( basically auto spares shopping) & ofcourse restoring old cars is my dream. If I cant make money here, I doubt if I could anywhere else.
Funds Source:
I have applied for a loan/credit with two of my known people, one is my ex-employer & the other is a friend. Both are willing to fund, but on different interest rates & payback time. 1.5lakhs is what I am planning to invest on the first car, which includes buying, restoring & selling.
What if it succeeds?
I get a fair margin (fair is much lesser than any dealer/true value type centers). With which I can pay off the interest & still be left with some cash & continue use the principal fund for the next car.
What if something happens & I fail?
I will have a car for myself & pay back the credit by applying a personal loan after a year.
What about job?
I have a bpo job as of now, that just lets me pay off my existing loans emi (10K per month x 4 pending) & still just enough to survive. I get two weekly offs, which should again help me in my business.
Where do I approach the buyer?
Used car websites, with plenty of photos & lots of details. Newspaper ads as the last option.
Why am I trying to do all this?
The dream to be a one of a kind car restorer, who loves his job, earns his bread & butter from cars, leads a successful life by selling cars that are genuinely good.
What if everything goes well, what's next?
After sales service, limited warranty on sold cars, accessory shop, water wash center etc
Ok now thats the thoughts behind the idea of purchasing the car for now.
The Car in my mind:
1. Maruti 1000 - 2nd or 3rd owner
buying cost: 45k (max)
Engine reconditioning: 12K
Clutch overhaul: 5K
Tyres: 22K
Alloys: 25K
Full body paint: 19K
MPI kit: 5k
Interiors: 7K
misc: 10K
total bill: 1.5lacs
Selling price & profit is directly affected by 1 thing - buying price. SInce I cannot cut corners in any other area. Quality is guaranteed as I am likely to own it in future so nowhere I will compromise.
Why M1000 & not any other car.
As far as I know, M1000 are lesser in numbers on road compared to zen/800/esteem - exclusivity.
It is not a 1.3ltr (rocket type acceleration of esteem) esteem engine, so mileage can be expected.
Looks like a esteem - useful while selling it.
Many parts can be swapped from zen & esteem i guess.
I think it has the same zen engine(1.0ltr, 4cyl, 8valve, 5speed GB) - can anyone confirm this please.
Here comes the scary part - I have never touched/driven a M1000! I have driven esteem (mpfi only) & the light chassy with PS & 1.3 engine scares everything out of me. Still loved it a lot.
Please pour in your advice/opinion/suggestions. it will help me decide about the car & the business idea. Thank you for reading the long post.
Here is a pic of M1000 from the internet.
Here are a few deals on OLX.in
Rs. 60,000 for metallic grey 1994 Maruti 1000 for sale !!! - Bangalore - Cars - Yeshwanthpur - maruti1000 for sale in bangalore
Maruti Esteem 1000 for sale - Bangalore - Cars
The only concerns I have are:
If M1000 isnt really worth it, should I consider Esteem 1.3Lxi? although buying cost is very high?
I have a plan to start a small part time weekend business, of buying, restoring & selling cars. I have tried all sorts of things in cars so far, except knowledge & experience I earned nothing (rather I lost a lot). Having learnt from my mistakes,
I want to give it a shot one last time. No more stories here is the plan.
Why this business & not anything else?
- I simply love cars, I dont mind spending time & money on cars, I love buying spares ( basically auto spares shopping) & ofcourse restoring old cars is my dream. If I cant make money here, I doubt if I could anywhere else.
Funds Source:
I have applied for a loan/credit with two of my known people, one is my ex-employer & the other is a friend. Both are willing to fund, but on different interest rates & payback time. 1.5lakhs is what I am planning to invest on the first car, which includes buying, restoring & selling.
What if it succeeds?
I get a fair margin (fair is much lesser than any dealer/true value type centers). With which I can pay off the interest & still be left with some cash & continue use the principal fund for the next car.
What if something happens & I fail?
I will have a car for myself & pay back the credit by applying a personal loan after a year.
What about job?
I have a bpo job as of now, that just lets me pay off my existing loans emi (10K per month x 4 pending) & still just enough to survive. I get two weekly offs, which should again help me in my business.
Where do I approach the buyer?
Used car websites, with plenty of photos & lots of details. Newspaper ads as the last option.
Why am I trying to do all this?
The dream to be a one of a kind car restorer, who loves his job, earns his bread & butter from cars, leads a successful life by selling cars that are genuinely good.
What if everything goes well, what's next?
After sales service, limited warranty on sold cars, accessory shop, water wash center etc
Ok now thats the thoughts behind the idea of purchasing the car for now.
The Car in my mind:
1. Maruti 1000 - 2nd or 3rd owner
buying cost: 45k (max)
Engine reconditioning: 12K
Clutch overhaul: 5K
Tyres: 22K
Alloys: 25K
Full body paint: 19K
MPI kit: 5k
Interiors: 7K
misc: 10K
total bill: 1.5lacs
Selling price & profit is directly affected by 1 thing - buying price. SInce I cannot cut corners in any other area. Quality is guaranteed as I am likely to own it in future so nowhere I will compromise.
Why M1000 & not any other car.
As far as I know, M1000 are lesser in numbers on road compared to zen/800/esteem - exclusivity.
It is not a 1.3ltr (rocket type acceleration of esteem) esteem engine, so mileage can be expected.
Looks like a esteem - useful while selling it.
Many parts can be swapped from zen & esteem i guess.
I think it has the same zen engine(1.0ltr, 4cyl, 8valve, 5speed GB) - can anyone confirm this please.
Here comes the scary part - I have never touched/driven a M1000! I have driven esteem (mpfi only) & the light chassy with PS & 1.3 engine scares everything out of me. Still loved it a lot.
Please pour in your advice/opinion/suggestions. it will help me decide about the car & the business idea. Thank you for reading the long post.
Here is a pic of M1000 from the internet.
Here are a few deals on OLX.in
Rs. 60,000 for metallic grey 1994 Maruti 1000 for sale !!! - Bangalore - Cars - Yeshwanthpur - maruti1000 for sale in bangalore
Maruti Esteem 1000 for sale - Bangalore - Cars
The only concerns I have are:
- Did M1000 come with AC & PS?
- Is the suspension same as esteem?
- is it a aluminium engine? how many valves? Sohc or Dohc?
- 45bhp to move a sedan, is it going to be a underpowered car?
If M1000 isnt really worth it, should I consider Esteem 1.3Lxi? although buying cost is very high?